DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The rejections of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the previous Office action dated 11/18/2025 have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
Notice to Applicant(s)
Examiner notes that the specification is not the measure of invention. Therefore, limitations contained therein can’t be read into the claims for the purpose of avoiding the prior art. See In re Sporck, 55 CCPA 743, 386 F.2d 924, 155 USPQ 687 (1968).
Further, the names/ terms of the features/elements used in the pending application or pending claims may be different from the names/terms of the matching features/ elements of the prior arts; however, the matching features/ elements of the prior arts contain all characteristics/ functions of the features/elements DEFINED by the pending claims.
Note that in order to avoid confusion, the below citations in the below rejection(s) are mere one or more places in the reference to disclose the "claimed" limitation(s) and/or are directed to one or more of embodiments disclosed by the cited reference(s). In other words, the “claimed” features/limitations may be read in other places in the reference or other embodiments of the reference. In order to better understand how the claimed limitations are taught by the reference(s), a review of the entire reference(s) is suggested by the examiner. Applicant is reminded a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention as not all relevant paragraphs may have been cited in the rejection. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 11,747,928 B2; hereinafter Lee.)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (see at least Figs. 1-3, 8, 9, 15) comprising:
a substrate [SUB; at least Fig. 9/15] including a display area [AA; at least Fig. 2] and a non-display area [NA; at least Fig. 2] positioned outside the display area (at least Fig. 2;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ED] disposed in the display area (at least Figs. 9/15/16/17;)
an encapsulation layer [ENCAP] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (at least Fig. 9/15/16/17;) and
a surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 15/16/17, disclosing a portion of the element BPAC disposed between the first dam DAM1 and the second dam DAM2 and having an upper surface flushed with an upper surface of a portion of the element [PAS2/PAS1] on the upper surface of the first dam DAM1 and an upper surface of another portion of the element [PAS2/PAS1] on the upper surface of the second dam DAM2) disposed in the non-display area [NA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;)
a first dam [DAM1] disposed in the non-display area [NA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;) and
a second dam [DAM2] disposed in the non-display area and positioned outside the first dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17,)
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed between the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] (see that above discussion; or see at least Fig. 15/16/17,) and in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 2, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] surrounding the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] in all directions (see at least Figs. 13, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 3, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, 14, 15/16/17; Col. 4:42-62; Col. 5:45-60, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern BPAC disconnected at a pad area, as a circuit connection area, to which one or more IC chips is electrically connected.)
As per claim 4, Lee discloses the display device further comprising:
wherein the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] is positioned on an inner side surface near the organic encapsulation layer [PCL] among side surfaces of the first dam [DAM1] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DAM1] and extends along an upper portion of the first dam [DAM1] (see at least Fig. 9/15/16/17,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS1] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 5, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 6, Lee discloses the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] positioned between the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 7, Lee discloses the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] extending beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DAM1], a valley formed between the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2], and an upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17,) and the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 8, Lee discloses the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal [EM; Fig. 5] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Figs. 5, 10, disclosing a touch electrode TE formed of a touch sensor metal EM and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer PAS2 via the element T-BUF;)
a touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see at least Figs. 8, 9, disclosing a touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and extending from the touch sensor metal [EM of TE] or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal [EM of TE];) and
a touch pad unit electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see at least Figs. 1, 8; Col. 4:28-48; Col. 5:53-60; Col. 11:41-56, disclosing a touch pad unit including at least touch pads [X-TP, Y-TP] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit TSC and positioned outside the non-display area NA,)
wherein the touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit (see at least Figs. 8, 15/16/17,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TL/X-TL/Y-TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claim 9, Lee discloses the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [T-BUF] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [PAS2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17,) wherein the touch inorganic layer [T-BUF] is disposed to extend along upper portions of the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2], and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
As per claims 10-11, Lee discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC]; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] (see at least Fig. 17; Col. 24:13-32, disclosing the element PAC construed to comprise: a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode TE formed of the touch sensor metal EM (see Fig. 5) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC]; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC].)
As per claim 15, Lee discloses: wherein each of the first dam [DAM1] and the second dam [DAM2] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 16, Lee discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed on the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 13, 15/16/17.)
As per claim 17, Lee discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is disposed on the non-display area [NA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Fig. 14,) and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] is an open ring type organic layer (see at least Fig. 14) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, 14, 15/16/17; Col. 4:42-62; Col. 5:45-60, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element BPAC] disconnected at a pad area, as a circuit connection area, to which one or more IC chips is electrically connected.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. Lee further discloses the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [SUB] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17;) and the encapsulation layer [ENCAP] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 15/16/17.)
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0258913 A1; hereinafter Park.)
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device [EA] (see at least Fig. 1B) comprising:
a substrate [BS] including a display area [AA] and a non-display area [NAA] positioned outside the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
a plurality of light emitting devices [ELD] disposed in the display area (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C;)
an encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and including an organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C;) and
a surrounding organic pattern (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing a portion of the element FL disposed between the first dam DM1 and the second dam DM2 and having an upper surface flushed with at least an upper surface of a portion of the element [63] on the upper surface of the first dam DM1) disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer periphery of the organic encapsulation layer [62] and surrounding at least a portion of the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;)
a first dam [DM1] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and located near or outside an inclined surface of the encapsulation layer [60] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C;) and
a second dam [DM2] disposed in the non-display area [NAA] and positioned outside the first dam [DM1] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disposed between the first dam [DM1] and the second dam [DM2] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and in a plan view, a width of an upper surface of the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is less than a distance between an inner edge of a bottom surface of the first dam and an outer edge of a bottom surface of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 2, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] surrounds the organic encapsulation layer [62] in all directions (see at least Figs. 2A, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 3, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see at least Figs. 1B, 2A, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 109, 207, disclosing the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] not extending to a pad area PA, as a circuit connection area, to which an integrated circuit 300/MB is bonded or electrically connected.)
As per claim 4, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
wherein the encapsulation layer [60] further includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] positioned under the organic encapsulation layer [62] and a second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] positioned on the organic encapsulation layer [62] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein the organic encapsulation layer [62] is positioned on an inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,)
wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] passes over a point on the inner side surface of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and extends along an upper portion of the first dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] overlaps with at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer [61] and the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 5, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 6, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is positioned between the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DN21] (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 7, Park discloses: wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] extends beyond the upper portion of the first dam [DM1/DM11], a valley formed between the first dam and the second dam, and an upper portion of the second dam to an outer edge of the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C,) and
wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is located on the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and is located in the valley formed between the first dam and the second dam (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C.)
As per claim 8, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
a touch sensor metal positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer (see at least Figs. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C; ¶ 139, disclosing the touch detection pattern SP formed of metal mesh lines and positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63;)
a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer and extending from the touch sensor metal or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B,5C, disclosing a touch routing line [TSL/TL] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 63 and extending from the touch sensor metal of the touch detection pattern SP or electrically connected to the touch sensor metal;) and
a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area (see at least Figs. 1B, 2C; ¶ 110; disclosing a touch pad unit [PDT/PD] electrically connected to a touch driving circuit and positioned outside the non-display area; also see Fig. 6C; ¶ 209 for an external touch driving unit, if necessary,)
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] is disposed along an inclined surface of the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] and is electrically connected to the touch pad unit [PDT/PD] (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C,) and
wherein the touch routing line [TSL/TL] overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL discussed in the rejection of claim 1] (see at least Figs. 2C, 3A/3B/3C.)
As per claim 9, Park discloses the display device further comprising a touch inorganic layer [SIL; Fig. 3B/3C] positioned on the second inorganic encapsulation layer [63] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C,) wherein the touch inorganic layer is disposed to extend along upper portions of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C) and overlaps the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] (see at least Fig. 3B/3C.)
As per claims 10-11, Park discloses the display device further comprising a sensor protective layer positioned on the touch sensor metal and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL]; and a top organic layer positioned on the sensor protective layer and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] (see at least Figs. 1B, 3A/3B/3C; ¶ 64, disclosing the window 100 comprising multiple layers including a lower portion, as the claimed sensor protective layer, positioned on the touch electrode SP formed of the touch sensor metal lines (see Fig. 2C; ¶ 139) and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern of the element FL; and an upper portion, as the claimed top organic layer, positioned on the lower portion, as the sensor protective layer, and overlapping with the surrounding organic pattern of the element FL.)
As per claim 12, Park discloses the display device further comprising:
an outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] disposed on the substrate [BS] in the non-display area [NAA], positioned under the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21], and overlapping with the first dam and the second dam (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and
at least one insulating layer [P1/P2/40] disposed between the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] and the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2], wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] overlaps with the outer power line (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 13, Park discloses: wherein the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] includes a base voltage line for supplying a base voltage applied to a common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 14, Park discloses the display device further comprising a gate driving circuit of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line and located in a bezel circuit layer on the substrate (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C, disclosing a gate driving circuit [TR-D/TR] of a Gate In Panel (GIP) type positioned near the outer power line [VSS1/VSS2] and located in a bezel circuit layer forming at least the elements [VSS1/VSS2, CL, IE, OE] and on the substrate BS.)
As per claim 15, Park discloses: wherein each of the first dam [DM1/DM11] and the second dam [DM2/DM21] is a ring type disposed in the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA] (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 16, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is disposed on the non-display area [NAA] along an outer edge of the display area [AA], and wherein the surrounding organic pattern [the above-discussed portion of the element FL] is a closed ring type organic layer and surrounds the display area (see at least Figs. 2A,3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claims 1, 4 and 6 for similar limitations. Park further discloses the display device further comprising a common electrode [E2] disposed on the substrate [BS] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C;) and the encapsulation layer [60] disposed on the common electrode [E2] (see at least Fig. 3A/3B/3C, 5A/5B/5C.)
As per claims 19-20,
As per claim 21, see the rejections of claims 1 and 12 for similar limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
As per claim 17, Park discloses: wherein the surrounding organic pattern is disposed on the non-display area along an outer edge of the display area, and wherein the surrounding organic pattern is organic layer (see the rejection of claim 16) and is disconnected at a circuit connection area to which an integrated circuit is bonded or electrically connected (see the rejection of claim 3.)
Accordingly, Park discloses all limitations of this claim except that Park discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being a closed ring type, but is silent to the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed.
Since this application discloses the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being either a closed ring type (see Fig. 10) or an open ring type (see Fig. 11) and does not explicitly provide any different advantage/benefit or the particular shape used for any other purpose, such a modification between these two shapes would have involved a mere change in the shape of the surrounding organic pattern.
Moreover, a change in shape of an element was judicially recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, while Park may not exemplify the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
In the alternative, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, in a display device are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the Park display device having the particular shape of the surrounding organic pattern being an open ring type, as desired as claimed, to obtain the same predictable result.
Conclusion
/Jimmy H Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626