REMARKS
1. On pages 6-7 of the remark Applicant argued prior art fails to disclose “receiving, from at least one meter, data related to non-smart devices at the plurality of locations,”
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art Garud at [0006] discloses an integrated system and method that may be used to disaggregate energy profile for one or more appliances installed in a non-smart meter home. Here one or more appliances installed in a non-smart meter home corresponding to non-smart devices. Furthermore, there is a need for a system and method that may utilize machine learning models and statistical tools to forecasts and projects electricity bill, mid-cycle consumption, end-of-cycle consumption, disaggregation for non-smart homes. [0035] discloses the supervised learning model may be used to derive insights about non-smart meter home data. [0042] discloses the disaggregation of non-smart meter home may be provided by applying a rule-based model. The inputs used to decide the output disaggregated non-smart meter home data are an assumption of a set of appliances and corresponding usage in a given time-period for a given home of a specific size, type, demographic features, geographical location, etc. Fig.1: Step 112; [0044] discloses forecasting and projecting at least one of electricity bill, mid-cycle consumption, end-of-cycle consumption, disaggregation for non-smart homes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 11,880,255 to Maney et al. (hereinafter Maney) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2021/0125129 to Vega et al. (hereinafter Vega) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0370913 to Garud et al. (hereinafter Garud)
As to claims 1 and 15, Maney discloses a method comprising:
receiving data from a plurality of locations, the data for each location within the plurality of location being related to one or more smart devices operating at a respective location of the plurality of locations (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3:102; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25 shows and discloses anergy usage computing system 16 receives data from sensors that are located within devices 26. Col. 3, lines 63-67 discloses the deice could be smart device and also discloses plurality of locations that includes devices 26);
determining energy usage at the plurality of locations based on the data (Maney; Fig.3: 104; Fig.5; Col. 4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25 shows and discloses of determining energy usages by the devices wherein the devices are located in the plurality of locations of a home or residential building); and
providing a dashboard with a graphical user interface (GUI) visualizing the energy usage based on geographic location of the plurality of locations (Maney; Abstract; Fig.3; Fig.5; Col. 10, lines 65-67 and Col. 11., lines 1-11. Shows and discloses of energy used for a plurality of devices in a particular location)
Maney discloses smart devices and other devices, but fails to explicitly disclose providing a dashboard with a graphical user interface (GUI) visualizing additional energy usage based on geographic location of the plurality of locations. However, Vega discloses
providing a dashboard with a graphical user interface (GUI) visualizing additional energy usage based on geographic location of the plurality of locations (Vega; [0061]; [0174]-[0175]; [0179] discloses of determining energy usage of the smart devices and other devices and also discloses of graphical representation of the energy usage by the smart device and other devices)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings so that user can make a decision based on the energy used by the other devices
Maney-Vega discloses smart devices and other devices, but fails to explicitly disclose receiving, from at least one meter, data related to non-smart devices at the plurality of locations. However, Garud discloses
receiving, from at least one meter, data related to non-smart devices at the plurality of locations (Garud; Fig.4; [0004]; [0035]; [0042]; [0056] shows and discloses of receiving non-smart meter data from plurality of locations);
the determination further comprising estimating additional energy usage based on the received meter data related to the non-smart devices at the plurality of locations (Garud; Fig.4; [0004]; [0035]; [0042]; [0056] shows and discloses of determining energy used by the non-smart devices)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to disaggregate energy profile for one or more appliances installed in a non-smart meter home
As to claims 2 and 16, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses wherein the data further includes a device type of the one or more smart devices with the device type determined by a local network at the respective location (Maney; Fig.3; Col. 7, lines 1-25 shows and discloses different type of devices (i.e water meter, gas meter, electrical meter etc.).
As to claims 3 and 17, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
providing a visualization based on the device type of the one or more smart devices, in a determined region based on the geographic location (Maney; Fig.5; Col. 10, lines 65-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-11).
As to claims 4 and 18, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
automatically adjusting power or turning off any of the one or more smart devices based on a given device type (Maney; Fig.4; Col. 4, lines 64-67 and Col. 5, lines 1-48).
As to claims 5 and 19, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
utilizing the device type of the one or more smart devices to provide messages to associated users, with the messages including instructions or recommendations (Maney; Fig.4; Col. 4, lines 64-67 and Col. 5, lines 1-48).
As to claims 6, the rejection of claim 5 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
determining power savings based on the messages to associated users and providing a visualization of the power savings to determine engagement (Maney; Fig.5: 314).
As to claims 7, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses wherein the geographic location is based on grid zones (Maney; Fig.1 shows locations 12, 14 are property and vehicle corresponding to the geographic location is based on grid zones).
As to claims 8 and 20, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
causing the one or more smart devices to implement power savings approaches (Maney; Fig.5: 314)
As to claims 10, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses wherein the determining further includes estimating the additional energy usage based on additional locations (Maney; Col. 3; lines 12-62 discloses smart devices and other devices (=non-smart devices) for different locations)
As to claims 11, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses wherein the receiving is from a meter having middleware installed thereon (Maney; Fig.3; Col. 7, lines 1-25 shows and discloses different type of devices (i.e water meter, gas meter, electrical meter etc.)
As to claims 12, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
receiving consent from a given user associated with a given location, the consent for any of turning off the one or more smart devices, for reducing power to the one or more smart devices, and time windows for participation (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3; Fig.4; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25); and
controlling the one or more smart devices based on the consent (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3; Fig.4; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25).
As to claims 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
communicating to an application on a user device of a given user associated with a given location (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3; Fig.4; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25); and
providing a dashboard in the application providing energy usage at the given location (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3; Fig.4; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25).
As to claims 14, the rejection of claim 13 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses further comprising:
receiving preferences from the given user via the application (Maney; Abstract; Fig.1; Fig.3; Fig.4; Col. 3, lines 63-67; Col. 4, lines 1-22; Col.4, lines 40-55; Col. 7, lines 1-25).
4. Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 11,880,255 to Maney et al. (hereinafter Maney) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2021/0125129 to Vega et al. (hereinafter Vega) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0370913 to Garud et al. (hereinafter Garud) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2021/0123771 to Vega et al. (hereinafter Vega 1)
As to claim 9, Maney-Vega-Garud discloses wireless network, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the method is implemented by a cloud service and the receiving is from a Wi-Fi network. However, Vega 1 discloses
wherein the method is implemented by a cloud service and the receiving is from a Wi-Fi network (Vega 1; [0171]; [0342]).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide service for a particular wireless communication protocol
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478