DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 16, and 21 are amended. Claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14-15, 18, 20, and 22 are previously presented. Claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 17, and 19 are original. Claims 23-24 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly found reference NARLA (Pub. No.: US 2019/0135116A1) is relied upon to teach the preference information from a user comprises power source prioritization as described in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU (Pub. No.: US 2019/0389315; cited in previous office action) in view of SANCHEZ (Pub. No.: US 2014/0167787; cited in previous office action) and NARLA (Pub. No.: US 2019/0135116 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses a method for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1; ¶ 0008: a method of controlling an electric vehicle charging station) using an electrical panel (108, Fig. 1; ¶ 0045: breaker panel 108 provides the electricity to all circuits at the electricity demand center, including non-EV-charging circuits 110 and EV-charging circuits 112) comprising a plurality of branch circuits (110, 112, Fig. 1), the method comprising:
receiving, using the processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), preference information from a user device communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry (¶ 0050: allowing the electric vehicles or a customer (e.g., using a user device) to self-report to the control module 120 about its own charging needs and status; ¶ 0073: charging control module 120 initiates communications with a server 604 over one or more networks 606 in response to receiving an identifier of a connected electric vehicle (e.g., 124-c)…the server retrieves the account information from the database based in the identifier received from the charging control module 120, and initiates communication with a user device 610, such as a smartphone or tablet device…a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle, and any coupons or discounts that the electric vehicle may quality, using the user device), wherein the preference information comprises criteria for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0050, 0073: see above; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
determining, using the processing circuitry, a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using current from at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), on the preference information (¶ 0050, 0073: see above; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles, and/or acceptable ranges of charging power permitted by the electric vehicles), and on [a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits] (it is noted that the setting is based on the respective currents, and this recitation is not interpreted as requiring measurements of the respective currents, e.g., the total current is based on the respective current in each branch circuit, and since ZHU monitors total current when setting the charge rate, the setting of the charge rate is based on each of the respective currents; ¶ 0054: the electricity consumption cap 208 is selected based on the maximum current allowed by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center. For example, in some cases, the main limitation on whether an electricity demand center is willing or able to allow electric vehicle charging is the capacity of the circuit breaker at the input main of the electricity demand center. Although the line charge may be distributed to the customers who use the charging facility, replacing the circuit breaker is very expensive and may pose an upfront cost that the owner of the electricity demand center cannot afford to pay. Thus, by ensuring that the electricity consumption is kept below the circuit breaker current by dynamically monitoring the electricity consumption and adjusting charging powers allowed at the charging stations, the electricity demand center is able to offer electric vehicle charging services without making substantial infrastructure changes, such as replacing the main circuit breaker of the electricity demand center); and
causing, using the processing circuitry, the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry; and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses an electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard) comprising the processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy); determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit (101a-101f, Fig. 1; ¶ 0017: the power distribution 102 includes a plurality of individual sensors 110 that measure branched electrical power transmitted through the current conductors 108a-108f of the branched circuits 101a-101f; ¶ 0026: processing circuitry 132 provides individual on-board processing circuitry for monitoring the branched power received in the current conductor 108. The processing circuitry 132 includes, for example, all data processing--including conditioning and electronics to accomplish monitoring the branched power. Accordingly, the processing circuitry 132 processes an output signal received from the coil 130 and provides a measured current or energy parameter (e.g., a current value)) of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor (110, Fig. 2; ¶ 0022: a sensor 110 from the array of sensors on board 122 includes a sensing coil 130 and processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry in order to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective current sensors in order to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
ZHU fails to disclose the preference information comprises a power source prioritization, and causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization.
NARLA discloses the preference information comprises a power source prioritization (¶ 0040: Site controller 130 may be configured by a user to set the charging priority, i.e., whether to supply power from the PV inverter only, from the storage inverter only, or from both, and in which order. In instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140), and causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization (¶ 0048: PV inverter 106 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 6 kW, and storage inverter 118 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 12 kW or 18 kW, so that storage inverter 118 can supply additional power from more battery packs for fast charging the EV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power source prioritization in order to optimize charging economics, minimizes carbon footprints, and/or prevent grid overloads, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 2, ZHU discloses determining that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjusting the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 3, ZHU discloses determining a total present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, wherein automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the total present power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 4, ZHU discloses determining the maximum electrical load for the plurality of branch circuits comprises determining a maximum electrical load for the electrical panel, the method further comprising: determining power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit; and automatically setting the charge rate for charging the electric vehicle further based on the determined power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 5, ZHU discloses determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; determining whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjusting the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 7, ZHU discloses monitoring power consumption in each of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); and determining a power generation available from an onsite power source, wherein: automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 8, ZHU discloses a system (100, Fig. 1; ¶ 0044: operating environment 100 of an electric vehicle charging facility) for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a plurality of branch circuits (110, 112, Fig. 1) of an electrical panel (108, Fig. 1; ¶ 0045: breaker panel 108 provides the electricity to all circuits at the electricity demand center, including non-EV-charging circuits 110 and EV-charging circuits 112);
an electric vehicle charger (116, Fig. 1) coupled to at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: when electric vehicle charging is enabled at the electricity demand center, a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging. In some embodiments, the set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) include individual electric charging stations 116); and
processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: EV charging control module 120), the processing circuitry configured to:
receive preference information from a user device communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry (¶ 0050: allowing the electric vehicles or a customer (e.g., using a user device) to self-report to the control module 120 about its own charging needs and status; ¶ 0073: charging control module 120 initiates communications with a server 604 over one or more networks 606 in response to receiving an identifier of a connected electric vehicle (e.g., 124-c)…the server retrieves the account information from the database based in the identifier received from the charging control module 120, and initiates communication with a user device 610, such as a smartphone or tablet device…a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle, and any coupons or discounts that the electric vehicle may quality, using the user device), wherein the preference information comprises criteria for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0050, 0073: see above; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
determine a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using the at least one branch circuit (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), on the preference information (¶ 0050, 0073: see above), and on [a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits] (it is noted that the setting is based on the respective currents, and this recitation is not interpreted as requiring measurements of the respective currents, e.g., the total current is based on the respective current in each branch circuit, and since ZHU monitors total current when setting the charge rate, the setting of the charge rate is based on each of the respective currents; ¶ 0054: the electricity consumption cap 208 is selected based on the maximum current allowed by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center. For example, in some cases, the main limitation on whether an electricity demand center is willing or able to allow electric vehicle charging is the capacity of the circuit breaker at the input main of the electricity demand center. Although the line charge may be distributed to the customers who use the charging facility, replacing the circuit breaker is very expensive and may pose an upfront cost that the owner of the electricity demand center cannot afford to pay. Thus, by ensuring that the electricity consumption is kept below the circuit breaker current by dynamically monitoring the electricity consumption and adjusting charging powers allowed at the charging stations, the electricity demand center is able to offer electric vehicle charging services without making substantial infrastructure changes, such as replacing the main circuit breaker of the electricity demand center), and
cause the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose the processing circuitry is arranged in the electrical panel; and
the processing circuitry is configured to determine a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses the processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy) is arranged in the electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard); and
the processing circuitry is configured to determine a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor (¶ 0017, 0022, 0026: see above). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry in order to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective current sensors in order to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
ZHU fails to disclose the preference information comprises a power source prioritization; and [causing] the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization. NARLA discloses the preference information comprises a power source prioritization (¶ 0040: Site controller 130 may be configured by a user to set the charging priority, i.e., whether to supply power from the PV inverter only, from the storage inverter only, or from both, and in which order. In instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140); and [causing] the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization (¶ 0048: PV inverter 106 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 6 kW, and storage inverter 118 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 12 kW or 18 kW, so that storage inverter 118 can supply additional power from more battery packs for fast charging the EV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power source prioritization in order to optimize charging economics, minimizes carbon footprints, and/or prevent grid overloads, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 9, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjust the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 10, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a total present consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to automatically set the charge rate further based on the total present consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 11, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the maximum electrical load for the plurality of branch circuits by determining a maximum electrical load for the electrical panel; determine power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit; and automatically set the charge rate for charging the electric vehicle further based on the determined power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 12, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a power generation available from an onsite power source; determine whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjust the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 13, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid (ZHU, ¶ 0045); the power source prioritization corresponds to a selection of a selectable option generated by a mobile application executed on the user device (ZHU, ¶ 0050, 0073), wherein the selectable option corresponds to whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or an onsite power source (NARLA, 0040, 0048); and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a power generation available from the onsite power source (ZHU, ¶ 0049, 0057, 0091; NARLA, ¶ 0032, 0043, 0048); and determine whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source based on the power source prioritization (NARLA, ¶ 0040, 0048).
Regarding claim 15, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: monitor power consumption in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); determine a power generation available from an onsite power source; and automatically set the charge rate further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 16, ZHU discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer instructions recorded thereon (¶ 0014: non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors of a charging facility management device, causes the charging facility management device to perform operations described herein in various embodiments) that, when executed by processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), performs a method for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1; ¶ 0008: a method of controlling an electric vehicle charging station), the method comprising:
receiving, using the processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), preference information from a user device communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry (¶ 0050: allowing the electric vehicles or a customer (e.g., using a user device) to self-report to the control module 120 about its own charging needs and status; ¶ 0073: charging control module 120 initiates communications with a server 604 over one or more networks 606 in response to receiving an identifier of a connected electric vehicle (e.g., 124-c)…the server retrieves the account information from the database based in the identifier received from the charging control module 120, and initiates communication with a user device 610, such as a smartphone or tablet device…a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle, and any coupons or discounts that the electric vehicle may quality, using the user device), wherein the preference information comprises criteria for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0050, 0073: see above; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for a plurality of branch circuits of the electrical panel (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
determining a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), on the preference information (¶ 0050, 0073: see above; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles, and/or acceptable ranges of charging power permitted by the electric vehicles), and [a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits] (it is noted that the setting is based on the respective currents, and this recitation is not interpreted as requiring measurements of the respective currents, e.g., the total current is based on the respective current in each branch circuit, and since ZHU monitors total current when setting the charge rate, the setting of the charge rate is based on each of the respective currents; ¶ 0054: the electricity consumption cap 208 is selected based on the maximum current allowed by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center. For example, in some cases, the main limitation on whether an electricity demand center is willing or able to allow electric vehicle charging is the capacity of the circuit breaker at the input main of the electricity demand center. Although the line charge may be distributed to the customers who use the charging facility, replacing the circuit breaker is very expensive and may pose an upfront cost that the owner of the electricity demand center cannot afford to pay. Thus, by ensuring that the electricity consumption is kept below the circuit breaker current by dynamically monitoring the electricity consumption and adjusting charging powers allowed at the charging stations, the electricity demand center is able to offer electric vehicle charging services without making substantial infrastructure changes, such as replacing the main circuit breaker of the electricity demand center); and
causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose the processing circuitry is of an electrical panel; and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy) of an electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard); and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit (101a-101f, Fig. 1; ¶ 0017: the power distribution 102 includes a plurality of individual sensors 110 that measure branched electrical power transmitted through the current conductors 108a-108f of the branched circuits 101a-101f; ¶ 0026: processing circuitry 132 provides individual on-board processing circuitry for monitoring the branched power received in the current conductor 108. The processing circuitry 132 includes, for example, all data processing--including conditioning and electronics to accomplish monitoring the branched power. Accordingly, the processing circuitry 132 processes an output signal received from the coil 130 and provides a measured current or energy parameter (e.g., a current value)) of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor (110, Fig. 2; ¶ 0022: a sensor 110 from the array of sensors on board 122 includes a sensing coil 130 and processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing circuitry being of an electrical panel in order to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective current sensors in order to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
ZHU fails to disclose the preference information comprises a power source prioritization; and causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization.
NARLA discloses the preference information comprises a power source prioritization (¶ 0040: Site controller 130 may be configured by a user to set the charging priority, i.e., whether to supply power from the PV inverter only, from the storage inverter only, or from both, and in which order. In instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140); and causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate based on the power source prioritization (¶ 0048: PV inverter 106 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 6 kW, and storage inverter 118 may have a rated power output equal to or less than 12 kW or 18 kW, so that storage inverter 118 can supply additional power from more battery packs for fast charging the EV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power source prioritization in order to optimize charging economics, minimizes carbon footprints, and/or prevent grid overloads, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 17, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: determining that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjusting the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 18, ZHU discloses the method further comprises determining a total present consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, wherein automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the total present consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 19, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; determining whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjusting the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 20, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: monitoring power consumption in each of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; and automatically setting the charge rate further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 21, ZHU discloses the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid, the method further comprising: determining whether grid charging is allowed based on receiving an input from the user device corresponding to a selection of a selectable option generated by a mobile application executed on the user device (¶ 0050, 0073); and if grid charging is determined to be disallowed, ceasing causing the electric vehicle to be charged (¶ 0037, 0047-0048, 0118).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ and NARLA as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 above, and further in view of HAAS (Pub. No.: US 2017/0088001; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 6, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid (ZHU, ¶ 0045), wherein the power source prioritization corresponds to a selection of a selectable option generated by a mobile application executed on the user device (ZHU, ¶ 0050, 0073), wherein the selectable option corresponds to whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or an onsite power source (NARLA, ¶ 0040, 0048), the method further comprising:
determining a power generation available from the onsite power source (ZHU, ¶ 0049, 0057, 0091);
determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source based on the power source prioritization (NARLA, ¶ 0040, 0048); and
if the utility grid is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit (ZHU, ¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA fails to teach the method further comprising: if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source.
HAAS discloses the method further comprising: if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source (¶ 0009, 0018, 0021, 0057-0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source in order to optimize the energy supply from the onsite power source (HAAS, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 14, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: if the utility grid is prioritized, automatically set the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit (ZHU, ¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA fails to teach if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically set the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source.
HAAS discloses if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically set the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source (¶ 0009, 0018, 0021, 0057-0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source in order to optimize the energy supply from the onsite power source (HAAS, ¶ 0008).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ and NARLA as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 above, and further in view of RAO (Pub. No.: US 2020/0259336; cited on IDS with date 12/5/2022; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 22, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but ZHU fails to disclose identifying one or more loads coupled to the plurality of branch circuits that are drawing power; and based on the maximum electrical load and on the respective currents, ceasing to provide power from the plurality of branch circuits to the identified one or more loads.
RAO discloses identifying one or more loads coupled to the plurality of branch circuits that are drawing power; and based on the maximum electrical load and on the respective currents, ceasing to provide power from the plurality of branch circuits to the identified one or more loads (¶ 0133-0136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate ceasing to provide power to the identified one or more loads as disclosed in RAO into the method of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method including ceasing to provide power to one or more identified loads. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ and NARLA as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 above, and further in view of FUJITA (JP-2012157201-A; English machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 23, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the preference information comprises an indication of increased charge rate, the method further comprising: based on the indication, reducing power consumption of one or more loads by reducing an operating setpoint on the one or more loads to achieve the charge rate.
FUJITA discloses the preference information comprises an indication of increased charge rate, the method further comprising: based on the indication, reducing power consumption of one or more loads by reducing an operating setpoint on the one or more loads to achieve the charge rate (¶ 0018-0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include based on an indication of increased charge rate, reducing power consumption of one or more loads in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ and NARLA as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 above, and further in view of KARNER (Pub. No.: US 2013/0127416 A1) and PENILLA (Pub. No.: US 2016/0375780 A1).
Regarding claim 24, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and NARLA teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but ZHU fails to disclose transmitting notification information to the user device, wherein the notification information comprises: a change in estimated range of the electric vehicle.
PENILLA discloses transmitting notification information to the user device, wherein the notification information comprises: a change in estimated range of the electric vehicle (¶ 0014-0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include transmitting notification information as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
ZHU fails to disclose transmitting notification information to the user device, wherein the notification information comprises: a cost saving associated with the charging; an indication of power source used to charge the electric vehicle.
KARNER discloses transmitting notification information to the user device, wherein the notification information comprises: a cost saving associated with the charging; an indication of power source used to charge the electric vehicle (¶ 0055, 0063, 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include transmitting notification information as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 7/21/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859