DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norpoth (US 1,230,317).
Re claim 1, Norpoth discloses a set of playing cards comprising: base cards and augmentation cards (figs. 1-3). Each base card has an image (p), value (a), base description (e.g. “HOME RUN”), and other various printings. The augmentation cards are similar, containing names, descriptions, and other printed values similar to the base cards. While the cards do not contain the exact same markings, these elements are considered nonfunctional descriptive material in the form of printed matter. As discussed in the MPEP § 2111.05, where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. These situations may arise where the claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product.
Another example in which a product merely serves as a support would occur for a deck of playing cards having images on each card. See In re Bryan, 323 Fed. App'x 898 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (unpublished). In Bryan the applicant asserted that the printed matter allowed the cards to be "collected, traded, and drawn"; "identify and distinguish one deck of cards from another"; and "enable[] the card to be traded and blind drawn". However, the court found that these functions do not pertain to the structure of the apparatus and were instead drawn to the method or process of playing a game. See also Ex parte Gwinn, 112 USPQ 439, 446-47 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1955), in which the invention was directed to a set of dice by means of which a game may be played. The claims differed from the prior art solely by the printed matter in the dice. The claims were properly rejected on prior art because there was no new feature of physical structure and no new relation of printed matter to physical structure.
As such, because the claimed invention is wholly directed to playing cards with printed matter, it would have been obvious to produce a set of playing cards as taught by Norpoth due to also being directed to playing cards entirely capable of supporting the printed matter (i.e. the substrate of the cards of Norpoth could instead have the designs and details of the claimed invention without changing the cards’ physical structure).
Re claims 8-13, see the rejection to claim 1. As Norpoth teaches cards with printed elements, the cards teach the claimed limitations as the claims are merely directed to printed matter. Norpoth teaches a game winner being related to points scored (p. 2, ll. 45-57).
Claim(s) 2-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norpoth in view of Yu (US 2011/0084451).
Re claim 2, Norpoth does not explicitly disclose the total number of cards combined being one hundred and twenty. Yu teaches a card game wherein each deck of cards contains one hundred and twenty game cards (par. [0017]). It would have been obvious to include as many cards as necessary in the deck of cards for the game in order to provide a suitable number of cards for whatever game needs to be played using the cards.
Re claims 3-7, see the rejection to claim 1. As Norpoth teaches cards with printed elements, the cards teach the claimed limitations as the claims are merely directed to printed matter.
Re claims 14-15, as Norpoth and Yu have taught decks of cards of varying sizes, creating decks of any size would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill as it would be a matter of design choice, with different deck sizes leading to the predictable result of a larger or smaller deck.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the system creates “broader applicability beyond sports and encompassing generalized mechanics adaptable to fantasy, science, or educational contexts,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that the augmentations cards modify or enhance the values of base cards, with which the Examiner does not disagree. However, Applicant argues that these changes are functional and establishes patentable differences in structure, which is false. Regardless of whatever the augmentation cards are designed to do, all of their differences when compared to any other cards, whether in the same deck of the invention or the prior art, would be in the nonfunctional descriptive material. In other words, any text, images, or other decorations could be printed on the card, but nothing would change the fact that the substrate is still simply a card with indicia.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715