DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 11-14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168).
Regarding Claim 1, Faxer discloses a beam report transmission method, wherein the method is performed by a mobile terminal, and the method comprises: sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam reports are reports of reference signals corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the method further comprises: receiving one or more beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configurations comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points: (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
and measuring reference signals corresponding to the reference signal information (see Para’s [0063], [0123] i.e., Wireless device 110 may be configured to receive and measure the CSI-RS, [0131-0133], & [0153]), and generating the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para’s [0066-0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message associated with one of the selected CSI-Rs resources and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0125-0126], [0149], & [0164])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the method further comprises: in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0131-0133]), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report, (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
wherein before the generating the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0070], [0132], [0149], [0164], & [0215]), the method further comprises: receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the one or more beam report configurations (see Para’s [0063], [0123], [0131-0133], & [0153])
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of wherein before the generating a group-based beam report, the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169).
Matsumura discloses wherein before the generating a group-based beam report (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0068] i.e., group based beam reporting, [0082], [0089], [0095], [0137] i.e., the group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0144-0146] i.e., a group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0154-0155] i.e., CSI report configuration information including a plurality of resource information for channel measurement (resources for channel measurements #1 and #2) is set to the UE as illustrated in Fig. 11A…resources for channel measurements #1 and #2 may be respectively associated with CSI-RS resources of beam indices transmitted from both TRPS), the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals (see Para’s [0068], [0082] i.e., Note that the two beam measurement resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) may be simultaneously received by the UE using one spatial domain reception filter or may be simultaneously received by the UE using a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain reception filters, & [0122]).
(Matsumura suggests the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission, (see Para’s [0088-0089], [0126], & [0144-0146])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals received by the mobile terminal comprised in the one or more beam report configurations as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to simultaneously send or receive, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals as performed by the mobile terminal disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report comprises: consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report, and wherein the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources, and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report; and wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein consolidating, based on a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0201] i.e., CSI reportings of CSI #1 to #4 are configured to the UE. The CSI #1 to #4 are based on TRPs #1 to #4, respectively), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0046] i.e., beamforming, [0060] i.e., beam-specific signal, [0106] i.e., reference signals are beamformed, [0180] i.e., The CSI reporting may be associated with a TRP transmission beam, [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate a group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs, [0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include CSI reportings associated with all TRPs & [0200-0202] i.e., Furthermore, the UE generates a CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) including the CSI #1 to CSI #4) comprises:
consolidating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
and wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point (Takeda Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204]
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to perform the consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
While Takeda discloses wherein the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) may be determined by the first transmission and reception point (Takeda Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204]), the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda does not disclose the claim features of wherein the PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point) is determined by an identity of the first transmission and reception point, wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Liou US (2020/0305168).
Liou discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point, (see Para’s [0327-0328], [0330], [0338] i.e., the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling a DL or UL transmission by the TRP identifier. The PUSCH may be scheduled by a DCI format associated with a first TRP identifier, [0365] i.e., if or when the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated the first TRP or the first TRP identifier, the UE may transmit the PUSCH via the spatial relation of a first PUCCH resource, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0, (see Para’s [0148] i.e., the CORESET may be CORESET #0, [0150] i.e., CORESET 0, [0154-0155] i.e., CORESET #0, [0327-0328], [0336] i.e., the TRP identifier may be associated with or related to one or more parameters within a configuration e.g., a CORESET within a PDCCH configuration, [0365] i.e., CORESET associated with the first TRP, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
(Liou suggests the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP, (see Para’s [0336-0338] & [0365] & [0380])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first transmission and reception point (TRP) which determines and schedules the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to be a first transmission and reception point (TRP) including a TRP identity and associated with a CORESET having an identity of 0 such as the first TRP disclosed in the teachings of Liou who discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point associated with a CORESET 0, which results in the anchor point (i.e., “PUSCH repetition resources”) being determined by an identify of the first TRP associated with a CORESET 0, because the motivation lies in Liou that the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP.
Regarding Claim 7, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein in the case of the plurality of beam report configurations, (see Para [0133] i.e., In other embodiments, the UE is configured with a CSI report setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “plurality of beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP), an association relationship between the plurality of beam report configurations is determined by using association signaling. (see Para [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI report setting (“association signaling”) linked with several resource settings for channel measurement (i.e., “association relationship”) where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP & [0134-0136] i.e., The UE determines an association relationship between the beam report configurations (i.e., “resource settings”) such as both configurations are used for channel measurement in order to set a desired NC-JT from the TRPs)
Regarding Claim 19, Faxer discloses a mobile terminal (see Fig. 7, 110 & Fig. 10A i.e., wireless device 110 & Para’s [0171-0172]), comprising a memory (see Fig. 10a i.e., memory 1030), a processor (see Fig. 10a i.e., processing circuitry 1020), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (see Para [0172-0174] i.e., processing circuity 1020 executes instructions stored by memory 1030 to provide some or all of the functionality described herein …memory 1030 is generally operable to store computer executable code), wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Fig. 10A & Para’s [0172-0174]) to perform: sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam reports are reports of reference signals corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the processor executes the computer program to perform: receiving one or more beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configurations comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points: (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
and measuring reference signals corresponding to the reference signal information (see Para’s [0063], [0123] i.e., Wireless device 110 may be configured to receive and measure the CSI-RS, [0131-0133], & [0153]), and generating the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para’s [0066-0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message associated with one of the selected CSI-Rs resources and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0125-0126], [0149], & [0164])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the processor executes the compute program to perform: further: in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0131-0133]), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report, (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
wherein before the generating the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0070], [0132], [0149], [0164], & [0215]), the processor executes the computer program to perform: receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the one or more beam report configurations (see Para’s [0063], [0123], [0131-0133], & [0153])
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of wherein before the generating a group-based beam report, the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169).
Matsumura discloses wherein before the generating a group-based beam report (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0068] i.e., group based beam reporting, [0082], [0089], [0095], [0137] i.e., the group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0144-0146] i.e., a group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0154-0155] i.e., CSI report configuration information including a plurality of resource information for channel measurement (resources for channel measurements #1 and #2) is set to the UE as illustrated in Fig. 11A…resources for channel measurements #1 and #2 may be respectively associated with CSI-RS resources of beam indices transmitted from both TRPS), the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals (see Para’s [0068], [0082] i.e., Note that the two beam measurement resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) may be simultaneously received by the UE using one spatial domain reception filter or may be simultaneously received by the UE using a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain reception filters, & [0122]).
(Matsumura suggests the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission, (see Para’s [0088-0089], [0126], & [0144-0146])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals received by the mobile terminal comprised in the one or more beam report configurations as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to simultaneously send or receive, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals as performed by the mobile terminal disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report comprises: consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report, and wherein the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources; the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report; and wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein consolidating, based on a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0201] i.e., CSI reportings of CSI #1 to #4 are configured to the UE. The CSI #1 to #4 are based on TRPs #1 to #4, respectively), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0046] i.e., beamforming, [0060] i.e., beam-specific signal, [0106] i.e., reference signals are beamformed, [0180] i.e., The CSI reporting may be associated with a TRP transmission beam, [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate a group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs, [0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include CSI reportings associated with all TRPs & [0200-0202] i.e., Furthermore, the UE generates a CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) including the CSI #1 to CSI #4) comprises:
consolidating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
and wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point. (see Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204])
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer in view of Matsumura to perform the consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
While Takeda discloses wherein the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) may be determined by the first transmission and reception point (Takeda Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204]), the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda does not disclose the claim features of wherein the PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point) is determined by an identity of the first transmission and reception point, wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Liou US (2020/0305168).
Liou discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point, (see Para’s [0327-0328], [0330], [0338] i.e., the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling a DL or UL transmission by the TRP identifier. The PUSCH may be scheduled by a DCI format associated with a first TRP identifier, [0365] i.e., if or when the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated the first TRP or the first TRP identifier, the UE may transmit the PUSCH via the spatial relation of a first PUCCH resource, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0, (see Para’s [0148] i.e., the CORESET may be CORESET #0, [0150] i.e., CORESET 0, [0154-0155] i.e., CORESET #0, [0327-0328], [0336] i.e., the TRP identifier may be associated with or related to one or more parameters within a configuration e.g., a CORESET within a PDCCH configuration, [0365] i.e., CORESET associated with the first TRP, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
(Liou suggests the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP, (see Para’s [0336-0338] & [0365] & [0380])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first transmission and reception point (TRP) which determines and schedules the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to be a first transmission and reception point (TRP) including a TRP identity and associated with a CORESET having an identity of 0 such as the first TRP disclosed in the teachings of Liou who discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point associated with a CORESET 0, which results in the anchor point (i.e., “PUSCH repetition resources”) being determined by an identify of the first TRP associated with a CORESET 0, because the motivation lies in Liou that the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Regarding Claim 3, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 1 including a case of one beam report configuration (see Para [0132]), but the references combined does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case of the one beam report configuration, the beam report configuration comprises a plurality of beam report resources, or in a case of a plurality of beam report configurations, the beam report configuration comprises one or more beam report resources and the beam report resources correspond to one or more first transmission and reception points, and the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sending, on the beam report resources, the first beam reports of the first transmission and reception points corresponding to the beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs), or in a case of a plurality of CSI report configurations, the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources
and the CSI report resources correspond to one or more first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0083] i.e., only one PUCCH resource is determined for CSI transmission per TRP (e.g., TRP 1)…PUCCH resources carrying CSIs for different TRPs, the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
and the sending corresponding first CSI reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sending, on the CSI report resources, the first CSI reports of the first transmission and reception points corresponding to the CSI report resources, (see Para’s [0077-0078], [0079] i.e., multiplexing of UCIs, and determining of PUCCH resources for multiplexing UCIs per TRP, are performed & [0080-0083] i.e., PUCCH resources carrying CSIs for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources for reporting by the UE, CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 4, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 3, but the references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the plurality of beam report resources are distinguished by using at least one of physical uplink control channel, physical uplink shared channel, spatial relation information, transmission configuration indicator, and code point in a transmission configuration indicator. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the plurality of beam report resources are distinguished by using at least one of physical uplink control channel, (see Para’s [0077] i.e., the UE should use a PUCCH resource associated with the TRP to transmit UCIs associated with the TRP…PUCCH resource associated with the corresponding TRP [0083] i.e., only one PUCCH resource is determined for CSI transmission per TRP…the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRP (i.e., different PUCCH resources are distinguished per TRP according to the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list))
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources which are distinguished by the UE, for reporting CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Liou, and further in view of Ling discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sequentially sending, on a part of the plurality of beam report resources, the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points;
and/or in a case that the mobile terminal supports simultaneous sending, simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0215] i.e., the UE may transmit several PUSCHs simultaneously if per-TRP CSI feedback is used…CSI feedback may be sent in either a single report or split up in per-TRP CSI reports on separate PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions), but does not disclose the sending is performed wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which feeds back CSI per TRP wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources as disclosed in Ling to supports simultaneous sending of the beam reports based on the teachings of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou who discloses simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources which results in simultaneous sending of the beam reports.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168), further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0252168), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2022/0183092).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 3 wherein in a case that a plurality of beam report configurations (Faxer,, see Para [0133]) but does not disclose the beam report configuration comprises the one beam report resource and the method further comprises: sharing a frequency domain resource. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
Ling discloses sharing a frequency domain resource among the CSI report resources (see Fig. 4a i.e., frequency domain resource is shared among the PUCCH resources & Para’s [0010] i.e., overlap in the frequency domain for the PUCCH resources & [0103])
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration of the plurality of beam report configurations sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to comprise one or more beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources which are distinguished by the UE, for reporting CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Liou, and further in view of Ling does not disclose. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0252168).
Kim discloses wherein in a case that a CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource (see Para [0414] i.e., The base station may configure J PUCCH resources (e.g., multi-CSI-PUCCH-Resource-List) in the terminal using higher layer signaling. J may be 1 or 2. When the terminal desired to transmit a plurality of CSI reports on a PUCCH configured in one slot, the terminal may select one of a PUCCH resource 0 and a PUCCH resource J-1).
(Kim suggests the CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource is configured for the terminal desiring to send a plurality of CSI reports for properly reporting the CSI associated using the configured PUCCH resource (see Para [0414])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report configuration disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Liou, and further in view of Ling to comprise one beam report resource based on the teachings of Kim who discloses a CSI report configuration for a UE comprises one CSI report resource, because the motivation lies in Kim that the CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource is configured for the terminal desiring to send a plurality of CSI reports for properly reporting the CSI using the configured PUCCH resource.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Liou, further in view of Ling, and further in view of Kim does not disclose the claim feature of dividing a time domain resource to divide the one beam report resource into the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2022/0183092).
Lee discloses a UE dividing a time domain resource to divide one feedback report resource into a plurality of feedback report resources (see Para’s [0142] i.e., HARQ feedback resource may include time/frequency information, [0163] i.e., predefined HARQ resource set (i.e., includes “time domain resource”) & [0164] i.e., an RX UE may divide the resource belonging to the corresponding set into a plurality of HARQ feedback resources according to a predetermined rule, may index the divided HARQ feedback resource in order).
(Lee suggests the UE may index the divided HARQ feedback resource for properly identifying each of the plurality of HARQ feedback resources for sending the feedback information on the proper identified feedback resource, (see Para’s [0113-0114] & [0164])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Liou, further in view of Ling, and further in view of Kim to divide a time domain resource to divide the one beam report resource into the plurality of beam report resources based on the teachings of Lee who discloses a UE dividing a time domain resource to divide one feedback report resource into a plurality of feedback report resources, because the motivation lies in Lee that the UE may index the divided HARQ feedback resource for properly identifying each of the plurality of HARQ feedback resources for sending the feedback information on the proper identified feedback resource.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the anchor point is determined by an identity of the first transmission and reception point, wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point having an identity of 0, a transmission and reception point having a largest identity, a transmission and reception point having a smallest identity, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having a largest identity, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having a smallest identity, a transmission and reception point indicated by a network, or a transmission and reception point reported by user equipment; or the anchor point is determined by a resource or configuration indicated by a network or reported by the mobile terminal; or the anchor point is determined by the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, wherein the beam report resource or the beam report configuration comprises at least one of a first or last configured resource or configuration, a frequency domain resource in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, a time domain resource in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, spatial relation information in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, or a reference signal in a transmission configuration indicator. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses or the anchor point is determined by a resource or configuration indicated by a network or reported by the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE by higher layer signaling from the network, [0136] i.e., A user terminal may receive DCI (i.e., “configuration”) for scheduling (or activating) PUSCHs to all repetitions, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., configured PUSCH resource & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group)
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal to perform before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to the plurality of first transmission and reception points in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou consolidating, based on an anchor point determined by configuration indicated by the network, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
Regarding Claim 12, Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a reference signal referenced during a beam measurement in the group-based beam report is at least one of a reference signal at a time closest to the beam report resource, a reference signal at a latest time before a start of the group-based beam report, and a reference signal in the group-based beam report. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein a reference signal referenced during a beam measurement in the group-based beam report is at least one of a reference signal in the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs & [0200-0202] i.e., the UE measures an RS associated with each TRP to generate CSI…Furthermore the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to #4 (i.e., CSI of a respective reference signal is in the group-based beam report)).
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal to perform for the sending of the corresponding first beam reports respectively to the plurality of first transmission and reception points which is based on CSI-RS beam measurement as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Liou consolidating, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Faxer in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report; and/or one reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report corresponds to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratios. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Matsumura discloses wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, (see Para’s [0057-0061] i.e., The CSI report configuration information may include a “report quantity” that is information of a parameter to be reported in one report instance (for example, one CSI), [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI & [0077])
the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0027] i.e., the CSI may include a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), [0035], [0056-0061], [0074] i.e., the UE may configure at least one NZP CSI-RS resource and the SSB resource for channel measurement, [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI, & [0077]).
(Matsumura suggests if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal that can suitably use a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting (see Para’s [0006-0007] & [0082-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report including reporting parameters for a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to include a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report which is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR which is measured by the terminal based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and thus suitably using a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting for appropriate CSI reporting.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430), further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0112869).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a CPU occupation time corresponding to the step of consolidating the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report is at least one of the following: in a case of periodic or semi-persistent channel state information CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty, a start symbol occupying a CSI processing unit CPU is an earliest symbol in each CSI-reference signal RS or CSI-interference measurement IM or SSB resource for CSI-RS or CSI-IM or SSB transmission of a last channel or interference measurement before the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last uplink channel for transmitting the group-based beam report; in a case of aperiodic CSI and first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH-based semi-persistent CSI report activated by a physical downlink control channel PDCCH and in a case that a report parameter is not empty, a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last PUSCH for transmitting the group-based beam report; in a case of semi-persistent CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty and that tracking reference signal trs-information Infor is not configured, a start symbol occupying a CPU is an earliest symbol for periodic or semi-persistent CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1 reference signal received power L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is Z3 symbols after a last symbol for CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report; and in a case of aperiodic CSI and in a case that a report parameter is null and that trs- Infor is not configured, a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last one of any one or more of the following symbols:Z3 symbols after a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report; Z3 symbols after a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a last CSI report of the group-based beam report; and Z3 symbols after a last symbol for CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0112869).
Kim discloses wherein a CPU occupation time corresponding generating a CSI report is at least one of the following: in a case of periodic or semi-persistent channel state information CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty (see Para [0032] i.e., L1-RSRP report (i.e., “report parameter is not empty”), [0236], [0239], & [0269]), a start symbol occupying a CSI processing unit CPU is an earliest symbol in each CSI-reference signal RS (see Para’s [0150] i.e., in case of periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reporting, a CSI processing unit may occupy symbols from the first symbol (i.e., “start symbol”) of a CSI reference resource of periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reporting & [0275] i.e., CSI processing units occupied for the CSI reporting may be set to 1) or CSI-interference measurement IM or SSB resource for CSI-RS or CSI-IM or SSB transmission of a last channel or interference measurement before the CSI report and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last uplink channel for transmitting the group-based beam report
Or in a case of aperiodic CSI and first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH-based semi-persistent CSI report activated by a physical downlink control channel PDCCH (see Para’s [0143] i.e., PDCCH triggering, [0151] i.e., aperiodic CSI reporting setting may be based on a simi-persistent CSI-RS, & [0239]) and in a case that a report parameter is not empty (see Para [0032] i.e., L1-RSRP report (i.e., “report parameter is not empty”), [0236], [0239], & [0269]), a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the CSI report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last PUSCH for transmitting the CSI report, (see Para [0143] i.e., For example, in the case of aperiodic CSI reporting using an aperiodic CSI-RS (configured with a single CSI-RS resource in a resource set for channel measurement), a CSI processing unit may be maintained in the state in which symbols from the first OFDM symbol (i.e., “start symbol”) to the last OFDM (i.e., “end symbol”) symbol of a PUSCH carrying CSI reporting after PDCCH triggering have been occupied & [0275] i.e., CSI processing units occupied for the CSI reporting may be set to 1)
(Kim suggests allocating a minimum number of processing unit utilized by the terminal for the CSI reporting may be applied when CSI reporting is for beam reporting for achieving efficient beam management (see Para’s [0032], [0236], & [0269]) and which CSI will be allocated to a CSI processing unit, needs to be taken into consideration, (see Para [0155])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the group based beam reporting disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to be allocated a CSI processing unit according to the CPU occupation time applied for CSI reporting as disclosed in the teachings of Kim, because the motivation lies in Kim for allocating a minimum number of processing unit utilized by the terminal for the CSI reporting may be applied when CSI reporting is for beam reporting for achieving efficient beam management and which CSI will be allocated to a CSI processing unit, needs to be taken into consideration.
9. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168).
Regarding Claim 14, Faxer discloses a beam report transmission method, wherein the method is performed by a first transmission and reception point (see Fig. 11A & Para’s [0070], [0136] i.e., TRP, & [0182]), and the method comprises: receiving a first beam report sent by a mobile terminal, (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “first beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message (i.e., “first beam report”) may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report (i.e., “first beam report”) may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam report is a report of a reference signal corresponding to the first transmission and reception point, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the receiving a first beam report sent by a mobile terminal (see Para [0070]), the method comprises: sending, to the mobile terminal, one or more beam report configurations corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configuration comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), the method further comprises:
a group-based beam report sent by the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0070], [0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149], [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (one message per CSI-RS resource & [0215])
wherein the group-based beam report is obtained by integrating a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, , (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the group-based beam report simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672).
Tomeba discloses receiving a plurality of reference signals simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters (see Para [0209] i.e., The terminal device may transmit a plurality of SRSs…In this situation, when transmitting a plurality of SRSs, the terminal device may also transmit with the same spatial domain transmission filter…when instructing a terminal device to simultaneously transmit a plurality of SRSs, the base station device may set the same spatial domain transmission filter or different spatial domain transmission filters for transmission)
(Tomeba suggests the base station sets the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the SRS to the UE for allowing the UE to flexibly apply different spatial domain transmission filters to a plurality of SRSs in order for the base station to properly receive the SRS transmission for determining an uplink channel state, (see Para’s [0048-0049] [0209-0210] & [0214-0215])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to receive a plurality of reference signals simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters disclosed in the teachings of Tomeba, because the motivation lies in Tomeba that the base station sets the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the SRS to the UE for allowing the UE to flexibly apply different spatial domain transmission filters to a plurality of SRSs in order for the base station to properly receive the SRS transmission for determining an uplink channel state.
While Tomeba discloses receiving a plurality of SRS reference signals from the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0209]), the combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba does not disclose the SRS reference signals comprised in the group based-beam report. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690).
Zhu discloses a SRS reference signal measurement comprised in each beam report associated with respective TRPs (see Fig. 3 i.e., CLI measurement report includes SRS measurement reported to base stations 310 & 315 & Para’s [0063], [0122], [0124], & [0126]).
(Zhu suggests the SRS reference signal measurement is performed for performing cross link interference (CLI) measurement at the UE associated with a respective serving base for reporting the cross link interference to the respective base station for scheduling wireless communications with respective UEs in a manner that mitigates or avoids CLI, (see Para’s [0005], [0124], & [0126])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of first beam reports integrated into the group-based beam report as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba to each include an SRS reference signal measurement associated with each TRP such as the SRS measurement included in each beam report associated with and reported to the respective TRPs as disclosed in Zhu, which results in the SRS reference signals comprised in the group based-beam report, because the motivation lies in Zhu that the SRS reference signal measurement is performed for performing cross link interference (CLI) measurement at the UE associated with a respective serving base for reporting the cross link interference to the respective base station for scheduling wireless communications with respective UEs in a manner that mitigates or avoids CLI.
The combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba, and further in view of Zhu does not disclose the claim features of integrating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to obtain the group-based beam report, the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources, the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report; and wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses integrating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to obtain the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0188-0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
wherein the anchor point is determined by the first transmission and reception point (Takeda Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204]
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal integrating the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to obtain a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer in view of Tomeba, and further in view of Zhu to perform the integrating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to obtain the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
While Takeda discloses wherein the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) may be determined by the first transmission and reception point (Takeda Fig. 10 i.e., TRP #1, see Para’s [0036], [0046] i.e., TRP may be a base station, [0111], [0136] i.e., a user terminal may receive DCI for scheduling PUSCHs to all repetitions (i.e., from the base station or TRP), [0141-0142] i.e., when all repetitions of the PUSCH of the repetition factor K are scheduled by DCI, [0161-0162], [0165-0172], & [0200-0204]), the combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, and further in view of Takeda does not disclose the claim features of wherein the PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point) is determined by an identity of the first transmission and reception point, wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Liou US (2020/0305168).
Liou discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point, (see Para’s [0327-0328], [0330], [0338] i.e., the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling a DL or UL transmission by the TRP identifier. The PUSCH may be scheduled by a DCI format associated with a first TRP identifier, [0365] i.e., if or when the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated the first TRP or the first TRP identifier, the UE may transmit the PUSCH via the spatial relation of a first PUCCH resource, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0, (see Para’s [0148] i.e., the CORESET may be CORESET #0, [0150] i.e., CORESET 0, [0154-0155] i.e., CORESET #0, [0327-0328], [0336] i.e., the TRP identifier may be associated with or related to one or more parameters within a configuration e.g., a CORESET within a PDCCH configuration, [0365] i.e., CORESET associated with the first TRP, & [0380] i.e., “the PUSCH is scheduled by the first TRP” may mean or be referred to that the PUSCH is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the first TRP or the first TRP identifier)
(Liou suggests the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP, (see Para’s [0336-0338] & [0365] & [0380])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first transmission and reception point (TRP) which determines and schedules the PUSCH repetitions resources (i.e., “anchor point”) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to be a first transmission and reception point (TRP) including a TRP identity and associated with a CORESET having an identity of 0 such as the first TRP disclosed in the teachings of Liou who discloses wherein an uplink transmission such as a PUSCH resource is determined by an identity of a first transmission and reception point associated with a CORESET 0, which results in the anchor point (i.e., “PUSCH repetition resources”) being determined by an identify of the first TRP associated with a CORESET 0, because the motivation lies in Liou that the UE may be able to differentiate or recognize the TRP scheduling the UL transmission by the TRP identifier which is associated with the CORESET 0 for properly determining the scheduled PUSCH transmission from the recognized first TRP.
Regarding Claim 20, Faxer discloses a network device (see Fig. 11A & Para’s [0181-0182] i.e., network node 120 can be a transmission point (i.e., TRP) & [0168] i.e., a transmission point may refer to a TRP), comprising a memory (see Fig. 11A i.e., memory 1130), a processor (see Fig. 11A i.e., processing circuitry 1120), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (see Para [0181-0182] i.e., processing circuity 1120 executes instructions stored by memory 1130 to provide some or all of the functionality described above, wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Para [0182]) to perform the steps of the beam report transmission method according to claim 14, (see rejection of claim 14 with respect to Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda). Therefore claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou as in claim 14.
10. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Regarding Claim 16, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 14 including a case of one beam report configuration (see Para [0132]), but the references combined does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case of the one beam report configuration, the beam report configuration comprises a plurality of beam report resources, or in a case of a plurality of beam report configurations, the beam report configuration comprises one or more beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs), or in a case of a plurality of CSI report configurations, the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources for reporting by the UE, CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 17, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein in the case of the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0133] i.e., In other embodiments, the UE is configured with a CSI report setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “plurality of beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP), an association relationship between the plurality of beam report configurations is determined by using association signaling, (see Para [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI report setting (“association signaling”) linked with several resource settings for channel measurement (i.e., “association relationship”) where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP & [0134-0136] i.e., The UE determines an association relationship between the beam report configurations (i.e., “resource settings”) such as both configurations are used for channel measurement in order to set a desired NC-JT from the TRPs)
wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the receiving a first beam report sent by a terminal comprises: sequentially receiving, on a part of the plurality of beam report resources, first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points;
and/or in a case that the mobile terminal supports simultaneous sending, simultaneously receiving corresponding first beam reports by the plurality of first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0215] i.e., the UE may transmit several PUSCHs simultaneously if per-TRP CSI feedback is used…CSI feedback may be sent in either a single report or split up in per-TRP CSI reports on separate PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions), but does not disclose the receiving is performed wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which feeds back CSI per TRP wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources as disclosed in Ling to supports simultaneous sending of the beam reports based on the teachings of Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou who discloses simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources which results in simultaneous sending of the beam reports.
11. Claim 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), further in view of Liou US (2020/0305168) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report; and/or one reference signal in the first beam report corresponds to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratios. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Matsumura discloses wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, (see Para’s [0057-0061] i.e., The CSI report configuration information may include a “report quantity” that is information of a parameter to be reported in one report instance (for example, one CSI), [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI & [0077])
the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0027] i.e., the CSI may include a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), [0035], [0056-0061], [0074] i.e., the UE may configure at least one NZP CSI-RS resource and the SSB resource for channel measurement, [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI, & [0077]).
(Matsumura suggests if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal that can suitably use a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting (see Para’s [0006-0007] & [0082-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report including reporting parameters for a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Liou to include a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report which is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR which is measured by the terminal based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and thus suitably using a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting for appropriate CSI reporting.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461