DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/26/2026 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Currently claims 1-9 and 12-15 are pending with claims 14-15 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are pending examination.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 now recites that the flushing process includes performing electrochemical discharge on the cell stack to consume the free combustible gas in the cell stack. This flushing process is performed for a predetermined amount of time as a function of an amount of combustible gas remaining in the cel stack (as noted in lines 2-3 of claim 1).
Dependent claim 4 recites that the flushing includes continuously pumping water through the cell stack.
Dependent claim 7 recites that the flushing includes purging the cell stack with an inert gas.
Dependent claim 12 recites that the flushing includes performing chemical recombination to consume the free combustible gas.
Claim 1 states that the flushing process is performed for an amount of time to consume an amount of combustible gas remaining in the cell stack.
There is no support that clearly demonstrates the use of more than one process of flushing of the cell stack.
Claims 5-6, 8-9 and 13 are rejected as being dependent on claims 4, 7 and 12 respectively.
Claims 4-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims 4, 7 and 12 state that there is another process for flushing of the cell stack. It is not clear from the claim limitation when these processes will occur. Are they concurrent to the electrochemical discharge, before or after.
As such the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite as there is no guidance or direction from the claims or the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0316075 of Harada et al.
As to claim 1 Harada teaches of a method, the method comprising:
performing an electrochemical discharge of a cell stack to consume free combustible gas (i.e. hydrogen and oxygen gases) in the cell stack, thus performing a flushing process. The electrochemical discharge includes, on a first side of the cell stack, catalyzing separation of the electrons and protons of hydrogen gas, the protons transversing a membrane and the electrons and protons combining with oxygen on the second side of the cell stack to produce water (Harada, [0020] – [0027] and [0037] – [0043]).
As to claims 2 and 3, Harada teaches that the flushing process occurs after shutting down the cell stack power supply such that the process includes operating the cell stack for an initial amount of time before the flushing process occurs (Harada, [0040] – [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0316075 of Harada et al.
As to claims 4-6, 7-9 and 12-13, Harada teaches to the method of claim 1.
Harada does not specifically teach a second flushing process being performed, however, in view of the disclosure of Harada as per the requirement that flushing the cell stack is for a predetermined amount of time as a function of the amount of combustible gas in the cell stack, the overall processes of the dependent claims are obvious.
Harada teaches to consume all the combustible gas within the cell stack (Harada, [0042] – [0043]), thus the predetermined time for the other flushing processes becomes zero as there is no remaining combustible gas present in the cell stack. Thus Harada deems obvious the claimed invention as there is no further required flushing process being performed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Harada does not teach a system where protons are forced from the hydrogen side to the oxygen side as per the claim.
This is not true. As per the reactions that occur in the system, Harada specifically shows that at the anode, protons and electrons combine with oxygen to form water. At the cathode, the hydrogen gas is separated into protons and electrons such that the protons migrate, by an electromotive force, through the membrane to the anode (See Harada, [0041] – [0043]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759