DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant’s argument directed to newly added limitations, the Examiner respectfully submits that claim 17 is much broader than claim 1, DE JONGH discloses ENDC (E-UTRAN New Radio Dual Connectivity) and carrier aggregation (CA) using LTE and New Radio (NR) systems, further discloses the newly added limitation by tuning antenna from a first Band combo to a second Band combo e.g. in figure 6, when tuning from the first Band combo 1&7 to the second Band combo 5&1&7 based on network scheduling/resource allocation within LTE and NR standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE JONGH (US 20210234561 A1).
For claim 17. DE JONGH discloses An electronic device comprising: at least one processor configured to support long-term evolution (LTE) network communication and new radio (NR) network communication ([0041], [0042], [0047]); a plurality of antennas including a first antenna and a second antenna ([0046]); an aperture switch connected to the first antenna or the second antenna to change at least one resonance characteristic of the first antenna or the second antenna ([0046], [0055]); and memory storing instructions and configured to store a plurality of antenna settings for controlling a switching operation of the aperture switch ([0057]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether the electronic device is in a state connected to a first base station corresponding to the LTE network communication (e.g. LTE standard) and operated as a master node and a second base station corresponding to the NR network communication (e.g. 5G standard) and operated as a secondary node ([0042]-[0044], [0049], [0074], [0083]-[0086]), based on the electronic device being in the state connected to the first base station using a first channel included in a first frequency band of the LTE network communication and the second base station using a second channel included in a second frequency band of the NR network communication, identify an antenna setting corresponding to the second channel included the second frequency band and a combination of the first frequency band and the second frequency band among the plurality of antenna settings, and control, based on the identified antenna setting, the switching operation of the aperture switch ([0081]-[0086], figures 6-16).
For claim 18. The electronic device of claim 17, DE JONGH discloses wherein the state includes a long-term evolution (LTE) radio resource control (RRC) connected state for the first base station and an NR RRC connected state or an NR RRC inactive state for the second base station ([0041], figures 5-8, channel scheduling in LTE/5G new radio standard).
For claim 19. The electronic device of claim 17, DE JONGH discloses wherein the plurality of antenna settings include antenna settings corresponding to a low channel, a mid (middle) channel, and a high channel of the combination of the second frequency band of the NR network communication and the first frequency band of the LTE network communication, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify the antenna setting corresponding to the second channel of the second frequency band among the antenna settings, and control the switching operation of the aperture switch based on the antenna setting corresponding to the second channel of the second frequency band among the antenna settings ([0045], [0052], [0081]-[0086], figures 5, 8-16).
For claim 20. The electronic device of claim 17, DE JONGH discloses wherein the plurality of antenna settings include antenna settings corresponding to a low channel, a mid channel, and a high channel of the first frequency band of the LTE network communication, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the electronic device is in a state connected to the first base station and not connected to the second base station, identify an antenna setting corresponding to the first channel of the first frequency band of the LTE network communication among the antenna settings, and control the switching operation of the aperture switch based on the antenna setting corresponding to the first channel of the first frequency band of the LTE network communication among the antenna settings ([0045], [0052], [0081]-[0086], figures 5, 8-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 1-16 are allowed.
8. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Consider claims 1 and 9, Applicant’s claimed invention distinguished over the prior art for the following reasons. The claims are allowable over the prior art of record because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the invention as a whole.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
February 4, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643