DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The images of structural formulas H36 to H55 are illegible (page 16-17). It is suggested to replace with higher resolution images for the structural formulas. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizoe et al. (US 2023/0225203 A1, hereafter Kakizoe) in view of Ossila (the material properties of TBPE by Ossila, https://www.ossila.com/products/tbpe?_pos=1&_sid=885fcfe40&_ss=r, hereafter Ossila) and Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0319209 A1, hereafter Tanaka).
Regarding claims 1-11 and 13-20, Kakizoe discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer containing a first compound, a second compound, a third compound, and a fourth compound, wherein the singlet energy (ES1) and the triplet energy (ET1) of each compound satisfies following equations: ES1(1) > ES1(4) > ES1(2) > ES1(3) and ET1(1) > ET1(2) > ET1(3) > ET1(4), wherein and the number in each parenthesis represents the compound number ([0013]-[0025]). Kakizoe teaches that the second compound has small ΔEST and is a delayed fluorescent material ([0110]).
Kakizoe exemplifies the first compound H6 ([0109]), second compound T4 ([0111]), third compound F9 ([0159]), and fourth compound Z7 ([0180]).
Kakizoe does not disclose a specific organic electroluminescent device comprising the compounds H6, T4, F9, and Z7; however, Kakizoe does teach H6 as the first compound ([0109]), T4 as the second compound ([0111]), F9 as the third compound ([0159]), and Z7 as the fourth compound ([0180]). Kakizoe teaches the structure of an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode (Fig. 1, [0186]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the organic electroluminescent device by incorporating H6 as the first compound, T4 as the second compound, F9 as the third compound, and Z7 as the fourth compound into the light emitting layer of the device having structure of an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, as taught by Kakizoe.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Each substitution of the first, second, third, and fourth compounds of Kakizoe in the device of Kakizoe would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer (H6 as the first compound, T4 as the second compound, F9 as the third compound, and Z7 as the fourth compound), an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein ES1(H6) > ES1(Z7) > ES1(T4) > ES1(F9) and ET1(H6) > ET1(T4) > ET1(F9) > ET1(Z7).
The device is not a white-light-emitting device comprising two light emitting layers because the light emitting material F9 is a blue fluorescent emitter as taught by Ossila (“TBPE … has been widely used as a blue fluorescence emitter in OLED devices” on page 1; and fluorescence peak wavelength of 459 nm on page 2).
Tanaka discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising a plurality of light emitting units and emitting white light ([0008]-[0009]).
Tanaka teaches the structure of the organic electroluminescent device comprising two blue electroluminescent (EL) units each of which has a structure of a hole transport layer, a blue light emitting layer, and an electron transport layer located close to the anode, and red and green light emitting layers located close to the cathode, wherein the two blue EL units are separated by a charge generation layer; and the thicknesses of the two blue light emitting layers are same (Fig. 14).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe by incorporating the blue EL unit of Kakizoe (i.e. the hole transport layer, the light emitting layer, and the electron transport layer) into each of the blue EL units of the white organic electroluminescent device of Tanaka, as taught by Kakizoe and Tanaka.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide with a white-light-emitting device, based on the teaching of Tanaka.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of blue EL units in a white-light-emitting organic electroluminescent device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer (compounds H6, T4, F9, and Z7), an electron transport layer, a charge generation layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer (compounds H6, T4, F9, and Z7), an electron transport layer, a charge generation layer, a red light emitting layer, a green light emitting layer, and a cathode, wherein ET1(H6) > ET1(T4) > ET1(F9) > ET1(Z7); and the thicknesses of the blue light emitting layers are same.
The Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka reads on the claimed limitations above but fails to teach the properties of Compounds T4 and Z7 of Kakizoe; that is, 1) the Compound T4 is a thermally activated delayed fluorescent (TADF) material, and 2) the Compound Z7 is a triplet-triplet annihilation (TTA) material.
It is reasonable to presume that Compound T4 of Kakizoe is a TADF material, and 2) the Compound Z7 of Kakizoe is a TTA material.
Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials which result in the claimed property.
Applicant discloses specific embodiments TDE29 as the TADF fluorescent sensitizer (page 14). The compound TDE29 has identical structure as Compound T4 of Kakizoe.
Furthermore, Kakizoe teaches that the second compound of Kakizoe has small ΔEST and is a delayed fluorescent material and the second compound can give energy to the third compound (i.e. sensitize) ([0110]). The Compound T4 is the second compound of Kakizoe.
Therefore, Compound T4 of Kakizoe is a TADF sensitizer material.
Applicant discloses that the second host material is a triplet-triplet annihilation material in the instant specification and exemplifies a specific embodiment H12 (page 15). The Compound Z7 of Kakizoe has identical structure as Applicant’s specific embodiment of the second host compound H12.
Furthermore, Kakizoe teaches that the fourth compound including the Compound Z7 of Kakizoe receives triplet energies from the first, second, and third compounds of Kakizoe and suppresses the influence triplet-triplet interaction and triplet charge interaction to improve device durability ([0162]).
Therefore, the Compound Z7 of Kakizoe is a TTA material.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once Compounds T4 and Z7 of Kakizoe are provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
The Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka is equated with an organic electroluminescent device comprising a first electrode (anode), a second hole transport layer, a second light emitting layer (a second host material (Z7), a second fluorescent dye (F9), a compound H6, and a compound T4), a second electron transport layer, a charge generation layer, a first hole transport layer, a first light emitting layer (a first host material (H6), a TADF sensitizer (T4), a first fluorescent dye (F9), and a compound Z7), a first electron transport layer, and a second electrode (cathode), wherein the thicknesses of the first and second light emitting layers are same; the second host material Z7 is a TTA material; ET1(first host material, H6) > ET1(first fluorescent dye F9); ET1(second host material, Z7) < ET1(second fluorescent dye F9); and ET1(first host material, H6) > ET1(second host material, Z7), meeting all the limitations of claims 1-11 and 14-20.
Kakizoe in view of Tanaka does not disclose a specific display apparatus comprising the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka; however, Kakizoe does teach that the organic electroluminescent device can be used for a display apparatus ([0221]). Tanaka also teaches the organic electroluminescent device can be used for a display apparatus ([0008]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka by incorporating it into a display apparatus, as taught by Kakizoe and Tanaka.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of organic electroluminescent devices in a display apparatus would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Display apparatus of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka comprising the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka, meeting all the limitations of claim 13.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizoe et al. (US 2023/0225203 A1) in view of Ossila (the material properties of TBPE by Ossila, https://www.ossila.com/products/tbpe?_pos=1&_sid=885fcfe40&_ss=r) and Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0319209 A1) as applied to claims 1-11 and 13-20 above, further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2016/0308162 A1, hereafter Yoo).
Regarding claim 12, the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka reads on all the features of claims 1-2 as outlined above.
The device comprises a first electrode (anode), a second hole transport layer, a second light emitting layer (a second host material (Z7), a second fluorescent dye (F9), a compound H6, and a compound T4), a second electron transport layer, a charge generation layer, a first hole transport layer, a first light emitting layer (a first host material (H6), a TADF sensitizer (T4), a first fluorescent dye (F9), and a compound Z7), a first electron transport layer, and a second electrode (cathode).
The device does not comprises a capping layer on the second electrode.
Yoo discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a capping layer (layer 130 in Fig. 1) which is on the second electrode (112 in Fig. 1) of the organic light emitting device.
Yoo teaches the capping layer provides constructive interference of light emitted from the device such that it increases efficiency of the light extraction ([0044]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka by incorporating a capping layer on the second electrode as taught by Yoo.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide constructive interference of light emitted from the device such that it increases efficiency of the light extraction based on the teaching of Yoo.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides the Organic electroluminescent device of Kakizoe as modified by Tanaka and Yoo comprising a first electrode (anode), a second hole transport layer, a second light emitting layer (a second host material (Z7), a second fluorescent dye (F9), a compound H6, and a compound T4), a second electron transport layer, a charge generation layer, a first hole transport layer, a first light emitting layer (a first host material (H6), a TADF sensitizer (T4), a first fluorescent dye (F9), and a compound Z7), a first electron transport layer, a second electrode (cathode), and a capping layer.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786