DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 10-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn in view of the applicants remarks.
Applicant's arguments filed December 22 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically, the applicant argues the newly amended claim limitation in claim 1 of “and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report”. However the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicants argument as the teachings of Takeda (Of Record) discloses the claim limitation. For example in the previous rejection, the examiner interpreted the anchor point to refer to a PUSCH repetition as disclosed and illustrated in Fig. 9 and Fig. 11 of Takeda. However based on claim 1 and in light of the applicants specification in Para [0057] which discloses that i.e., “wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources”, the anchor point may also be interpreted as all of the beam report resources as a whole. Therefore the anchor point may be interpreted in Takeda as all of the beam report resources such as all of the PUSCH repetitions (i.e., beam report resources) which may be an anchor point (Takeda, see Fig.’s 8-9 & Fig. 11 & Para’s [0185], [0187], & [0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions). Since the UE receives configuration of the beam report resources (i.e., K repetitions) which refers the to claimed “anchor point” as previously explained, from the base station prior to transmission of the group based beam report (Takeda, see Fig. 8 i.e., CG configurations #1 to #4 may be associated respectively with different TRPs & Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172] i.e., Furthermore, respectively different PUSCH resources (that may be referred to as a PUSCH resource set (i.e., “anchor point”)) of each configured grant-based PUSCH repetition may be configured to the UE…Consequently, it is possible to flexibly configure a PUSCH resource used for PUSCH transmission to each TRP & [0200-0204]), and with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation, the anchor point (i.e., beam report resources) is used by the UE to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report. For example the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition according to an anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information (see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
For the reasons explained, Takeda still discloses the claim feature of “and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report”.
In regards to the applicants argument on Pg. 17 of the remarks, the applicant states that in contrast, claim 1 of the present application specifies “generating a group-based beam report based on an anchor. The applicant further states “That is to say, before transmitting the beam report via beam report resources, claim 1 of the present application requires generating a group-based beam report based on the beam report resources (i.e., anchors) first, and then transmitting the group-based beam report over the beam report resources. In other words, the generation of the group-based beam report in the present application is associated with beam report resources” (i.e., see remarks on last paragraph of Pg. 17-Pg. 18). However the group-based beam report in Takeda is also associated with beam report resources configured for the terminal and the group-based beam report is generated based on the beam report resources configured for the terminal (Takeda, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189], & [0200-0204]). The applicant further argues on Pg. 18 that however D5 only discloses the transmission of CSI report groups carried on PUSCH repetitions, and does not disclose that the generation of CSI report groups is associated with PUSCH repetitions. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the generated group-based beam report in Takeda is associated with the PUSCH repetitions configured for the terminal (Takeda, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189], & [0200-0204]).
Therefore Takeda does disclose the claim feature of “consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report”. (Takeda, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189], & [0200-0204]).
In regards to the applicants arguments on (Pg. 18 of the remarks) with respect to the claim feature of “the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report”, the applicant states that “That is to say, a complete group-based beam report is counted from the anchor until the next anchor appears”. However the applicant is arguing subject matter which is not claimed as claim 2 nor the claim feature of “the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report” claims counting the group-based beam report from the anchor until the next anchor appears and does not even make any mention of a “next anchor” as argued by the applicant.
The applicant then states that “Furthermore, when multiple first transmission and reception points correspond to multiple first beam reports, even if the time-domain periods of the reference signals included in these beam reports or beam report configurations are different, or conflict exists in frequency-domain resources or spatial-domain resources, the start and end of a complete group-based beam report can still be determined based on the anchor”. However claim 2 does not claim such a scenario of conflicts existing in frequency domain resources or spatial-domain resources for determining the start and end of the complete group-based beam report based on the anchor.
As previously explained with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation “the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report”, the anchor point (i.e., interpreted as all of the beam report (i.e., PUSCH) resources 1-4) is used by the UE to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report. For example the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition according anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information (Takeda, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]). For example, in light of the applicants specification, Para [0057] discloses i.e., “an anchor point is required to determine the start and end of the complete group Based Beam Reporting process”. The start and end of a complete group based beam reporting process may be interpreted as the terminal in Takeda determining the start and end of the group-based beam report transmission starting on the first repetition and ending on the last repetition based on the PUSCH resource repetitions i.e., anchor configured for the UE, (Takeda, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189], & [0200-0204]).
For the reasons explained, Takeda does disclose the claim features of “generating a group-based beam report based on an anchor”, and “the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report” and the claim feature in claim 2 of “consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report, wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report”. Therefore the rejection of independent claim 2, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda is maintained. Independent claim 19 which has been amended to include similar features as claim 1, also remain rejected over Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda for the same reasons explained for claim 1. A new ground(s) of rejection has been set forth independent claim 14, however the same argument presented for claim 1 with respect to Takeda is also applied to claim 14 which has the same amended claim feature explained for claim 1. The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based at least on their dependence to independent claims 1, 14, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Regarding Claim 1, Faxer discloses a beam report transmission method, wherein the method is performed by a mobile terminal, and the method comprises: sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam reports are reports of reference signals corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the method further comprises: receiving one or more beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configurations comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points: (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
and measuring reference signals corresponding to the reference signal information (see Para’s [0063], [0123] i.e., Wireless device 110 may be configured to receive and measure the CSI-RS, [0131-0133], & [0153]), and generating the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para’s [0066-0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message associated with one of the selected CSI-Rs resources and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0125-0126], [0149], & [0164])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the method further comprises: in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0131-0133]), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report, (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
wherein before the generating the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0070], [0132], [0149], [0164], & [0215]), the method further comprises: receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the one or more beam report configurations (see Para’s [0063], [0123], [0131-0133], & [0153])
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of wherein before the generating a group-based beam report, the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169).
Matsumura discloses wherein before the generating a group-based beam report (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0068] i.e., group based beam reporting, [0082], [0089], [0095], [0137] i.e., the group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0144-0146] i.e., a group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0154-0155] i.e., CSI report configuration information including a plurality of resource information for channel measurement (resources for channel measurements #1 and #2) is set to the UE as illustrated in Fig. 11A…resources for channel measurements #1 and #2 may be respectively associated with CSI-RS resources of beam indices transmitted from both TRPS), the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals (see Para’s [0068], [0082] i.e., Note that the two beam measurement resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) may be simultaneously received by the UE using one spatial domain reception filter or may be simultaneously received by the UE using a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain reception filters, & [0122]).
(Matsumura suggests the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission, (see Para’s [0088-0089], [0126], & [0144-0146])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals received by the mobile terminal comprised in the one or more beam report configurations as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to simultaneously send or receive, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals as performed by the mobile terminal disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report comprises: consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report, and wherein the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources, and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein consolidating, based on a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0201] i.e., CSI reportings of CSI #1 to #4 are configured to the UE. The CSI #1 to #4 are based on TRPs #1 to #4, respectively), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0046] i.e., beamforming, [0060] i.e., beam-specific signal, [0106] i.e., reference signals are beamformed, [0180] i.e., The CSI reporting may be associated with a TRP transmission beam, [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate a group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs, [0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include CSI reportings associated with all TRPs & [0200-0202] i.e., Furthermore, the UE generates a CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) including the CSI #1 to CSI #4) comprises:
consolidating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to perform the consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
Regarding Claim 7, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein in the case of the plurality of beam report configurations, (see Para [0133] i.e., In other embodiments, the UE is configured with a CSI report setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “plurality of beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP), an association relationship between the plurality of beam report configurations is determined by using association signaling. (see Para [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI report setting (“association signaling”) linked with several resource settings for channel measurement (i.e., “association relationship”) where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP & [0134-0136] i.e., The UE determines an association relationship between the beam report configurations (i.e., “resource settings”) such as both configurations are used for channel measurement in order to set a desired NC-JT from the TRPs)
Regarding Claim 19, Faxer discloses a mobile terminal (see Fig. 7, 110 & Fig. 10A i.e., wireless device 110 & Para’s [0171-0172]), comprising a memory (see Fig. 10a i.e., memory 1030), a processor (see Fig. 10a i.e., processing circuitry 1020), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (see Para [0172-0174] i.e., processing circuity 1020 executes instructions stored by memory 1030 to provide some or all of the functionality described herein …memory 1030 is generally operable to store computer executable code), wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Fig. 10A & Para’s [0172-0174]) to perform: sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message (i.e., “beam report”) associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam reports are reports of reference signals corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the processor executes the computer program to perform: receiving one or more beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configurations comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points: (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
and measuring reference signals corresponding to the reference signal information (see Para’s [0063], [0123] i.e., Wireless device 110 may be configured to receive and measure the CSI-RS, [0131-0133], & [0153]), and generating the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para’s [0066-0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message associated with one of the selected CSI-Rs resources and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0125-0126], [0149], & [0164])
wherein before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para [0070]), the processor executes the compute program to perform: further: in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0131-0133]), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report, (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
wherein before the generating the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0070], [0132], [0149], [0164], & [0215]), the processor executes the computer program to perform: receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the one or more beam report configurations (see Para’s [0063], [0123], [0131-0133], & [0153])
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of wherein before the generating a group-based beam report, the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169).
Matsumura discloses wherein before the generating a group-based beam report (see Fig. 10 & Para’s [0068] i.e., group based beam reporting, [0082], [0089], [0095], [0137] i.e., the group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0144-0146] i.e., a group report may include beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs & [0154-0155] i.e., CSI report configuration information including a plurality of resource information for channel measurement (resources for channel measurements #1 and #2) is set to the UE as illustrated in Fig. 11A…resources for channel measurements #1 and #2 may be respectively associated with CSI-RS resources of beam indices transmitted from both TRPS), the method further comprises: simultaneously sending or receiving, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals (see Para’s [0068], [0082] i.e., Note that the two beam measurement resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) may be simultaneously received by the UE using one spatial domain reception filter or may be simultaneously received by the UE using a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain reception filters, & [0122]).
(Matsumura suggests the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission, (see Para’s [0088-0089], [0126], & [0144-0146])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals received by the mobile terminal comprised in the one or more beam report configurations as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to simultaneously send or receive, by using a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters, the plurality of reference signals as performed by the mobile terminal disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that the group based beam report is performed by the UE for reporting two or more beam indices corresponding to a plurality of TRPs (i.e., transmission and reception points) for appropriately determining beams that can be simultaneously received by the UE and in order for the network to select a plurality of transmit beams that ensure that the UE can receive the beams at the same time for supporting multi-TRP transmission.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report comprises: consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report, and wherein the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein consolidating, based on a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0201] i.e., CSI reportings of CSI #1 to #4 are configured to the UE. The CSI #1 to #4 are based on TRPs #1 to #4, respectively), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0046] i.e., beamforming, [0060] i.e., beam-specific signal, [0106] i.e., reference signals are beamformed, [0180] i.e., The CSI reporting may be associated with a TRP transmission beam, [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate a group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs, [0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include CSI reportings associated with all TRPs & [0200-0202] i.e., Furthermore, the UE generates a CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) including the CSI #1 to CSI #4) comprises:
consolidating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to generate the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
wherein the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal consolidating, based on the plurality of beam report configurations corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to perform the consolidating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
Regarding Claim 20, Faxer discloses a network device (see Fig. 11A & Para’s [0181-0182] i.e., network node 120 can be a transmission point (i.e., TRP) & [0168] i.e., a transmission point may refer to a TRP), comprising a memory (see Fig. 11A i.e., memory 1130), a processor (see Fig. 11A i.e., processing circuitry 1120), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (see Para [0181-0182] i.e., processing circuity 1120 executes instructions stored by memory 1130 to provide some or all of the functionality described above, wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Para [0182]) to perform the steps of the beam report transmission method according to claim 14, (see rejection of claim 14 with respect to Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda). Therefore claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda as in claim 14.
4. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Regarding Claim 3, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 1 including a case of one beam report configuration (see Para [0132]), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case of the one beam report configuration, the beam report configuration comprises a plurality of beam report resources, or in a case of a plurality of beam report configurations, the beam report configuration comprises one or more beam report resources and the beam report resources correspond to one or more first transmission and reception points, and the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sending, on the beam report resources, the first beam reports of the first transmission and reception points corresponding to the beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs), or in a case of a plurality of CSI report configurations, the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources
and the CSI report resources correspond to one or more first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0083] i.e., only one PUCCH resource is determined for CSI transmission per TRP (e.g., TRP 1)…PUCCH resources carrying CSIs for different TRPs, the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
and the sending corresponding first CSI reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sending, on the CSI report resources, the first CSI reports of the first transmission and reception points corresponding to the CSI report resources, (see Para’s [0077-0078], [0079] i.e., multiplexing of UCIs, and determining of PUCCH resources for multiplexing UCIs per TRP, are performed & [0080-0083] i.e., PUCCH resources carrying CSIs for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources for reporting by the UE, CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 4, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 3, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the plurality of beam report resources are distinguished by using at least one of physical uplink control channel, physical uplink shared channel, spatial relation information, transmission configuration indicator, and code point in a transmission configuration indicator. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the plurality of beam report resources are distinguished by using at least one of physical uplink control channel, (see Para’s [0077] i.e., the UE should use a PUCCH resource associated with the TRP to transmit UCIs associated with the TRP…PUCCH resource associated with the corresponding TRP [0083] i.e., only one PUCCH resource is determined for CSI transmission per TRP…the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRP (i.e., different PUCCH resources are distinguished per TRP according to the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list))
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources which are distinguished by the UE, for reporting CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Ling discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to a plurality of first transmission and reception points comprises: sequentially sending, on a part of the plurality of beam report resources, the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points;
and/or in a case that the mobile terminal supports simultaneous sending, simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0215] i.e., the UE may transmit several PUSCHs simultaneously if per-TRP CSI feedback is used…CSI feedback may be sent in either a single report or split up in per-TRP CSI reports on separate PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions), but does not disclose the sending is performed wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which feeds back CSI per TRP wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources as disclosed in Ling to supports simultaneous sending of the beam reports based on the teachings of Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda who discloses simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources which results in simultaneous sending of the beam reports.
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169), further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819), and further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0252168), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2022/0183092).
Regarding Claim 6, Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda discloses the method according to claim 3 wherein in a case that a plurality of beam report configurations (Faxer,, see Para [0133]) but does not disclose the beam report configuration comprises the one beam report resource and the method further comprises: sharing a frequency domain resource. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
Ling discloses sharing a frequency domain resource among the CSI report resources (see Fig. 4a i.e., frequency domain resource is shared among the PUCCH resources & Para’s [0010] i.e., overlap in the frequency domain for the PUCCH resources & [0103])
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration of the plurality of beam report configurations sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda, to comprise one or more beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources which are distinguished by the UE, for reporting CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Ling does not disclose. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0252168).
Kim discloses wherein in a case that a CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource (see Para [0414] i.e., The base station may configure J PUCCH resources (e.g., multi-CSI-PUCCH-Resource-List) in the terminal using higher layer signaling. J may be 1 or 2. When the terminal desired to transmit a plurality of CSI reports on a PUCCH configured in one slot, the terminal may select one of a PUCCH resource 0 and a PUCCH resource J-1).
(Kim suggests the CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource is configured for the terminal desiring to send a plurality of CSI reports for properly reporting the CSI associated using the configured PUCCH resource (see Para [0414])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report configuration disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, and further in view of Ling to comprise one beam report resource based on the teachings of Kim who discloses a CSI report configuration for a UE comprises one CSI report resource, because the motivation lies in Kim that the CSI report configuration comprises one CSI report resource is configured for the terminal desiring to send a plurality of CSI reports for properly reporting the CSI using the configured PUCCH resource.
The combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Ling, and further in view of Kim does not disclose the claim feature of dividing a time domain resource to divide the one beam report resource into the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2022/0183092).
Lee discloses a UE dividing a time domain resource to divide one feedback report resource into a plurality of feedback report resources (see Para’s [0142] i.e., HARQ feedback resource may include time/frequency information, [0163] i.e., predefined HARQ resource set (i.e., includes “time domain resource”) & [0164] i.e., an RX UE may divide the resource belonging to the corresponding set into a plurality of HARQ feedback resources according to a predetermined rule, may index the divided HARQ feedback resource in order).
(Lee suggests the UE may index the divided HARQ feedback resource for properly identifying each of the plurality of HARQ feedback resources for sending the feedback information on the proper identified feedback resource, (see Para’s [0113-0114] & [0164])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, further in view of Takeda, further in view of Ling, and further in view of Kim to divide a time domain resource to divide the one beam report resource into the plurality of beam report resources based on the teachings of Lee who discloses a UE dividing a time domain resource to divide one feedback report resource into a plurality of feedback report resources, because the motivation lies in Lee that the UE may index the divided HARQ feedback resource for properly identifying each of the plurality of HARQ feedback resources for sending the feedback information on the proper identified feedback resource.
6. Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. (2023/0081169) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Regarding Claim 10, Faxer in view of Matsumura discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the anchor point is determined by an identity of the first transmission and reception point, wherein the first transmission and reception point comprises at least one of a transmission and reception point having an identity of 0, a transmission and reception point having a largest identity, a transmission and reception point having a smallest identity, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having an identity of 0, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having a largest identity, a transmission and reception point associated with a control resource set having a smallest identity, a transmission and reception point indicated by a network, or a transmission and reception point reported by user equipment; or the anchor point is determined by a resource or configuration indicated by a network or reported by the mobile terminal; or the anchor point is determined by the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, wherein the beam report resource or the beam report configuration comprises at least one of a first or last configured resource or configuration, a frequency domain resource in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, a time domain resource in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, spatial relation information in the beam report resource or the beam report configuration, or a reference signal in a transmission configuration indicator. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses or the anchor point is determined by a resource or configuration indicated by a network or reported by the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE by higher layer signaling from the network, [0136] i.e., A user terminal may receive DCI (i.e., “configuration”) for scheduling (or activating) PUSCHs to all repetitions, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., configured PUSCH resource & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group)
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal to perform before the sending corresponding first beam reports respectively to the plurality of first transmission and reception points in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura consolidating, based on an anchor point determined by configuration indicated by the network, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
Regarding Claim 12, Faxer in view of Matsumura discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a reference signal referenced during a beam measurement in the group-based beam report is at least one of a reference signal at a time closest to the beam report resource, a reference signal at a latest time before a start of the group-based beam report, and a reference signal in the group-based beam report. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses wherein a reference signal referenced during a beam measurement in the group-based beam report is at least one of a reference signal in the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., CSI reporting group (i.e., “group-based beam report”) may include a plurality of CSI reportings each associated respectively with a plurality of TRPs. That is, a plurality of RSs may be respectively transmitted from a plurality of TRPs, and the UE may respectively generate a plurality of pieces of CSI based on a plurality of RSs & [0200-0202] i.e., the UE measures an RS associated with each TRP to generate CSI…Furthermore the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to #4 (i.e., CSI of a respective reference signal is in the group-based beam report)).
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal to perform for the sending of the corresponding first beam reports respectively to the plurality of first transmission and reception points which is based on CSI-RS beam measurement as disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura consolidating, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to generate a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
7. Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819) as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Faxer in view of Takeda discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report; and/or one reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report corresponds to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratios. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Matsumura discloses wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, (see Para’s [0057-0061] i.e., The CSI report configuration information may include a “report quantity” that is information of a parameter to be reported in one report instance (for example, one CSI), [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI & [0077])
the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0027] i.e., the CSI may include a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), [0035], [0056-0061], [0074] i.e., the UE may configure at least one NZP CSI-RS resource and the SSB resource for channel measurement, [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI, & [0077]).
(Matsumura suggests if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal that can suitably use a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting (see Para’s [0006-0007] & [0082-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report including reporting parameters for a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Takeda to include a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report which is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR which is measured by the terminal based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and thus suitably using a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting for appropriate CSI reporting.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430), and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0112869).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a CPU occupation time corresponding to the step of consolidating the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points to generate a group-based beam report is at least one of the following: in a case of periodic or semi-persistent channel state information CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty, a start symbol occupying a CSI processing unit CPU is an earliest symbol in each CSI-reference signal RS or CSI-interference measurement IM or SSB resource for CSI-RS or CSI-IM or SSB transmission of a last channel or interference measurement before the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last uplink channel for transmitting the group-based beam report; in a case of aperiodic CSI and first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH-based semi-persistent CSI report activated by a physical downlink control channel PDCCH and in a case that a report parameter is not empty, a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last PUSCH for transmitting the group-based beam report; in a case of semi-persistent CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty and that tracking reference signal trs-information Infor is not configured, a start symbol occupying a CPU is an earliest symbol for periodic or semi-persistent CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1 reference signal received power L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is Z3 symbols after a last symbol for CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report; and in a case of aperiodic CSI and in a case that a report parameter is null and that trs- Infor is not configured, a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report, and/or an end symbol is a last one of any one or more of the following symbols:Z3 symbols after a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the group-based beam report; Z3 symbols after a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a last CSI report of the group-based beam report; and Z3 symbols after a last symbol for CSI-RS/SSB transmission in a channel measurement for calculating L1-RSRP in the last group-based beam report. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2020/0112869).
Kim discloses wherein a CPU occupation time corresponding generating a CSI report is at least one of the following: in a case of periodic or semi-persistent channel state information CSI and in a case that a report parameter is not empty (see Para [0032] i.e., L1-RSRP report (i.e., “report parameter is not empty”), [0236], [0239], & [0269]), a start symbol occupying a CSI processing unit CPU is an earliest symbol in each CSI-reference signal RS (see Para’s [0150] i.e., in case of periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reporting, a CSI processing unit may occupy symbols from the first symbol (i.e., “start symbol”) of a CSI reference resource of periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reporting & [0275] i.e., CSI processing units occupied for the CSI reporting may be set to 1) or CSI-interference measurement IM or SSB resource for CSI-RS or CSI-IM or SSB transmission of a last channel or interference measurement before the CSI report and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last uplink channel for transmitting the group-based beam report
Or in a case of aperiodic CSI and first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH-based semi-persistent CSI report activated by a physical downlink control channel PDCCH (see Para’s [0143] i.e., PDCCH triggering, [0151] i.e., aperiodic CSI reporting setting may be based on a simi-persistent CSI-RS, & [0239]) and in a case that a report parameter is not empty (see Para [0032] i.e., L1-RSRP report (i.e., “report parameter is not empty”), [0236], [0239], & [0269]), a start symbol occupying a CPU is a first symbol after a PDCCH triggering a first CSI report of the CSI report, and/or an end symbol is a last symbol of a last PUSCH for transmitting the CSI report, (see Para [0143] i.e., For example, in the case of aperiodic CSI reporting using an aperiodic CSI-RS (configured with a single CSI-RS resource in a resource set for channel measurement), a CSI processing unit may be maintained in the state in which symbols from the first OFDM symbol (i.e., “start symbol”) to the last OFDM (i.e., “end symbol”) symbol of a PUSCH carrying CSI reporting after PDCCH triggering have been occupied & [0275] i.e., CSI processing units occupied for the CSI reporting may be set to 1)
(Kim suggests allocating a minimum number of processing unit utilized by the terminal for the CSI reporting may be applied when CSI reporting is for beam reporting for achieving efficient beam management (see Para’s [0032], [0236], & [0269]) and which CSI will be allocated to a CSI processing unit, needs to be taken into consideration, (see Para [0155])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the group based beam reporting disclosed in Faxer in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Takeda to be allocated a CSI processing unit according to the CPU occupation time applied for CSI reporting as disclosed in the teachings of Kim, because the motivation lies in Kim for allocating a minimum number of processing unit utilized by the terminal for the CSI reporting may be applied when CSI reporting is for beam reporting for achieving efficient beam management and which CSI will be allocated to a CSI processing unit, needs to be taken into consideration.
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), and further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Regarding Claim 14, Faxer discloses a beam report transmission method, wherein the method is performed by a first transmission and reception point (see Fig. 11A & Para’s [0070], [0136] i.e., TRP, & [0182]), and the method comprises: receiving a first beam report sent by a mobile terminal, (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037] i.e., the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS resource are typically precoded with different precoding weights so as to form different transmit beams. As part of the CSI reporting procedure, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource, corresponding to a preferred transmit beam, with a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI). The UE then determines an appropriate PMI, RI and corresponding CQI for the selected CSI-RS resource, [0066], [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a first message (i.e., “first beam report”) associated with one of the selected CSI-RS resource and transmitting a second message associated with a second one of the selected CSI-RS resources. The first message (i.e., “first beam report”) may be transmitted to a first transmission point and the second message may be transmitted to a second transmission point, [0131] i.e., the CSI-RS transmitted from a TRP is in a beamformed fashion, [0136], [0149] i.e., a separate CSI report (i.e., “first beam report”) may be transmitted to each TRP, [0164], [0168] i.e., a transmission point may be referred to as a TRP, [0208] i.e., each TRP may use a set of beamformed CSI-RS & [0215]),
wherein the first beam report is a report of a reference signal corresponding to the first transmission and reception point, (see Para [0063] i.e., a UE is configured to measure on multiple CSI-RS resources, where each resource corresponds to a separate transmit/receive point (TRP), [0066], [0068], [0070], [0123], [0131-0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource may be associated with a different TRP, [0136], & [0168])
wherein before the receiving a first beam report sent by a mobile terminal (see Para [0070]), the method comprises: sending, to the mobile terminal, one or more beam report configurations corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0063-0064], [0111], [0125-0126], [0131-0132] i.e., configure the UE with a CSI report setting (i.e., “beam report configuration”) that is linked with one Resource Setting for channel measurement. The resource setting may comprise a resource set with multiple CSI-RS resources, where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, & [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein the one or more beam report configuration comprise reference signal information corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, (see Fig. 12 & Para’s [0037], [0040], [0068-0070], [0123] i.e., CSI-RS, & [0131-0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources (i.e., “reference signal information”), or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource)
wherein in a case that the plurality of first transmission and reception points correspond to a plurality of beam report configurations (see Para’s [0040] & [0132] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI Report Setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., plurality of “beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP. Each resource setting may comprise a set of multiple CSI-RS resources, or they may comprise a set of a single CSI-RS resource), the method further comprises:
a group-based beam report sent by the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0070], [0132] i.e., each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149], [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (one message per CSI-RS resource & [0215])
wherein the group-based beam report is obtained by integrating a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, , (see Para’s [0070] i.e., transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting a single message (i.e., “group-based beam report”) to a network node, [0132] i.e., where each CSI-RS resource corresponds to a separate TRP, [0149] i.e., a single CSI report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) is transmitted comprising the PMIs, RIs, and CQIs corresponding to the different resources, [0164] i.e., the CSI report may include multiple messages (e.g., one message per CSI-RS resource) (i.e., “group-based beam report”). The multiple message may be sent to one network element, & [0215] i.e., consider transmission of a single feedback report (i.e., “group-based beam report”) containing all PMIs/CQIs)
Faxer does not disclose the claim feature of receiving a plurality of reference signals comprised in the group-based beam report simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672).
Tomeba discloses receiving a plurality of reference signals simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters (see Para [0209] i.e., The terminal device may transmit a plurality of SRSs…In this situation, when transmitting a plurality of SRSs, the terminal device may also transmit with the same spatial domain transmission filter…when instructing a terminal device to simultaneously transmit a plurality of SRSs, the base station device may set the same spatial domain transmission filter or different spatial domain transmission filters for transmission)
(Tomeba suggests the base station sets the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the SRS to the UE for allowing the UE to flexibly apply different spatial domain transmission filters to a plurality of SRSs in order for the base station to properly receive the SRS transmission for determining an uplink channel state, (see Para’s [0048-0049] [0209-0210] & [0214-0215])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of reference signals as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer to receive a plurality of reference signals simultaneously sent by the mobile terminal, through a single spatial domain filter or a plurality of parallel spatial domain filters disclosed in the teachings of Tomeba, because the motivation lies in Tomeba that the base station sets the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the SRS to the UE for allowing the UE to flexibly apply different spatial domain transmission filters to a plurality of SRSs in order for the base station to properly receive the SRS transmission for determining an uplink channel state.
While Tomeba discloses receiving a plurality of SRS reference signals from the mobile terminal (see Para’s [0209]), the combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba does not disclose the SRS reference signals comprised in the group based-beam report. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690).
Zhu discloses a SRS reference signal measurement comprised in each beam report associated with respective TRPs (see Fig. 3 i.e., CLI measurement report includes SRS measurement reported to base stations 310 & 315 & Para’s [0063], [0122], [0124], & [0126]).
(Zhu suggests the SRS reference signal measurement is performed for performing cross link interference (CLI) measurement at the UE associated with a respective serving base for reporting the cross link interference to the respective base station for scheduling wireless communications with respective UEs in a manner that mitigates or avoids CLI, (see Para’s [0005], [0124], & [0126])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of first beam reports integrated into the group-based beam report as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba to each include an SRS reference signal measurement associated with each TRP such as the SRS measurement included in each beam report associated with and reported to the respective TRPs as disclosed in Zhu, which results in the SRS reference signals comprised in the group based-beam report, because the motivation lies in Zhu that the SRS reference signal measurement is performed for performing cross link interference (CLI) measurement at the UE associated with a respective serving base for reporting the cross link interference to the respective base station for scheduling wireless communications with respective UEs in a manner that mitigates or avoids CLI.
The combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba, and further in view of Zhu does not disclose the claim features of integrating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to obtain the group-based beam report, the anchor-point is at least one of beam report resources, and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819).
Takeda discloses integrating, based on an anchor point (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., PUSCH repetition configured for the UE, [0161], [0170-0171] i.e., PUSCH resource, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group), a plurality of first beam reports corresponding to a plurality of first transmission and reception points (see Para’s [0187-0188] i.e., plurality of CSI reportings for each TRP & [0200-0202] i.e., CSI #1 to #4), to obtain the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0188-0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on part of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), [0200-0202] i.e., the UE generates a CSI reporting group including the CSI #1 to CSI #4, & [0214] i.e., The UE may piggyback corresponding CSI reportings on part of repetitions of the K repetitions),
the anchor point is at least one of beam report resources, (see Fig.’s 10-11 i.e., PUSCH #1-#4 resources (i.e., “beam report resources”) may be the anchor point & Para’s [0166-0172], [0182-0188] i.e., The CSI reporting group is transmitted on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions, [0189] i.e., The UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions (i.e., “anchor point”), & [0200-0204] i.e., PUSCH resources (i.e., anchor point may refer to all of the beam report resources) are configured/scheduled for the UE for sending the CSI reporting group).
and the anchor point is used to determine the start and end of the group-based beam report (see Fig. 11 i.e., the terminal determines the start of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the first PUSCH repetition #1 and end of the group-based beam report for transmission will be on the last PUSCH repetition #4 according to the anchor point (i.e., “beam report resources”) indicated in the PUSCH resource and repetition configuration information, see Para’s [0036-0038], [0161], [0166-0172], [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may piggyback the CSI reporting group on all repetitions of the K repetitions, & [0200-0204]).
(Takeda suggests the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting, (see Para’s [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the mobile terminal integrating the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception pints, to obtain a group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Faxer in view of Tomeba, and further in view of Zhu to perform the integrating, based on an anchor point, the plurality of first beam reports corresponding to the plurality of first transmission and reception points, to obtain the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Takeda, because the motivation lies in Takeda that the UE piggybacks the same CSI reporting group on a plurality of PUSCH repetitions which results in enhanced reception performance of the CSI reporting.
10. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), and further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Regarding Claim 16, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 14 including a case of one beam report configuration (see Para [0132]), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case of the one beam report configuration, the beam report configuration comprises a plurality of beam report resources, or in a case of a plurality of beam report configurations, the beam report configuration comprises one or more beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs), or in a case of a plurality of CSI report configurations, the CSI report configuration comprises one or more CSI report resources
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first beam report configuration sent to the UE for sending the CSI beam reports to the first TRP and the second TRP as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, and further in view of Takeda to comprise a plurality of beam report resources such as PUCCH resources based on the teachings of Ling who discloses a UE receives a CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources such as PUCCH resources for reporting by the UE, CSI associated with each respective TRP, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources.
Regarding Claim 17, Faxer discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein in the case of the plurality of beam report configurations (see Para [0133] i.e., In other embodiments, the UE is configured with a CSI report setting linked with several resource settings (i.e., “plurality of beam report configurations”) for channel measurement where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP), an association relationship between the plurality of beam report configurations is determined by using association signaling, (see Para [0133] i.e., the UE is configured with a CSI report setting (“association signaling”) linked with several resource settings for channel measurement (i.e., “association relationship”) where each resource setting is associated with a separate TRP & [0134-0136] i.e., The UE determines an association relationship between the beam report configurations (i.e., “resource settings”) such as both configurations are used for channel measurement in order to set a desired NC-JT from the TRPs)
wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources, the receiving a first beam report sent by a terminal comprises: sequentially receiving, on a part of the plurality of beam report resources, first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points;
and/or in a case that the mobile terminal supports simultaneous sending, simultaneously receiving corresponding first beam reports by the plurality of first transmission and reception points, (see Para [0215] i.e., the UE may transmit several PUSCHs simultaneously if per-TRP CSI feedback is used…CSI feedback may be sent in either a single report or split up in per-TRP CSI reports on separate PUCCH/PUSCH transmissions), but does not disclose the receiving is performed wherein in a case that the beam report configuration comprises the plurality of beam report resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Ling et al. US (2022/0287030).
Ling discloses wherein in a case of a CSI report configuration (see Para’s [0081-0083] i.e., the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list is configured by the gNB), the CSI report configuration comprises a plurality of CSI report resources (see Para [0083] i.e., the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-CSI-PUCCH resource list associated for different TRPs)
(Ling suggests the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources (see Para’s [0077-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which feeds back CSI per TRP wherein in a case that the CSI report configuration comprises the plurality of CSI report resources as disclosed in Ling to supports simultaneous sending of the beam reports based on the teachings of Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, and further in view of Takeda who discloses simultaneously sending the first beam reports corresponding to the first transmission and reception points, because the motivation lies in Ling that the gNB may configure the PUCCH resources in the multi-PUCCH resource list in order for the UE to properly determine the respective PUCCH resource associated with a respective TRP for properly reporting the CSI associated with each TRP using the PUCCH resources which results in simultaneous sending of the beam reports.
11. Claim 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable Faxer et al. US (2021/0143870) in view of Tomeba et al. US (2022/0201672), further in view of Zhu et al. US (2020/0351690), and further in view of and further in view of Takeda et al. US (2021/0184819) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, and further in view of Takeda discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report; and/or one reference signal in the first beam report corresponds to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratios. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Matsumura et al. US (2023/0071430).
Matsumura discloses wherein in a case that a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR or a synchronization signal and PBCH block ssb-index Index-SINR or a sounding reference signal resource sri-SINR, (see Para’s [0057-0061] i.e., The CSI report configuration information may include a “report quantity” that is information of a parameter to be reported in one report instance (for example, one CSI), [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI & [0077])
the report parameter is measured based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report (see Para’s [0027] i.e., the CSI may include a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), [0035], [0056-0061], [0074] i.e., the UE may configure at least one NZP CSI-RS resource and the SSB resource for channel measurement, [0075] i.e., The UE in which the cri-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the CRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI. The UE in which the ssb-index-SINR is set as the report quantity reports the SSBRI and the L1-SINR corresponding to the CRI, & [0077]).
(Matsumura suggests if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a terminal that can suitably use a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting (see Para’s [0006-0007] & [0082-0083])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam report including reporting parameters for a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) as disclosed in Faxer in view of Tomeba, further in view of Zhu, and further in view of Takeda to include a report parameter in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report which is a channel state information reference signal resource indicator cri-signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR which is measured by the terminal based on a reference signal in the first beam report and/or the group-based beam report as disclosed in the teachings of Matsumura, because the motivation lies in Matsumura that if the CSI report for the SINR cannot be used, appropriate CSI reporting cannot be performed and communication throughput may be lowered and thus suitably using a CSI report for a SINR related to group-based beam reporting for appropriate CSI reporting.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461