DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 11, from which claims 6 and 20 depend, respectively, each requires “wherein at least one weight material of the plurality of weight materials is disposed in a middle section of one of the plurality of beams.” Claims 6 and 20 then require that the weight materials are attached to the second end of the beams. It is unclear how the weight could be disposed in both a middle section and to the second end of a beam. Further, the disclosure does not contemplate a beam having two weights such that one weight could be disposed in a middle section of the beam and the other weight located at the second end. Applicant must amend or clarify the claim language.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one weight material of the plurality of weight materials is disposed in a middle section of one of the plurality of beams of claims 1 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neubert (3,314,503).
With respect to claim 1, Neubert teaches a vibration attenuation device (Figures 1-2) for a primary structure (10), comprising: a plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) configured to be attached to the primary structure (10); a plurality of beams (18) mounted on each of the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b); and a plurality of weight materials (20) attached to the beams (18), wherein at least one weight material (20a/b) of the plurality of weight materials (20) is disposed in a middle section of one of the plurality of beams (18).
With respect to claim 2, Neubert teaches wherein the primary structure (10) comprises at least one of a pipe, a rod or a shaft (Col. 1, Lines 57-58).
With respect to claim 3, Neubert teaches wherein the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) comprises a pair of semi-rings (14a/b).
With respect to claim 4, Neubert teaches wherein the pair of semi-rings (14a/b) are connected to each other through a fastener (16) to form a ring shape.
With respect to claim 5, Neubert teaches wherein each of the beams (18) includes a first end attached to the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) and a second end opposite to the first end (clearly seen in Figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, Neubert teaches wherein the plurality of weight materials (20) are attached to the second end of the beams (18). Note that the weights #20 can be adjusted to any position on the beam #18, including a second end as denoted with weight #20d (Col. 2, Lines 16-32).
With respect to claim 7, Neubert teaches wherein the vibration attenuation device comprises three or more beams (18).
With respect to claim 9, Neubert teaches wherein the vibration attenuation device is configured to create a bandgap to the primary structure (10).
With respect to claim 10, Neubert teaches wherein the bandgap is a frequency region, and vibrations are attenuated in the frequency region (Col. 2, Lines 16-46). Note that the weights are positioned to vibrate at a particular frequency so as to damp vibrations of pipe #10, in a manner similar to Applicant’s device.
With respect to claim 11, Neubert teaches resonator (Figures 1-2) for suppressing vibration in a piping system (defined by pipe #10), comprising: a plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) configured to be attached to a pipe (10); a plurality of beams (18) mounted on each of the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b); and a plurality of weight materials (20) attached to the beams (18), wherein at least one weight material (20a/b) of the plurality of weight materials (20) is disposed in a middle section of one of the plurality of beams (18). Note that the device is a resonator in the same way as Applicant’s
With respect to claim 12, Neubert teaches wherein the resonator (device of Figures 1-2) is a three dimensional resonator (clearly seen in Figure 1-2).
With respect to claim 13, Neubert teaches wherein the resonator (device of Figures 1-2) has a symmetric shape (clearly seen in Figure 1-2).
With respect to claim 14, Neubert teaches wherein the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) comprises a pair of semi-rings (14a/b).
With respect to claim 15, Neubert teaches wherein the pair of semi-rings (14a/b) are connected to each other through a fastener (16) to form a ring shape.
With respect to claim 16, Neubert teaches wherein the resonator comprises three or more beams (18).
With respect to claim 18, Neubert teaches wherein the resonator (device of Figures 1-2) is configured to form a bandgap to the pipe (10), and wherein the bandgap is a frequency region, and vibrations of the pipe are attenuated in the frequency region (Col. 2, Lines 16-46). Note that the weights are positioned to vibrate at a particular frequency so as to damp vibrations of pipe #10, in a manner similar to Applicant’s device.
With respect to claim 19, Neubert teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of weight materials (20) are configured to form a bandgap at a different radial distance than at least one other of the plurality of weight materials (20).
With respect to claim 20, Neubert teaches wherein each of the beams (18) includes a first end attached to the plurality of connectors (14a/17a and 14b/17b) and a second end opposite to the first end (clearly seen in Figure 1), wherein the plurality of weight materials (20) are attached to the second end of the beams (18), and wherein at least one of the plurality of weight materials (20) are configured to form a bandgap at a different radial distance than at least one other of the plurality of weight materials (20). Note that the weights #20 can be adjusted to any position on the beam #18, including a second end as denoted with weight #20d, and said positions will vibrate and form a bandgap at different frequencies (Col. 2, Lines 16-46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers Neubert to teach all of the limitations as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837