DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 14-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed March 9, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see pages 6-11, that there is insufficient motivation to replace the compensation capacitor of previously presented prior art reference Yeo et al. (Patent Number US 6,292,060 B1), as cited by applicant, hereafter referred to as Yeo, with a variable capacitor, as suggested by previously presented prior art reference Mu (Patent Publication Number US 2018/0191312 A1), hereafter referred to as Mu. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Yeo teaches away from using a variable capacitor because depending on the inductor quality factor, the compensation capacitor of Yeo will either provide a stable operation regardless of capacitance value or heavily restrict the range of allowable values. However, the fact that the range of acceptable values can change provides a rationale for using a variable capacitor, namely that if the optimum value of the capacitance value for maximizing circuit gain falls outside the range of values for stable operation, then adjusting the capacitance value to provide a tradeoff between circuit stability and gain may be necessary. Therefore, Yeo does not teach against varying the compensation capacitance, and in fact provides appropriate rationale for including a variable capacitor by enabling ideal compensation over a wide variety of operating conditions (Yeo, Col. 2, line 63-Col. 3, line 7).
Applicant further argues that Yeo fails to disclose varying the capacitance of the compensation capacitor. As described in the Final Office Action, Mu discloses a selective capacitor, which, when combined with the fixed capacitor of Yeo, allows for adjusting the capacitance value of the capacitor of Yeo (Mu, Paragraph 38, lines 13-14) to provide optimum performance for a variety of operating conditions (Yeo, Col. 2, line 63-Col. 3, line 7). Therefore, Yeo is not required to disclose a selective capacitor, as that is the purpose of the combination with Mu.
Therefore, all of applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of claims 1-4, 8-11, and 14-15 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo in view of Mu.
Regarding claim 1, Yeo discloses:
An amplifying circuit (Yeo, Fig. 1), comprising: a first transistor (Fig. 1, M2); a second transistor (Fig. 1, M1), coupled to the first transistor in series (Fig. 1, see connection between M2 and M1); and a compensation capacitor (Fig. 1, C2), selectively coupled to a first terminal (Fig. 1, see connection between C2 and drain of M2) and a second terminal of the first transistor (Fig. 1, see connection between C2 and source of M2), wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are not control terminals (Fig. 1, see that first and second terminals of M2 are drain and source terminals, respectively), the compensation capacitor for compensating for parasitic capacitance generated between the first transistor and the second transistor (Col. 2, lines 57-62); but fails to disclose a plurality of switches; [a] plurality of [compensation capacitors], wherein each one of the plurality of compensation capacitors is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of switches in series; wherein the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled in parallel.
However, Mu teaches a plurality of switches (Mu, Fig. 9, 520-1 – 520-N); [a] plurality of [compensation capacitors] (Fig. 9, 510-1 – 510-N), wherein each one of the plurality of compensation capacitors is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of switches in series (Fig. 9, see series connections of 510-1 – 510-N to 520-1 – 520-N); wherein the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled in parallel (Fig. 9, see parallel connection of 520-1 – 520-N).
Yeo and Mu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Yeo to incorporate the teachings of Mu to use the variable capacitor network of Mu for the compensation capacitor of Yeo, which would have the effect of allowing for adjusting the capacitance value of the capacitor of Yeo (Mu, Paragraph 38, lines 13-14) to provide optimum performance for a variety of operating conditions (Yeo, Col. 2, line 63-Col. 3, line 7).
Regarding claim 2, Yeo further discloses:
wherein the first transistor is a common gate amplifier (Yeo, Fig. 1, see that gate of M2 is not in RF signal path), and the second transistor is a common source amplifier (Fig. 1, see that source of M1 is not in RF signal path).
Regarding claim 3, Yeo further discloses:
wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are NMOSs (Yeo, Fig. 1, see that M2 and M1 are NMOS transistors), the first terminal is a drain (Fig. 1, see that C2 is coupled to drain of M2), and the second terminal is a source (Fig. 1, see that C2 is coupled to source of M2).
Regarding claim 4, Yeo further discloses:
wherein the first terminal of the first transistor receives a first predetermined voltage (Yeo, Fig. 1, see connection between drain of M2 and VDD), wherein the second terminal of the first transistor is coupled to a drain of the second transistor (Fig. 1, see connection between source of M2 and drain of M1), a gate of the second transistor receives an input voltage (Fig. 1, see connection between gate of M1 and Vin), and a source of the second transistor is coupled to a ground voltage level (Fig. 1, see connection between source of M1 and ground).
Claims 8-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheol et al. (Patent Publication Number KR 2014/0033186 A), hereafter referred to as Cheol, in view of Yeo and Mu.
Regarding claim 8, Cheol discloses:
An amplifying circuit (Cheol, Fig. 3), comprising: a plurality of first transistors (Fig. 3, see “Main” and “Aux” transistors); a second transistor (Fig. 3, see “T2” in modified Fig. 3 below), coupled to the first transistors in series (Fig. 3, see connection between T2, Main, and Aux in modified Fig. 3 below); wherein when the amplifying circuit operates in a first gain mode, a first number of the plurality of first transistors are turned on (Page 4, Paragraph 5 [Main transistor is activated, Aux transistor is deactivated]; wherein when the amplifying circuit operates in a second gain mode, a third number of the plurality of first transistors are turned on (Page 4, Paragraph 6 [Main and Aux transistors are both activated]; wherein the first number is larger than the third number (Page 4, Paragraphs 5-6), but fails to disclose and a compensation capacitor group, comprising a plurality of compensation capacitors and a plurality of switches, wherein each one of the plurality of compensation capacitors is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of switches in series, wherein the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled in parallel; and the plurality of compensation capacitors for compensating for parasitic capacitance generated between a first transistor of the plurality of first transistors and the second transistors; [in a first gain mode] and a second number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between a first terminal and a second terminal of the plurality of first transistors; [in a second gain mode] and a fourth number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the plurality of first transistors; and the second number is larger than the fourth number; wherein a number of the plurality of compensation capacitors coupled to the plurality of first transistors is proportional to a gain provided by the amplifying circuit.
However, Yeo teaches and a compensation capacitor group (Yeo, Fig. 1, C2), and the plurality of compensation capacitors for compensating for parasitic capacitance generated between a first transistor of the plurality of first transistors and the second transistor (Col. 2, lines 57-62); but fails to teach comprising a plurality of compensation capacitors and a plurality of switches, wherein each one of the plurality of compensation capacitors is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of switches in series, wherein the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled in parallel; [in a first gain mode] and a second number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between a first terminal and a second terminal of the plurality of first transistors; [in a second gain mode] and a fourth number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the plurality of first transistors; and the second number is larger than the fourth number; wherein a number of the plurality of compensation capacitors coupled to the plurality of first transistors is proportional to a gain provided by the amplifying circuit.
However, Mu teaches comprising a plurality of compensation capacitors (Mu, Fig. 9, 510-1 – 510-N) and a plurality of switches (Fig. 9, 520-1 – 520-N), wherein each one of the compensation transistors is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of switches in series (Fig. 9, see series connections of 510-1 – 510-N to 520-1 – 520-N), wherein the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled in parallel (Fig. 9, see parallel connection of 520-1 – 520-N); [in a first gain mode] and a second number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between a first terminal and a second terminal of the plurality of first transistors (consider closing switches 520-1 and 520-2 to activate capacitors 510-1 and 510-2); [in a second gain mode] and a fourth number of the plurality of compensation capacitors are coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the plurality of first transistors (consider closing switch 520-1 to activate capacitor 510-1); and the second number is larger than the fourth number (for implementation as a compensation capacitor group in Cheol, additional capacitance [by coupling additional capacitors] is required when multiple first transistors are activated [when the parasitic capacitance being compensated is greater]); wherein a number of the plurality of compensation capacitors coupled to the plurality of first transistors is proportional to a gain provided by the amplifying circuit (consider the additional gain provided by activating the auxiliary amplifier of Cheol, and the additional compensation capacitor required to maintain full compensation with the auxiliary amplifier activated).
Cheol, Yeo, and Mu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Cheol to incorporate the teachings of Yeo and Mu to include the compensation capacitor of Yeo in the amplifier of Cheol, which would have the effect of increasing the gain and Q factor of the amplifier of Cheol (Cheol, Col. 2, lines 57-62) and to use the variable capacitor network of Mu for the compensation capacitor of Yeo, which would have the effect of allowing for adjusting the capacitance value of the capacitor of Yeo (Mu, Paragraph 38, lines 13-14) to provide optimum performance for a variety of operating conditions (Yeo, Col. 2, line 63-Col. 3, line 7), and to provide additional capacitance via the variable capacitor network of Mu corresponding to the higher gain modes of Cheol, which would have the effect of compensating increased capacitance from the auxiliary transistor of Cheol.
Regarding claim 9, Cheol further discloses:
wherein the plurality of first transistors are common gate amplifiers (Cheol, Fig. 3, see that “Main” and “Aux” are in the common gate configuration), and the second transistor is a common source amplifier (Fig. 3, see connection between source of T2 and ground in modified Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 10, Cheol further discloses:
wherein the plurality of first transistors and the second transistor are NMOSs (Cheol, Fig. 3, see that “Main” and “Aux” are NMOS transistors), the first terminal is a drain (Fig. 3, see that terminals of “Main” and “Aux” coupled to “Supply/Output” are the respective drains in modified Fig. 3 above), and the second terminal is a source (Fig. 3, see that terminals of “Main” and “Aux” coupled to T2 are the respective sources in modified Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 11, Cheol further discloses:
wherein the first terminals of the plurality of first transistors receive a first predetermined voltage (Cheol, Fig. 3, see that drains of Main and Aux are coupled to Supply/Output in modified Fig. 3 above), wherein the second terminal of the plurality of first transistors is coupled to a drain of the second transistor (Fig. 3, see that sources of Main and Aux are coupled to drain of T2 in modified Fig. 3 above), a gate of the second transistor receives an input voltage (Fig. 3, see connection between Input and gate of T2 in modified Fig. 3 above), and a source of the second transistor is coupled to a ground voltage level (Fig. 3, see connection between T2 and ground in modified Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 14, Cheol further discloses:
wherein the amplifying circuit is located in a signal receiving circuit (Cheol, Page 4, Paragraph 6), wherein a control terminal of the second transistor receives an input voltage (Fig. 3, consider voltage of gate of T2 at “Input” in modified Fig. 3 above), wherein the input voltage is generated according to an input signal received by the signal receiving circuit (Page 4, Paragraph 6).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheol in view of Yeo and Mu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Nishizono (Patent Number JP 4,005,401 B2), hereafter referred to as Nishizono.
Regarding claim 15, Cheol, Yeo, and Mu fail to disclose:
comprising an adjustable current source, wherein the adjustable current source provides a current drain path to decrease a gain of the amplifying circuit when the amplifying circuit operates in the second gain mode.
However, Nishizono teaches comprising an adjustable current source (Nishizono, Fig. 1, 46), wherein the adjustable current source provides a current drain path to decrease a gain of the amplifying circuit when the amplifying circuit operates in the second gain mode (Nishizono, Paragraph 38, lines 1-5).
Cheol, Yeo, Mu, and Nishizono are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Cheol to incorporate the teachings of Nishizono to include the adjustable current source of Nishizono in the amplifier of Cheol, which would have the effect of providing additional control over the gain of the amplifier of Cheol (Nishizono, Paragraph 38, lines 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ayranci et al. (Patent Number US 11,611,319 B2) discloses (Fig. 4) a variable capacitor array for a low noise amplifier.
Suzuki et al. (Patent Publication Number JP 2006/054607 A) discloses (Figs. 2, 5-6) an amplifier wherein a compensation capacitor is provided for each output path.
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843