DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Sanchez does not disclose or suggest that processing circuitry 132 is configured to "determine preference information," automatically set[] a charge rate," or "caus[e] the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate.", page 9 of remarks, lines 9-11; Charging facility management device 114 of Zhu is not integrated in, or otherwise part of, an electrical panel having branch circuits, as recited by Applicant's claims, page 9 of remarks, lines 24-26), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues on page 9 of the remarks, lines 12-19, that secondary reference SANCHEZ does not need the primary reference to function. However, this argument misses the core requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 103. The proper test is not whether the secondary reference is incapable of functioning without the primary reference, but rather whether it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of the references to arrive at the claimed invention. The combination of references used in the rejection is based on the rationale that SANCHEZ provides a known element (i.e., an electrical panel with processing circuitry and respective current sensors for each branch circuit) that one of ordinary skill would have found beneficial to substitute/integrate into ZHU, with motivation as described in the rejection below. Therefore, the independent functionality of the secondary reference does not preclude a finding of obviousness.
In response to arguments that “there is no disclosure or suggestion of how processing circuitry 132 of Sanchez can be combined with charging facility management device 114 of Zhu” (page 9 of remarks, lines 22-24), it is submitted that primary reference ZHU is being modified such that 1) its electrical panel (108) would contain the processing circuitry, i.e., the placement of the processing circuitry is rearranged; and 2) a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor for a respective branch circuit, are added to the electrical panel. Both of these features are disclosed in secondary reference SANCHEZ, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify ZHU with SANCHEZ as described in the rejection below. It is therefore maintained that ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8, and the computer readable medium of claim 16 within the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly found reference HAAS is relied upon to teach the limitations of prioritizing power generation of dependent claims 6 and 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU (US PG Pub 2019/0389315; previously cited) in view of SANCHEZ (US PG Pub 2014/0167787; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses a method for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1; ¶ 0008: a method of controlling an electric vehicle charging station) using an electrical panel (108, Fig. 1; ¶ 0045: breaker panel 108 provides the electricity to all circuits at the electricity demand center, including non-EV-charging circuits 110 and EV-charging circuits 112) comprising a plurality of branch circuits (110, 112, Fig. 1), the method comprising:
determining, using the processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), preference information for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
automatically setting, using the processing circuitry, a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using current from at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), on the preference information (¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles, and/or acceptable ranges of charging power permitted by the electric vehicles), and [a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits] (it is noted that the setting is based on the respective currents, and this recitation is not interpreted as requiring measurements of the respective currents, e.g., the total current is based on the respective current in each branch circuit, and since ZHU monitors total current when setting the charge rate, the setting of the charge rate is based on each of the respective currents; ¶ 0054: the electricity consumption cap 208 is selected based on the maximum current allowed by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center. For example, in some cases, the main limitation on whether an electricity demand center is willing or able to allow electric vehicle charging is the capacity of the circuit breaker at the input main of the electricity demand center. Although the line charge may be distributed to the customers who use the charging facility, replacing the circuit breaker is very expensive and may pose an upfront cost that the owner of the electricity demand center cannot afford to pay. Thus, by ensuring that the electricity consumption is kept below the circuit breaker current by dynamically monitoring the electricity consumption and adjusting charging powers allowed at the charging stations, the electricity demand center is able to offer electric vehicle charging services without making substantial infrastructure changes, such as replacing the main circuit breaker of the electricity demand center); and
causing, using the processing circuitry, the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry; and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses an electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard) comprising the processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy); determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit (101a-101f, Fig. 1; ¶ 0017: the power distribution 102 includes a plurality of individual sensors 110 that measure branched electrical power transmitted through the current conductors 108a-108f of the branched circuits 101a-101f; ¶ 0026: processing circuitry 132 provides individual on-board processing circuitry for monitoring the branched power received in the current conductor 108. The processing circuitry 132 includes, for example, all data processing--including conditioning and electronics to accomplish monitoring the branched power. Accordingly, the processing circuitry 132 processes an output signal received from the coil 130 and provides a measured current or energy parameter (e.g., a current value)) of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor (110, Fig. 2; ¶ 0022: a sensor 110 from the array of sensors on board 122 includes a sensing coil 130 and processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry as disclosed in SANCHEZ into the method for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method for charging an electric vehicle including the electrical panel comprising the processing circuitry. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the respective current sensors of SANCHEZ into the method for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method for charging an electric vehicle including respective current sensors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 2, ZHU discloses determining that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjusting the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 3, ZHU discloses determining a total present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, wherein automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the total present power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 4, ZHU discloses determining the maximum electrical load for the plurality of branch circuits comprises determining a maximum electrical load for the electrical panel, the method further comprising: determining power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit; and automatically setting the charge rate for charging the electric vehicle further based on the determined power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 5, ZHU discloses determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; determining whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjusting the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 7, ZHU discloses monitoring power consumption in each of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); and determining a power generation available from an onsite power source, wherein: automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 8, ZHU discloses a system (100, Fig. 1; ¶ 0044: operating environment 100 of an electric vehicle charging facility) for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a plurality of branch circuits (110, 112, Fig. 1) of an electrical panel (108, Fig. 1; ¶ 0045: breaker panel 108 provides the electricity to all circuits at the electricity demand center, including non-EV-charging circuits 110 and EV-charging circuits 112);
an electric vehicle charger (116, Fig. 1) coupled to at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: when electric vehicle charging is enabled at the electricity demand center, a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging. In some embodiments, the set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) include individual electric charging stations 116); and
processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1) coupled to the electric vehicle charger (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120) and to the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0049: total current and voltage received by the electricity demand center is monitored in real-time by the load monitor 118. The total power that is drawn by the electricity demand center includes the power delivered via the first set of circuits (e.g., circuits 110) for the non-EV charging uses, and the second set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) that are being used for electric vehicle charging….the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120), the processing circuitry configured to:
determine preference information for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
automatically set a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using the at least one branch circuit (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), and
cause the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose a plurality of current sensors each corresponding to a respective branch circuit;
the processing circuitry is arranged in the electrical panel and coupled to the plurality of current sensors; and
the processing circuitry is configured to determine a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from the respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses a plurality of current sensors each corresponding to a respective branch circuit (110, Fig. 2; ¶ 0017: the power distribution 102 includes a plurality of individual sensors 110 that measure branched electrical power transmitted through the current conductors 108a-108f of the branched circuits 101a-101f ; ¶ 0022: a sensor 110 from the array of sensors on board 122 includes a sensing coil 130 and processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy);
the processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy) is arranged in the electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard) and coupled to the plurality of current sensors (¶ 0026: processing circuitry 132 provides individual on-board processing circuitry for monitoring the branched power received in the current conductor 108. The processing circuitry 132 includes, for example, all data processing--including conditioning and electronics to accomplish monitoring the branched power. Accordingly, the processing circuitry 132 processes an output signal received from the coil 130 and provides a measured current or energy parameter (e.g., a current value)); and
the processing circuitry is configured to determine a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from the respective current sensor (¶ 0017, 0022, 0026: see above). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the processing circuitry is arranged in the electrical panel as disclosed in SANCHEZ into the system for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a system for charging an electric vehicle including processing circuitry is arranged in the electrical panel. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of current sensors each corresponding to a respective branch circuit of SANCHEZ into the system for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a system for charging an electric vehicle including a plurality of current sensors each corresponding to a respective branch circuit. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 9, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjust the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 10, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a total present consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to automatically set the charge rate further based on the total present consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 11, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the maximum electrical load for the plurality of branch circuits by determining a maximum electrical load for the electrical panel; determine power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit; and automatically set the charge rate for charging the electric vehicle further based on the determined power consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 12, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a power generation available from an onsite power source; determine whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjust the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 15, ZHU discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: monitor power consumption in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); determine a power generation available from an onsite power source; and automatically set the charge rate further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 16, ZHU discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer instructions recorded thereon (¶ 0014: non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors of a charging facility management device, causes the charging facility management device to perform operations described herein in various embodiments) that, when executed by processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), performs a method for charging an electric vehicle (124, Fig. 1; ¶ 0008: a method of controlling an electric vehicle charging station), the method comprising:
determining, using the processing circuitry (120, Fig. 1), preference information for allocating a maximum electrical load (¶ 0038: an electric vehicle charging facility management device of a large electricity demand center determines an electricity consumption cap for a current electricity consumption cycle (e.g., a day, a month, a quarter, a year, or any other period that is dictated by how frequently quantity of grid reserve is measured and charged by utility companies) based on an estimated maximum electricity demand level (e.g., based on past load monitoring at the input main of the electricity demand center), monitors actual electricity load on the circuits of the electricity demand center, and determines in real-time how much grid reserve below the electricity consumption cap is available for electric vehicle charging; ¶ 0068: the charging control module 120 includes an electricity consumption cap determination module 506 that uses the past electricity consumption data (e.g., data regarding cyclic electricity consumption patterns and peak electricity consumption at the electricity demand center with and without EV-charging enabled), maximum current permitted by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center, and/or electricity cost and discount schedules, etc., to determine an electricity consumption cap for the electricity demand center that is to be observed while EV-charging is enabled at the electricity demand center) for a plurality of branch circuits of the electrical panel (¶ 0047: usage on these circuits (e.g., circuits 110) have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles; ¶ 0058: the vehicle is given a higher charging priority relative to other charging vehicles; and to the extent that the power consumption cap is observed, the charging is started at a high power level P3 that is calculated based on the electricity consumption cap, the current non-EV charging usage, and the charging needs and priority of other vehicles that are also being charged at the electricity demand center; ¶ 0073: a user can complete account transactions, such as providing configuration input to specify the duration and charging power preferences for the charging session, the route information for the electric vehicle, the scheduling information for the electric vehicle);
automatically setting a charge rate for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0049: the grid monitor 118 provides the input data for the charging control module 120 to determine how much power should be delivered to the second set of circuits 112 as a whole, and how to distribute the power among the different vehicles 124 that are being charged) using at least one branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits (112, Fig. 1; ¶ 0048: a separate set of circuits (e.g., circuits 112) from the breaker panel 108 are used for electric vehicle charging) based on the maximum electrical load (¶ 0052: the charging power of electric vehicles are dynamically adjusted (e.g., charging powers for individual electric vehicles are adjusted to ensure that the total power consumption cap 208 of the electricity demand center is observed)), on the preference information (¶ 0057: the charging power is calculated in accordance with the difference between the electricity consumption cap and the current non-EV-charging usage level, divided among the electric vehicles that are currently charging at the electricity demand center. The division is optionally weighted based on the total amount of charge still needed for each vehicle, the maximum amount of time that each vehicle can remain plugged in at the electricity demand center, the relative priority levels of the electric vehicles, alternative charging options at other future destinations of the vehicles, and/or acceptable ranges of charging power permitted by the electric vehicles), and [a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits] (it is noted that the setting is based on the respective currents, and this recitation is not interpreted as requiring measurements of the respective currents, e.g., the total current is based on the respective current in each branch circuit, and since ZHU monitors total current when setting the charge rate, the setting of the charge rate is based on each of the respective currents; ¶ 0054: the electricity consumption cap 208 is selected based on the maximum current allowed by the circuit breaker at the main input of the electricity demand center. For example, in some cases, the main limitation on whether an electricity demand center is willing or able to allow electric vehicle charging is the capacity of the circuit breaker at the input main of the electricity demand center. Although the line charge may be distributed to the customers who use the charging facility, replacing the circuit breaker is very expensive and may pose an upfront cost that the owner of the electricity demand center cannot afford to pay. Thus, by ensuring that the electricity consumption is kept below the circuit breaker current by dynamically monitoring the electricity consumption and adjusting charging powers allowed at the charging stations, the electricity demand center is able to offer electric vehicle charging services without making substantial infrastructure changes, such as replacing the main circuit breaker of the electricity demand center); and
causing the electric vehicle to be charged at the charge rate (¶ 0040: charging management device's response time is less than one second and is configured to quickly lower the charging current to the electric vehicle charging circuit(s) such that the overall load on the input main falls below the maximum tripping current before the circuit breaker trips; ¶ 0048: the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120; ¶ 0109: although the system is connected to a charger, the system waits for a separate instruction to begin operating in charging mode (e.g., from….the charging control module 120)).
ZHU fails to disclose the processing circuitry is of an electrical panel; and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor.
SANCHEZ discloses processing circuitry (132, Fig. 4; ¶ 0022: processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy) of an electrical panel (102, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: power distribution system 102 can include, for example, a panelboard); and determining, using the processing circuitry, a respective current in each branch circuit (101a-101f, Fig. 1; ¶ 0017: the power distribution 102 includes a plurality of individual sensors 110 that measure branched electrical power transmitted through the current conductors 108a-108f of the branched circuits 101a-101f; ¶ 0026: processing circuitry 132 provides individual on-board processing circuitry for monitoring the branched power received in the current conductor 108. The processing circuitry 132 includes, for example, all data processing--including conditioning and electronics to accomplish monitoring the branched power. Accordingly, the processing circuitry 132 processes an output signal received from the coil 130 and provides a measured current or energy parameter (e.g., a current value)) of the plurality of branch circuits based on a respective signal from a respective current sensor (110, Fig. 2; ¶ 0022: a sensor 110 from the array of sensors on board 122 includes a sensing coil 130 and processing circuitry 132 for measuring electrical current and/or energy). It is noted that while the processing circuitry of ZHU is not disclosed as being part of the electrical panel, one of ordinary skill would recognize the location of the processing circuit would not change the operation, and constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the processing circuitry of an electrical panel as disclosed in SANCHEZ into the method for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method for charging an electric vehicle including the processing circuitry of an electrical panel. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce points of failure by removing the need for extra wiring/connections; provide faster protection than external systems; provide simplified installation by requiring a single unit instead of multiple units; and/or provide a more compact or space efficient system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the respective current sensors of SANCHEZ into the method for charging an electric vehicle of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method for charging an electric vehicle including respective current sensors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adequately inform exactly which power loads are causing problems, which branch circuits can handle additional loads, and/or which branch circuits are near capacity, and therefore prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure (SANCHEZ, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 17, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: determining that the maximum electrical load has changed to a modified maximum electrical load; and adjusting the charge rate based on the modified maximum electrical load (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 18, ZHU discloses the method further comprises determining a total present consumption for the plurality of branch circuits, wherein automatically setting the charge rate is further based on the total present consumption (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
Regarding claim 19, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; determining whether at least one of the maximum electrical load or the power generation has changed to a respective new value; and adjusting the charge rate based on the respective new value (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 20, ZHU discloses the method further comprises: monitoring power consumption in each of the plurality of branch circuits (¶ 0038, 0040, 0048-0049, 0059, 0090); determining a power generation available from an onsite power source; and automatically setting the charge rate further based on the power consumption and on the power generation (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
Regarding claim 21, ZHU discloses the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid, the method further comprising: determining whether grid charging is allowed based on at least one criterion; and if grid charging is determined to be disallowed, ceasing causing the electric vehicle to be charged (¶ 0037, 0047-0048, 0118).
Claim(s) 6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ as applied to claims 1-5, 7-12, and 15-21 above, and further in view of HAAS (US Pub. No. 2017/0088001).
Regarding claim 6, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ teaches the method of claim 1, and ZHU further discloses the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid (¶ 0045), the method further comprising: determining a power generation available from an onsite power source (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091); and if the utility grid is [used to provide power], automatically setting the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit (¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117).
ZHU fails to disclose the method further comprising: determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source; and if the utility grid is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit; or if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source.
HAAS discloses the method further comprising: determining a power generation available from an onsite power source (¶ 0009, 0018); determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source (¶ 0009, 0018, 0021); or if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source (¶ 0021, 0057-0058). Including determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source as disclosed in HAAS in the method of ZHU, which discloses an onsite power source, and when using the utility grid, automatically setting the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit, would teach the recitation “if the utility grid is prioritized, automatically setting the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source as disclosed in HAAS into the method of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method including determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the energy supply from the grid and the onsite power source (HAAS, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 13, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and ZHU further discloses the electrical panel is coupled to a utility grid (¶ 0045); and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a power generation available from an onsite power source (¶ 0049, 0057, 0091).
ZHU fails to disclose the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source.
HAAS discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source (¶ 0009, 0018, 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source as disclosed in HAAS into the system of ZHU to produce an expected result of a system including determining whether to prioritize power from the utility grid or the onsite power source. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the energy supply from the grid and the onsite power source (HAAS, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 14, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ and HAAS teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: if the utility grid is prioritized, automatically set the charge rate further based on a present power consumption for the plurality of branch circuits exclusive of the at least one branch circuit (ZHU, ¶ 0038, 0047-0049, 0052, 0090, 0117); or if the onsite power source is prioritized, automatically set the charge rate based on the power generation available from the onsite power source (HAAS, ¶ 0009, 0018, 0021, 0057-0058).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of SANCHEZ as applied to claims 1-5, 7-12, and 15-21 above, and further in view of RAO (US Pub. No. 2020/0259336; cited on IDS with date 12/5/2022).
Regarding claim 22, ZHU as modified by SANCHEZ teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but ZHU fails to disclose identifying one or more loads coupled to the plurality of branch circuits that are drawing power; and based on the maximum electrical load and on the respective currents, ceasing to provide power from the plurality of branch circuits to the identified one or more loads.
RAO discloses identifying one or more loads coupled to the plurality of branch circuits that are drawing power; and based on the maximum electrical load and on the respective currents, ceasing to provide power from the plurality of branch circuits to the identified one or more loads (¶ 0133-0136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate ceasing to provide power to the identified one or more loads as disclosed in RAO into the method of ZHU to produce an expected result of a method including ceasing to provide power to one or more identified loads. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent overloading of a conductor cable beyond its nominal current range and prevent electrical failure.
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 3/17/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859