DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed March 23, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Species 1A (Fig. 7A), Claims 1-6, and 8-12 in the reply filed on June 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7, and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 18, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim et al. (WO 2018147637 A1), hereby referred to as Kim ‘637, Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim et al. (CN 111009564 A), hereby referred to as Kim ‘564, Xu (US 20190277455 A1) and Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teaches:
A display device [100, paragraph [0034], Fig. 1-3], comprising:
a stretchable lower substrate [110A, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-3];
a pattern layer disposed on the lower substrate [110A, Fig. 1-3], the pattern layer including a plurality of plate patterns [111, paragraph [0040], Fig. 1-3] and a plurality of line patterns [170, paragraph [0043], Fig. 1];
a plurality of pixels [PX, Abstract, paragraph [0005-0006], Fig. 1-2] disposed on each of the plurality of plate patterns [111, Fig. 1-3]; and
a plurality of connection lines [171/172, paragraph [0081], Fig. 2-3] disposed on each of the plurality of line patterns [170, paragraph [0043], Fig. 1] and connected to the plurality of pixels [PX, Fig. 2],
wherein each of the plurality of pixels [PX, Fig. 2] includes a light emitting diode [150, paragraph [0066], Fig. 3] and a driving element [122, paragraph [0038], [0044-0047], Fig. 1] configured to drive the light emitting diode [150, Fig. 3].
wherein the light emitting diode [1550, paragraph [0197-0203], Fig. 15] includes an n-type layer [1551, paragraph [0201-0203], Fig. 15], an active layer [1552, paragraph [0201-0203], Fig. 15], a p-type layer [1553, paragraph [0201-0203], Fig. 15], an n-electrode [1555, paragraph [0201-0203], Fig. 15], and a p-electrode [1554, paragraph [0201-0203], Fig. 15].
Kim et al. does not teach:
Wherein the light emitting diode includes an emission area in which light is emitted and a non-emission area in which light is not emitted, a color conversion layer is disposed below the emission area of the light emitting diode, and a color transmission layer is disposed on the emission area of the light emitting diode.
Kim ‘637 teaches:
Wherein the light emitting diode [paragraph [0054], Fig. 1a-1b] includes an emission area [21/23, paragraph [0058], Fig. 1a-1b] in which light is emitted and a non-emission area [22, Fig. 1b] in which light is not emitted, a color conversion layer [30, paragraph [0048], [0054], [0070], Fig. 1a-1b] is disposed below the emission area [21/23, Fig. 1a-1b] of the light emitting diode [Fig. 1a-1b], and a color transmission layer [50, paragraph [0054], [0087], Fig. 1a-1b] is disposed on the emission area [21/23, Fig. 1a-1b] of the light emitting diode [Fig. 1a-1b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘637 into the teachings of Kim et al. to include wherein the light emitting diode includes an emission area in which light is emitted and a non-emission area in which light is not emitted, a color conversion layer is disposed below the emission area of the light emitting diode, and a color transmission layer is disposed on the emission area of the light emitting diode, for the purpose of emitting light at desired wavelengths, and improving display properties and user experience.
Kim et al. and Kim ‘637 do not teach:
wherein a color conversion layer is disposed between the active layer of the light emitting diode and a first connection pad, and between the active layer of the light emitting diode and a second connection pad.
Park et al. teaches:
wherein a color conversion layer [120, paragraph [0079-0080], Fig. 1A, 6] is disposed between the active layer [112, paragraph [0062], Fig. 1C, 6] of the light emitting diode [110, paragraph [0062], Fig. 1C, 6] and a first connection pad [212b (left), paragraph [0096], Fig. 6], and between the active layer [112, paragraph [0062], Fig. 1C, 6] of the light emitting diode [110, paragraph [0062], Fig. 1C, 6] and a second connection pad [212b (right), paragraph [0096], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. and Kim ‘637 to include wherein a color conversion layer is disposed between the active layer of the light emitting diode and a first connection pad, and between the active layer of the light emitting diode and a second connection pad, for the purpose of converting wavelengths to desired colors, and improving efficiency and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, and Park et al. do not teach:
wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the driving element, and a low potential driving voltage is configured to be applied to the second connection pad.
Kim ‘564 teaches:
wherein the first connection pad [163/132, paragraph [000115], [000133], [000160], Fig. 2A, 5] is electrically connected to the driving element, and a low potential driving voltage is configured to be applied to the second connection pad [162/131, paragraph [000115], [000132], [000161], Fig. 2A, 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘564 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, and Park et al. to include wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the driving element, and a low potential driving voltage is configured to be applied to the second connection pad, for the purpose of providing power to the device, effective signal transmissions, and improving heat dissipation.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al. and Kim ‘564 do not teach:
wherein the n-electrode of the light emitting diode is disposed on one side of each of the active layer and a color conversion layer,
wherein the n-type layer of the light emitting diode is disposed on the active layer, the color conversion layer, and the n-electrode.
Xu teaches:
wherein the n-electrode [21, paragraph [0035-0036], Fig. 7] of the light emitting diode [36, paragraph [0035-0036], Fig. 7] is disposed on one side of each of the active layer [18, paragraph [0035], Fig. 7] and a color conversion layer [12/25, paragraph [0003], [0035-0036], Fig. 7],
wherein the n-type layer [17, paragraph [0021], [0035], Fig. 7] of the light emitting diode [36, paragraph [0035-0036], Fig. 7] is disposed on the active layer [18, Fig. 7], the color conversion layer [12/25, Fig. 7], and the n-electrode [21, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Xu into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al. and Kim ‘564 to include wherein the n-electrode of the light emitting diode is disposed on one side of each of the active layer and a color conversion layer, wherein the n-type layer of the light emitting diode is disposed on the active layer, the color conversion layer, and the n-electrode, for the purpose of increasing the radiant flux of light emitted by the light source. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564 and Xu do not teach:
wherein a total reflection layer is disposed on the n-electrode and the n-type layer, and
wherein a total reflection pattern is disposed on side surfaces of the n-electrode and the n- type layer.
Ota et al. teaches:
wherein a total reflection layer [40, paragraph [0066-0070], [0140], [0149], Fig. 5D] is disposed on the n-electrode [51, paragraph [0065], [0131-0132], [0141], Fig. 5D] and the n-type layer [21, paragraph [0065], [0131-0132], [0141] Fig. 5D], and
wherein a total reflection pattern [40, Fig. 5D] is disposed on side surfaces of the n-electrode [51, Fig. 5D] and the n- type layer [21, Fig. 5D].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ota et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564 and Xu to include wherein a total reflection layer is disposed on the n-electrode and the n-type layer, and wherein a total reflection pattern is disposed on side surfaces of the n-electrode and the n- type layer, for the purpose of high reflectivity, and improving light extraction efficiency. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
wherein the color conversion layer converts light having a first wavelength emitted from the light emitting diode into light having a second wavelength.
Kim ‘637 teaches:
wherein the color conversion layer [30, paragraph [0071], [0077-0079], Fig. 1a-1b] converts light having a first wavelength emitted from the light emitting diode [20, paragraph [0027-0029], [0054], [0056-0058], [0067-0069], Fig. 1a-1b] into light having a second wavelength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘637 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein the color conversion layer converts light having a first wavelength emitted from the light emitting diode into light having a second wavelength, for the purpose of emitting light at desired wavelengths, and improving display properties and user experience.
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Kim et al., Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
wherein a total reflection pattern which reflects light is disposed on a side surface of the light emitting diode.
Kim ‘637 teaches:
wherein a total reflection pattern [40, paragraph [0054], [0084-0086], Fig. 1a-1b] which reflects light is disposed on a side surface of the light emitting diode [20, paragraph [0027-0029], [0054], [0056-0058], [0067-0069], Fig. 1a-1b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘637 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein a total reflection pattern which reflects light is disposed on a side surface of the light emitting diode, for the purpose of reflecting undesired wavelengths of light within the device to be converted to desired wavelengths, improving display properties.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim ‘637 (WO 2018147637 A1), Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim ‘564 (CN 111009564 A), Xu (US 20190277455 A1) and Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Beeson et al. (US 20060203468 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al. and Kim ‘564 teach the display device according to claim 2.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
wherein the color transmission layer transmits only the light having a second wavelength reflected from the color conversion layer and reflects the light having a first wavelength emitted from the light emitting diode.
Beeson et al. teaches:
wherein the color transmission layer [242, paragraph [0186-0190], Fig. 6] transmits only the light having a second wavelength [248, paragraph [0188-0189], Fig. 6] reflected from the color conversion layer [214, paragraph [0189], Fig. 6] and reflects the light having a first wavelength [244, paragraph [0188], Fig. 6] emitted from the light emitting diode [206, paragraph [0186], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Beeson et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein the color transmission layer transmits only the light having a second wavelength reflected from the color conversion layer and reflects the light having a first wavelength emitted from the light emitting diode, for the purpose of emitting color of the desired wavelengths, improving efficiency and output brightness.
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Beeson et al. teach the display device according to claim 3.
Beeson et al. further teaches:
wherein the first wavelength [244/246, paragraph [0188-0189], Fig. 6] is a wavelength of incident light of the color conversion layer [214, Fig. 6] and the second wavelength [248, Fig. 6] is a wavelength of reflected light of the color conversion layer [214, Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
wherein a total reflection layer that reflects light is disposed on the non-emission area of the light emitting diode.
Beeson et al. teaches:
wherein a total reflection layer [202, paragraph [140], Fig. 6] that reflects light is disposed on the non-emission area [everywhere but area occupied by light output aperture 204 and space occupied by LED 206] of the light emitting diode [240, paragraph [0182], Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Beeson et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein a total reflection layer that reflects light is disposed on the non-emission area of the light emitting diode, for the purpose of improving light reflectivity, and maximize output efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim ‘637 (WO 2018147637 A1), Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim ‘564 (CN 111009564 A), Xu (US 20190277455 A1) and Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 9431583 B2), hereby referred to as Kim ‘583.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
wherein the color conversion layer is a film in which color conversion materials are dispersed in an insulating film.
Kim ‘583 teaches:
wherein the color conversion layer [45, Col. 8, Lines 41-45, Fig. 2] is a film in which color conversion materials [P, Fig. 2] are dispersed in an insulating film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘583 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein the color conversion layer is a film in which color conversion materials are dispersed in an insulating film, for the purpose of improving light conversion and transmittance efficiency, resulting in higher quality displays.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim ‘637 (WO 2018147637 A1), Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim ‘564 (CN 111009564 A), Xu (US 20190277455 A1) and Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 20200235161 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al.do not teach:
wherein the p-electrode, the active layer, the p- type layer, and the p-electrode are disposed in the emission area.
Kim ‘637 teaches:
wherein the p-electrode, the active layer, the p- type layer, and the p-electrode are disposed in the emission area [paragraph [0026-0028], [0056-0057], Fig. 1a-1b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘637 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include wherein the p-electrode, the active layer, the p- type layer, and the p-electrode are disposed in the emission area, for the purpose of providing features for a light emitting device.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. do not teach:
the n-electrode is disposed in the non-emission area, and the n-type layer is disposed in the emission area and the non-emission area.
Kwak et al. teaches:
the n-electrode [130, paragraph [0046], Fig. 4] is disposed in the non-emission area, and the n-type layer [121, paragraph [0046], Fig. 4] is disposed in the emission area and the non-emission area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kwak et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu and Ota et al. to include the n-electrode is disposed in the non-emission area, and the n-type layer is disposed in the emission area and the non-emission area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al. and Kim ‘564 in the above manner for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, reducing interval between light emitting elements, and reducing dark regions. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. teach the display device according to claim 9.
Kwak et al. further teaches:
wherein the light emitting diode [100, paragraph [0053], [0101-0102], Fig. 4] is a flip- chip type and the p-electrode [140, paragraph [0051], Fig. 4] and the n-electrode [130, Fig. 4] are disposed below the n-type layer [121, Fig. 4].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim ‘637 (WO 2018147637 A1), Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim ‘564 (CN 111009564 A), Xu (US 20190277455 A1), Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1) and Kwak et al. (US 20200235161 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (US 20080093607 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. teach the display device according to claim 10.
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. do not teach:
wherein the color transmission layer is disposed on the n-type layer.
Feng et al. teaches:
wherein the color transmission layer [205, paragraph [0050], Fig. 3] is disposed on the n-type layer [203, paragraph [0048], [0050], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Feng et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. to include wherein the color transmission layer is disposed on the n-type layer, for the purpose of transmitting light at desired wavelengths. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), in view of Kim ‘637 (WO 2018147637 A1), Park et al. (US 20170012188 A1), Kim ‘564 (CN 111009564 A), Xu (US 20190277455 A1), Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1), and Kwak et al. (US 20200235161 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210320231 A1), hereby referred to as Kim ‘231.
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. teach the display device according to claim 10.
Kwak et al. further teaches:
p-electrode [140, Fig. 4] and n-electrode [130, Fig. 4]
Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. do not teach:
wherein the color conversion layer is disposed between the p-electrode and the n-electrode.
Kim ‘231 teaches:
wherein the color conversion layer [CCL, paragraph [0207], Fig. 5] is disposed between the electrode [REL2_1, paragraph [0207], Fig. 5] and the electrode [REL2_2, paragraph [0207], Fig. 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘231 into the teachings of Kim et al., Kim ‘637, Park et al., Kim ‘564, Xu, Ota et al. and Kwak et al. to include wherein the color conversion layer is disposed between the p-electrode and the n-electrode, for the purpose of converting light to desired wavelengths. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 1-6, Section: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed March 23, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited sources Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1), and Xu (US 20190277455 A1).
Applicant argues that their specific architecture of the present application is different than that of the prior art of record. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However this does not place the application in condition for allowance. Applicant has not presented any criticality of the specific limitation and how their arrangement contains any new and/or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Examiner proposes that the newly cited sources Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1), and Xu (US 20190277455 A1), in combination, can overcome the amended limitations of independent claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Ota et al. and Xu with primary reference Kim et al. (KR 20200009921 A), for the purpose of increasing the radiant flux of light emitted by the light source, high reflectivity and improving light extraction efficiency.
Applicant argues on page 6, Section: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed March 23, 2026 that dependent claims 2-6 and 8-12, which depend on independent claim 1, should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited sources Ota et al. (US 20200161499 A1), and Xu (US 20190277455 A1). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 04/16/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815