DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, and no claims have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every 102 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/15/2026. The new grounds of rejection presented below are necessitated by the amendments. Accordingly, this Office Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on page 13 of remarks that Gong is silent as to another entity serving as power supply body for their load device during transfer of power to their power consumption system between their components 400, 100, and 201. The Office Action maps the master emergency power supply module 100 to the switching power supply of claim 1, yet this component in Gong does not temporarily provide power to the load device while transferring from the grid 400 to the vehicle 201, but instead is a main power supplier that only switches to the vehicle 201 when it is incapable of providing power.
The examiner submits that Gong paragraph [0058] recites a first control unit 20 is used to control the main emergency power supply module 100 to start up supply power to the power system 500 if the AC power grid is power off, and a second judgement unit 30 is used to control the main emergency power supply module 100 to start up supply power to the power system 500 after the first slave emergency power supply module 201 meets the first startup condition.
The examiner interprets that unless first slave emergency power supply module 201 is meeting the first startup condition, emergency power is provided to power system 500 by the main emergency power supply module 100 as allowed by the first control unit 20 when AC power grid is off.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "201" in [0080-0081] of the published specification and "202" in Fig. 2 have both been used to designate the control unit. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (CN 106026346 A, published 2016-10-12) in view of Smolenaers (US 20200062138 A1, published 2020-02-27)
Regarding independent claim 1, Gong teaches a charging and discharging switching apparatus, comprising:
a first switch (Fig. 4: switch next to AC power grid 400, labeled A* in annotated figure below);
a second switch (switch next to AC/DC converter in slave emergency power module 201. labeled B* in annotated figure below);
a switching power supply (main emergency power module 100); and
a controller (Fig. 3: control unit 20);
wherein a first end of the first switch is configured to connect to a power supply device (Fig. 4: switch connected to AC power grid), a second end of the first switch is configured to connect to a load device (Fig. 4: other end of switch A* power system 500 or power consumption system), the second end of the first switch is separately connected to a first end of the second switch and the switching power supply, and a control end of the first switch is connected to the controller (Fig. 4 and ¶0016);
wherein a second end of the second switch is configured to connect to a vehicle (Fig. 4 and ¶0014: EV in the slave emergency power module 201), and a control end of the second switch is connected to the controller;
wherein the controller is connected to the switching power supply (Fig. 3: control unit 20 is in the emergency power supply device 300 connected to the main emergency power module 100); and
wherein the controller is configured to:
control the switching power supply to discharge after a first condition is met so that the switching power supply serves as a power supply body of the load device, wherein prior to the first condition being met the power supply device supplies power to the load device (Fig. 4: AC power grid powering the power consumption system 500),(The examiner interprets main emergency power supply module 100 along with switches A* and B* from the annotated figure as a power supply body) and turn on the second switch after the vehicle is switched to a power supply state, to conduct a path through which the vehicle supplies power to the load device (¶0057 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the first condition as when AC power grid is powered off. The examiner interprets the switch next to the AC power grid as turning off after the first condition and thereby stopping discharge. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC/DC converter in the first slave emergency module 201 in Fig. 4 as turning on when the first slave emergency module 201 is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500); and
turn on the first switch after a second condition is met, to conduct a path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device (¶0056 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the second condition as when the AC power grid has power. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC power grid 400 turns on when the AC power grid is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500).
Gong does not explicitly teach wherein after the first condition is met but prior to the switching power supply discharging the controller turns off the first switch and the second switch.
Smolenaers teaches switches being disconnected as part of a safety measure (¶0155 and 0181).
Both Gong and Smolenaers teach power distributions systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate disconnecting switches leading to the battery in the system of Smolenaers into the system of Gong to help prevent inrush current or other wear and tear processes to the power circuits.
Regarding claim 4, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1.
Gong does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the switching power supply to discharge, the controller is further configured to:
disconnect the first switch and the second switch.
Smolenaers teaches switches being disconnected as part of a safety measure (¶0155 and 0181).
Both Gong and Smolenaers teach power distributions systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate disconnecting switches leading to the battery in the system of Smolenaers into the system of Gong to help prevent inrush current or other wear and tear processes to the power circuits.
Regarding claim 7, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
turn on the second switch, to conduct a path through which the power supply device charges the vehicle (¶0060 and Fig. 4: the power battery is charged when the grid is powered).
Regarding claim 8, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the switching power supply to charge (¶0062 and Fig. 4: the main emergency power supply module 100 uses the power supply of the AC power grid 400 to charge).
Regarding claim 9, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a detection circuit (Fig. 3: first judgement unit 10), wherein an input end of the detection circuit is connected to the first end of the first switch, and an output end of the detection circuit is connected to the controller (Figs. 3 and 4: first judgement unit 10 is in emergency power device 300 which is connected to AC power grid 400 which in turn is connected to a switch);
wherein the detection circuit is configured to:
detect a power supply state of the power supply device (¶0014: judges whether AC power grid is powered off);
based on the power supply device stopping supplying power, send a first detection signal to the controller (¶0014 and 0057: It is implied that the detection signal is sent to the controller as either the AC power grid 400 or the first slave emergency power supply module 201 is used depending on whether AC power grid is powered off); and
based on the power supply device starting to supply power, send a second detection signal to the controller (¶0014 and 0057); and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
based on receiving the first detection signal, determine that the first condition is met (¶0014 and 0057); and
based on receiving the second detection signal, determine that the second condition is met (¶0014 and 0057).
Regarding independent claim 12, Gong teaches a charging and discharging switching method, comprising:
discharging, by a charging and discharging switching apparatus (Fig. 4: main emergency power module 100 and switch network including switches near or in main emergency power module 100, first slave emergency module 201, and AC power grid 400), to a load device (power consumption system 500) after a first condition is met, and stopping discharging to the load device and conducting a path through which a vehicle supplies power to the load device (¶0057 and Fig. 4 Annotation 2: The examiner interprets the first condition as when AC power grid 400 is powered off. The examiner interprets the switch A* next to the AC power grid 400 as turning off after the first condition and thereby stopping discharge. The examiner interprets the switch B* next to the AC/DC converter in the first slave emergency module 201 in as turning on when the first slave emergency module 201 is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500) after the vehicle is switched to a power supply state (examiner interprets that the vehicle is inherently switched to a power supply state when it is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500), wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is separately connected to the load device, a power supply device, and the vehicle (Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus comprises a first switch, a second switch (Fig. 4 and ¶0056: The examiner interprets first and second switches respectively as A* and B*, see Fig. 4 Annotation 2 below), a switching power supply (main emergency power module 100), and a controller (¶’s [14, 51-52, 58] and Fig. 2: first control unit 20 and second control unit 40), and wherein the stopping discharging to the load device is via the controller controlling the switching power supply (100) and the second switch (second control unit 40 controls switch B* in first slave emergency power supply module 201) after the vehicle is switched to the power supply state (The examiner interprets that as long as there is sufficient battery capacity in the first slave emergency power supply module 201 and the emergency power supply module 201 is connected to the main emergency power module 100, the vehicle in supply module 201 is in a power supply state), wherein after the first condition is met the switching power supply serves a power supply body of the load device, and wherein the switching power supply stops discharging and stops serving as the power supply body of the load device after the vehicle is switched to the power supply state (The examiner interprets main emergency power supply module 100 along with switches A* and B* from the annotated figure as a power supply body), wherein prior to the first condition being met the power supply device supplies power to the load device (Fig. 4: AC power grid powering the power consumption system 500),
conducting, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus via the controller and the first switch (¶0052: via control unit 20 and switch A* from Fig. 4 Annotation 2 below), after a second condition is met, a path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device (¶0056 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the second condition as when the AC power grid has power. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC power grid 400 turns on when the AC power grid is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500).
Gong does not teach wherein after the first condition is met but prior to the switching power supply discharging the controller turns off the first switch and the second switch.
Smolenaers teaches switches being disconnected as part of a safety measure (¶0155 and 0181).
Both Gong and Smolenaers teach power distributions systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate disconnecting switches leading to the battery in the system of Smolenaers into the system of Gong to help prevent inrush current or other wear and tear processes to the power circuits.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein after the conducting the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device, the method further comprises:
conducting, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, a path through which the power supply device charges the vehicle (¶0060 and Fig. 4: the power battery is charged when the grid is powered).
Regarding claim 18, Gong teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein after the conducting the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device, the method further comprises:
performing, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, charging using the power supply device (¶0062 and Fig. 4: the main emergency power supply module 100 uses the power supply of the AC power grid 400 to charge).
Regarding claim 19, Gong teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises:
detecting, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus (Fig. 3: first judgement unit 10), a power supply state of the power supply device (¶0014: judges whether AC power grid is powered off);
based on the power supply device stopping supplying power, determining, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, that the first condition is met (¶0057 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the first condition as when AC power grid is powered off. The examiner interprets the switch next to the AC power grid as turning off after the first condition and thereby stopping discharge. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC/DC converter in the first slave emergency module 201 in Fig. 4 as turning on when the first slave emergency module 201 is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500); and
based on the power supply device starting to supply power, determining, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, that the second condition is met (¶0056 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the second condition as when the AC power grid has power. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC power grid 400 turns on when the AC power grid is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500).
Regarding independent claim 20, Gong teaches a bidirectional charging system, comprising:
a vehicle (Fig. 4 and ¶0014: EV in the slave emergency power module 201);
a load device (Fig. 4: power system 500 or power consumption system);
a power supply device (AC power grid 400); and
a charging and discharging switching apparatus (Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is separately connected to the vehicle, the load device, and the power supply device;
wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus comprises: a first switch (Fig. 4: switch next to AC power grid 400), a second switch (switch next to AC/DC converter in slave emergency power module 201), a switching power supply (main emergency power module 100), and a controller,
wherein a first end of the first switch is configured to connect to a power supply device, a second end of the first switch is configured to connect to a load device, the second end of the first switch is separately connected to a first end of the second switch and the switching power supply, and a control end of the first switch is connected to the controller (Fig. 4 and ¶0016);
wherein a second end of the second switch is configured to connect to the vehicle (Fig. 4 and ¶0014: EV in the slave emergency power module 201), and a control end of the second switch is connected to the controller;
wherein the controller is connected to the switching power supply (Fig. 3: control unit 20 is in main emergency power module 100); and
wherein the controller is configured to:
control the switching power supply to discharge after a first condition is met so that the switching power supply serves as a power supply body of the load device, wherein prior to the first condition being met the power supply device supplies power to the load device (Fig. 4: AC power grid powering the power consumption system 500), (The examiner interprets main emergency power supply module 100 along with switches A* and B* from the annotated figure as a power supply body) and turn on the second switch after the vehicle is switched to a power supply state, to conduct a path through which the vehicle supplies power to the load device (¶0057 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the first condition as when AC power grid is powered off. The examiner interprets the switch next to the AC power grid as turning off after the first condition and thereby stopping discharge. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC/DC converter in the first slave emergency module 201 in Fig. 4 as turning on when the first slave emergency module 201 is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500); and
turn on the first switch after a second condition is met, to conduct a path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device (¶0056 and Fig. 4: The examiner interprets the second condition as when the AC power grid has power. The examiner interprets the switch in Fig. 4 next to the AC power grid 400 turns on when the AC power grid is used to supply power to the power consumption system 500).
Gong does not teach wherein after the first condition is met but prior to the switching power supply discharging the controller turns off the first switch and the second switch.
Smolenaers teaches switches being disconnected as part of a safety measure (¶0155 and 0181).
Both Gong and Smolenaers teach power distributions systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate disconnecting switches leading to the battery in the system of Smolenaers into the system of Gong to help prevent inrush current or other wear and tear processes to the power circuits.
Claims 2-6 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Smolenaers, and further in view of Kempton et al. (US 20110202418 A1, published 2011-08-18), hereinafter referred to as Kempton.
Regarding claim 2, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1.
Gong does not explicitly teach the apparatus further comprising:
a transceiver connected to the controller;
wherein before controlling the switching power supply to discharge after the first condition is met, the controller is further configured to:
control the transceiver to send first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates the vehicle to be switched to the power supply state.
Kempton teaches a transceiver (Fig. 3: microprocessor 304) connected to a controller (microcomputer 320), the controller configured to control the transceiver to send first indication information (¶0051 and ¶0092: EVSE attributes include vehicle authorizations and capabilities, which the examiner interprets as whether it is to be in a power supply state), wherein the first indication information indicates the vehicle to be switched to the power supply state (¶0025, 0052, and 0092 and Fig. 5: microcontroller 304 in EVSE and vehicle link (VL) in the EV communicate with each other to determine power flow).
Gong and Kempton both teach vehicle to grid systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the transceiver in the system of Kempton into the system of Gong to ensure a vehicle exists in the system to serve as a power source.
Regarding claim 3, Gong in view of Kempton teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 2, wherein controlling the switching power supply to stop discharging (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4) after the vehicle is switched to the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052) comprises:
after receiving first response information from the vehicle, control the switching power supply to stop discharging (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4), wherein the first response information indicates that the vehicle has been switched to the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102).
Regarding claim 5, Gong in view of Kempton teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to:
before turning on the first switch after the second condition is met, control the transceiver to send second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates the vehicle to stop the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102); and
after the vehicle stops the power supply state, turn on the first switch (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Gong in view of Kempton teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 5, wherein after controlling the transceiver to send the second indication information state (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102), the controller is further configured to:
disconnect the first switch and the second switch; and
control the switching power supply to discharge (Gong - ¶0056 and Fig. 4: the main emergency power supply module 100 uses the power supply of the AC power grid 400 to discharge into the power consumption system 500);
wherein turning on the first switch after the second condition is met comprises:
after receiving second response information from the transceiver, control the switching power supply to stop discharging (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4), and turn on the first switch, wherein the second response information indicates that the vehicle has stopped the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102).
Gong does not teach disconnecting first and second switches.
Smolenaers teaches switches being disconnected as part of a safety measure (¶0155 and 0181).
Both Gong and Smolenaers teach power distributions systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate disconnecting switches leading to the battery in the system of Smolenaers into the system of Gong to help prevent inrush current or other wear and tear processes to the charging circuits.
Regarding claim 13, Gong teaches the method according to claim 12.
Gong does not explicitly teach the method wherein before the discharging to the load device after the first condition is met, the method further comprises:
sending, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates the vehicle to be switched to the power supply state.
Kempton teaches a transceiver (Fig. 3: microprocessor 304) connected to a controller (microcomputer 320), the controller configured to control the transceiver to send first indication information (¶0051 and ¶0092: EVSE attributes include vehicle authorizations and capabilities which the examiner interprets as whether it is to be in a power supply state), wherein the first indication information indicates the vehicle to be switched to the power supply state (¶0025, 0052, and 0092 and Fig. 5: microcontroller 304 in EVSE and vehicle link (VL) in the EV communicate with each other to determine power flow).
Gong and Kempton both teach vehicle to grid systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the transceiver in the system of Kempton into the system of Gong to ensure a vehicle exists in the system to serve as a power source.
Regarding claim 14, Gong in view of Kempton teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the stopping discharging to the load device (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4) after the vehicle is switched to the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052) comprises:
after receiving first response information from the vehicle, stopping discharging to the load device (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4), wherein the first response information indicates that the vehicle has been switched to the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102).
Regarding claim 15, Gong teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein before the conducting, after the second condition is met, the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device, the method further comprises:
after the vehicle stops the power supply state, conducting, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device switch (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4).
Gong does not explicitly teach sending, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates the vehicle to stop the power supply state ( ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102); and
Kempton teaches sending, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus (Fig. 3 EVSE 104), second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates the vehicle to stop the power supply state ( ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102);
Gong and Kempton both teach vehicle to grid systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the communication between EV and EVSE in the system of Kempton with into the system of Gong to ensure a vehicle in the system will not be used as a power source when the power supply from the grid is available.
Regarding claim 16, Gong in view of Kempton teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein after the sending second indication information, the method further comprises:
discharging, by the charging and discharging switching apparatus, to the load device (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4);
wherein the conducting, after the second condition is met, the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device comprises:
after receiving second response information (Kempton - ¶0052: 304 and VL are in mutual communication regarding reverse flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102), stopping discharging to the load device, and conducting the path through which the power supply device supplies power to the load device (Gong - ¶0057 and Fig. 4), wherein the second response information indicates that the vehicle has stopped the power supply state (Kempton - ¶0052).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Shi et al. (US 20160159239 A1, published 2016-06-09).
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 1.
Gong does not teach
wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is provided with first setting information, and the first setting information indicates a power supply time segment of a vehicle; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
based on a current time point being within the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the first condition is met; and
based on the current time point being beyond the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the second condition is met.
Shi teaches
wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is provided with first setting information (¶0008: real time load conditions and related data of an electric vehicle willing to participate in charging and discharging service of a power system), and the first setting information indicates a power supply time segment of a vehicle (¶0047: V2G dispatching plan for a period of time for the willing vehicle); and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
based on a current time point being within the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the first condition is met (Fig. 1 and ¶0053-0055: examiner interprets when a vehicle is willing to participate in V2G within the planned period of time, the first condition is met); and
based on the current time point being beyond the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the second condition is met (Fig. 1 and ¶0053-0055: examiner interprets when it is not within the planned period of time, the second condition is met).
Gong and Shi both disclose power distribution systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the designated time periods for V2G in the system of Shi into the system of Gong to efficiently manage the demand from the grid while preserving as much as possible the life of batteries in electric vehicles (¶0004).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches the charging and discharging switching apparatus according to claim 10.
Gong does not teach
wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is provided with second setting information, and the second setting information comprises at least one of the following information: power consumption statistics information of the load device, charge state information of the vehicle, travel distance information of the vehicle, or charging information of the power supply device; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
calculate a power supply time segment of the vehicle based on the second setting information;
based on a current time point being within the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the first condition is met; and
based on the current time point being beyond the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the second condition is met.
Shi teaches
wherein the charging and discharging switching apparatus is provided with second setting information, and the second setting information comprises at least one of the following information: power consumption statistics information of the load device (¶0008: real time load conditions), charge state information of the vehicle, travel distance information of the vehicle, or charging information of the power supply device (alternative claim language used); and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
calculate a power supply time segment of the vehicle based on the second setting information (¶0047: V2G dispatching plan for a period of time for the willing vehicle);
based on a current time point being within the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the first condition is met (Fig. 1 and ¶0053-0055: examiner interprets when a vehicle is willing to participate in V2G within the planned period of time, the first condition is met); and
based on the current time point being beyond the power supply time segment of the vehicle, determine that the second condition is met (Fig. 1 and ¶0053-0055: examiner interprets when it is not within the planned period of time, the second condition is met).
Gong and Shi both disclose power distribution systems involving electric vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the designated time periods for V2G in the system of Shi into the system of Gong to efficiently manage the demand from the grid while preserving as much as possible the life of batteries in electric vehicles (¶0004).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 September 28, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859