DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 has been canceled based on claim filed on 06/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the cover layer” at line 2 and at line 3. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis regarding this claim limitation. It is unclear what the cover layer refers to. For examining purpose, examiner has interpreted “the cover panel is optically bonded to the display panel via a bonding material disposed between the cover layer and the display panel, the bonding material filling gaps between the cover layer and the display panel” to be “the cover panel is optically bonded to the display panel via a bonding material disposed between the cover panel and the display panel, the bonding material filling gaps between the cover panel and the display panel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968).
Regarding claim 1, Denis et al. discloses “a welding-type device” (abstract and fig.1), comprising:
“a housing” (figs.3-4, 12) having “a user interface” (24) on “a first panel” (refers to a surface (not shown). Examiner noted the housing 12 must include at least a surface in order to support the user interface); and
“a display assembly” (fig.1, 26) configured to connected fig.1, 12. Examiner noted that the display is mounted to or housed on the housing 12 to allow user to use the display),
Denis et al. is silent regarding the display assembly comprising:
a display assembly mounted to the housing
a display panel;
a cover panel bonded to the display panel, the cover panel having at least one dimension larger than a corresponding dimension of the display panel; and
Rohrberg et al. discloses “a display assembly mounted to the housing” (col.2 at lines 25-30, i.e., a touch screen LCD display mounted on one side of the enclosure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Rohrberg et al., by modifying Denis et al.’s display assembly and housing connection according to Roherberg’s display assembly and housing connection, to secure the display assembly to the housing.
Bergmann et al. teaches “the display assembly” (see figs.2A-2B) comprising:
“a display panel” (Figs.2A-2B, labeled as “OLed display module”);
“a cover panel” (104, 202 and 108 collectively forms a cover panel) bonded to “the display panel” (OLed display module. Fig.2A-2B shows the OLed display module is directedly attached to the cover glass), “the cover panel having at least one dimension larger than a corresponding dimension of the display panel” (the cover panel 104, 202 and 108 is larger to cover the dimension of the display panel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Denis et al. with Bergmann et al., by replacing Denis et al.’s display assembly with Bergmann et al.’s display assembly, to protect the delicate display from moisture, oxygen and physical impact.
Wan teaches “a seal between the cover panel and the first panel” (on page 1, i.e., A welding power supply handheld controller, comprising: box body; the box body is detachably connected with a cover plate; On page 2, i.e., The utility model is further improved by welding power supply handheld controller, the screw base is sleeved with a rubber gasket, the rubber gasket is set between the touch screen and the cover plate, and the thickness of the rubber gasket is adjustable. On page 3, i.e., Further, the screw base 22 is sleeved with a rubber gasket (not shown in the figure), the rubber gasket is set between the touch screen 40 and the cover plate 20, and the thickness of the rubber gasket is adjustable). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Wan, by adding Wan’s seal in between modified Denis et al.’s cover panel and first panel, to provide protection against environmental hazards, absorb vibration and prevent dangerous electrical arcing that ensures the safe, and long term performance of the display device.
Regarding claim 7, modified Denis et al. discloses “the cover panel” (Bergmann et al., 104, 202 and 108) comprises “a chemically treated glass” (Bergmann et al., cover glass 104).
Regarding claim 8, modified Denis et al. discloses “the first panel comprises at least one of a display aperture or display recess” (Wan, 10 have panel having a bottom and side walls forming a display aperture or display recess), “the display panel” (Wan, the touch screen 40) is configured to fit within “the display aperture or display recess” (Wan, 40 is within 10), and “the cover panel” (Wan, 20) has at least one dimension larger than “the display aperture or display recess” (Wan, the recess of 10) such that “the cover panel” (Wan, 20) contacts “the first panel” (Wan, panel of 10) when “the display panel is within the display aperture or display recess” (Wan, 40 is within the box 10).
Regarding claim 9, modified Denis et al. discloses “the cover panel extends beyond the display aperture or display recess in two dimensions” (Wan, the cover panel 20 extends beyond the display aperture or display recess upward (hence, a top surface of 20 is above or beyond the display recess) in two dimensions).
Regarding claim 15, modified Denis et al. discloses “the user interface comprises one or more input devices” (Denis et al., The user interface 24 may receive inputs using any input device, such as via a keypad, keyboard, buttons, touch screen, voice activation system, wireless device, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, modified Denis et al. discloses “the welding-type device is at least one of a welding-type power supply, a wire feeder, or a remote control device” (fig.1 shows a welding type device includes a welding type power supply 12).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Kaneki et al. (US 11402686).
Regarding claim 2, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a display driver board positioned within the housing, the display driver board comprising circuitry configured to control an output of the display panel.
Kaneki et al. teaches “a display driver board” (fig.4, 133. Examiner noted that 130 includes 133) positioned within “the housing” (fig.5, 137b. The 130 which includes 133 within the housing wall 137b), “the display driver board comprising circuitry” (col.4 at lines 16-28, i.e., The light source control FPC 133 is a circuit board which supplies signals for driving the light sources 132a to 132h) “configured to control an output of the display panel” (examiner noted that light source control FPC 133 is capable of controlling lighting level or brightness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Kaneki et al., by modifying Denis et al.’s display assembly to include Kaneki et al.’s display driver board, to enable precise dimming and energy efficiency for the display.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Kaneki et al. (US 11402686) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0122552).
Regarding claim 3, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a connector of the display panel is configured to connect to a connector of the display driver board.
Lin et al. teaches “a connector of the display panel” (1150 has at least one connector. See annotated fig.10. Fig.10, a display panel 1150) is configured to connect to “a connector of the display driver board” (fig.10, a display driver 1110 has at least one connector. See annotated fig.10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Lin et al., by adding Lin’s connectors for Denis et al.’s display device, to provide proper electrical connection.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140), Kaneki et al. (US 11402686) and Lin et al. (US 2022/0122552) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Anthony (GB 2592230).
Regarding claim 4, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the connector of the display panel comprises at least one of a ribbon cable or a serial bus cable.
Anthony teaches “the connector of the display panel comprises at least one of a ribbon cable or a serial bus cable”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Anthony, by Anthony’s ribbon cable to Denis et al.’s to Denis et al.’s display panel, to create a much lower profile installation (para.0047) as taught by Anthony.
Regarding claim 5, modified Denis et al. discloses “the display assembly is replaceable without requiring replacement of the display driver board” (Anthony, [0016], i.e., The cable connector may be removably connected to the first cable portion. The cable connector may be removably connected to the second cable portion. [0018] The connector cable may be a ribbon cable. [0019] The display driver circuit may be removably connected to the electronic display. Thus, the display driver circuit can be replaced separately to the electronic display).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Anthony (GB 2592230).
Regarding claim 6, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the display panel is an LCD screen, an LED screen, or an OLED screen.
Anthony teaches “the display panel is an LCD screen, an LED screen, or an OLED screen” ([0051] The separated assembly system 330, includes electronic panel display 331, that is configured as an independent, low power, display panel. Such electronic panel display 331, can include but not limited to adhesive protection shields in combination with touchscreen panels, liquid-crystal displays (LCD), organic light emitting diode's (OLED)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Anthony, by replacing Denis et al.’s display with Anthony display to provide desired type of display such as LCD display to provide more affordable and higher peak brightness for bright environment and do not suffer from screen burn-in. One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to substitute Denis et al.’s display with Anthony’s display are both recognized by the art for the same purpose of provide visual interface for browsing or viewing content. MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Nicholson et al. (US 11650628) and Boisard et al. (US 20180210489).
Regarding claim 10, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the seal comprises an adhesive configured to adhere the cover panel directly to the first panel of the housing along a perimeter of the cover panel.
Nicholson et al. teaches “the seal comprises an adhesive configured to adhere the cover panel directly to the first panel of the housing along a col.4 at lines 9-19, Bezel cover is attached to the outer casing of the display case door by mechanical fasteners 32 or an adhesive. In some implementations, bezel cover 24 is a thin plastic frame that covers only the outer housing 37 of the electronic display. In some implementations, bezel cover 24 can additionally cover the door frame 14 of display case door 12. Figs.3-4 shows the cover 24 has peripheral region can be applied with adhesive along at least some portion of the perimeter of the cover panel directly to the first panel of housing 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Nicholson et al., by adding Nicholson et al.’s adhesive between Denis et al.’s cover panel and first panel, to protect the delicate display from moisture, oxygen and physical impact.
The combination of Modified Denis et al. and Nicholson et al. is silent regarding an adhesive along a perimeter of the cover panel.
Boisard et al. teaches “an adhesive along a perimeter of the cover panel” (the adhesive 220 and 230 along a perimeter of the cover panel 212). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Boisard et al., by adding Boisard’s adhesive for bonding two object together more securely.
Regarding claim 11, modified Denis et al. discloses “the adhesive provides ingress protection against fluids and dust between the cover panel and the first panel” (Nicholson et al., fig.4 shows the adhesive can be at around 32 so that glass 24 and housing can be sealed).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Gotham et al. (US 11662768), Kwon et al. (US 10266983) and Artwohl et al. (US 11450247).
Regarding claim 12, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the seal comprises a gasket configured to seal between the cover panel and the first panel of the housing along a perimeter of the cover panel, and the cover panel is attached to the first panel by one or more fasteners.
Gotham et al. teaches “the seal comprises a gasket configured to seal between the cover panel and the first panel of the housing along col.11 at lines 60-62, i.e., protective layer 115 can be a Mylar sheet or gasket disposed between the inked display cover and outer housing),
Denis is silent regarding the seal along a perimeter of the cover panel.
Kwon et al. teaches “the seal along a perimeter of the cover panel” (a display gasket disposed between the door frame and the mounting frame, and formed to surround the display. Examiner interpreters the cover panel is the mounting frame in which the gasket is disposed along a perimeter of the cover panel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Kwon et al., by adding Kown et al.’s seal along the perimeter of cover panel, to keep out dust, dirt and moisture, ensuring compliance with strict ingress protection standards.
Artwohl et al. teaches “the cover panel is attached to the first panel by one or more fasteners” (fig.8A shows the cover panel 121 is attached to the first panel 112 by one or more fasteners 117). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Artwohl et al., by adding Artwohl et al.’s one or more fasteners to Denis cover panel and first panel, to provide superior holding power, easy adjustability and clean removal.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Artwohl et al. (US 11450247).
Regarding claim 13, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a trim panel configured to cover the cover panel at least over the adhesive and to provide structural support to the display assembly.
Artwohl et al. teaches “a trim panel” (fig.27, 715) configured to cover “the cover panel” (fig.27, 728) at least over “the adhesive” (col.18 at lines 64-67, i.e., the transparent cover 728 can be attached to housing 37g or an inner surface of the coupling end 715 using adhesive or mechanical fasteners) and “to provide structural support to the display assembly” (the trim panel and seal provide structure support to the display assembly). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Artwohl et al., by adding Artwohl et al.’s trim panel with adhesive to cover Denis et al.’s cover panel, to provide enhanced protection and aesthetic focus.
Regarding claim 14, modified Denis et al. discloses “the trim panel” (Artwohl et al., fig.27, 715) is attached to “the first panel” (Artwohl et al., fig.27, 795 and 712) after installation of the display assembly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of ISE (JP 2004127073 A).
Regarding claim 17, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for “the cover panel is optically bonded to the display panel via a bonding material disposed between the cover panel and the display panel, the bonding material filling gaps between the cover panel and the display panel”..
ISE teaches “the cover panel is optically bonded to the display panel via a bonding material disposed between the cover panel and the display panel” ([0039], i.e., The transparent protective plate 5 is laminated along the surface of the liquid crystal display panel 4 via the adhesive sheet 12), the bonding material filling gaps between the cover panel and the display panel” (examiner interpret that the gaps are provided at opposite ends of 4 and 5 (hence, not including 6A) because the end clearances shown in the figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with ISE, by adding ISE adhesive between Denis et al.’s cover panel and display panel, to provide structural integrity and securely bind two or more separate surfaces together.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140), Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) and ISE (JP 2004127073 A) as applied in claim 17 above, and further in view of Furuta (US 20180088389).
Regarding claim 18, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for “the bonding material is at least one of silicone, glue, epoxy, or polyurethane”
Furuta teaches “the bonding material is at least one of silicone, glue, epoxy, or polyurethane” ([0045], i.e., The resin junction part 160 may be formed of, for example, an epoxy resin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. with Furuta, by replacing Denis et al.’s bonding material with Furuta’s bonding material, to provide desired type of adhesive. One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to substitute Denis et al.’s bonding material with Furuta’s bonding material are both recognized by the art for the same purpose of binding two or more separate surfaces together. MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denis et al. (US 2016/0175962) in view of Wan (CN 213053180 U), Bergmann et al. (US 20160378140) and Rohrberg et al. (US 5837968) as applied in claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Denis et al. (US 20160167153).
Regarding claim 19, modified Denis et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for an engine within the housing; a generator within the housing, wherein the generator is configured to convert mechanical power from the engine to electrical power; and at least one of: an air compressor coupled to at least one of the electrical power from the generator or the mechanical power from the engine and configured to output compressed air; welding-type conversion circuitry configured to convert the electrical power from the generator to welding-type power; a hydraulic pump configured to generate hydraulic pressure from at least one of the electrical power from the generator or the mechanical power from the engine; or auxiliary power conversion circuitry configured to convert the electrical power from the generator to at least one of AC output power or DC output power.
Denis et al. (‘153) teaches “an engine” (fig.4, 48) within “the housing” (figs.3-4, 12); “a generator” (fig.4, 50) within “the housing” (figs.3-4, 12), wherein “the generator” (50) is configured to convert mechanical power from “the engine” (48) to electrical power; and at least one of:
an air compressor coupled to at least one of the electrical power from the generator or the mechanical power from the engine and configured to output compressed air;
“welding-type conversion circuitry configured to convert the electrical power from the generator to welding-type power” (52. [0030], i.e., the power conversion circuitry 52 may convert this power to the welding power via the welding output 54, the auxiliary power via the auxiliary output 55, and so forth.);
“a hydraulic pump configured to generate hydraulic pressure from at least one of the electrical power from the generator or the mechanical power from the engine” ([0031, the hydraulic pump 72 may be coupled to the engine 48 (e.g., directly via a shaft or indirectly via a system of belts) and driven by the engine 48); or
auxiliary power conversion circuitry configured to convert the electrical power from the generator to at least one of AC output power or DC output power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Denis et al. (‘962) with Denis et al. (‘153), by replacing Denis et al. (‘962) power source system with Denis et al. (‘153) power source system, to allow user to weld in off-grid locations without relying on a standard electrical outlet and external power supply.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761