Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment / Status of the Claims
Applicant is thanked for their 4/30/26 response to the Office Action dated 1/30/26. The amendment has been entered and, accordingly:
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, and 15 are amended.
Claim 23 is new.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 20-22 remain cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-19 and 23 are pending.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s remarks with respect to the amended claim set have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (CN1712780A) in view of Whipple Jr. (US6723970B1) and Henderson et al. (US3587557A, hereafter Henderson).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a ventilation system for an oven (“the technical solution adopted in the present invention is: a microwave oven, including a cavity, a ventilation fan assembly”), comprising:
a duct assembly (annotated Fig. A), including
vertical walls (annotated Fig. A) defining a vertical air flow path (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88. See “A part of the second air flow discharged through the vent 85 of the heater cover 81 is transmitted to the second side flow path 88” and “A first side flow path 87 is formed between one side of the side conduit 86 and a side surface of the cavity 50”) along a rear of a cavity wrapper of the oven (Figs. 2 and 4b, air duct 79 and walls of cooking cavity 51), and
a separator plate (annotated Fig. A) dividing the vertical air flow path into a first vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to left of separator plate) configured to receive a first air flow from oven electronics (Fig. 4b, second side flow path 88 and “airflow for cooling the high-voltage transformer 63 (hereinafter referred to as the second airflow)”) and a second vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to right of separator plate) configured to receive a second air flow from an oven cavity (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 (i.e., second airflow) and cooking chamber 51 (i.e., oven cavity). See “The function of the first side flow path 87 is to guide the first air flow discharged through the exhaust hole 52 after the circulation of the cooking chamber 51 to the lower flow path 89”), wherein the cavity wrapper defines an air outlet (Fig. 4b, exhaust holes 52) through a top rear surface of the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, the holes in insulation 62 are located at the top half of the rear wall forming cooking cavity 51), and
a top cap (Fig. 4b, air duct 79) located above the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, cooking chamber 51),
wherein the separator plate extends vertically downward between the vertical walls from the top of the vertical air flow path for a portion of a height of the oven (annotated Fig. A, separator plate extends vertically downward between the vertical walls from a top of the first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88 (i.e., vertical air flow path) for a portion of the height of the microwave oven) until a mixing zone (annotated Fig. B) at the side of the oven into which the first and second air flows combine into a combined air flow (Fig. 2, lower flow path 89. See “the second air flow will remove the water vapor inside the cooking chamber 51. The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87”) to be exhausted out of the oven (See “The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87, and is finally exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 57 at the front end of the lower flow path 89”).
[AltContent: textbox (Duct assembly)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertical walls)][AltContent: textbox (Separator
plate)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. A: Annotated copy of Fig. 4b from Bae showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mixing zone)]
Fig. B: Annotated copy of Fig. 4b from Bae showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
However, Bae does not disclose the duct assembly is a rear duct assembly, the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, a top cap located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap configured to direct the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly and the mixing zone is at the rear of the oven.
Whipple Jr. discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Whipple Jr. further discloses it is known for an airflow path (Fig. 2, airflow through inlet openings 81) to be positioned around the rear of an oven (Reference the location of convection fan assembly 107 between Figs. 1 and 2 to see the ventilation system 68, including the airflow through inlet openings 81, is positioned at the rear of the oven), more specifically for a rear duct assembly (Fig. 2, ventilation system 68) and a mixing zone (Fig. 2, zone within ventilation system 68 above divider element 30 where airflow from inlet openings 81 and fan assembly 90 mixes) to be at the rear of the oven (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone of Bae to be at the rear of the oven. Bae discloses the duct assembly and mixing zone but does not disclose they are located at the rear of the oven. Whipple Jr. shows that locating the duct assembly and mixing zone at the rear of the oven are equivalent locations known in the art. In particular, Whipple Jr. discloses “In addition, locating the ventilation system on the rear of the oven is done for illustrative purposes only, as other locations about the appliance are equally acceptable” (Col. 5, lines 41-45). Therefore, because the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the side location of the duct assembly and mixing zone as disclosed by Bae with the rear location as taught by Neal. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely directing airflow, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, and a top cap located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap configured to direct the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly.
Henderson discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Henderson further discloses it is known for an air outlet (Fig. 1, oven vent opening 108) to be located below an oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), and a top cap (Fig. 1, hollow housing 111) located above an oven cavity (Fig. 1, oven cavity 17) and below the oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), the top cap configured to direct a second air flow from the air outlet (Fig. 1, air flowing from oven cavity 17 through hollow housing 111) of the oven cavity into a duct assembly (Figs. 1 and 5, duct assembly directing airflow from smoke eliminator 110 (of which hollow housing 111 is a component) to outlet opening 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet and top cap of Bae, as modified above, to be located below the oven electronics as taught by Henderson, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e. below the oven electronics, behind and above the oven electronics). One could have expected the air outlet and top cap to perform substantially equally well, whether the air outlet was behind the oven electronics and the top cap was above the oven electronics or in their original position.
Regarding claim 2, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1, further comprising a channel (From Bae: Fig. 4b, channel formed by the outer surface of the bottom wall of cooking chamber 51 and the inner surface of the bottom wall of cavity 50 through which lower flow path 89 flows) extending from the rear of the oven (Examiner notes this limitation is necessarily met after the modification with Whipple Jr. in claim 1. To elaborate, given Whipple Jr. teaches an airflow path extending from the front to the rear of the oven, as explained in claim 1, the channel of Bae in view of Whipple Jr. must necessarily extend from the rear of the oven to a bottom front of the oven) to a bottom front of the oven (From Bae: Fig. 2, front vent 57 is located at a bottom front of the oven), the channel configured to receive the combined air flow to be exhausted out the front of the oven (From Bae: Figs. 2 and 4b, lower flow path 89 (i.e., combined air flow) and front vent 57, which located at the front of the oven. See “lower flow path 89…is finally exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 57 at the front end of the lower flow path 89”).
Regarding claim 6, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1, further comprising a fan (From Bae: Fig. 4a, exhaust fan 68 and “high-voltage transformer 63 is located close to the exhaust fan 68 on the rear side of the microwave oven among the exhaust fans 67 and 68”) configured to drive the first air flow (From Bae: Fig. 4b, second side flow path 88 and “airflow for cooling the high-voltage transformer 63 (hereinafter referred to as the second airflow)”) to draw heat away from the oven electronics (From Bae: “The second airflow flows leftward through the second row fan 68 to cool the high-voltage transformer 63 and then passes through the heater cover 81. At this time, the second airflow flows in from the vent portion 83 formed on one side of the heater cover 81 and is finally discharged through the vent port 85 formed on the opposite side of the vent portion 83.”).
Regarding claim 7, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1, wherein the oven electronics includes a transformer (From Bae: “airflow for cooling the high-voltage transformer 63 (hereinafter referred to as the second airflow)”).
Regarding claim 8, Bae discloses a ventilating oven, comprising (“the technical solution adopted in the present invention is: a microwave oven, including a cavity, a ventilation fan assembly”):
oven electronics (Fig. 4a, high voltage transformer 63);
a cavity wrapper (Figs. 2 and 4b, air duct 79 and walls of cooking cavity 51) defining an oven cavity (Fig. 4b, cooking chamber 51), the oven cavity having an access opening (Fig. 2, opening in front panel 55 through which cooking chamber 51 is accessed) and walls at the top, left side, right side, back, and bottom (Figs. 2 and 4b, walls of cooking cavity 51); and
a duct assembly (annotated Fig. A),
including vertical walls (annotated Fig. A) defining a vertical air flow path (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88. See “A part of the second air flow discharged through the vent 85 of the heater cover 81 is transmitted to the second side flow path 88” and “A first side flow path 87 is formed between one side of the side conduit 86 and a side surface of the cavity 50”) along the back of the cavity wrapper (Figs. 2 and 4b, air duct 79 and walls of cooking cavity 51), and
a separator plate (annotated Fig. A) dividing the vertical air flow path into a first vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to left of separator plate) configured to receive a first air flow from oven electronics (Fig. 4b, second side flow path 88 and “airflow for cooling the high-voltage transformer 63 (hereinafter referred to as the second airflow)”) and a second vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to right of separator plate) configured to receive a second air flow from an oven cavity (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 (i.e., second airflow) and cooking chamber 51 (i.e., oven cavity). See “The function of the first side flow path 87 is to guide the first air flow discharged through the exhaust hole 52 after the circulation of the cooking chamber 51 to the lower flow path 89”), wherein the cavity wrapper defines an air outlet (Fig. 4b, exhaust holes 52) through a top rear surface of the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, the holes in insulation 62 are located at the top half of the rear wall forming cooking cavity 51), and
a top cap (Fig. 4b, air duct 79) located above the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, cooking chamber 51),
wherein the separator plate extends vertically downward between the vertical walls from the top of the vertical air flow path for a portion of a height of the oven (annotated Fig. A, separator plate extends vertically downward between the vertical walls from a top of the first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88 (i.e., vertical air flow path) for a portion of the height of the microwave oven) until a mixing zone (annotated Fig. B) at the side of the oven behind the cavity wrapper (Figs. 2 and 4b, air duct 79 and walls of cooking cavity 51. The mixing zone shown in annotated Fig. B is at least at the side of the oven behind the walls of cooking cavity 51 shown in Fig. 2) into which the first and second air flows combine into a combined air flow (Fig. 2, lower flow path 89. See “the second air flow will remove the water vapor inside the cooking chamber 51. The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87”) to be exhausted out of the oven (See “The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87, and is finally exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 57 at the front end of the lower flow path 89”).
However, Bae does not disclose the duct assembly is a rear duct assembly, the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, a top cap located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap configured to direct the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly and the mixing zone is at the rear of the oven behind the back of the cavity wrapper.
Whipple Jr. discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Whipple Jr. further discloses it is known for an airflow path (Fig. 2, airflow through inlet openings 81) to be positioned around the rear of an oven (Reference the location of convection fan assembly 107 between Figs. 1 and 2 to see the ventilation system 68, including the airflow through inlet openings 81, is positioned at the rear of the oven), more specifically for a rear duct assembly (Fig. 2, ventilation system 68) and a mixing zone (Fig. 2, zone within ventilation system 68 above divider element 30 where airflow from inlet openings 81 and fan assembly 90 mixes) to be at the rear of the oven (Fig. 2) behind the back a cavity wrapper (Fig. 1, cavity formed by rear portion 33, side portions 31, bottom portion 27, and upper portion 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone of Bae to be at the rear of the oven. Bae discloses the duct assembly and mixing zone but does not disclose they are located at the rear of the oven. Whipple Jr. shows that locating the duct assembly and mixing zone at the rear of the oven are equivalent locations known in the art. In particular, Whipple Jr. discloses “In addition, locating the ventilation system on the rear of the oven is done for illustrative purposes only, as other locations about the appliance are equally acceptable” (Col. 5, lines 41-45). Therefore, because the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the side location of the duct assembly and mixing zone as disclosed by Bae with the rear location as taught by Neal. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely directing airflow, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, and a top cap located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap configured to direct the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly.
Henderson discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Henderson further discloses it is known for an air outlet (Fig. 1, oven vent opening 108) to be located below an oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), and a top cap (Fig. 1, hollow housing 111) located above an oven cavity (Fig. 1, oven cavity 17) and below the oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), the top cap configured to direct a second air flow from the air outlet (Fig. 1, air flowing from oven cavity 17 through hollow housing 111) of the oven cavity into a duct assembly (Figs. 1 and 5, duct assembly directing airflow from smoke eliminator 110 (of which hollow housing 111 is a component) to outlet opening 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet and top cap of Bae, as modified above, to be located below the oven electronics as taught by Henderson, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e. below the oven electronics, behind and above the oven electronics). One could have expected the air outlet and top cap to perform substantially equally well, whether the air outlet was behind the oven electronics and the top cap was above the oven electronics or in their original position.
Regarding claim 9, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 2 above. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 6 above. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 7 above. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, Bae discloses a method for ventilating an oven ((“the technical solution adopted in the present invention is: a microwave oven, including a cavity, a ventilation fan assembly”), comprising:
receiving a first air flow from oven electronics (“airflow for cooling the high-voltage transformer 63 (hereinafter referred to as the second airflow)”) into a first vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to left of separator plate) of a vertical air flow path (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88. See “A part of the second air flow discharged through the vent 85 of the heater cover 81 is transmitted to the second side flow path 88” and “A first side flow path 87 is formed between one side of the side conduit 86 and a side surface of the cavity 50”) along a cavity wrapper of the oven (Figs. 2 and 4b, air duct 79 and walls of cooking chamber 51);
receiving a second air flow from an oven cavity (Fig. 4b, first side flow path 87 (i.e., second airflow) and cooking chamber 51 (i.e., oven cavity). See “The function of the first side flow path 87 is to guide the first air flow discharged through the exhaust hole 52 after the circulation of the cooking chamber 51 to the lower flow path 89”) into a second vertical chamber (annotated Fig. A, chamber to right of separator plate) of the vertical air flow path, the first and second vertical chambers being defined by a separator plate extending vertically downward between vertical walls from a top of the vertical air flow path for a portion of a height of the oven (annotated Fig. A, separator plate extends vertically downward between the vertical walls from a top of the first side flow path 87 and second side flow path 88 (i.e., vertical air flow path) for a portion of the height of the microwave oven) until a mixing zone (annotated Fig. B), wherein the cavity wrapper defines an air outlet (Fig. 4b, exhaust holes 52) through a top rear surface of the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, the holes in insulation 62 are located at the top half of the rear wall forming cooking cavity 51), wherein a top cap (Fig. 4b, air duct 79) located above the oven cavity (Fig. 4b, cooking chamber 51); and
combining, in the mixing zone, the first and second air flows into a combined air flow (Fig. 4b, lower flow path 89. See “the second air flow will remove the water vapor inside the cooking chamber 51. The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87”).
However, Bae does not disclose the duct assembly is a rear duct assembly, the first vertical air flow path is along the rear of a cavity wrapper, the mixing zone is at the rear of the oven, and the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, a top cap is located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap directing the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly.
Whipple Jr. discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Whipple Jr. further discloses it is known for an airflow path (Fig. 2, airflow through inlet openings 81) to be positioned around the rear of an oven (Reference the location of convection fan assembly 107 between Figs. 1 and 2 to see the ventilation system 68, including the airflow through inlet openings 81, is positioned at the rear of the oven), more specifically for a rear duct assembly (Fig. 2, ventilation system 68) and a mixing zone (Fig. 2, zone within ventilation system 68 above divider element 30 where airflow from inlet openings 81 and fan assembly 90 mixes) to be at the rear of the oven (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone of Bae to be at the rear of the oven. Bae discloses the duct assembly and mixing zone but does not disclose they are located at the rear of the oven. Whipple Jr. shows that locating the duct assembly and mixing zone at the rear of the oven are equivalent locations known in the art. In particular, Whipple Jr. discloses “In addition, locating the ventilation system on the rear of the oven is done for illustrative purposes only, as other locations about the appliance are equally acceptable” (Col. 5, lines 41-45). Therefore, because the locations of the duct assembly and mixing zone were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the side location of the duct assembly and mixing zone as disclosed by Bae with the rear location as taught by Neal. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely directing airflow, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose the air outlet being located below the oven electronics, and a top cap is located above the oven cavity and below the oven electronics, the top cap directing the second air flow from the air outlet of the oven cavity into the rear duct assembly.
Henderson discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Henderson further discloses it is known for an air outlet (Fig. 1, oven vent opening 108) to be located below an oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), and a top cap (Fig. 1, hollow housing 111) located above an oven cavity (Fig. 1, oven cavity 17) and below the oven electronic (Fig. 1, electric motor 78), the top cap configured to direct a second air flow from the air outlet (Fig. 1, air flowing from oven cavity 17 through hollow housing 111) of the oven cavity into a duct assembly (Figs. 1 and 5, duct assembly directing airflow from smoke eliminator 110 (of which hollow housing 111 is a component) to outlet opening 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air outlet and top cap of Bae, as modified above, to be located below the oven electronics as taught by Henderson, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed air outlet and top cap was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e. below the oven electronics, behind and above the oven electronics). One could have expected the air outlet and top cap to perform substantially equally well, whether the air outlet was behind the oven electronics and the top cap was above the oven electronics or in their original position.
Regarding claim 16, Bae, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving the combined air (From Bae: Fig. 4b, lower flow path 89 and “the second air flow will remove the water vapor inside the cooking chamber 51. The airflow then flows into the lower flow path 89 communicating with the first side flow path 87”) flow into a channel (From Bae: Fig. 4b, channel formed by the outer surface of the bottom wall of cooking chamber 51 and the inner surface of the bottom wall of cavity 50 through which lower flow path 89 flows) extending from the rear of the oven (Examiner notes this limitation is necessarily met after the modification with Whipple Jr. in claim 15. To elaborate, given Whipple Jr. teaches an airflow path extending from the front to the rear of the oven, as explained in claim 15, the channel of Bae in view of Whipple Jr. must necessarily extend from the rear of the oven to a bottom front of the oven) to a bottom front of the oven (From Bae: Fig. 2, front vent 57 is located at a bottom front of the oven); and exhausting the combined air flow out a front vent of the oven (From Bae: Figs. 2, front vent 57 and “lower flow path 89…is finally exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 57 at the front end of the lower flow path 89”).
Regarding claim 19, Bae, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising utilizing a fan (From Bae: Fig. 4a, exhaust fan 68 and “high-voltage transformer 63 is located close to the exhaust fan 68 on the rear side of the microwave oven among the exhaust fans 67 and 68”) to drive the first air flow to draw heat away from the oven electronics (From Bae: “The second airflow flows leftward through the second row fan 68 to cool the high-voltage transformer 63 and then passes through the heater cover 81. At this time, the second airflow flows in from the vent portion 83 formed on one side of the heater cover 81 and is finally discharged through the vent port 85 formed on the opposite side of the vent portion 83.”).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (CN1712780A) in view of in view of Whipple Jr. (US6723970B1) and Henderson et al. (US3587557A, hereafter Henderson) and further in view of Newell Jr et al (US 3081763 A, hereafter Newell) and Scherer (US 4163894 A).
Regarding claim 4, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose insulation formed to surround top, bottom, side, and back walls of the cavity wrapper to reduce heat losses from the oven cavity, wherein the insulation defines a slot to hold the top cap of the cavity wrapper in place to permit passage of the second air flow from the air outlet.
Newell discloses an oven (Col. 1, lines 14-15) similar to the present invention and Newell further discloses it is known for insulation to surround top, bottom, side, and back walls of a cavity wrapper (Fig. 1 and “Insulation 26 must be placed around the oven liner to 35 retain as much of the heat as possible within the oven cavity… A typical insulation is a fiber glass insulation that is formed in batts and is placed against the outer surface of the walls of an oven liner”) to reduce heat losses from a oven cavity (“Insulation 26 must be placed around the oven liner to 35 retain as much of the heat as possible within the oven cavity so that less heat is wasted into the room”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the oven of Bae to include the insulation of Newell in order to reduce heat losses (As suggested by Newell: “Insulation 26 must be placed around the oven liner to 35retain as much of the heat as possible within the oven cavity so that less heat is wasted into the room”) and thereby increase energy efficiency and decrease the time needed to bring the oven up to the proper temperature (As suggested by Newell: ” Insulation 26 must be placed around the oven liner to 35 retain as much of the heat as possible within the oven cavity so that less heat is wasted into the room and less time is needed for bringing the oven up to the proper cooking or heat cleaning temperature”)
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose the insulation defines a slot to hold a top cap of the cavity wrapper in place to permit passage of the second air flow from the air outlet.
Scherer discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Scherer further discloses it is known for insulation (Figs. 2 and 3, insulation 62) to define a slot (Fig. 3, slot or narrow passage above aperture 60 in which vent tube 58 is positioned) to hold a top cap (Fig. 3, vent tube 58. Vent tube 58 is located at the top of the oven and is a cover or overlaying structure, therefore vent tube 58 a ‘top cap’) of a cavity wrapper (Figs. 2 and 3, liner 56) in place to permit passage of an air flow (Fig. 3, arrows 32, which represent airflow) from an air outlet (Fig. 3, aperture 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the teachings of Scherer to Bae by adding a slot to support Bae’s top cap in order to receive gases from the cooking chamber and convey them to a duct (As suggested by Scherer: “A vent tube 58 is positioned to receive gases from the eliminator panel 54 through an aperture 60 in the top of oven liner 56… Vent tube 58 enters discharge duct 48 through inlet 47 and discharges oven gases and smoke into duct 48”) and thereby use insulation to prevent heat loss while still enabling gases to exit the oven (As suggested by Scherer: “Vent tube 58 enters discharge duct 48 through inlet 47 and discharges oven gases and smoke into duct 48, where it is diluted and cooled by the air which is introduced by diluter tube 46. The diluted gases then pass through discharge duct 48 and are exhausted out the front of the oven through louvers 64”) to prevent trapped steam from bursting food.
Regarding claim 11, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 4 above. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 4 above.
Claims 5, 12, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (CN1712780A)in view of Whipple Jr. (US6723970B1) and Henderson et al. (US3587557A, hereafter Henderson) and further in view of Armstrong et al (US 20210172610 A1, hereafter Armstrong).
Regarding claim 5, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose one or more humidity sensors located in the second air flow configured to measure humidity of the second air flow before the mixing zone.
Armstrong discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Armstrong further discloses it is known for one humidity sensor (Fig. 11, humidity sensor 110) located in a second air flow (Fig. 11, air flowing through enclosed volume 114, as compared to either of the air flows flowing in transverse direction T) to measure humidity of the second air flow before a mixing zone (Fig. 11, zone after active flow exit 118. See “the active flow may enter sensor enclosure 112 from oven vent 86 or duct 112 through active flow entrance 116 and pass to enclosed volume 114…From enclosed volume 114, the active flow may pass through active flow exit 118 (e.g., to a surrounding portion of cabinet 12). After exiting sensor enclosure 112, the active flow may mix or entrain with a separate airflow (e.g., having exiting duct 112 through the second outlet path 130 of air outlet 126)“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the oven of Bae to include the humidity sensor, controller 58, and display 64 as disclosed by Armstrong in order to measure humidity (As suggested by Armstrong: “humidity sensor 110 may advantageously measure humidity from exhaust flow 90”) and thereby make it easier for the user to cook to their desired preferences and/or cook with recipes that have specific humidity requirements (As suggested by Armstrong: “Controller 58 can also obtain humidity measurements and, for example, provide a humidity indication to the user with display 64.”).
Regarding claim 12, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 5 above. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 18, these limitations are recited in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 5 above. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 23, Bae, as modified above, discloses the ventilation system of claim 1.
However, Bae, as modified above, does not disclose one or more sensors placed in the rear duct assembly to separately monitor one or more parameters of the first and second air flows
Armstrong discloses an oven (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Armstrong further discloses it is known to have one sensor (Fig. 8, humidity sensor 110) placed in a duct assembly (Fi. 8, enclosed volume 114) to separately monitor one parameter (humidity) of a first (Fig. 8, airflow flowing through enclosed volume 114) and second air flows (Fig. 8, exhaust flow 90. Note the presence of humidity sensor 110 in enclosed volume 114 necessarily means it monitors the humidity of the airflow flowing through enclosed volume 114 but not the humidity of exhaust flow 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the oven of Bae to include the humidity sensor, controller 58, and display 64 as disclosed by Armstrong in order to measure humidity (As suggested by Armstrong: “humidity sensor 110 may advantageously measure humidity from exhaust flow 90”) and thereby make it easier for the user to cook to their desired preferences and/or cook with recipes that have specific humidity requirements (As suggested by Armstrong: “Controller 58 can also obtain humidity measurements and, for example, provide a humidity indication to the user with display 64.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Barnett (US 3882843 A) discloses a rear duct assembly with a mixing zone at the rear of the oven.
Gostelow et al. (GB 2255632 A) discloses a rear duct assembly with a mixing zone at the rear of the oven.
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762