DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 08/04/2026. Claims 1-21 are currently pending in the application. An action follows below:
Response to Arguments
In response to the rejections of claims 1-11 and 15-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. in the previous Office action dated 05/04/2026, Applicant has merely agued on page 8 of the amendment: “… Lee … does not qualify as prior art with respect to the instant claims … at the time of their respective filing …” The argument is not persuasive because, in order for applicant to properly invoke common ownership to disqualify a U.S. patent document as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), for the AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) exception, an applicant can follow these steps:
(i) Applicant must submit the required statement that the subject matter in the U.S. patent document and the claimed invention were, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment, to the same person. See 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i).
(ii) The statement concerning common ownership should be clear and conspicuous on a separate paper or in a separately labeled section.
(iii) The statement must be signed in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33(b).
In the instant case, since the steps (ii) and (iii) do not meet, the applicant’s statement on page 8 of the amendment is not accepted. Therefore, these rejections are maintained.
In response to the rejections of claims 1, 18 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. in the Office action, Applicant has amended these claims and provided on pages 9-11 of the amendment argument, “The Office Action alleges that Park discloses the claimed surrounding organic pattern by pointing to an arbitrary “portion of the element FL disposed between the first dam DM1 and the second dam DM2” … Applicant respectfully submits that the Office's reliance on an undefined "portion" of a continuous layer is improper, and that Park fails to disclose the claimed structural limitations … recited in the amended claims.” The argument has been fully considered, but it is not persuasive because these claims do not limit the claimed surrounding organic pattern not integrally formed with another element to form a continuous layer. Therefore, these rejections are maintained.
Notice to Applicant(s)
In order to compact the prosecution of the application and to inform the Applicant at least independent claims being broad, multiple sets of rejections are made so that the Applicant may narrow the claimed invention to be distinct from the prior arts.
Examiner notes that the specification is not the measure of invention. Therefore, limitations contained therein can’t be read into the claims for the purpose of avoiding the prior art. See In re Sporck, 55 CCPA 743, 386 F.2d 924, 155 USPQ 687 (1968).
Further, the names/ terms of the features/elements used in the pending application or pending claims may be different from the names/terms of the matching features/ elements of the prior arts; however, the matching features/ elements of the prior arts contain all characteristics/ functions of the features/elements DEFINED by the pending claims.
Note that in order to avoid confusion, the below citations in the below rejection(s) are mere one or more places in the reference to disclose the "claimed" limitation(s) and/or are directed to one or more of embodiments disclosed by the cited reference(s). In other words, the “claimed” features/limitations may be read in other places in the reference or other embodiments of the reference. In order to better understand how the claimed limitations are taught by the reference(s), a review of the entire reference(s) is suggested by the examiner. Applicant is reminded a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention as not all relevant paragraphs may have been cited in the rejection. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
FIRST SET OF REJECTIONS:
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 11,747,928 B2; hereinafter Lee.)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (see at least Figs. 1-3, 8, 9, 15) comprising:
a substrate [SUB; at least Fig. 9/15] including a display area [AA; at least Fig. 2] and a non-display area [NA; at least Fig. 2] positioned outside the display area (at least Fig. 2;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ED] disposed in the display area (at least Figs. 9/15/16/17;)
an encapsulation layer [ENCAP] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (at least Fig. 9/15/16/17;) and
an organic pattern including a surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 15/16/17, disclosing an organic pattern [BPAC] including an organic portion of the element BPAC [[as the claimed surrounding organic pattern]] disposed in a valley formed between the first dam DAM1 and the second dam DAM2, not extending over an upper portion of the first dam and upper portion of the second dam, and having an upper surface flushed with an upper surface of a portion of the element [PAS2/PAS1] on the upper surface of the first dam DAM1 and an upper surface of another portion of the element [PAS2/PAS1] on the upper surface of the second dam DAM2) disposed in the non-display area [NA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;)
a first dam [DAM1] disposed in the non-display area [NA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;) and
a second dam [DAM2] disposed in the non-display area and positioned outside the first dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17,)
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed between in a valley formed the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and upper portion of the second dam (see that above discussion,) and
wherein in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 2, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] surrounding the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] in all directions (see at least Figs. 13, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 3, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, 14, 15/16/17; Col. 4:42-62; Col. 5:45-60, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern BPAC disconnected at a pad area, as a circuit connection area, to which one or more IC chips is electrically connected.)
As per claim 4, Lee discloses the display device further comprising:
wherein the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] is positioned on an inner side surface near the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] among side surfaces of the first dam [DAM1] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DAM1] and extends along the upper portion of the first dam [DAM1] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 5, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 6, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] positioned between the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 7, Lee discloses the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] extending beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DAM1], the valley formed between the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2], and the upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see the rejection of claim 1 for the valley and the construed surrounding organic pattern; see at least Fig. 15/16/17, if necessary,) and the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see the rejection of claim 1 for the valley and the construed surrounding organic pattern; see at least Fig. 15/16/17, if necessary.)
As per claim 8, Lee discloses the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal [EM; Fig. 5] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Figs. 5, 10, disclosing a touch electrode TE formed of a touch sensor metal EM and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer PAS2 via the element T-BUF;)
a touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see at least Figs. 8, 9, disclosing a touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and extending from the touch sensor metal [EM of TE] or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal [EM of TE];) and
a touch pad unit electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see at least Figs. 1, 8; Col. 4:28-48; Col. 5:53-60; Col. 11:41-56, disclosing a touch pad unit including at least touch pads [X-TP, Y-TP] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit TSC and positioned outside the non-display area NA,)
wherein the touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit (see at least Figs. 8, 15/16/17,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 9, Lee discloses the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [T-BUF] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17,) wherein the touch inorganic layer [T-BUF] is disposed to extend along the upper portions of the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2], and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claims 10-11, Lee discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC]; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 17; Col. 24:13-32, disclosing the element PAC construed to comprise: a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode TE formed of the touch sensor metal EM (see Fig. 5) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC]; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC].)
As per claim 15, Lee discloses: wherein each of the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 16, Lee discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed on the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 13, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 17, Lee discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed on the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Fig. 14,) and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is an open ring type organic layer (see at least Fig. 14) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, 14, 15/16/17; Col. 4:42-62; Col. 5:45-60, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] disconnected at a pad area, as a circuit connection area, to which one or more IC chips is electrically connected.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. Lee further discloses the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [SUB] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;) and the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
SECOND SET OF REJECTIONS:
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0258913 A1; hereinafter Park.)
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device [EA] (see at least Fig. 1B) comprising:
a substrate [BS] including a display area [AA] and a non-display area [NAA] positioned outside the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ELD] disposed in the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
an encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C;) and
an organic pattern [FL] comprising: a surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing the organic pattern [FL] including an organic portion of the element FL [[as the claimed surrounding organic pattern]] disposed in a valley formed between the first dam DM1 and the second dam DM2, not extending over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam, and having an upper surface flushed with at least an upper surface of a portion of the element [63] on the upper surface of the first dam DM1) disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [62] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [62]; and another organic portion extending over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;)
a first dam [DM1] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [60] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;) and
a second dam [DM2] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and positioned outside the first dam [DM1] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [DM1] and the second dam [DM2], and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see the above discussion,) and
wherein in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 2, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] surrounds the organic encapsulation layer [62] in all directions (see at least Figs. 2A, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 3, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 109, 207, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] not extending to a pad area PA, as a circuit connection area, to which an integrated circuit 300/MB is bonded or electrically connected.)
As per claim 4, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
wherein the encapsulation layer [60] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [62] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [62] is positioned on an inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and extends along the upper portion of the first dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 5, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 6, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is positioned between the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DN21] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 7, Park discloses: wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] extends beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DM1/DM11], a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and the upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and is located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 8, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 139, disclosing the touch detection pattern SP formed of metal mesh lines and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63;)
a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63 and extending from the touch sensor metal of the touch detection pattern SP or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal;) and
a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see at least Figs. 1B, 2C; ¶ 110; disclosing a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area; also see Fig. 6C; ¶ 209 for an external touch driving unit, if necessary,)
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit [PDT/PD] (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL discussed in the rejection of claim 1] (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C.)
As per claim 9, Park discloses the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [SIL; Fig. 3B/3C] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C,) wherein the touch inorganic layer is disposed to extend along the upper portions of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C) and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C.)
As per claims 10-11, Park discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL]; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] (see at least Figs. 1B, 3A/3B/3C; ¶ 64, disclosing the window 100 comprising multiple layers including a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode SP formed of the touch sensor metal lines (see Fig. 2C; ¶ 139) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern of the element FL; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern of the element FL.)
As per claim 12, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
an outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] disposed on the substrate [BS] in the non-display area [NAA], positioned under the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21], and overlapping with the first dam and the second dam (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and
at least one insulating layer [P1/P2/40] disposed between the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] and the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2], wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] overlaps with the outer power line (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 13, Park discloses: wherein the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] includes a base voltage line for supplying a base voltage applied to a common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 14, Park discloses the display device further comprising a gate driving circuit of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line and located in a bezel circuit layer on the substrate (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C, disclosing a gate driving circuit [TR-D/TR] of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] and located in a bezel circuit layer forming at least the elements [VSS1/VSS2, CL, IE, OE] and on the substrate BS.)
As per claim 15, Park discloses: wherein each of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 16, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disposed on the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. Park further discloses the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [BS] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and the encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claims 19-20, see the rejections of claims 12 and 13 for similar limitations.
As per claim 21, see the rejections of claims 1 and 12 for similar limitations.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
As per claim 17, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area along an outer edge of the display area, and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is organic layer (see the rejection of claim 16) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see the rejection of claim 3.)
Accordingly, Park discloses all limitations of this claim except that Park discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being a closed ring type, but is silent to the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed.
Since this application discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being either a closed ring type (see Fig. 10) or an open ring type (see Fig. 11) and does not explicitly provide any different advantage/benefit or the particular shape used for any other purpose, such a modification between these two shapes would have involved a mere change in the shape of the surrounding organic pattern.
Moreover, a change in shape of an element was judicially recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, while Park may not exemplify the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
In the alternative, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, in a display device are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
THIRD SET OF REJECTIONS:
Claims 1-21, in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Won et al. (US 2018/0350884 A1; hereinafter Won.)
This set is made with the assumption that the claimed surrounding organic pattern, which is in a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and the element (i.e., the T-BUF shown in Fig. 7 of this application) directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern are two distinct elements and formed of different materials, so that the Applicant can recognize the feature(s) associated with the surrounding organic pattern being well-known in the art.
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device [EA] (see at least Fig. 1B) comprising:
a substrate [BS] including a display area [AA] and a non-display area [NAA] positioned outside the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ELD] disposed in the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
an encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C;) and
an organic pattern [FL] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [62] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;)
a first dam [DM1] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [60] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;) and
a second dam [DM2] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and positioned outside the first dam [DM1] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the organic pattern [FL] includes an organic portion disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [DM1] and the second dam [DM2]; and another organic portion extending over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
where in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As noted above, assuming that this claim requires the claimed surrounding organic pattern disposed only in a valley and the element (i.e., the T-BUF shown in Fig. 7 of this application) directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern are two distinct elements and formed of different materials.
However, Won discloses a related display device comprising a surrounding organic pattern [158] disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [106a] and the second dam [106b] and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Fig. 11); and a touch buffer layer [148] directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern [158] (see at least Fig. 11.)
Won also discloses another related display device comprising, similarly to Park, the organic pattern [158], including an organic portion disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [DM1] and the second dam [DM2], and another organic portion extending over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Fig. 6.)
Won further discloses both of the above-discussed display device providing the same predictable result of providing a display device manufactured through a simplified process at reduced cost (see at least ¶ 5.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the display device of Park to include a surrounding organic pattern disposed in a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam, and a touch buffer layer directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern, in view of the teaching in the Won reference, to obtain the same predictable result. Accordingly, the above-modified Park in view of Won obviously renders all limitations of this claim.
As per claim 2, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern surrounds the organic encapsulation layer in all directions (see Park at least Figs. 2A, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 3, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 2A, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 109, 207, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] not extending to a pad area PA, as a circuit connection area, to which an integrated circuit 300/MB is bonded or electrically connected; also see Won Figs. 2, 11.)
As per claim 4, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the encapsulation layer [60] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [62] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Won Fig. 11 disclosing the same,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [62] is positioned on an inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Won Fig. 11 disclosing the same,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and extends along an upper portion of the first dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Won Fig. 11 disclosing the same,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Won Fig. 11 disclosing the same.)
As per claim 5, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 6, the above-modified Park obviously renders: Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned between the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DN21] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 7, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] extends beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DM1/DM11], a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and an upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern is located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and is located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 8, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 139, disclosing the touch detection pattern SP formed of metal mesh lines and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63;)
a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63 and extending from the touch sensor metal of the touch detection pattern SP or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal;) and
a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 2C; ¶ 110; disclosing a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area; also see Park Fig. 6C; ¶ 209 for an external touch driving unit, if necessary,)
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit [PDT/PD] (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C.)
As per claim 9, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [SIL; Park Fig. 3B/3C] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C,) wherein the touch inorganic layer is disposed to extend along upper portions of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] (see Park at least Fig. 3B/3C) and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Fig. 3B/3C.)
As per claims 10-11, Park discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 3A/3B/3C; ¶ 64, disclosing the window 100 comprising multiple layers including a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode SP formed of the touch sensor metal lines (see Park Fig. 2C; ¶ 139) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern.)
As per claim 12, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising:
an outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] disposed on the substrate [BS] in the non-display area [NAA], positioned under the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21], and overlapping with the first dam and the second dam (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and
at least one insulating layer [P1/P2/40] disposed between the surrounding organic pattern and the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2], wherein the surrounding organic pattern overlaps with the outer power line (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 13, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] includes a base voltage line for supplying a base voltage applied to a common electrode [E2] (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 14, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a gate driving circuit of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line and located in a bezel circuit layer on the substrate (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C, disclosing a gate driving circuit [TR-D/TR] of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] and located in a bezel circuit layer forming at least the elements [VSS1/VSS2, CL, IE, OE] and on the substrate BS.)
As per claim 15, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein each of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 16, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area (see Park at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 17, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area along an outer edge of the display area, and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is organic layer (see the rejection of claim 16) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see the rejection of claim 3.)
Accordingly, the above modified Park obviously renders all limitations of this claim except that Park discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being a closed ring type, but is silent to the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed.
Since this application discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being either a closed ring type (see Park Fig. 10) or an open ring type (see Park Fig. 11) and does not explicitly provide any different advantage/benefit or the particular shape used for any other purpose, such a modification between these two shapes would have involved a mere change in the shape of the surrounding organic pattern.
Moreover, a change in shape of an element was judicially recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, while Park may not exemplify the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
In the alternative, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, in a display device are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. The above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [BS] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and the encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claims 19-20, see the rejections of claims 12-13 for similar limitations.
As per claim 21, see the rejections of claims 1 and 12 for similar limitations.
FOURTH SET OF REJECTIONS:
Claims 1-21, in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0226454 A1; hereinafter Liu.)
This set is made with the assumption that the claimed surrounding organic pattern, which is in a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and the element (i.e., the T-BUF shown in Fig. 7 of this application) directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern are two distinct elements and formed of different materials, so that the Applicant can recognize the feature(s) associated with the surrounding organic pattern being well-known in the art.
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device [EA] (see at least Fig. 1B) comprising:
a substrate [BS] including a display area [AA] and a non-display area [NAA] positioned outside the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ELD] disposed in the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
an encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C;) and
an organic pattern [FL] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [62] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;)
a first dam [DM1] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [60] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;) and
a second dam [DM2] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and positioned outside the first dam [DM1] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the organic pattern [FL] includes an organic portion disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [DM1] and the second dam [DM2]; and another organic portion extending over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
where in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As noted above, assuming that this claim requires the claimed surrounding organic pattern disposed only in a valley and the element (i.e., the T-BUF shown in Fig. 7 of this application) directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern are two distinct elements and formed of different materials.
However, Liu discloses a related display device (see at least Figs. 1a, 4-5) comprising a surrounding organic pattern [200] disposed in a valley formed between the first dam [105] and the second dam [106] and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see at least Fig. 4; also see Fig. 7b); and an element [110a] directly on the top surface of the surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 7,) thereby guaranteeing the reliability of the touch electrode (see at least ¶ 43.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the display device of Park to include a surrounding organic pattern disposed in a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam, in view of the teaching in the Liu reference, to obtain the same predictable result of guaranteeing the reliability of the touch electrode. Accordingly, the above-modified Park in view of Liu obviously renders all limitations of this claim.
As per claim 2, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern surrounds the organic encapsulation layer in all directions (see Park at least Figs. 2A, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 3, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 2A, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 109, 207, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] not extending to a pad area PA, as a circuit connection area, to which an integrated circuit 300/MB is bonded or electrically connected; also see Liu Fig. 5.)
As per claim 4, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the encapsulation layer [60] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [62] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [62] is positioned on an inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and extends along an upper portion of the first dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same.)
As per claim 5, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same.)
As per claim 6, the above-modified Park obviously renders: Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned between the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DN21] (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same.)
As per claim 7, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] extends beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DM1/DM11], a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and an upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and is located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; also see Liu Fig. 4 disclosing the same.)
As per claim 8, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see Park at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 139, disclosing the touch detection pattern SP formed of metal mesh lines and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63;)
a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63 and extending from the touch sensor metal of the touch detection pattern SP or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal;) and
a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 2C; ¶ 110; disclosing a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area; also see Park Fig. 6C; ¶ 209 for an external touch driving unit, if necessary,)
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit [PDT/PD] (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C.)
As per claim 9, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [SIL; Park Fig. 3B/3C] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C,) wherein the touch inorganic layer is disposed to extend along upper portions of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] (see Park at least Fig. 3B/3C) and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Fig. 3B/3C.)
As per claims 10-11, Park discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern (see Park at least Figs. 1B, 3A/3B/3C; ¶ 64, disclosing the window 100 comprising multiple layers including a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode SP formed of the touch sensor metal lines (see Park Fig. 2C; ¶ 139) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern.)
As per claim 12, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising:
an outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] disposed on the substrate [BS] in the non-display area [NAA], positioned under the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21], and overlapping with the first dam and the second dam (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and
at least one insulating layer [P1/P2/40] disposed between the surrounding organic pattern and the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2], wherein the surrounding organic pattern overlaps with the outer power line (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 13, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] includes a base voltage line for supplying a base voltage applied to a common electrode [E2] (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 14, the above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a gate driving circuit of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line and located in a bezel circuit layer on the substrate (see Park at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C, disclosing a gate driving circuit [TR-D/TR] of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] and located in a bezel circuit layer forming at least the elements [VSS1/VSS2, CL, IE, OE] and on the substrate BS.)
As per claim 15, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein each of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 16, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area (see Park at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 17, the above-modified Park obviously renders: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area along an outer edge of the display area, and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is organic layer (see the rejection of claim 16) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see the rejection of claim 3.)
Accordingly, the above modified Park obviously renders all limitations of this claim except that Park discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being a closed ring type, but is silent to the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed.
Since this application discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being either a closed ring type (see Park Fig. 10) or an open ring type (see Park Fig. 11) and does not explicitly provide any different advantage/benefit or the particular shape used for any other purpose, such a modification between these two shapes would have involved a mere change in the shape of the surrounding organic pattern.
Moreover, a change in shape of an element was judicially recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, while Park may not exemplify the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
In the alternative, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, in a display device are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. The above-modified Park obviously renders: the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [BS] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and the encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claims 19-20, see the rejections of claims 12-13 for similar limitations.
As per claim 21, see the rejections of claims 1 and 12 for similar limitations.
FIFTH SET OF REJECTIONS:
Claims 1-8, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2018/0226454 A1; hereinafter Liu.)
As per claim 1, Liu discloses a display device [EA] (see at least Fig. 1a, 5, 7a) comprising:
a substrate [BS] including a display area [AA] and a non-display area [FA, BA] positioned outside the display area (see at least Figs. 1a, 5, 7a;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [102] disposed in the display area (see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b;)
an encapsulation layer [103] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [a middle layer of 103] (see at least any of Figs. 1b, 2, 4, 6, 7b; ¶ 33;) and
a surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 4 disclosing a surrounding organic pattern [200] disposed between the first dam 105 and the second dam 106 disposed in a valley formed between the first dam 105 and the second dam 106 and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam 105 and an upper portion of the second dam 106; also see any of Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b) disposed in the non-display area [BA, FA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 5, 7a;)
a first dam [105] disposed in the non-display area [BA, FA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [103] (see at least Fig. 4; also see any of Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b;) and
a second dam [106] disposed in the non-display area [BA, FA] and positioned outside the first dam [106] (see at least Fig. 4; also see any of Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b,)
wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed in a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam and does not extend over an upper portion of the first dam and an upper portion of the second dam (see the above discussion,) and
wherein in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Fig. 4; also see any of Figs. 1b, 2, 4, 6, 7b.)
As per claim 2, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [200] surrounds the organic encapsulation layer in all directions (see at least Figs. 4, 5; also see Fig. 7a.)
As per claim 3, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Fig. 5, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern not extending to a pad area in the area BA, as a circuit connection area, to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected; also see 1, 7a.)
As per claim 4, Liu discloses the display device further comprising:
wherein the encapsulation layer [103] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer positioned under the organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer positioned on the organic encapsulation layer (see at least Fig. 4; ¶ 33; also see any of 1b, 2, 6, 7b,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer is positioned on an inner side surface of the first dam [106] (see at least Fig. 4; also see any of 1b, 2, 6, 7b,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [105] and extends along an upper portion of the first dam (see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 4, 6, 7b,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [200] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 4, 6, 7b.)
As per claim 5, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 4, 6, 7b.)
As per claim 6, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is positioned between the first dam [105] and the second dam [106] (see at least Fig. 4; also see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b.)
As per claim 7, Liu discloses: wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer extends beyond the upper portion of the first dam [105], a valley formed between the first dam [105] and the second dam [106] and an upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see at least Fig. 4; also see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern is located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and is located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see at least Fig. 4; also see at least Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b.)
As per claim 8, Liu discloses the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see at least Figs. 1a, 1b, 7a, 7b; ¶ 35, disclosing a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer including at least touch electrode 104 and touch electrode leads 110 formed of metal (¶¶ 50-52) and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer;)
a touch routing line [110] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see at least Figs. 1a, 1b, 7a, 7b; ¶ 35, disclosing a touch routing line [110] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal of the touch detection pattern or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal;) and
a touch pad unit electrically connected to a touch driving circuit [109] and positioned outside the non-display area (see at least Figs. 1a, 7a; ¶¶ 35, 50-52, disclosing a touch pad unit electrically connected to a touch driving circuit [109] and positioned outside the non-display area [BA, FA],)
wherein the touch routing line [110] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit (see at least Figs. 1a, 4, 7a; ¶¶ 35, 50-52,) and
wherein the touch routing line [110] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern (see at least Figs. 1b, 7b.)
As per claim 15, Liu discloses: wherein each of the first dam [105] and the second dam [106] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [FA, BA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 1a, 5, 7a.)
As per claim 16, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area [BA, FA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area (see at least Figs. 5, 7a.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. Liu further discloses the display device further comprising a common/cathode electrode disposed on the substrate [100] (see at least any of Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b; ¶ 27;) and the encapsulation layer [103] disposed on the common/cathode electrode (see at least any of Figs. 1b, 2, 6, 7b; ¶ 33.)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
As per claim 17, Liu discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area along an outer edge of the display area, and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is organic layer (see the rejection of claim 16) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see the rejection of claim 3.)
Accordingly, Liu discloses all limitations of this claim except that Liu discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being a closed ring type, but is silent to the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed.
Since this application discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being either a closed ring type (see Fig. 10) or an open ring type (see Fig. 11) and does not explicitly provide any different advantage/benefit or the particular shape used for any other purpose, such a modification between these two shapes would have involved a mere change in the shape of the surrounding organic pattern.
Moreover, a change in shape of an element was judicially recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, while Liu may not exemplify the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Liu display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
In the alternative, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, in a display device are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the Liu display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jimmy H Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626