Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 14 and 15 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramstad et. al. (US 20160089668 A1) in view of Beckbissingerde et. al. (DE 102013214859 A1), English translation and Elizarov et. al. (KR 20080044306 A), English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Ramstad teaches “A system for providing fluids,” (Title, Fluidic cartridges, systems).
Ramstad teaches two components and the first being a container within (Para [0020], FIG. 9 illustrates an alignment stage of a mating operation between a portion of the fluidic cartridge of FIG. 2 and a portion of the system base). Therefore, the fluidic cartridge is the first component.
Ramstad does not explicitly teach the container being a rotationally symmetric container as recited within “comprising two components, wherein – a first component is a rotationally symmetric container”.
However, Beckbissingerde teaches a sample container, sampling device and a seal. In addition to, “comprising two components, wherein – a first component is a rotationally symmetric container”. (Page 5, The following direction, for example, when the container body has an at least partially rotationally symmetrical, such as conical or cylindrical, sample receiving volume, an axial direction along the rotational axis of symmetry (cone axis, cylinder axis)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Beckbissingerde wherein the container is rotationally symmetric. Doing so provides for a container to be used with a system which rotates the container about an axis allowing the container to be move to its optimal location without the need of moving other parts within the device. Having a container which is cylindrical in shape which is classified as a rotationally symmetric container is well known in the art.
Ramstad further teaches “with at least one first reservoir for taking up a liquid and” ([0053] and Fig 1, having reservoirs 125 may be exposed so that liquids may be provided to the reservoirs 125);
“a second reservoir” ([0096] and Fig. 11, reservoirs 125, the reservoir 212 may be vented to enable full transfer of the liquid 340. For example, a vent or hole may be provided within the cover (not shown) of the fluidic cartridge 200. reservoirs 125. In some cases, a top foil may seal an open end of the reservoir 212. When flow of the liquid 340 is desired, the foil may be pierced or removed. Alternatively, a hydrophobic porous frit or a duck-bill valve may be used to allow air into the reservoir 212).
The recitation “embodied as an air-filled ventilation duct,” is a capability of the vent hole. Ramstad discloses the reservoir 212 of Ramstad may be vented shows the reservoir 212 comprises is a ventilation duct.
Ramstad further teaches “wherein said first and second reservoir are sealed with a seal, and” (Para [0030], The reservoirs may be in flow communication with transfer tubes that are operably coupled to movable seals. Para [0096] When flow of the liquid 340 is desired, the foil may be pierced or removed. Alternatively, a hydrophobic porous frit or a duck-bill valve may be used to allow air into the reservoir 212);
“a second component which is a dock for taking up the rotationally symmetric container,” ([0020] and Fig. 1, 102, FIG. 9 illustrates an alignment stage of a mating operation between a portion of the fluidic cartridge of FIG. 2 and a portion of the system base).
Ramstad does not explicitly teach “wherein the dock comprises an inner bottom surface comprising first formations for fluid piercing of the rotationally symmetric container's at least one first reservoir for taking up a fluid and second formations for piercing of the rotationally symmetric container's second reservoir for ventilation”.
However, Ramstad further teaches piercing of the seal by the cartridge (container) when movement of the system base happens within (Fig. 1, [0008], and [0011], the base projections 134 and 136 on the system base which allow transfer of fluid when the fluidic cartridge are mated with the system base and the transfer tube and movable seal is engaged with the base projections.)
In addition to teaching the system being vented by use of a hole as stated in claim 1, ([0096] and Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, reservoirs 125, the reservoir 212 may be vented to enable full transfer of the liquid 340. For example, a vent or hole may be provided within the cover (not shown) of the fluidic cartridge 200. reservoirs 125.))
Therefore, it would have been within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ramstad by having the system base (dock) comprise fluid piercing of the container seals, since the piercing does not happen until the movement of the system base (dock) and the system base (dock) has a location in which a piercing feature could be attached. This piercing would create a hole which is taught useful in venting the system.
It would have been a matter of an obvious engineering choice, to better adjust the system base (dock) to accommodate formations for piercing. In addition, having the formations on the system base (dock) would decrease the chance of contamination within the cartridge (container).
Ramstad further teaches “wherein said inner bottom surface is a drain plate comprising a drain,” (Fig. 1 and Para [0056], a waste reservoir 158 connected using the fluidic network 152).
Ramstad further teaches a locking mechanism can be used to maintain engagement between the fluidic cartridge and the system base (Para [0090] and [0092-0094], Although not shown, a locking mechanism (e.g., clamp) may be used to maintain the engagement between the fluidic cartridge 200 and the system base 320 throughout operation. As shown, the outer surface 258 of the container body 244 or the retaining element 245 may interface with the surface 328 of the system base 320. In the final displaced position, the fluidic port 232 has cleared the seal membrane 272 such that the liquid 340 is permitted to flow through the fluidic port 232 of the transfer tube 242 and into the fluidic port 326 of the system base 320. The fluidic cartridge 200 and the system base 320 may include complementary alignment features (e.g., pins and holes, ribs and grooves, etc.). that may be used to ensure alignment between the fluidic cartridge 200 with the system base 320.)
Ramstad does not explicitly teach “wherein the rotationally symmetric container has fins on its outer edge which engage into two parallel arranged recesses at the inner side surface of the dock for fixing the rotationally symmetric container within the dock in a first position when the fins of the rotationally symmetric container engage in a first recess which is a storage snap fit or a second position when the fins of the rotationally symmetric container engage in second recess at the inner side surface which is a retain snap fit.”
However, Elizarov teaches a fluidic structure is provided wherein mechanical actuation is conferred using a pin to actuate a flexible layer to occlude fluid flow in a fluid channel in addition to having fins between the container and dock (Pages 3, 6, 7 and Fig. 6, a variety of materials that can be used as pins, it may be desirable to use through-hole fins (e.g., through-hole metal tubes) or any shape that is not sharp. Actuating one fin to drive said second layer such that said second layer occludes said at least one fluidic channel. The fin plate 205 which houses the fins 10 is mounted on the flow structure above the flow device 215.) Therefore, having the fins between the flow device and having them drive the second layer which closes a fluidic channel teaches the fins joining two components such as (container and dock).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Elizarov wherein the fins are located within the container which engage with the dock. Doing so would allow the system to securely lock in place and decrease the changes of contamination and leaking.
Regarding claim 2, Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 in addition to “wherein the first and second reservoir are sealed with a single seal.”. (Para [0065], After filling the liquids within the corresponding reservoirs 212, a cover (not shown) may be applied to the non-mating side 204 to seal the liquid containers 210 at one end. The cover may be similar to the cover 122 (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach “wherein a distal end of each fin of the rotationally symmetric container is angled towards the upper side of the rotationally symmetric container.”. However Ramstad does teach that it is known to include a locking mechanism between the base and the container (fluidic cartridge) . Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, it would also be an obvious choice to have the container have fins angled towards the upper side of the container in order to connect to the dock (system base).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach “wherein the fins are made of an elastic material.” However, Ramstad does teach elastic materials are used at the interface of the base and the fluidic cartridge to aid in sealing. Therefore it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ramstad by having fins made of elastic material, since Ramstad does teach elastic material which is used in the sealing of the two components. In addition, having a fin which is elastic provides a device in which the system is able to form a locking seal when the two components are matted together.
Regarding claim 11, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above in addition to “comprising further reservoirs for fluids.” (Para [0030] and [0063], Each of the reservoirs 212, The fluid-interconnect assemblies and fluidic cartridges may include reservoirs that hold a liquid. The reservoirs may be in flow communication with transfer tubes that are operably coupled to movable seals.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above in addition to “comprising formations for fluid piercing with different heights for a fluid release depending from the position of the rotationally symmetric container in the dock.” (Para [0089], As shown, the base projection 324 extends a height 325 from the surface 328. The height 325 may be configured relative to a desired displacement distance of the movable seal 223 and to achieve a desired compression of the movable seal 223 after the mating operation). Therefore, when the base system (dock) is moved for the mating operation with the cartridge (container) the heights are different.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above in addition to “wherein each reservoir has a separate seal.” (Fig. 1 and [0055], seals 144 and 146).
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramstad et. al. (US 20160089668 A1) in view of Beckbissingerde et. al. (DE 102013214859 A1), English translation and Elizarov et. al. (KR 20080044306 A), English translation as applied to claim 1 and in view of Boehm et. al. (US 10416054 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the seal is a foil.”
Boehm teaches “wherein the seal is a foil.” (Column 12 lines 34-35, This creates depressions in the formed 35 portion 1202 that are then sealed in the back with a foil 1204).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Boehm wherein the seal is foil. Doing so would allow for decreased chances of evaporation of the fluid within the reservoir.
Regarding claim 4, Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the second reservoir is centrally arranged and surrounded by the at least one first reservoir.”
Boehm teaches “wherein the second reservoir is centrally arranged and surrounded by the at least one first reservoir.” (Fig. 4 and Abstract, the capillary structure which has a curved portion and an outer channel 410 and central region 408).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Boehm the second reservoir is centrally arranged and surrounded by the at least one first reservoir. Doing so allows for a more compact system in addition to allowing the reservoir with the vent to be in close contact with the reservoir with the fluid.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the second reservoir is a centered in the inner volume of the rotationally symmetric container.”
Boehm teaches “wherein the second reservoir is a centered in the inner volume of the rotationally symmetric container.” (Fig. 4 and Abstract, the capillary structure which has a curved portion and an outer channel 410 and central region 408).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Boehm the second reservoir is centrally arranged and surrounded by the at least one first reservoir. Doing so allows for a more compact system in addition to allowing the reservoir with the vent to be in close contact with the reservoir with the fluid.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the rotationally symmetric container has a cylindrical shape.”.
Boehm teaches “wherein the container has a cylindrical shape.” (Fig. 11, blood collector is cylindrical shape).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Boehm the second reservoir is centrally arranged and surrounded by the at least one first reservoir. Doing so allows for a more compact system in addition to improving fluid dynamics.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramstad et. al. (US 20160089668 A1) in view of Beckbissingerde et. al. (DE 102013214859 A1), English translation and Elizarov et. al. (KR 20080044306 A), English translation as applied to claim 1 and in view of Rajagopal et. al. (US 10639628 B2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above in addition to teaching within (Para [0071], that the reservoir within the cartridge (container) may be configured to facilitate draining liquid by using the outlet port 230 but does not explicitly teach “wherein the inner bottom surface of the rotationally symmetric container is a drain plate comprising a drain”.
Rajagopal teaches a sample detection container with a microcavity which houses a liquid in addition to “wherein the inner bottom surface of the container is a drain plate comprising a drain”. (Fig 1 and Abstract and Column 31 lines 32-36, container 102 which attaches to cap 104. In which as the container is tilted, the liquid (e.g., the supernatant of the sample) drains out of the container through a thin film of liquid that forms along the lower surface of the container).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopal wherein the inner bottom surface of the container is a drain plate comprising a drain. Doing so allows the system to drain unwanted parts within the fluid as taught within Rajagopal.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ramstad teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the fins of the rotationally symmetric container are arranged directly next to another so that the rotationally symmetric container is surrounded by a ring formed by the fins.”.
Rajagopal teaches “wherein the fins of the container are arranged directly next to another so that the container is surrounded by a ring formed by the fins.”. (Fig 1 and Column 18 lines 42-50, the sample detection container 102 includes an outer surface 122 that includes one or more tracks or threads 123 adjacent the open end 114. Fig. 1 depicts at least 3 threads (fins) directly next to each other (nothing between them) and they are surrounding the ring.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ramstad to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopal the fins of the container are arranged directly next to another so that the container is surrounded by a ring formed by the fins. Doing so allows for multiple fins arranged next to each other which would allow for the two components to be better secured to each other.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous claim objections and the 112(b) rejections set forth in the final office action mailed 4/7/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding amended claim 1, no cited reference discloses a first and second reservoir as claimed in the present application, wherein the first reservoir contains liquid and the second reservoir is embodied only as a free-standing, air-filled ventilation duct, which upon opening will allow the release of the liquid from the first reservoir. Applicant further argues the reservoir cited as a corresponding part to each of Applicant's two separate reservoirs are neither air-filled nor free-standing.
Examiner has made a new rejection based on the newly amended claim 1 recites “second reservoir embodied as an air-filled ventilation duct”. This recitation is capability of the vent hole. Ramstad disclosure of the reservoir 212 my be vented shows the reservoir comprises a ventilation duct.
Applicant notes Beckbissinger does not disclose the reservoirs as claimed nor “no second component for taking up the rotationally symmetric container.”
Examiner points that Beckbissinger rather than Ramstad discloses a second component for taking up the rotationally symmetric container within the alignment stage that mates the cartridge and portion of the system base. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/V.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798