Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20030210107A1 (Kormanyos) in view of US20220407201A1 (Qasymeh) and in view of US20200074344A1 (Abdo) and in view of US20200036072A1 (Olivadese).
In regards to claim 1 (Kormanyos) shows:
a set of planar transmission lines, wherein each such planar transmission line has first and second ends along a longitudinal axis and includes: Kormanyos [0030] teaches conventional microstrip line and engineered lossy microstrip transmission line provided on dielectric substrate forming planar transmission line structures.
a set of ground planes disposed in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis; Kormanyos [0030] teaches transmission lines are formed on metallic ground plane 33 providing ground plane structure disposed parallel to transmission line longitudinal axis.
a dielectric disposed in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis and in contact with the set of ground planes; Kormanyos [0030] teaches transmission lines are provided on substrate such as dielectric substrate 31 which is formed on metallic ground plane 33 showing dielectric in contact with ground plane and disposed parallel to longitudinal axis.
a signal line disposed in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis and in contact with the dielectric; Kormanyos [0030] teaches microstrip line 28 provided on dielectric substrate 31 showing signal line disposed parallel to longitudinal axis and in contact with dielectric.
a metallic layer disposed around the set of ground planes; Kormanyos [0030] teaches metallic ground plane 33 providing metallic layer structure around ground plane configuration.
wherein (i) at least one member selected from the group consisting of a ground plane of the set of ground planes and the signal line is resistive to provide attenuation; Kormanyos [0032] teaches resistive strips of material 32 are placed at each longitudinal edge 30a of lossy microstrip transmission line 30 to increase loss provided by attenuator as function of frequency demonstrating resistive elements providing attenuation. Kormanyos [0032] teaches resistive strips may be formed from copper or another suitably conductive material with resistance of about 2.5 ohms per square.
(ii) the set of planar transmission lines has a geometry configured for dissipation of heat, attributable to energy provided at the input, in a manner distributed along a length of the set of planar transmission lines; Kormanyos [0032] teaches distributed resistive strips along longitudinal edges of transmission line provide frequency dependent loss distributed along length of transmission line resulting in distributed heat dissipation.
(iii) the set of planar transmission lines provide attenuation, without recourse to discrete components, across a desired frequency band; Kormanyos [0032] teaches resistive strips integrated into transmission line structure provide attenuation without discrete components. Kormanyos [0031] teaches controlled loss over extremely wide frequency range demonstrating attenuation across desired frequency band.
(iv) all members of the set of ground planes are at least approximately coincident with one another when a plurality of members are present; Kormanyos [0030] teaches conventional microstrip line 28 in series with engineered lossy microstrip transmission line 30 both provided on common metallic ground plane 33 demonstrating all ground plane members approximately coincident when plurality present.
Kormanyos differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose A resistive flex microwave attenuator for coupling control signals to a quantum computational hardware system for operation in a cryogenic temperature environment, the attenuator comprising; an input, coupled to such planar transmission line at the first end, and configured to receive the control signals with the input at room temperature; an output, coupled to such planar transmission line at the second end, and configured for operation in the cryogenic temperature environment and for coupling to the quantum computational hardware system; the set of planar transmission lines is thermally coupled at a set of locations, along the length of the set of planar transmission lines, to a local cryogenic heat sink;
Qasymeh teaches an input, coupled to such planar transmission line at the first end, and configured to receive the control signals with the input at room temperature; Qasymeh [0016] teaches room temperature may be 20 degrees Celsius and Qasymeh [0013] teaches room temperature microwave waveguide demonstrating input configured to receive control signals at room temperature.
Qasymeh teaches an output, coupled to such planar transmission line at the second end, and configured for operation in the cryogenic temperature environment and for coupling to the quantum computational hardware system; Qasymeh [0013] teaches two cryogenic nodes connected by room temperature microwave waveguide and Qasymeh [0018] teaches connecting superconducting quantum circuits housed in cryostats maintaining cryogenic temperatures demonstrating output for operation in cryogenic temperature environment and coupling to quantum computational hardware system.
Qasymeh differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose A resistive flex microwave attenuator for coupling control signals to a quantum computational hardware system for operation in a cryogenic temperature environment, the attenuator comprising; the set of planar transmission lines is thermally coupled at a set of locations, along the length of the set of planar transmission lines, to a local cryogenic heat sink;
Abdo teaches A resistive flex microwave attenuator for coupling control signals to a quantum computational hardware system for operation in a cryogenic temperature environment, the attenuator comprising: Abdo [0051] teaches Input line 108 connects an external circuit to q-circuit 110 and Abdo [0053] teaches Hybrid attenuator 116 receives input signal and produces signal Sn which forms an input to q-circuit 110 demonstrating microwave attenuator configured for coupling control signals to quantum computational hardware systems operating in cryogenic temperature environment.
Abdo differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose the set of planar transmission lines is thermally coupled at a set of locations, along the length of the set of planar transmission lines, to a local cryogenic heat sink;
Olivadese teaches the set of planar transmission lines is thermally coupled at a set of locations, along the length of the set of planar transmission lines, to a local cryogenic heat sink; Olivadese [0022] teaches cryogenic-stripline microwave attenuator suitable for use with quantum computing technologies and Olivadese [0024] teaches improved thermalization and reduced thermal noise and Olivadese [0030] teaches quantum applications need microwave attenuators to thermalize conductors demonstrating thermal coupling at locations along transmission line length to local cryogenic heat sink.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt the distributed microwave attenuator of Kormanyos for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature signal input interfacing with cryogenic quantum hardware systems as taught by Qasymeh.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to optimize microwave signal conditioning for quantum computing control systems where hybrid attenuator configurations provide improved signal quality for quantum circuit operations.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese at the effective filing date of the invention is to achieve proper thermal management in quantum computing microwave attenuators by implementing cryogenic heat sink coupling to ensure optimal quantum coherence and minimal thermal noise.
In regards to claim 3 (Kormanyos) shows a microwave attenuator according to claim 1:
wherein each such planar transmission line includes a set of exposed copper thermal planes thermally coupled to the metallic layer and configured to conduct heat away from the metallic layer; Kormanyos [0032] teaches resistive strips may be formed from copper or another suitably conductive material demonstrating copper thermal conductive elements. Kormanyos [0030] teaches transmission lines formed on metallic ground plane 33 showing thermal coupling to metallic layer for heat conduction.
In regards to claim 4 (Kormanyos modified by Qasymeh) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 1, wherein the attenuator is configured to couple a microcontroller to a qubit module:
Abdo teaches wherein the attenuator is configured to couple a microcontroller to a qubit module; Abdo [0051] teaches Input line 108 connects an external circuit to q-circuit 110 demonstrating coupling control signals to quantum circuits. Abdo [0053] teaches Hybrid attenuator 116 receives input signal and produces signal Sn which forms an input to q-circuit 110 showing attenuator configured to couple control systems to quantum modules for quantum computing applications.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt the distributed microwave attenuator for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature control interfacing with cryogenic quantum systems.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to implement microwave attenuators specifically designed for quantum control signal routing between microcontrollers and quantum processing modules.
In regards to claim 5 (Kormanyos) shows a microwave attenuator according to claim 1:
wherein: the set of planar transmission lines has a thickness defined by a distance along a straight path from a first outside location on the metallic layer through the set of ground planes, the dielectric, and the signal line to a second outside location on the metallic layer, wherein the path is normal to the longitudinal axis and the set of ground planes; Kormanyos [0034] teaches microstrip line having width of 10 mills printed on 10 mill thick Alumina substrate demonstrating defined thickness and width parameters in microstrip design. Standard microstrip design principles require substrate thickness to be much less than line width for proper electromagnetic field confinement and controlled impedance characteristics making thickness less than half width an obvious design requirement for functional microstrip transmission lines.
the set of planar transmission lines has a width defined in the direction transverse to the longitudinal axis and the straight path; Kormanyos [0034] teaches microstrip line having width of 10 mills demonstrating defined width transverse to longitudinal axis.
the thickness is less than one half of the width; Kormanyos [0034] teaches microstrip line having width of 10 mills printed on 10 mill thick Alumina substrate demonstrating defined thickness and width parameters in microstrip design. Standard microstrip design principles require substrate thickness to be much less than line width for proper electromagnetic field confinement and controlled impedance characteristics making thickness less than half width an obvious design requirement for functional microstrip transmission lines.
In regards to claim 7 (Kormanyos) shows a microwave attenuator according to claim 1:
wherein the metallic layer includes copper; Kormanyos [0032] teaches resistive strips may be formed from copper or another suitably conductive material demonstrating use of copper in metallic layer construction.
In regards to claim 8 (Kormanyos modified by Qasymeh) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 1, wherein the signal line is superconducting:
Abdo teaches wherein the signal line is superconducting; Abdo [0065] teaches signals in the superconducting qubit frequency range demonstrating microwave attenuators specifically designed for superconducting quantum systems. Abdo [0062] teaches inductive elements offer a path of negligible resistance between conductors showing low-resistance pathways characteristic of superconducting transmission lines for quantum computing applications.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt distributed microwave attenuators for quantum computing systems requiring room temperature to cryogenic signal interface capabilities.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to optimize microwave attenuation for superconducting quantum circuits where low-loss signal transmission is critical for quantum gate operations.
In regards to claim 11 (Kormanyos) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 1: wherein the attenuator, when subjected to an input microwave power of 10-6 W, has a measured thermal occupation number that can be expressed as a decimal number below several hundredths.
wherein the attenuator, when subjected to an input microwave power of 10-6 W, has a measured thermal occupation number that can be expressed as a decimal number below several hundredths; Qasymeh [0021] teaches number of thermally generated noise photons and Qasymeh [0024] teaches number of induced noise photons can be made significantly less than one and Qasymeh [0028] teaches transmitting 8×104 signal photons at input with noise photons significantly less than one demonstrating attenuator thermal noise characterization at specified input power levels with measured thermal parameters expressed as decimal numbers below several hundredths.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to characterize thermal noise performance of distributed microwave attenuators in quantum computing applications where precise thermal occupation number measurement is essential for quantum coherence preservation.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20030210107A1 (Kormanyos) in view of US20220407201A1 (Qasymeh) and in view of US20200074344A1 (Abdo) and in view of US20200036072A1 (Olivadese) as applied to Claim 1 above, respectively, and further in view of US6066992A (Sadaka).
In regards to claim 2 (Kormanyos modified by Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 1, wherein the set of planar transmission lines is configured to provide a plurality of signal paths to the output:
Sadaka teaches wherein the set of planar transmission lines is configured to provide a plurality of signal paths to the output; Sadaka [Column 3 Lines 15 - 25] teaches circulator 12 operates to controllably route signals between respective pairs of three ports P1, P2, and P3 demonstrating plurality of signal paths. Sadaka [Column 3 Lines 60 - Column 4 Lines 5 ] teaches cascaded attenuator incorporates three switchable attenuators series connected providing multiple signal routing paths to output.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt the distributed microwave attenuator of Kormanyos for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature signal input interfacing with cryogenic quantum hardware systems as taught by Qasymeh.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to optimize microwave signal conditioning for quantum computing control systems where hybrid attenuator configurations provide improved signal quality for quantum circuit operations.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese at the effective filing date of the invention is to achieve proper thermal management in quantum computing microwave attenuators by implementing cryogenic heat sink coupling to ensure optimal quantum coherence and minimal thermal noise.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, Olivadese, and Sadaka at the effective filing date of the invention is to implement multiple signal path routing capabilities in quantum computing microwave attenuators for improved signal distribution and control flexibility.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20030210107A1 (Kormanyos) in view of US20220407201A1 (Qasymeh) and in view of US20200074344A1 (Abdo) and in view of US20200036072A1 (Olivadese) as applied to Claim 1 above, respectively, and further in view of US20030121906A1 (Abbott).
In regards to claim 6 (Kormanyos modified by Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 1, wherein at least one ground plane of the set of ground planes includes constantan:
Abbott teaches wherein at least one ground plane of the set of ground planes includes constantan ; Abbott [0139] teaches layers of constantan copper and nickel alloy are thermally sprayed onto surfaces and form electrical junctions demonstrating the use of constantan as an electrically conductive material in layered electrical structures. Abbott [0142] teaches a layer of constantan is thermally sprayed onto the surface in discrete areas adjacent to iron deposits to produce an array of iron-constantan junctions establishing constantan as a conductive material suitable for electrical applications in layered configurations analogous to ground plane structures in microwave transmission lines. Abbott [0143] teaches iron-constantan thermocouples are deposited confirming constantan as a well-known electrically conductive alloy material suitable for precision electrical applications making its use in microwave attenuator ground planes obvious to one skilled in the art.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt the distributed microwave attenuator of Kormanyos for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature signal input interfacing with cryogenic quantum hardware systems as taught by Qasymeh.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to optimize microwave signal conditioning for quantum computing control systems where hybrid attenuator configurations provide improved signal quality for quantum circuit operations.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese at the effective filing date of the invention is to achieve proper thermal management in quantum computing microwave attenuators by implementing cryogenic heat sink coupling to ensure optimal quantum coherence and minimal thermal noise.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, Olivadese, and Abbott at the effective filing date of the invention is to select optimal conductive materials such as constantan for microwave attenuator ground planes to achieve desired electrical and thermal properties in quantum computing applications.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20030210107A1 (Kormanyos) in view of US20220407201A1 (Qasymeh) and in view of US20200074344A1 (Abdo) and in view of US20200036072A1 (Olivadese) as applied to Claim 1 above, respectively, and further in view of US20180366634A1 (Mutus).
In regards to claim 9 (Kormanyos modified by Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese) does not show a microwave attenuator according to claim 8, wherein the signal line includes titanium:
Mutus teaches wherein the signal line includes titanium; Mutus [0037] teaches superconducting materials that can be used for pads and interconnects include titanium nitride showing titanium-containing signal line materials for quantum circuit applications. Mutus [0043] teaches barrier layer material can be formed from titanium nitride having superconducting critical temperature demonstrating titanium materials in superconducting signal transmission structures.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos and Qasymeh at the effective filing date of the invention is to adapt the distributed microwave attenuator of Kormanyos for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature signal input interfacing with cryogenic quantum hardware systems as taught by Qasymeh.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, and Abdo at the effective filing date of the invention is to optimize microwave signal conditioning for quantum computing control systems where hybrid attenuator configurations provide improved signal quality for quantum circuit operations.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, and Olivadese at the effective filing date of the invention is to achieve proper thermal management in quantum computing microwave attenuators by implementing cryogenic heat sink coupling to ensure optimal quantum coherence and minimal thermal noise.
The motivation to combine Kormanyos, Qasymeh, Abdo, Olivadese, and Mutus at the effective filing date of the invention is to select appropriate superconducting materials including titanium-containing compounds for signal lines in quantum computing microwave attenuators to achieve optimal superconducting performance.
In regards to claim 10 (Kormanyos) shows a microwave attenuator according to claim 9:
wherein the signal line has a geometry configured to exhibit, at a superconducting temperature, a bandgap at a desired critical frequency, so that it behaves as a filter passing signals below the critical frequency while strongly attenuating signals above the critical frequency; Kormanyos [0031] teaches frequency dependent loss where conventional microstrip lines have time delay which tends to increase with frequency and engineered lossy microstrip transmission lines have group delay which tends to decrease with frequency demonstrating frequency selective behavior. Kormanyos [0032] teaches frequency at which increased loss becomes most effective is dependent on length of metallic tracks showing geometry configured for frequency selective attenuation behavior.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on October 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art of record concerns "ordinary microwave attenuators" and fails to disclose quantum computing specific applications, contending that the amended limitations adding "cryogenic temperature environment," "room temperature input," and "quantum computational hardware system" distinguish over the cited references. Applicant further argues that the amendments add "subject matter that is specific to the quantum computing environment, whereas all of the prior art of record concerns ordinary microwave attenuators." This argument fails because the combination of Kormanyos in view of Qasymeh and further in view of Abdo and further in view of Olivadese cures these deficiencies. Qasymeh teaches room temperature microwave waveguide systems connecting cryogenic nodes with superconducting quantum circuits housed in cryostats maintaining cryogenic temperatures, thereby providing direct quantum computing context with room temperature input and cryogenic output functionality (Qasymeh [0013, 0016, 0018]). Olivadese teaches cryogenic-stripline microwave attenuators suitable for use with quantum computing technologies with improved thermalization and thermal coupling to cryogenic heat sinks, directly addressing quantum applications (Olivadese [0022, 0024, 0030]). Abdo provides additional quantum computing context with hybrid attenuators specifically designed for coupling control signals to quantum circuits operating in dilution refrigerators (Abdo [0051, 0053]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references to adapt Kormanyos's distributed microwave attenuator for quantum computing applications requiring room temperature control signal input interfacing with cryogenic quantum hardware systems, thereby achieving proper thermal management and signal conditioning essential for quantum coherence preservation.
With respect to new claim 11, Applicant argues that the thermal occupation number limitation requiring "measured thermal occupation number that can be expressed as a decimal number below several hundredths" when subjected to 10⁻⁶ W input power is not taught by the prior art. This argument fails because Qasymeh teaches precise characterization of thermal noise photons where the number of induced noise photons can be made significantly less than one, with specific examples of noise photon levels maintained at values such as 6.3×10⁻³ photons, demonstrating thermal occupation number measurements expressed as decimal numbers below several hundredths at specified input power levels (Qasymeh [0021, 0024, 0028]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Qasymeh's thermal noise characterization methods to Kormanyos's distributed attenuator to achieve the precise thermal performance measurements essential for quantum computing applications where thermal occupation number control is critical for maintaining quantum coherence.
The remaining arguments with respect to dependent claims 2-10 have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons stated above. The dependent claims incorporate the limitations of their respective independent claims and are properly rejected over the same combination of references for the same reasons. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851