Continued Examination Under
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/05/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“Applicant contends any proper combination of Sanders and Kirsch fails to teach or suggest all features of independent claim 1. Applicant contends that Sanders does not teach or suggest all features of claim 1, as amended. Specifically, Sanders fails to disclose the generation of a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER, and the generation of an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER.”
The examiner agrees and in light of amendments rejects the claim language in view of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch. Please view the rejection below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders et al. (US20170005515 herein Sanders), in view of Somani et al. (US20170005473, herein Somani), and in further view of Kirsch (US20120262104).
Regarding claim 1, Sanders teaches A system for energy management ([0012] An energy management system with integrated solar and storage applicable to a home), comprising: a processor ([0025] one or more processors capable of executing processor readable code) ; a memory ([0027] a memory coupled to said processor); and a communication interface, wherein the communication interface (Fig. 5A micro grid, DER, Energy cloud controller, [0123] Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations) receives a dispatch command including vehicle grid integration (VGI) request generated in anticipation of… weather ([0035] The site gateway can use its own local resources to implement many of the decisions, services, and policies for managing energy consumption and generation both locally and in the ecosystem based upon at least the following inputs…current and forecast weather conditions, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands) … and configuration information associated with a microgrid and one or more distributed energy resources (DER), wherein the configuration information includes a query for a roster of function sets associated with one or more of the DER (Fig. 5A micro grid, DER, Energy cloud controller, [0123] Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations, [0151] To get the status of the entire load shaping service, you would do a GET to /Status.xml. To get the energy report for a specific group, you would do a POST to /[groupId]/Report.xml. To get the energy report for the entire load shaping service, you would do a POST to /Report.xml). (i.e. reporting functions is interpreted as the roster of function sets), wherein the processor generates a dispatch profile to control the one or more of the DER (Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, [0186] one or more processors of the one or more gateway controllers sending one or more signals to the one or more DER-ES apparatus to allow at least one inverter, charger, and energy storage device to react to demand conditions on a critical load panel and a user site demand requirement thereby reducing grid demand and avoiding grid power export from a user site location, a site demand measurement module that calculates and displays a site demand measure by subtracting a maximum power dispatched from the grid side of a DER-ES apparatus from a minimum reading of one or more load meters, [0172] providing one or more gateway controllers having one or more programs controlling one or more distributed energy resources associated with a user site, [0404] gateway controllers to send and receive user site and grid requirements of one or more distributed resources, and is electrically and communicably connected to one or more site integration system apparatus to form a network, wherein the one or more features of the user site of the orchestrated virtual power plant using one or more rule sets to machine learn is selected from a group of attributes consisting of weather, distributed energy device load profiles, customer preferences, grid control system preferences, vendor preferences, and consumer usage preferences) to draw a requested real power or reactive power from the one or more of the DER including the EV to load shape according to a predetermined power factor, based on the VGI request ([0257] load shaping grid-scale functions in an energy site integration system are provided wherein definite activities include charge, discharge and no action. In other aspects, these methods are provided wherein optional activities allow the load shaping service to manage the services future needs and include charge limit and discharge limit, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands), the configuration information, a detected outage, a type of DER connected to the microgrid, a set of default operating conditions, and a user preference, ([00423] provide telemetry data and user preferences to one or more edge gateway controllers, [0136] operating of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across areas including but not limited to outage management, [0159] There is also a catch-all program (called “default”) that always votes to put the system into Standby. It is the lowest priority program in the system, so its vote is only taken into account if no other program specifies a mode, [0518] Generation and Capacity Needs, [0038] Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations,)
Sanders does not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel… wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER, and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER.
Somani teaches wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds, [0096] Control system 200 checks the grid voltage and grid frequency (step 410). If the grid voltage and/or the grid frequency are out of bounds, the control system 200 stores the grid voltage and frequency at the time power system 200 determines that the grid voltage and/or frequency are out of bounds (step 420)) (i.e. controller generates and sends an open signal responsive to a temporary out of bounds grid condition de energizing the DER) , and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER ([0032] The control system that is configured to transition the plurality of converters from grid-tied mode to microgrid mode and synchronize the converters so that the converters share the load may also have a master controller being configured to: enable its power converter to operate in voltage control mode by controlling the voltage amplitude and frequency; and generate active and reactive current commands for the slave controllers to follow, [0098] The master controller generates active and reactive power commands and transmits these commands to the slave power converters (step 460). The slave power converters receive the active and reactive power commands and operate in current control mode according to the received commands (step 480), ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sander’s teaching of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource with Somani’s teaching of responding to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. The combined teaching provides an expected result of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource that responds to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve outage response maintaining a stable environment to prevent damaging equipment.
The combination of Sanders and Somani do not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel
Kirsch teaches cloudy weather blocking a solar panel (Factors that can affect charging are vehicle GPS location; vehicle bearing; weather conditions (cloud cover, rain, fog, snow, haze, smog and pollutant levels; temperature); time of day; date; tilt angle of vehicle (front to back and side to side); shading of the vehicle (structures or vegetation); and panel cleanliness. Many of these factors are known such as available sunshine at a particular time on a particular date or are publically available information such as weather conditions. Other conditions can be determined via appropriate sensors in communication with the operations center 20, such as GPS location, vehicle bearing, shading of the solar panels, panel cleanliness (efficiency), and vehicle tilt (i.e. front to back and side to side orientation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sander’s, teaching of controlling the energy management system based on weather patterns with Kirsch’s teaching of considering factors that affect charging such as cloud cover. The combined teaching provides an expected result of controlling the energy management system based on weather pattern specifically considering cloud coverage. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the accuracy energy management system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein one or more of the DER is a stationary battery (Sanders, [0031] each component to integrate and control other distributed energy resources (e.g. electric vehicles, batteries, or other loads) at the site), a solar photo-voltaic (PV) system, a fuel cell, a heat pump, or an energy generation device.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein the processor controls a switch to disconnect the microgrid from a main power grid when the detected outage occurs (Sanders, [0028] By controlling which loads reconnect to the grid, the utility can stagger the reconnecting loads after brief and extended outages to aSISt with outage recovery management, [0383] DER-ES apparatus encloses at least one each of each of the following, including but not limited to an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller, that together function as a site integration system (SIS), and are collectively configured as a micro-grid 05002, [0134] the system may alternately include uninterruptible power supply (UPS) devices or in other designs may include one or more automatic transfer switches ) .
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein the type of DER connected to the microgrid includes a solar photo-voltaic (PV) system or an electric vehicle (EV) including an EV battery (Sanders, [0031] each component to integrate and control other distributed energy resources (e.g. electric vehicles, batteries, or other loads) at the site, [0423] while one or more electric vehicles are charging in the one or more electric vehicle charging stations).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein the processor generates the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on the type of DER connected to the microgrid and a second type of DER connected to the microgrid (Sanders, Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power). (i.e. the type is interpreted as the capacity need).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein the processor generates the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on time of use (TOU) rate information and a current time (Sanders, (Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, [0047] If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0153] a residential time-of-use (TOU) tariff is in place that assigns a higher cost for energy consumption during peak load periods, [0155] During a daytime event, both user site generation sources and user site renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads. During a night-time event, just renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads). (i.e. current time as daytime or nightime)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 1, wherein the microgrid includes an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), one or more of the DER, and a main panel (Sanders, [0222] an energy management system providing scheduling guidance from one or more grid control systems may further comprise steps for providing real-time visibility into one or more electric vehicle, electric vehicle (EV/EVSE) energy resources; responding to one or more pricing, one or more demand, and one or more ancillary services signals; coordinating (EV/EVSE) resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis, to improve performance of one or more EV/EVSE resources…and micro-grid systems; and configuring one or more EV/EVSE programs associated with the one or more electric vehicle resources to provide upgrades, monitoring, management, and support, [0092] System/Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) Apparatus and isolation switch panel board is uniquely designed to provide a common integration point for the inverter, utility grid, photovoltaic power, battery isolation switches and electric overload breaker conductors, charge controller and communications data processing gateway as a single subassembly which facilitates ease of assembly while utilizing solid copper bus to reduce space requirements need for flexible, insulated conductors. The isolation switch panel board additionally protects and inhibits authorized personnel from contacting electrically energized components).
Regarding claim 8, Sanders teaches A system for energy management ([0012] An energy management system with integrated solar and storage applicable to a home), comprising: a processor ([0025] one or more processors capable of executing processor readable code); a memory ([0027] a memory coupled to said processor); and a communication interface, wherein the communication interface receives a dispatch command including vehicle grid integration (VGI) request generated in anticipation of …weather ([0035] The site gateway can use its own local resources to implement many of the decisions, services, and policies for managing energy consumption and generation both locally and in the ecosystem based upon at least the following inputs…current and forecast weather conditions, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands) … and configuration information associated with a microgrid and one or more distributed energy resources (DER), including an electric vehicle (EV) ([0128] providing one or more electric vehicle energy control centers may alternately include a site integration system cloud controller aggregating one or more electric vehicle energy control centers in communication with one or more edge gateway controllers and one or more electric vehicle resources and aggregating one or more distributed energy management systems), wherein the configuration information includes a query for a roster of function sets associated with one or more of the DER (Fig. 5A micro grid, DER, Energy cloud controller, [0123] Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations, [0151] To get the status of the entire load shaping service, you would do a GET to /Status.xml. To get the energy report for a specific group, you would do a POST to /[groupId]/Report.xml. To get the energy report for the entire load shaping service, you would do a POST to /Report.xml). (i.e. reporting functions is interpreted as the roster of function sets), wherein the communication interface receives a dispatch command from an upstream server (Fig. 14A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power), wherein the processor generates a dispatch profile to control the one or more of the DER to draw a requested real power or reactive power from the one or more of the DER including the EV to load shape according to a predetermined power factor based on the VGI request ([0257] load shaping grid-scale functions in an energy site integration system are provided wherein definite activities include charge, discharge and no action. In other aspects, these methods are provided wherein optional activities allow the load shaping service to manage the services future needs and include charge limit and discharge limit, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load, Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, , [0186] one or more processors of the one or more gateway controllers sending one or more signals to the one or more DER-ES apparatus to allow at least one inverter, charger, and energy storage device to react to demand conditions on a critical load panel and a user site demand requirement thereby reducing grid demand and avoiding grid power export from a user site location, a site demand measurement module that calculates and displays a site demand measure by subtracting a maximum power dispatched from the grid side of a DER-ES apparatus from a minimum reading of one or more load meters, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands), configuration information, the dispatch command, a status of a DER of one or more of the DER connected to the microgrid, and a user preference ([00423] provide telemetry data and user preferences to one or more edge gateway controllers, [0136] operating of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across areas including but not limited to outage management, [0518] Generation and Capacity Needs, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations).
Sanders does not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel… wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER, and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER.
Somani teaches wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds, [0096] Control system 200 checks the grid voltage and grid frequency (step 410). If the grid voltage and/or the grid frequency are out of bounds, the control system 200 stores the grid voltage and frequency at the time power system 200 determines that the grid voltage and/or frequency are out of bounds (step 420)) (i.e. controller generates and sends an open signal responsive to a temporary out of bounds grid condition de energizing the DER) , and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER ([0032] The control system that is configured to transition the plurality of converters from grid-tied mode to microgrid mode and synchronize the converters so that the converters share the load may also have a master controller being configured to: enable its power converter to operate in voltage control mode by controlling the voltage amplitude and frequency; and generate active and reactive current commands for the slave controllers to follow, [0098] The master controller generates active and reactive power commands and transmits these commands to the slave power converters (step 460). The slave power converters receive the active and reactive power commands and operate in current control mode according to the received commands (step 480), ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sander’s teaching of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource with Somani’s teaching of responding to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. The combined teaching provides an expected result of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource that responds to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve outage response maintaining a stable environment to prevent damaging equipment.
The combination of Sanders and Somani do not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel
Kirsch teaches cloudy weather blocking a solar panel (Factors that can affect charging are vehicle GPS location; vehicle bearing; weather conditions (cloud cover, rain, fog, snow, haze, smog and pollutant levels; temperature); time of day; date; tilt angle of vehicle (front to back and side to side); shading of the vehicle (structures or vegetation); and panel cleanliness. Many of these factors are known such as available sunshine at a particular time on a particular date or are publically available information such as weather conditions. Other conditions can be determined via appropriate sensors in communication with the operations center 20, such as GPS location, vehicle bearing, shading of the solar panels, panel cleanliness (efficiency), and vehicle tilt (i.e. front to back and side to side orientation))
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sanders. Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 8, wherein a type of DER connected to the microgrid includes a solar photo-voltaic (PV) system or an electric vehicle (EV) including an EV battery (Sanders, [0031] each component to integrate and control other distributed energy resources (e.g. electric vehicles, batteries, or other loads) at the site, [0423] while one or more electric vehicles are charging in the one or more electric vehicle charging stations).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 8, wherein the processor generates the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on time of use (TOU) rate information and a current time (Sanders, (Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, [0047] If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0153] a residential time-of-use (TOU) tariff is in place that assigns a higher cost for energy consumption during peak load periods, [0155] During a daytime event, both user site generation sources and user site renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads. During a night-time event, just renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads). (i.e. current time as daytime or nightime).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 8, wherein the microgrid includes an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), one or more of the DER, and a main panel (Sanders, [0222] an energy management system providing scheduling guidance from one or more grid control systems may further comprise steps for providing real-time visibility into one or more electric vehicle, electric vehicle (EV/EVSE) energy resources; responding to one or more pricing, one or more demand, and one or more ancillary services signals; coordinating (EV/EVSE) resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis, to improve performance of one or more EV/EVSE resources…and micro-grid systems; and configuring one or more EV/EVSE programs associated with the one or more electric vehicle resources to provide upgrades, monitoring, management, and support, [0092] System/Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) Apparatus and isolation switch panel board is uniquely designed to provide a common integration point for the inverter, utility grid, photovoltaic power, battery isolation switches and electric overload breaker conductors, charge controller and communications data processing gateway as a single subassembly which facilitates ease of assembly while utilizing solid copper bus to reduce space requirements need for flexible, insulated conductors. The isolation switch panel board additionally protects and inhibits authorized personnel from contacting electrically energized components).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 8, wherein the dispatch command includes a demand response (DR) request (Sanders, [0146] On Demand Request. Sometimes, the calling application will need to immediately override the current schedule and request that power be dispatched or pulled from the grid. An on-demand request will do this. Power and energy can be reserved in advance for on-demand requests, using the reservations blocks of a load shaping schedule)..
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 8, wherein the dispatch command includes a vehicle grid integration (VGI) request for real power or reactive power from the microgrid (Sanders, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load. This is one example of why the distributed architecture described above can be so beneficial in managing energy at the local level. Moreover, aggregated systems act as a fleet to provide orchestrated voltage optimization on a given circuit or feeder.)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The system for energy management of claim 13, wherein the processor generates the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on the VGI request by drawing the requested real power or reactive power from one or more of the DER (Sanders, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load. This is one example of why the distributed architecture described above can be so beneficial in managing energy at the local level. Moreover, aggregated systems act as a fleet to provide orchestrated voltage optimization on a given circuit or feeder, ([0146] On Demand Request. Sometimes, the calling application will need to immediately override the current schedule and request that power be dispatched or pulled from the grid. An on-demand request will do this. Power and energy can be reserved in advance for on-demand requests, using the reservations blocks of a load shaping schedule)).
Regarding claim 15, Sanders teaches A method for energy management ([0012] An energy management system with integrated solar and storage applicable to a home), comprising: receiving a dispatch command including vehicle grid integration (VGI) request generated in anticipation of … weather ([0035] The site gateway can use its own local resources to implement many of the decisions, services, and policies for managing energy consumption and generation both locally and in the ecosystem based upon at least the following inputs…current and forecast weather conditions, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands)…and configuration information associated with a microgrid and one or more distributed energy resources (DER) including an electric vehicle (EV) ([0128] providing one or more electric vehicle energy control centers may alternately include a site integration system cloud controller aggregating one or more electric vehicle energy control centers in communication with one or more edge gateway controllers and one or more electric vehicle resources and aggregating one or more distributed energy management systems), wherein the configuration information includes a query for a roster of function sets associated with one or more of the DER (Fig. 5A micro grid, DER, Energy cloud controller, [0123] Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations, [0151] To get the status of the entire load shaping service, you would do a GET to /Status.xml. To get the energy report for a specific group, you would do a POST to /[groupId]/Report.xml. To get the energy report for the entire load shaping service, you would do a POST to /Report.xml). (i.e. reporting functions is interpreted as the roster of function sets), receiving a dispatch command from an upstream server (Fig. 14A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power), generating a dispatch profile to control the one or more of the DER to draw a requested real power or reactive power from the one or more of the DER including the EV to load shape according to a predetermined power factor, based on the VGI request configuration information, dispatch command ([0257] load shaping grid-scale functions in an energy site integration system are provided wherein definite activities include charge, discharge and no action. In other aspects, these methods are provided wherein optional activities allow the load shaping service to manage the services future needs and include charge limit and discharge limit, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load, Fig. 28A, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, [0186] one or more processors of the one or more gateway controllers sending one or more signals to the one or more DER-ES apparatus to allow at least one inverter, charger, and energy storage device to react to demand conditions on a critical load panel and a user site demand requirement thereby reducing grid demand and avoiding grid power export from a user site location, a site demand measurement module that calculates and displays a site demand measure by subtracting a maximum power dispatched from the grid side of a DER-ES apparatus from a minimum reading of one or more load meters, [0038] Each application integrates with utility and third-party systems by means of open, web-based standards, such as Extended Markup-Language (XML) and Web Services and one or more DER-ES apparatus that function as site integration systems. Additionally, all of the monitoring, control, and reporting functions available in the platform can be exposed as a web-services application programming interface (API) available either or both at the site management system and at the site gateway locations, [0047] Through the intelligent processes provided by the various embodiments described herein, over time the system can learn about the specific features and characteristics of the site (e.g., weather patterns, load profiles, etc.) and can make adjustments on its own. If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0132] one or more networked SIS apparatus, through the cloud, are connected to the regional ISO, and respond to regulation signals on a per-second basis. Requests for frequency regulation or up/down ramping are translated into precise charge and dispatch commands), a status of a DER of one or more of the DER connected to the microgrid, and a user preference ([00423] provide telemetry data and user preferences to one or more edge gateway controllers, [0136] operating of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across areas including but not limited to outage management, [0159] There is also a catch-all program (called “default”) that always votes to put the system into Standby. It is the lowest priority program in the system, so its vote is only taken into account if no other program specifies a mode, [0518] Generation and Capacity Needs).
Sanders does not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel… wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER, and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER.
Somani teaches wherein the processor generates a temporary out of bounds signal based on the detected outage to de-energize one or more of the DER ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds, [0096] Control system 200 checks the grid voltage and grid frequency (step 410). If the grid voltage and/or the grid frequency are out of bounds, the control system 200 stores the grid voltage and frequency at the time power system 200 determines that the grid voltage and/or frequency are out of bounds (step 420)) (i.e. controller generates and sends an open signal responsive to a temporary out of bounds grid condition de energizing the DER) , and wherein the processor generates an inbounds signal based on the microgrid entering an islanded mode to re-energize one or more of the DER ([0032] The control system that is configured to transition the plurality of converters from grid-tied mode to microgrid mode and synchronize the converters so that the converters share the load may also have a master controller being configured to: enable its power converter to operate in voltage control mode by controlling the voltage amplitude and frequency; and generate active and reactive current commands for the slave controllers to follow, [0098] The master controller generates active and reactive power commands and transmits these commands to the slave power converters (step 460). The slave power converters receive the active and reactive power commands and operate in current control mode according to the received commands (step 480), ([0047] opening the islanding switch when the external grid voltage, amplitude, and frequency fall outside the upper or lower bounds)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sander’s teaching of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource with Somani’s teaching of responding to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. The combined teaching provides an expected result of load shaping management in a distributed energy resource that responds to out of bounds conditions by opening an islanding switch. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve outage response maintaining a stable environment to prevent damaging equipment.
The combination of Sanders and Somani do not teach cloudy weather blocking a solar panel
Kirsch teaches cloudy weather blocking a solar panel (Factors that can affect charging are vehicle GPS location; vehicle bearing; weather conditions (cloud cover, rain, fog, snow, haze, smog and pollutant levels; temperature); time of day; date; tilt angle of vehicle (front to back and side to side); shading of the vehicle (structures or vegetation); and panel cleanliness. Many of these factors are known such as available sunshine at a particular time on a particular date or are publically available information such as weather conditions. Other conditions can be determined via appropriate sensors in communication with the operations center 20, such as GPS location, vehicle bearing, shading of the solar panels, panel cleanliness (efficiency), and vehicle tilt (i.e. front to back and side to side orientation))
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The method for energy management of claim 15, wherein the status of the DER of one or more of the DER includes an electric vehicle (EV) connection status or a solar photo-voltaic (PV) system interrupted status (Sanders, [0031] each component to integrate and control other distributed energy resources (e.g. electric vehicles, batteries, or other loads) at the site, [0423] while one or more electric vehicles are charging in the one or more electric vehicle charging stations).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The method for energy management of claim 15, comprising generating the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on time of use (TOU) rate information and a current time (Sanders, Fig. 28A, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power, [0047] If the residence or business is on a time-of-use rate, the system will know how to minimize the cost of energy for that customer by charging batteries when prices are low and dispatching energy when prices are high, [0153] a residential time-of-use (TOU) tariff is in place that assigns a higher cost for energy consumption during peak load periods, [0155] During a daytime event, both user site generation sources and user site renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads. During a night-time event, just renewable energy storage devices are used to power loads). (i.e. current time as daytime or nightime).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The method for energy management of claim 15, wherein the microgrid includes an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), one or more of the DER, and a main panel (Sanders, [0222] an energy management system providing scheduling guidance from one or more grid control systems may further comprise steps for providing real-time visibility into one or more electric vehicle, electric vehicle (EV/EVSE) energy resources; responding to one or more pricing, one or more demand, and one or more ancillary services signals; coordinating (EV/EVSE) resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis, to improve performance of one or more EV/EVSE resources…and micro-grid systems; and configuring one or more EV/EVSE programs associated with the one or more electric vehicle resources to provide upgrades, monitoring, management, and support, [0092] System/Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) Apparatus and isolation switch panel board is uniquely designed to provide a common integration point for the inverter, utility grid, photovoltaic power, battery isolation switches and electric overload breaker conductors, charge controller and communications data processing gateway as a single subassembly which facilitates ease of assembly while utilizing solid copper bus to reduce space requirements need for flexible, insulated conductors. The isolation switch panel board additionally protects and inhibits authorized personnel from contacting electrically energized components).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sanders , Somani, and Kirsch teach The method for energy management of claim 15, wherein the dispatch command includes a demand response (DR) request (Sanders, [0146] On Demand Request. Sometimes, the calling application will need to immediately override the current schedule and request that power be dispatched or pulled from the grid. An on-demand request will do this. Power and energy can be reserved in advance for on-demand requests, using the reservations blocks of a load shaping schedule).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sanders, Somani, and Kirsch teach The method for energy management of claim 15, wherein the dispatch command includes a vehicle grid integration (VGI) request for real power or reactive power from the microgrid (Sanders, [0043] Voltage optimization. Site resident systems respond to needs for voltage and reactive power control by injecting or absorbing power at the place where it is needed most: nearest to the load. This is one example of why the distributed architecture described above can be so beneficial in managing energy at the local level. Moreover, aggregated systems act as a fleet to provide orchestrated voltage optimization on a given circuit or feeder, ([0146] On Demand Request. Sometimes, the calling application will need to immediately override the current schedule and request that power be dispatched or pulled from the grid. An on-demand request will do this. Power and energy can be reserved in advance for on-demand requests, using the reservations blocks of a load shaping schedule)), and comprising generating the dispatch profile to control one or more of the DER based on the VGI request by drawing the requested real power or reactive power from one or more of the DER ([0146] On Demand Request. Sometimes, the calling application will need to immediately override the current schedule and request that power be dispatched or pulled from the grid. An on-demand request will do this. Power and energy can be reserved in advance for on-demand requests, using the reservations blocks of a load shaping schedule, [0518] One or more DER-ES 28012 software modules report energy status to DEMS. Grid Control System (GCS) 28014 transmits information including Generation and Capacity Needs 28016 and Prices 28018 to DEMS. DEMS returns the Forecast 28020 and real-time and/or historical Metrics 28022 to GCS. DEMS in response performs the Predictive Analysis 28002 and Orchestration 28004. DEMS feeds additional forecast and metrics back to GCS. DEMS through internal and external links can generate Reports 28006, Operation and Monitoring 28008 and Communications 28010…DEMS responds by instructing DER-ES to dispatch, charge, or discharge power).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yang (US20150039145) discloses microgrid energy management system.
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117