DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Applicant filed Amendments to the Claims and Remarks on June 30, 2026 in response to the Examiner’s Final Office Action, mailed April 1, 2026.
Amendments to the Claims
At this time, claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending. Claims 1, 9, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1 and 9 are in independent form. (Remarks, pg. 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-21 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sela in view of Flatt (cited previously).
Claims 5-6 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Sela/Flatt combination in further view of Tully (cited previously).
Regarding the Sela/Flatt combination, the Applicant argues that Flatt fails to disclose or make obvious the amended claim language of “at least three kinematic constraint pairs that are oriented at different angles with respect to each other”. (Remarks, pg. 6-9) The Examiner has modified the claim rejection to further include this new limitation.
The Applicant further argues: “In contrast to the above-discussed features, Flatt discloses semi-cylindrical kinematic constraints (30, 34, 36), which cannot be provided at different angles. (See Flatt, par. [0061]). … Flatt is silent about any angles between the constraints (30, 34, 36) and groove (52) since the semi-cylindrical constraints cannot be oriented at different angles.” (Remarks, pg. 7) The Applicant continues: “Flatt discloses the use of semi-cylindrical kinematic constraints (30, 34, 36), which through their circular nature, cannot be oriented at different angles with respect to each other. A semi-cylindrical surface presents the same contact geometry regardless of rotational orientation around its axis. As such, an "angle" is not a meaningful parameter for such a constraint. Flatt instead discloses an alternative design for kinematic constraints.” (Remarks, pg. 7)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The instant application’s claims and specification describe kinematic constraint pairs made up of spherical or semi-spherical kinematic components (instant [0010], [0016], [0022], [0054], [0071], [0074]), as does Flatt, thus the Examiner is unconvinced of the difference between the instant application and the Sela/Flatt combination, as the Applicant states that such kinematic restraints are able to be oriented at different angles with respect to each other (instant [0085] and [0086]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-9 and 11-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. Upon further consideration, the previous claim rejection, made in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, has been modified to clarify the examiner’s previous rejection, as well as to accommodate the newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sela (US 2021/0289189) (cited previously) in view of Flatt (US 2019/0290379).
Regarding amended, independent claim 1, Sela discloses optical imaging system for imaging a target during a medical procedure. Sela further discloses a shell apparatus (housing of the optical imaging system 500 in Figs. 4A-4B) for a surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B), the shell apparatus comprising:
a top surface integrally formed with a front surface and two opposing side surfaces (Each of Figs. 5A-5E depict a different side and perspective view of the housing surrounding the optical imaging system.) defining empty space therebetween, each of the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface including at least three tracking features ([0073]: “The housing is provided with a frame on which trackable markers are mounted to enable tracking by a navigation system.”; [0053]: “In typical use with navigation systems, at least three markers 212 are provided on a tracked tool to define the tool in virtual space; however, four or more markers 212 can be used.”); and
a connector that is positioned within a centroid ([0038]; [0073]: “…the optical imaging system 500 comprises a support connector, such as a mechanical coupling, to enable removably coupling the optical imaging system 500 with the support structure.”).
Sela is silent to at least six kinematic constraints configured to form at least three kinematic constraint pairs that are located on an internally facing side of at least one of the top surface, the side surfaces, or the front surface, the at least three kinematic constraint pairs forming points of a triangle; and a connector that is positioned within a centroid of a triangle that is defined by the at least six kinematic constraints, wherein the at least three kinematic constraint pairs are oriented at different angles with respect to each other.
However, Flatt teaches a sterile barrier assembly, mounting system, and method for kinematically coupling first and second surgical components together through the sterile barrier assembly so that positioning is repeatable and deterministic. Flatt further teaches at least six kinematic constraints (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6) configured to form at least three kinematic constraint pairs ([0060]: “…a plurality of kinematic couplers (also referred to as kinematic elements) of the sterile barrier assembly 22 are used to kinematically couple the mounting portions 24, 26. In the embodiment shown, the kinematic couplers are spherical balls 28. During use, the balls 28 are seated in first and second pluralities of receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 of the mounting portions 24, 26. The receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 are sized and shaped to receive the balls 28.”) that are located on an internally facing side of at least one of the top surface, the side surfaces, or the front surface (mounting portions 24, 26 in Figs. 3-6), the at least three kinematic constraint pairs forming points of a triangle (see annotated Figs. 5-6 below showing that the first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 form points of a triangle, depicted by the dashed arrows.); and
a connector (load bar receiver 100 with load bar slot 104 in Fig. 5 connect with elongated slot 116 in Fig. 6) that is positioned within a centroid of a triangle (depicted by the dashed arrows in annotated Figs. 5-6) that is defined by the at least six kinematic constraints, wherein the at least three kinematic constraint pairs are oriented at different angles with respect to each other ([0061]: “…the first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 includes one receptacle 30 having a contact surface 50 with a conical configuration (also referred to as a cone receptacle). … The second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 includes three receptacles having contact surfaces 56 with conical configurations (i.e., cone receptacles). Three balls 28 are captured between corresponding, aligned pairs of the receptacles... The contact surfaces 50, 52, 54, 56 of the receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 act as constraint surfaces for the kinematic coupling ...”; [0063]: “When the mounting portions 24, 26 are brought together in approximate final orientation with the sterile barrier assembly 22 positioned therebetween, the balls 28 of the sterile barrier assembly 22 self-seat into the receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40. The cone receptacle, V-grooved receptacle, and planar receptacle of the first mounting portion 24 remove, three, two, and one degrees of freedom, respectively, via three, two, and one points of contact with the balls 28. Thus, exactly six degrees of freedom are constrained. In other embodiments, described further below, each of the first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 of the first mounting portion 24 may remove two degrees of freedom via two points of contact with the balls 28. In either of these cases, exactly six degrees of freedom are constrained via exactly six contact points, e.g., one contact point for each degree of freedom.”).
Flatt is analogous to the instant case in describing details of sterile barrier assembly that can hold or “sandwich” a surgical drape between two surfaces. Flatt additionally is concerned with minimizing movement between the two surfaces ([0059]: “Kinematic coupling exactly constrains the number of degrees of freedom that are to be constrained, i.e., no degree of freedom is overconstrained. For instance, in one embodiment there are six degrees of freedom between the mounting portions 24, 26, e.g., three translational and three rotational. Thus, kinematic coupling constrains exactly those six degrees of freedom.”). Though Flatt is not specific to the differing angle orientations of the at least three kinematic constraint pairs with respect to each other, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to the conical receptables discussed above that the kinematic restraints of Flatt fulfill the purposes of restricting any in-plane movement or rotation, and restricting motion of the shell in an orthogonal direction relative to the coupling triangle ([0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is silent to that the at least six kinematic constraints are located on an underside of the top surface.
However, Flatt teaches that the at least six kinematic constraints (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6) are located on an underside of the top surface (between mounting portions 24, 26 in Figs. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to kinematic constraints of Flatt, located between the two connecting mounting portions, in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that the connector is located at the top surface ([0038]; [0073]: “…the optical imaging system 500 comprises a support connector, such as a mechanical coupling, to enable removably coupling the optical imaging system 500 with the support structure.”).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface is configured to cradle or at least partially cover a housing (housing of the optical imaging system 500 in Figs. 4A-4B) of the surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B) within the empty space ([0073]: “…referring to FIG. 4B… the primary camera 535, the optical assembly 505 (including the zoom optics 510 and focus optics 515), the controller 530, and the memory 550 are housed within a single housing of the optical imaging system 500.”).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that the connector is configured to engage a screw hole or receptor on the top surface of the surgical imaging camera ([0038]; [0073]: “…the optical imaging system 500 comprises a support connector, such as a mechanical coupling, to enable removably coupling the optical imaging system 500 with the support structure.”).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface are configured to sandwich a surgical drape between the surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B) and the shell apparatus (housing of the optical imaging system 500 in Figs. 4A-4B).
Flatt further describes sandwich a surgical drape between two mounting portions (drape 62 of sterile barrier assembly 22 in Figs. 7 and 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Sela/Flatt combination in order to insert a surgical drape between the surgical imaging camera and the shell apparatus of the Sela/Flatt combination in order to maintain a sterile surgical environment during use of the instant invention.
Regarding amended, independent claim 9, Sela discloses shell apparatus (housing of the optical imaging system 500 in Figs. 4A-4B) for a surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B), the apparatus comprising:
a top surface integrally formed with a front surface and two opposing side surfaces (Each of Figs. 5A-5E depict a different side and perspective view of the housing surrounding the optical imaging system.) defining empty space therebetween, each of the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface including at least three tracking features ([0073]: “The housing is provided with a frame on which trackable markers are mounted to enable tracking by a navigation system.”; [0053]: “In typical use with navigation systems, at least three markers 212 are provided on a tracked tool to define the tool in virtual space; however, four or more markers 212 can be used.”).
Sela is silent to at least six kinematic constraints configured to form at least three kinematic constraint pairs that are located on at least one of the top surface, the side surfaces, or the front surface, the at least three kinematic constraint pairs forming points of a triangle for minimizing motion of the shell apparatus in an orthogonal direction relative to the triangle, wherein the at least three kinematic constraint pairs are oriented at different angles with respect to each other.
However, Flatt teaches at least six kinematic constraints (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6) configured to form at least three kinematic constraint pairs ([0060]: “…a plurality of kinematic couplers (also referred to as kinematic elements) of the sterile barrier assembly 22 are used to kinematically couple the mounting portions 24, 26. In the embodiment shown, the kinematic couplers are spherical balls 28. During use, the balls 28 are seated in first and second pluralities of receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 of the mounting portions 24, 26. The receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 are sized and shaped to receive the balls 28.”) that are located on at least one of the top surface, the side surfaces, or the front surface, the at least three kinematic constraint pairs forming points of a triangle (mounting portions 24, 26 in Figs. 3-6) for minimizing motion of the shell apparatus in an orthogonal direction relative to the triangle ([0059]: “Kinematic coupling exactly constrains the number of degrees of freedom that are to be constrained, i.e., no degree of freedom is overconstrained. For instance, in one embodiment there are six degrees of freedom between the mounting portions 24, 26, e.g., three translational and three rotational. Thus, kinematic coupling constrains exactly those six degrees of freedom.”), wherein the at least three kinematic constraint pairs are oriented at different angles with respect to each other ([0061]: “…the first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 includes one receptacle 30 having a contact surface 50 with a conical configuration (also referred to as a cone receptacle). … The second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 includes three receptacles having contact surfaces 56 with conical configurations (i.e., cone receptacles). Three balls 28 are captured between corresponding, aligned pairs of the receptacles... The contact surfaces 50, 52, 54, 56 of the receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 act as constraint surfaces for the kinematic coupling ...”; [0063]: “When the mounting portions 24, 26 are brought together in approximate final orientation with the sterile barrier assembly 22 positioned therebetween, the balls 28 of the sterile barrier assembly 22 self-seat into the receptacles 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40. The cone receptacle, V-grooved receptacle, and planar receptacle of the first mounting portion 24 remove, three, two, and one degrees of freedom, respectively, via three, two, and one points of contact with the balls 28. Thus, exactly six degrees of freedom are constrained. In other embodiments, described further below, each of the first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 of the first mounting portion 24 may remove two degrees of freedom via two points of contact with the balls 28. In either of these cases, exactly six degrees of freedom are constrained via exactly six contact points, e.g., one contact point for each degree of freedom.”).
Flatt is concerned with minimizing movement between the two surfaces ([0059]: “Kinematic coupling exactly constrains the number of degrees of freedom that are to be constrained, i.e., no degree of freedom is overconstrained. For instance, in one embodiment there are six degrees of freedom between the mounting portions 24, 26, e.g., three translational and three rotational. Thus, kinematic coupling constrains exactly those six degrees of freedom.”). Though Flatt is not specific to the differing angle orientations of the at least three kinematic constraint pairs with respect to each other, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to the conical receptables discussed above that the kinematic restraints of Flatt fulfill the purposes of restricting any in-plane movement or rotation, and restricting motion of the shell in an orthogonal direction relative to the coupling triangle ([0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 11, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses the surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B) and the shell apparatus (housing of the optical imaging system 500 in Figs. 4A-4B).
Sela is silent to that each of the at least six kinematic constraints is configured to mate or engage a magnetic object on a respective surface of the surgical imaging camera to create a magnetic coupling between the surgical imaging camera and the shell apparatus.
However, Flatt teaches that each of the at least six kinematic constraints (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6) is configured to mate or engage a magnetic object on a respective surface of the surgical imaging camera to create a magnetic coupling between the surgical imaging camera and the shell apparatus ([0183]: “One or more of the first plurality of receptacles and/or the second plurality of receptacles may comprise magnets to magnetically engage the balls in the receptacles. For instance, the first plurality of receptacles may comprise magnets to hold the balls to the first mounting portion until the second mounting portion is clamped to the first mounting portion. Similarly, the first mounting portion, having the contact surfaces of the receptacles integrated therein for kinematic coupling, could comprise magnets to hold the balls against the contact surfaces in the first mounting portion until the second mounting portion engages the first mounting portion.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to magnetic kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is silent to that the object includes at least one of a spherical object or semi-spherical object.
However, Flatt discloses various potential embodiments coupling mechanisms, including that the object includes at least one of a spherical object or semi-spherical object ([0060]: “In the embodiment shown, the kinematic couplers are spherical balls 28.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to spherical kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 13, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is silent to at least one magnetic connector configured to magnetically couple to a corresponding at least one magnetic connector on the surgical imaging camera (camera 535 in Figs. 4A-4B).
However, Flatt teaches at least one magnetic connector (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6) configured to magnetically couple to a corresponding at least one magnetic connector on the surgical imaging camera ([0183]: “One or more of the first plurality of receptacles and/or the second plurality of receptacles may comprise magnets to magnetically engage the balls in the receptacles. For instance, the first plurality of receptacles may comprise magnets to hold the balls to the first mounting portion until the second mounting portion is clamped to the first mounting portion. Similarly, the first mounting portion, having the contact surfaces of the receptacles integrated therein for kinematic coupling, could comprise magnets to hold the balls against the contact surfaces in the first mounting portion until the second mounting portion engages the first mounting portion.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to magnetic kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 14, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is not specific to the two opposing side surfaces each having a boot shape.
However, the particular shape of the two opposing side surfaces is of no patentable significance. The Examiner asserts that the boot shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed housing shape is significant. (See MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.)
Regarding claim 15, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that at least one of the top surface, the side surfaces, or the front surface includes at least one window for weight reduction or heat dissipation (Figs. 5A-5C (and further Figs. 5D-5E) depict windows on the exterior of augmented optical imaging system 600, highlighted within rectangles in the annotated figures below.; [0074]-[0075]: “The augmented optical imaging system 600 comprises one or more of the components of the optical imaging system 500.”).
Regarding amended claim 16, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is silent to that each of the at least six kinematic constraints are oriented at different angles with respect to each other.
However, Flatt teaches that each of the at least six kinematic constraints are oriented at different angles with respect to each other ([0182]: “The cone receptacles may be simplified by being replaced with three blocks having planar surfaces circumferentially equally spaced from one another and arranged at an angle approximating the cone angle. In this embodiment, the ball 28, 228, 428 seats within the three planar surfaces just like being seated in the cone, but contact is made at three contact points with the three planar surfaces.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include different angles of the kinematic constraints in order to further limit motion between the connecting surfaces.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface includes protrusions ([0073]: “The housing is provided with a frame on which trackable markers are mounted to enable tracking by a navigation system.”) configured to accept or support a respective tracking feature (such as markers 212 in Fig. 2; [0054]-[0057]: “…fiducial markers 212 coupled with, such as placed on, or otherwise in fixed to, e.g., in rigid connection, any of the positioning system 208, the access port 12, the introducer 210, the tracked pointer 222, and/or other tracked instruments. …Still referring to FIG. 2, the active or passive fiducial markers 212 are coupled with, e.g., placed on, tools, such as the access port 12 and/or the optical imaging system 500, to be tracked, to determine the location and orientation of these tools using the tracking camera 213 and navigation system 205.”; [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the protrusions extend orthogonally from the respective surface (such as markers 212 in Fig. 2; [0054]-[0057]: “…fiducial markers 212 coupled with, such as placed on, or otherwise in fixed to, e.g., in rigid connection… Still referring to FIG. 2, the active or passive fiducial markers 212 are coupled with, e.g., placed on, tools, such as the access port 12 and/or the optical imaging system 500, to be tracked, to determine the location and orientation of these tools using the tracking camera 213 and navigation system 205.”; [0073]: “The housing is provided with a frame on which trackable markers are mounted to enable tracking by a navigation system.”).
Regarding claim 19, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the protrusions and the respective tracking feature has a circular shape or an oval shape ([0060]: “Printed markers may also be used as a calibration pattern, for example to provide distance information, e.g., 3D distance information, to an optical detector. Printed identification markers have configurations, such as concentric circles with different ring spacing and/or different types of bar codes, among other configurations.”).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the tracking features includes at least one of a cross point, a fiducial, or a target (such as fiducial markers 212 in Fig. 2; [0054]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 21, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela discloses that each of the top surface, the side surfaces, and the front surface are constructed from plastic, carbon fiber, fiberglass, nylon, metal, or composites thereof ([0105]: “…various changes and modifications in form, material, work-piece, and fabrication material detail may be made, without departing from the spirit and scope of the present disclosure, as set forth in the appended claims, as may be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art, are also encompassed by the present disclosure.”).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Sela/Flatt combination in further view of Tully et al. (US 2020/0315432, hereinafter referred to as Tully).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the Sela/Flatt combination, Sela is silent to that each of the at least six kinematic constraints is configured to mate or engage an object on a top surface of the surgical imaging camera.
However, Flatt teaches the at least six kinematic constraints (first plurality of receptacles 30, 32, 34 and second plurality of receptacles 36, 38, 40 in Figs. 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to kinematic constraints of Flatt, located between the two connecting mounting portions, in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
The Sela/Flatt combination is silent to that each of the at least six kinematic constraints is configured to mate or engage an object on a top surface of the surgical imaging camera.
However, Tully teaches systems and methods for medical imaging utilizing an optical adapter with a housing. Tully further teaches that each of the at least six kinematic constraints is configured to mate or engage an object on a top surface of the surgical imaging camera ([0079]; [0083]: “…the second end of the housing may be configured to releasably couple to the camera of the scope assembly using a quick release mechanism (e.g., snap-fit, latches, etc.).”).
Tully is analogous to the instant case in describing details of medical imaging and the constructional details of housings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of the Sela/Flatt combination to include to kinematic constraints of Tully in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Regarding claim 6, in view of the Sela/Flatt/Tully combination, Sela is silent to that the object includes at least one of a spherical object or semi-spherical object.
However, Flatt discloses various potential embodiments coupling mechanisms, including that the object includes at least one of a spherical object or semi-spherical object ([0060]: “In the embodiment shown, the kinematic couplers are spherical balls 28.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sela to include to spherical kinematic constraints of Flatt in order to effectively secure the shell apparatus to the surgical imaging camera.
Conclusion
/M.G.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796