DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0366270 A1 to Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art.
Matsuoka disclose a surface acoustic wave device, filter circuit, and electronic component, comprising:
a first quartz-crystal substrate having Euler angles; and
a second quartz-crystal substrate having Euler angles bonded over the first quartz-crystal substrate (see Figures 1, 4, 10, and 17),
wherein:
a thickness of the second quartz-crystal substrate being mathematically correlated to a wavelength of a longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave which propagates across a surface of the second quartz-crystal substrate.
However, it fails to disclose:
the Euler angles of the first quartz-crystal substrate satisfy 0° ≤ φ1 ≤ 2°, 123° ≤ θ1 ≤ 128°, and 31° ≤ ψ1 ≤ 44°;
the Euler angles of the second quartz-crystal substrate satisfy 83° ≤ φ2 ≤ 95°, 82° ≤ θ2 ≤ 95°, and 159° ≤ ψ2 ≤ 161°; and
the mathematical correlation of the thickness of the second quartz-crystal substrate being 0.17 to 0.19 times a wavelength of said longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the claimed Euler angle and substrate thickness values known to one of ordinary skill in the art on the surface acoustic wave device, filter circuit, and electronic component disclosed by Matsuoka, for the purpose of determining and controlling the wave propagations characteristics of a SAW device, because it has been held that:
discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980));
where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233); and
modifying Euler angles by a mere change in the size of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
With regards to claim 2, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to provide:
Euler angles of the first quartz-crystal substrate that satisfy 83° ≤ φ1 ≤ 97°, 80° ≤ θ1 ≤ 100°, and 30° ≤ ψ1 ≤ 59°;
Euler angles of the second quartz-crystal substrate that satisfy 88° ≤ φ2 ≤ 92°, 88° ≤ θ2 ≤ 92°, and 53° ≤ ψ2 ≤ 63°; and
a thickness of the second quartz-crystal substrate being 0.33 to 0.46 times a wavelength of a longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave which propagates across a surface of the second quartz-crystal substrate.
With regards to claim 3, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to provide:
Euler angles of the first quartz-crystal substrate satisfy 74° ≤ φ1 ≤ 107°, 64° ≤ θ1 ≤ 116°, and 14° ≤ ψ1 ≤ 87°;
Euler angles of the second quartz-crystal substrate satisfy 89° ≤ φ2 ≤ 91°, 87° ≤ θ2 ≤ 93°, and 0° ≤ ψ2 ≤ 13° or 172° ≤ ψ2 ≤ 180°; and
a thickness of the second quartz-crystal substrate is 0.94 to 1.04 times a wavelength of a longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave which propagates across a surface of the second quartz-crystal substrate.
With regards to claim 5, Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art discloses:
the first quartz- crystal substrate and the second quartz-crystal substrate are bonded so as to come into direct contact with each other.
With regards to claim 7, Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art discloses:
the first quartz- crystal substrate and the second quartz-crystal substrate are bonded so as to come into direct contact with each other.
With regards to claim 9, Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art discloses:
the first quartz- crystal substrate and the second quartz-crystal substrate are bonded so as to come into direct contact with each other.
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0366270 A1 to Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0062069 A1 to Yamanaka.
Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art disclose a surface acoustic wave device, filter circuit, and electronic component as described in paragraph 6 above.
However, it fails to disclose propagation attenuation per unit wavelength of the longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave is 0.01 dB or less.
Yamanaka discloses a surface acoustic wave device, electronic apparatus, and sensor apparatus, comprising:
a propagation attenuation per unit wavelength of the longitudinal leaky surface acoustic wave being 0.01 dB or less (see paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the propagation attenuation per unit wavelength disclosed by Yamanaka on the surface acoustic wave device, filter circuit, and electronic component disclosed by Matsuoka in view of common knowledge in the art, for the purpose of selectively discriminating the operational bands of the apparatus.
Conclusion
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 November 10, 2025