DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 13-15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018107244 (Beckord hereinafter) in view of EP 2497856 (Bombardier hereinafter) and further in view of US 2023/004135 (Bellinger hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Beckord teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet of 100 in Figure 1); a drum rotatably mounted within the cabinet, the drum defining a chamber for receipt of an article for warming (Shown chamber of the dryer 100 for the laundry 110); an air handler for urging a flow of air through the chamber (Air blower 220); a heating assembly for heating the flow of air (Compressor 215 per “The compressor is switched on again at the beginning of the warming, as the course of the characteristic curve 510 shown compressor temperature shows. The temperature of the compressor rises during warming, almost to the temperature that exists during the dehumidification program.”); a controller in operable communication with the heating assembly and the air handler (Controller 105), the controller being configured to initiate a warming operation on the article in the drum (“The anti-crease program may, for example, be a program in which the laundry is treated by blowing warm air and moving a laundry drum, for example, rotating the laundry drum in a defined rhythm by means of a drive of the laundry drum, to crease the Prevent laundry. Activating the anti-crease program or extending an already started anti-crease program can advantageously help to delay the duration of the drying program with respect to the desired end time, for example, even if a desired degree of drying or a desired residual moisture is already achieved by the dehumidifying program.”), the warming operation comprising: receiving input parameters of the warming operation (Page 2 to 3 of the translation provided with the paragraph starting “the laundry drying apparatus…” and ending “… or remaining time prognosis.” as well as “According to the embodiment shown here, the delay signal 120 over the interface 205 from the device 105 read. Optionally, via the interface 205 a shortening signal 250 The operator can communicate the request to shorten the running time of the already started drying program. In response to the shortening signal 250 becomes the control signal 130 provided again or for the first time, however, with a control functionality that leads to a shortening of the duration of the drying program.”); determining a duration of the warming operation from the input parameters (Response by the user setting a shortening signal is seen as setting a duration of the warming operation); determining a start time for the warming operation from the input parameters and the determined duration (“According to an embodiment, the delay signal may represent a signal provided by a mobile device. The mobile device may, for example, be a mobile control device or a smartphone on which appropriate application software can be used. For example, an operator may enter a desired end time on the mobile device, and the delay signal may be provided using the input. Advantageously, this allows the operator to influence, for example, the end time of the drying program on the way out, and then to be able to remove the dry, fluffy warm and wrinkle-free laundry from the drying device immediately after arrival.”); and initiating the warming operation for the article at the determined start time (Activation by the user from their personal device).
Beckord is silent with respect to a warming operation independent of a drying process and receiving input parameters of the warming operation where the input parameters comprise a user defined temperature for an article in the drum.
However, Bombardier teaches a laundry drier that discloses a sub-program for the drier that allows for a remote start of the drier to operate a warming cycle independent from a drying operation (¶ 44-45) and receiving input parameters of the warming operation where the input parameters comprise a user defined temperature for an article in the drum (¶ 55). The resultant combination would be such that the warming program of Bombardier would be added to Beckord with the same user control features to allow a user to select a warming start time and duration based on a desired temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drier of Beckord with the isolated warming operation of Bombardier to allow a user to warm clothing to a desired temperature for comfortable wearing or physical benefits per Bombardier ¶ 44-45.
Beckord, per Bombardier, is silent with respect to a control panel couplet to a portion of the cabinet, the controller being in communication with the control panel, and receiving input parameters for the warming cycle from the control panel, wherein the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation.
However, Bellinger teaches a laundry dryer that discloses a control panel couplet to a portion of the cabinet (Figure 2 with cabinet 12 and user interface 14), the controller being in communication with the control panel, and receiving input parameters for the warming cycle from the control panel (¶ 42 with controller 20), wherein the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 42). The resultant combination would teach that the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 42 of Bellinger) and a user defined temperature for an article in the drum at the predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 55 of Bombardier with the set time of Bellinger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify warming cycle of Beckord/Bombardier with user determined time of Bellinger to allow for the user to set a specific warming time/length of time.
Regarding claim 3, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Beckord and Bombardier further discloses that the warming operation further comprises: terminating the warming operation at the predetermined termination time (¶ 45 of Bombardier).
Regarding claim 4, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Beckord, Bombardier, and Bellinger further discloses determining the start time comprises subtracting the determined duration of the warming operation from the predetermined termination time (According to the embodiment shown here, the delay signal 120 over the interface 205 from the device 105 read. Optionally, via the interface 205 a shortening signal 250 The operator can communicate the request to shorten the running time of the already started drying program. In response to the shortening signal 250 becomes the control signal 130 provided again or for the first time, however, with a control functionality that leads to a shortening of the duration of the drying program.” of Beckord as modified with the time control of Bombardier/Bellinger).
Regarding claim 5, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Beckord and Bellinger further discloses that the input parameters include an elapsed time for the warming operation (¶ 42 of Bellinger).
Regarding claim 9, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Beckord, Bombardier, and Bellinger further discloses that the input parameters are received by the controller from one or more of a consumer device and the control panel coupled to the portion of the cabinet (Beckord “The delay signal 120 According to the embodiment shown here, it is connected via an interface to a mobile device 125 provided. Additionally or alternatively, provision of the delay signal 120 from the operator via an on the drying device 100 arranged control element are triggered” and paired with the control panel 14 of Bellinger).
Regarding claim 10, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where Beckord and Bombardier further discloses that the consumer device is linked to the controller through one of a direct link and a network link (Network link between 105 and 125 in Beckord).
Regarding claim 11, Beckord teaches a laundry drier with a cabinet and drum along with a method of operation that discloses receiving input parameters for a warming operation (Page 2 to 3 of the translation provided with the paragraph starting “the laundry drying apparatus…” and ending “… or remaining time prognosis.” as well as “According to the embodiment shown here, the delay signal 120 over the interface 205 from the device 105 read. Optionally, via the interface 205 a shortening signal 250 The operator can communicate the request to shorten the running time of the already started drying program. In response to the shortening signal 250 becomes the control signal 130 provided again or for the first time, however, with a control functionality that leads to a shortening of the duration of the drying program.”); determining a duration of the warming operation from the input parameters (Response by the user setting a shortening signal is seen as setting a duration of the warming operation); determining a start time for the warming operation from the input parameters and the determined duration (“According to an embodiment, the delay signal may represent a signal provided by a mobile device. The mobile device may, for example, be a mobile control device or a smartphone on which appropriate application software can be used. For example, an operator may enter a desired end time on the mobile device, and the delay signal may be provided using the input. Advantageously, this allows the operator to influence, for example, the end time of the drying program on the way out, and then to be able to remove the dry, fluffy warm and wrinkle-free laundry from the drying device immediately after arrival.”); and initiating the warming operation for the article at the determined start time (Activation by the user from their personal device).
Beckord is silent with respect that the warming operation is independent of a drying process and receiving input parameters of the warming operation where the input parameters comprise a user defined temperature for an article in the drum.
However, Bombardier teaches a laundry drier that discloses a sub-program for the drier that allows for a remote start of the drier to operate a warming cycle independent from a drying operation (¶ 44-45). and receiving input parameters of the warming operation where the input parameters comprise a user defined temperature for an article in the drum (¶ 55). The resultant combination would be such that the warming program of Bombardier would be added to Beckord with the same user control features to allow a user to select a warming start time and duration based on a desired temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drier of Beckord with the isolated warming operation of Bombardier to allow a user to warm clothing to a desired temperature for comfortable wearing or physical benefits per Bombardier ¶ 44-45.
Beckord, per Bombardier, is silent with respect to a control panel couplet to a portion of the cabinet, the controller being in communication with the control panel, and receiving input parameters for the warming cycle from the control panel, wherein the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation.
However, Bellinger teaches a laundry dryer that discloses a control panel couplet to a portion of the cabinet (Figure 2 with cabinet 12 and user interface 14), the controller being in communication with the control panel, and receiving input parameters for the warming cycle from the control panel (¶ 42 with controller 20), wherein the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 42). The resultant combination would teach that the input parameters comprise a user defined predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 42 of Bellinger) and a user defined temperature for an article in the drum at the predetermined termination time of the warming operation (¶ 55 of Bombardier with the set time of Bellinger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify warming cycle of Beckord/Bombardier with user determined time of Bellinger to allow for the user to set a specific warming time/length of time.
Regarding claim 13, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where Bellinger further discloses that the warming operation further comprises: terminating the warming operation at the predetermined termination time (¶ 45 of Bombardier and ¶ 42 of Bellinger).
Regarding claim 14, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where Beckord and Bombardier further discloses determining the start time comprises subtracting the determined duration of the warming operation from the predetermined termination time (According to the embodiment shown here, the delay signal 120 over the interface 205 from the device 105 read. Optionally, via the interface 205 a shortening signal 250 The operator can communicate the request to shorten the running time of the already started drying program. In response to the shortening signal 250 becomes the control signal 130 provided again or for the first time, however, with a control functionality that leads to a shortening of the duration of the drying program.” of Beckord as modified with the time control of Bombardier/Bellinger).
Regarding claim 15, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where Bellinger further discloses that the input parameters include an elapsed time for the warming operation (Inherent of the control based on time taught in both Beckord and Bombardier as well as ¶ 42 of Bellinger).
Regarding claim 19, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where Beckord and Bombardier further discloses that the input parameters are received by the controller from one or more of a consumer device and the control panel coupled to the portion of the cabinet (Beckord “The delay signal 120 According to the embodiment shown here, it is connected via an interface to a mobile device 125 provided. Additionally or alternatively, provision of the delay signal 120 from the operator via an on the drying device 100 arranged control element are triggered” and paired with the control panel 14 of Bellinger).
Regarding claim 20, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 19 where Beckord and Bombardier further discloses that the consumer device is linked to the controller through one of a direct link and a network link (Network link between 105 and 125 in Beckord).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018107244 (Beckord) in view of EP 2497856 (Bombardier) in view of US 2023/004135 (Bellinger) and further in view of US 2019/0385017 (Hwang hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to retrieving dryer appliance performance data; and using the dryer appliance performance data in determining the duration of the warming operation.
However, Hwang teaches a clothes managing system or a dryer that discloses retrieving dryer appliance performance data (¶ 390); and using the dryer appliance performance data in determining the duration of the warming operation (Resultant combination to check the drying efficiency of the system and pair that data with data of Beckord/Bombardier to determine the operation of the after-care steps of Beckord).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Beckord and Bombardier with the performance data of the dryer taught by Hwang to operate the dryer at an increased efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Beckord, Bombardier, and Hwang would further disclose that the dryer appliance performance data is retrieved from a memory in the controller (¶ 390 of Hwang where the data is sent to a server from the dryer which would have to be stored on a memory).
Regarding claim 16, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 but are silent with respect to retrieving dryer appliance performance data; and using the dryer appliance performance data in determining the duration of the warming operation.
However, Hwang teaches a clothes managing system or a dryer that discloses retrieving dryer appliance performance data (¶ 390); and using the dryer appliance performance data in determining the duration of the warming operation (Resultant combination to check the drying efficiency of the system and pair that data with data of Beckord/Bombardier to determine the operation of the after-care steps of Beckord).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Beckord and Bombardier with the performance data of the dryer taught by Hwang to operate the dryer at an increased efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Beckord, Bombardier, and Hwang would further disclose that the dryer appliance performance data is retrieved from a memory in the controller (¶ 390 of Hwang where the data is sent to a server from the dryer which would have to be stored on a memory).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018107244 (Beckord) in view of EP 2497856 (Bombardier) in view of US 2023/004135 (Bellinger) in view of US 2019/0385017 (Hwang) and further in view of US 2018/0195229 (Pistochini hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 but are silent with respect that the dryer appliance performance data includes at least one of an airflow condition in the dryer appliance, an efficiency of the dryer appliance, an input from an inlet temperature sensor, and an input from a vent temperature sensor
However, Pistochini teaches a dryer with sensing capabilities that discloses sensing an efficiency of the dryer appliance (¶ 44)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control scheme of Beckord/Bombardier/Hwang with the sensing capabilities of Pistochini to ensure that the user is aware of the dryer’s efficiency and can ensure that the dryer is functioning properly.
Regarding claim 18, Beckord’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 but are silent with respect that the dryer appliance performance data includes at least one of an airflow condition in the dryer appliance, an efficiency of the dryer appliance, an input from an inlet temperature sensor, and an input from a vent temperature sensor.
However, Pistochini teaches a dryer with sensing capabilities that discloses sensing an efficiency of the dryer appliance (¶ 44)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control scheme of Beckord/Bombardier/Hwang with the sensing capabilities of Pistochini to ensure that the user is aware of the dryer’s efficiency and can ensure that the dryer is functioning properly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. US 2023/0004135 (Bellinger) is newly added to the rejections above.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762