Reissue Applications
For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 11,047,753 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Maintenance Fee Reminder
Applicant is reminded during the prosecution of the instant reissue patent application, maintenance fees must be kept up to date for the Patent No. 11,047,753 (“the ‘753 patent”). A review of the maintenance fee status for the ‘753 patent shows the 3.5 year fee has been paid and the first day to pay the 7.5 year fee opens June 29, 2028, the surcharge starts December 30, 2028, and the last day to pay is June 29, 2029.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
MPEP 1406 states:
Where a copy of a reference other than a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication that was cited in the original patent is not available and cannot be obtained through any source other than the reissue applicant (who has not submitted the copy), the examiner will not consider that reference and therefore, will not list that reference on the PTO-892 form. If that reference was listed by the reissue applicant on a PTO/SB/08 form but a copy has not been provided, the examiner will line-through the reference to indicate that the reference has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed October 13, 2022 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document, each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed, and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Specifically, there is no copy of any foreign reference or non-patent literature in this reissue application.
As noted above, a copy of each cited reference that is not a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application must be included; copies of cited references in the ‘753 patent are not sufficient since a reissue application is not a continuation type application. See MPEP § 1406 (citing 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2)). While each foreign and non-patent literature reference cited in the IDS has been reviewed, they are nonetheless lined through. Should Applicant wish to have these lined through references listed on the cover of any subsequently issued patent from this reissue application, copies of the references should be submitted with a new IDS.
Defective Reissue Declaration
The reissue oath/declaration filed with this application is defective (see 37 CFR 1.175 and MPEP § 1414) because of the following:
The first page of the reissue declaration does not have the information for the first inventor on the first page filled in, the check box for additional inventors is not checked, and the other five inventors information is not listed on additional attached pages.
MPEP 1414(II)(B) states (emphasis added), “For an application filed on or after September 16, 2012 that seeks to enlarge the scope of the claims of the patent, the reissue oath or declaration must also identify a claim that the application seeks to broaden in the identification of the error that is relied upon to support the reissue application. A general statement, e.g., that all claims are broadened, is not sufficient to satisfy this requirement. In specifically identifying the error as required by 37 CFR 1.175(a), it is sufficient that the reissue oath/declaration identify the claim being broadened and a single word, phrase, or expression in the specification or in an original claim, and how it renders the original patent wholly or partly inoperative or invalid.” The error statement does not state how the single word, phrase, or expression in the specification or in an original claim renders the original patent wholly or partly inoperative or invalid as in MPEP 1414(II)(B).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 251: Defective Reissue Declaration
Claims 1-36 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR 1.175.
The nature of the defect(s) in the declaration is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14, 19, 28-31, 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895). Regarding Claim 13, Sasaki et al. discloses a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8) comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator) disposed on a common substrate 40, wherein the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator capable of formatting and outputting a signal), wherein the substrate comprises an aperture 24 extending completely through the substrate and wherein the pressure sensitive element is disposed on the substrate in communication with the aperture (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a connector component 70 comprising a body including a hollow, cylindrical portion 71 at one end and a receiving cavity 72 at a second, opposite end, wherein the receiving cavity is sized and shaped to accommodate the pressure responsive component, and wherein the pressure responsive component is disposed within the receiving cavity (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a first seal 97 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity of the connector component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a housing component 10 comprising a sensing end (end of 12 near 19) open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate, and a second end (at 17) comprising an open cylinder 13,14,16 having a wall 16 and defining a chamber 18, wherein the pressure responsive component and the connector are disposed in the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8), wherein the wall of the chamber is crimped (at 17) over the connector component, wherein a groove 14 is formed in a bottom portion of the chamber; and a seal ring 95 disposed in the groove, wherein the seal ring is compressed between the substrate of the pressure responsive component and the bottom portion of the chamber of the housing component to provide a second seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
If in the alternative, the arithmetic processing circuit is not an output signal generator, Eckhardt et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component 20 comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator 40 disposed on a common substrate 24, wherein the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output generator of Eckhardt et al. to process the pressure signal from the pressure sensitive component and output the process to computer or other control device.
Regarding Claim 14, Sasaki et al. does not expressly disclose a third seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between an edge of the crimped wall of the chamber of the housing component and a perimeter of the body of the connector component.
However, Eckhardt et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a seal 126 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between an edge of the crimped wall of a chamber (inner edge of wall 112) of the housing component 110 and a perimeter of a body 124 of a connector component 120 (Figures 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the seal of Eckhardt as a third seal between the housing and connector to further protect the electronic components from dust, debris, water, or other liquids in the environment that could damage the electronics of the pressure sensitive element, output generator, and associated connectors.
Regarding Claim 19, Sasaki et al. discloses a method for manufacturing the pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment of claim 13, comprising the steps of: disposing the pressure responsive component in the receiving cavity such that a perimeter of the substrate is fit in close proximity to a perimeter of the receiving cavity (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); attaching leads 50 to contacts 51 on the substrate of the pressure responsive component; applying a sealing material 97 at the perimeter of both the substrate of the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity to create the first seal to separate the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment and to integrate the pressure responsive component with the connector component into a sub-assembly (see Figures 1-4, 6,8); disposing the seal ring 95 in the groove located in the bottom portion of the chamber of the housing component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); disposing the sub-assembly within the chamber of the housing component such that the pressure responsive component is positioned adjacent to the sealing ring; and crimping (at 17) the wall of the chamber over a perimeter of the body of the connector component to retain the sub-assembly and integrally enclose the pressure responsive component within the chamber of the housing component and compress the seal ring between the pressure responsive component and the housing component to create the second seal to separate the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment (Figures 1-9). These steps, if not inherent, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as the normal and expected assembly of the pressure assembly of Sasaki et al.
Regarding Claim 28-31, 33-36, Sasaki et al. discloses a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8) comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator) disposed on a common substrate 40, wherein the pressure sensitive element and the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator capable of formatting and outputting a signal along with the pressure sensitive element), wherein the substrate comprises an aperture 24 extending completely through the substrate and wherein the pressure sensitive element is disposed on the substrate in communication with the aperture (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a connector component 70 comprising a body including a first end having a hollow, cylindrical portion 71 and a second end have a receiving cavity 72, wherein the receiving cavity is sized and shaped to accommodate the pressure responsive component, and wherein the pressure responsive component is disposed within the receiving cavity (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a first seal 97 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity of the connector component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a housing component 10 comprising a sensing end (end of 12 near 19) open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate, and a second end (at 17) comprising an open chamber 13,14,16 having a wall 16, wherein the connector component is attached to the housing component and the pressure responsive component is received in the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); and a seal ring 95 disposed between the substrate of the pressure responsive component and a bottom portion of the chamber of the housing to provide a second seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
If in the alternative, the arithmetic processing circuit is not an output signal generator, Eckhardt et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component 20 comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator 40 disposed on a common substrate 24, wherein the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output generator of Eckhardt et al. to process the pressure signal from the pressure sensitive component and output the process to computer or other control device.
Regarding Claim 29, Sasaki et al. disclose the connector component is attached to the housing component by the wall of the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 30, Sasaki et al. does not expressly disclose a third seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between an edge of the wall of the chamber of the housing component and a perimeter of the body of the connector component.
However, Eckhardt et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a seal 126 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between an edge of the wall of a chamber (inner edge of wall 112) of the housing component 110 and a perimeter of a body 124 of a connector component 120 (Figures 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the seal of Eckhardt as a third seal between the housing and connector to further protect the electronic components from dust, debris, water, or other liquids in the environment that could damage the electronics of the pressure sensitive element, output generator, and associated connectors.
Regarding Claim 31, Sasaki et al. disclose the pressure sensitive element comprises a piezo-resistive device (see lines 4-5 of paragraph [0039]); and wherein the pressure sensitive element and the output generator are surface mounted to the substrate (mounted on the surface of substrate 24 as shown in Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 33, Sasaki et al. disclose the pressure responsive component, the connector component and the first seal comprise a subassembly (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 34, Sasaki et al. disclose the subassembly is retained with the housing component by the wall of the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 35, Sasaki et al. disclose the sensing end of the housing component further comprises a hollow, tubular section 12 open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the housing (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 36, Sasaki et al. discloses a method for manufacturing the pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment of claim 28, comprising the steps of: disposing the pressure responsive component in the receiving cavity such that a perimeter of the substrate is fit in close proximity to a perimeter of the receiving cavity (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); attaching leads 50 to contacts 51 on the substrate of the pressure responsive component; applying a sealing material 97 at the perimeter of both the substrate of the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity to create the first seal to separate the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment and to integrate the pressure responsive component with the connector component into a sub-assembly (see Figures 1-4, 6,8); disposing the seal ring 95 in a bottom portion of the chamber of the housing component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); disposing the sub-assembly within the chamber of the housing component such that the pressure responsive component is positioned adjacent to the sealing ring; and retaining the subassembly to the housing component with the wall of the chamber such that the sealing ring is compressed between the pressure responsive component and the housing component to create the second seal to separate the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment (Figures 1-9). These steps, if not inherent, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as the normal and expected assembly of the pressure assembly of Sasaki et al.
Claim(s) 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) or Sasaki et al. in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895) as applied to claims 13-14, 19, 28-31, 33 above, and further in view of Engle et al. (US-2012012115). Regarding Claim 15, Sasaki et al. discloses wherein the pressure sensitive element comprises a piezo-resistive device (see lines 4-5 of paragraph [0039]); wherein the pressure sensitive element and the output signal generator are surface mounted (mounted on the surface of substrate 24 as shown in Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9), but does not expressly disclose wherein the substrate is a ceramic comprising one of alumina ceramic and a zirconia ceramic.
However, Engle et al. teaches a pressure assembly wherein a sensing element 22,110 is surface mounted to a substrate 18,130,230 which is a ceramic comprising an alumina ceramic (see paragraph [0044]) (Figures 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the substrate of Sasaki et al. from alumina ceramic, or any old, well known, and readily available ceramic, to use the insulative properties of such ceramics for mounting the electrical components of the pressure sensor assembly.
Regarding Claim 18, Sasaki et al. discloses the sensing end of the housing component further comprises a hollow, tubular section 12 open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate (Figures 1-9).
Claim(s) 16, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) or Sasaki et al. in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895) and Engle et al. (US-2012012115) as applied to claims 15 and 31 above, and further in view of Golly et al. (US-20180209863). Regarding Claims 16 and 32, Sasaki et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the pressure responsive component further comprises a protective cover positioned on the substrate to cover at least one of the pressure sensitive element and the output signal generator.
However, Golly et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly comprising a pressure responsive component comprising a protective cover 98 positioned on a substrate 58,62,72,86 to cover at least one of the pressure sensitive element 84 and the output signal generator (Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the protective cover to the substrate of Sasaki et al. to cover the pressure sensitive element and signal generator to protect the sensitive electric component from dust, dirt, debris, liquid, etc. that might damage the electronics in case the seals failed.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) or Sasaki et al. in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895), Engle et al. (US-2012012115), and Golly et al. (US-20180209863) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Girroir et al. (US-7762140). Sasaki et al. as modified discloses a subassembly comprising the pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8), the connector component 70 and the first seal 97 and the protective cover (as addressed above in regards to claim 16), but does not expressly disclose the first seal comprises one of an epoxy and a silicone.
However, Girroir et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly that uses epoxy to seal around openings (see Column 4, Lines 49-56) (Figures 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use epoxy, or any old, well known, and readily available sealing material, to seal the openings between the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity of Sasaki to protect the sensor from fluid media rendering the sensor insensitive to any corrosivity of the fluid media and without significant degradation of the response time of the sensor or significant degradation of the sensitivity of the flexivity of the pressure sensor diaphragm as taught by Girroir et al. at Column 4, Lines 51-56.
Claim(s) 1, 20-22, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895). Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki et al. discloses a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8) comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator) disposed on a common substrate 40, wherein the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format (arithmetic processing circuit in line 8 of paragraph [0039] is interpreted as an output signal generator capable of formatting and outputting a signal), wherein the substrate comprises an aperture 24 extending completely through the substrate and wherein the pressure sensitive element is disposed on the substrate in communication with the aperture (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a connector component 70 comprising a body including a hollow, cylindrical portion 71 at one end and a receiving cavity 72 at a second, opposite end, wherein the receiving cavity is sized and shaped to accommodate the pressure responsive component, and wherein the pressure responsive component is disposed within the receiving cavity (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a first seal 97 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around an interface between the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity of the connector component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a housing component 10 comprising a sensing end (end of 12 near 19) open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate, and a second end (at 17) comprising an open cylinder 13,14,16 defining a chamber 18 having a wall16 wherein a groove 14 if formed in a bottom portion of the chamber, wherein the pressure responsive component and the connector component are disposed in the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8), wherein the connector component is attached to the housing component and the pressure responsive component is retained in the chamber of the housing component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8); a seal ring 95 disposed in the groove, wherein the seal ring is compressed between the substrate of the pressure responsive component and the bottom portion of the chamber of the housing component to provide a second seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9), but does not expressly disclose a third seal for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around the chamber of the housing component and a perimeter of the body of the connector component.
However, Eckhardt et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly for detecting a pressure in an ambient environment, comprising: a pressure responsive component 20 comprising a pressure sensitive element 22 and an output signal generator 40 disposed on a common substrate 24, wherein the output signal generator formats an output signal of the pressure sensitive element into a preset signal format; and a seal 126 for isolating the pressure responsive component from the ambient environment located around a chamber (inside 112) of the housing component 110 and a perimeter of a body 124 of a connector component 120 (Figures 1-9). If the arithmetic processing circuit of Sasaki et al. is not a output signal generator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output generator of Eckhardt et al. to process the pressure signal from the pressure sensitive component and output the process to computer or other control device. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the seal of Eckhardt as a third seal between the housing and connector to further protect the electronic components from dust, debris, water, or other liquids in the environment that could damage the electronics of the pressure sensitive element, output generator, and associated connectors.
Regarding Claim 20, Sasaki et al. disclose a subassembly comprising the pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8), the connector component 70 and the first seal 97 (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 21, Sasaki et al. discloses the subassembly is retained with the housing component by the wall of the chamber (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 22, Sasaki et al. discloses the wall of the chamber is crimped (at 17) over the connector component (see Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9).
Regarding Claim 26, Sasaki et al. discloses the sensing end of the housing component further comprises a hollow, tubular section 12 open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate (Figures 1-9).
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895) as applied to claims 1, 20-22, 26 above, and further in view of Engle et al. (US-2012012115). Regarding Claim 2, Sasaki et al. discloses wherein the pressure sensitive element comprises a piezo-resistive device (see lines 4-5 of paragraph [0039]); wherein the pressure sensitive element and the output signal generator are surface mounted (mounted on the surface of substrate 24 as shown in Figures 1-4, 6, 8) (Figures 1-9), but does not expressly disclose wherein the substrate is a ceramic comprising one of alumina ceramic and a zirconia ceramic.
However, Engle et al. teaches a pressure assembly wherein a sensing element 22,110 is surface mounted to a substrate 18,130,230 which is a ceramic comprising an alumina ceramic (see paragraph [0044]) (Figures 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the substrate of Sasaki et al. from alumina ceramic, or any old, well known, and readily available ceramic, to use the insulative properties of such ceramics for mounting the electrical components of the pressure sensor assembly.
Regarding Claim 7, Sasaki et al. discloses the sensing end of the housing component further comprises a hollow, tubular section 12 open to the ambient environment and in communication with the aperture in the substrate (Figures 1-9).
Claim(s) 3, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895) and Engle et al. (US-2012012115) as applied to claim 2 and 21 above, and further in view of Golly et al. (US-20180209863). Regarding Claims 3 and 23, Sasaki et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the pressure responsive component further comprises a protective cover positioned on the substrate to cover at least one of the pressure sensitive element and the output signal generator.
However, Golly et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly comprising a pressure responsive component comprising a protective cover 98 positioned on a substrate 58,62,72,86 to cover at least one of the pressure sensitive element 84 and the output signal generator (Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the protective cover to the substrate of Sasaki et al. to cover the pressure sensitive element and signal generator to protect the sensitive electric component from dust, dirt, debris, liquid, etc. that might damage the electronics in case the seals failed.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US-20050061080) in view of Eckhardt et al. (US-20170191895), Engle et al. (US-2012012115), and Golly et al. (US-20180209863) as applied to claims 3, 7, and 26 above, and further in view of Girroir et al. (US-7762140). Sasaki et al. as modified discloses a subassembly comprising the pressure responsive component (20 and everything supporting it above 95 in Figures 1-4,6,8), the connector component 70 and the first seal 97 and the protective cover (as addressed above in regards to claim 3), but does not expressly disclose the first seal comprises one of an epoxy and a silicone.
However, Girroir et al. teaches a pressure sensor assembly that uses epoxy to seal around openings (see Column 4, Lines 49-56) (Figures 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use epoxy, or any old, well known, and readily available sealing material, to seal the openings between the pressure responsive component and the receiving cavity of Sasaki to protect the sensor from fluid media rendering the sensor insensitive to any corrosivity of the fluid media and without significant degradation of the response time of the sensor or significant degradation of the sensitivity of the flexivity of the pressure sensor diaphragm as taught by Girroir et al. at Column 4, Lines 51-56.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM E DONDERO/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3993
CONFEREES:
/Laura Davison/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3993
/Patricia L Engle/SPRS, Art Unit 3993