DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 01/23/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shafer (US 2005/0075702).
Regarding claim 1, Shafer discloses a device or system comprising at least one electrode (Fig. 7E, lead 16 with electrodes 21-24), the at least one electrode configured to being placed on or around a pancreas-related sympathetic nerve of a subject located adjacent to a gastroduodenal artery or branch thereof, wherein the pancreas related sympathetic nerve supplies a lymphatic system of the pancreas (para. 56), and a signal generator for generating a signal to be applied to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve via the at least one electrode (Fig. 6A, pulse generator 101; para. 67).
Shafer does not explicitly disclose that the signal reversibly modulates the neural activity of the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve to produce a change in a physiological parameter in the subject, wherein the change in the physiological parameter is at least two or more of the group consisting of: an increase in catecholamine levels in the pancreas, an increase in GABA levels in the pancreas, and an increase in the number of pancreatic beta cells in the pancreas.
Examiner submits that the above limitations amount to intended use of the claimed device because they are directed to effects of the claimed device structure. As such, the device requires the structure capable of delivering the stimulation in a manner as recited by the intended use. As shown above, Shafer discloses the required structure of a device comprising an electrode capable of being placed around sympathetic nerve as well as a signal generator. Furthermore, Applicant discloses that the generated signal requires a frequency of between 10-100Hz, a pulse width of 0.01 to 2 ms and an amplitude of .01 to 10mA (para. 88 of corresponding publication US 2023/0030204). Shafer para. 85 discloses a frequency about 1 Hz to about 120 Hz; the pulse width of 10 to 600 microseconds (0.01-0.6ms); and an amplitude of 1 to 20mA. In view of Shafer’s disclosure of equivalent device structure and stimulation parameters, Examiner submits that Shafer would be capable of delivering the stimulation in a manner that produces the claimed effects above (see also MPEP 2112.01(I)). Seeing also that Shafer is applied to the sympathetic nerve near the pancreas (e.g. para. 56) and applies the same stimulation signal, it would result in carrying out the same process as claimed resulting in the same effects (see also MPEP 2112.02).
Regarding claim 4, Shafer discloses the signal stimulates the neural activity of the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve (para. 56).
Regarding claim 5, Shafer discloses the signal generator is a voltage or current source configured to generate an electrical signal to be applied to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve via the at least one electrode (para. 67; para. 85 discloses various voltage and current values which may be applied).
Regarding claim 6, Shafer discloses the at least one electrode is in the form of an electrode array (Fig. 7E, electrodes 21-24 form an array; see also Fig. 7B, electrodes 21-24).
Regarding claim 7, Shafer does not explicitly disclose the signal selectively stimulates the neural activity of nerve fibers supplying the lymphatic system of the pancreas. Examiner submits that the above limitations amount to intended use of the claimed device because they are directed to effects of the claimed device structure. Seeing that Shafer discloses the equivalent structure and stimulation parameters as evidenced in the rejection of claim 1 above, Examiner submits that Shafer would be capable of delivering the stimulation in a manner that produces the claimed effects above.
Regarding claim 8, Shafer discloses the electrical signal has a frequency between 0.1 Hz and 100 Hz (para. 85).
Regarding claim 9, Shafer discloses the electrical signal has a current between 0.01 mA and 10 mA (para. 85).
Regarding claim 11, Shafer discloses a detector for detecting one or more signals indicative of one or more physiological parameters; determining from the one or more signals one or more physiological parameters; determining the one or more physiological parameters indicative of worsening of the physiological parameter; and causing the signal to be applied to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve via the at least one electrode (para. 9, last 3 sentences; para. 107; para. 109).
Regarding claim 12, Shafer discloses the signal generator is configured to apply the electric signal for a finite period of time (para. 109 discloses enabling/disabling therapy delivery circuit based on sensed signals).
Regarding claim 13, Shafer discloses a method of reversibly modulating neural activity in a pancreas-related sympathetic nerve, wherein the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve supplies a lymphatic system of the pancreas and is located adjacent to a gastroduodenal artery or branch thereof, comprising: (i) implanting in a subject a device or system of claim 1; (ii) positioning the electrode in contact with the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve; and (iii) activating the device or system (para. 56).
Regarding claim 14, Shafer discloses the method is for treating type 1 diabetes (T1D) (para. 44).
Regarding claim 15, Shafer discloses administering GABA, a GABA analogue, or a GABA-enhancing agent to the subject (para. 98).
Regarding claim 17, Shafer discloses a method of controlling a device or system comprising at least one electrode, suitable for placement on or around a pancreas-related sympathetic nerve of a subject, wherein the pancreas related sympathetic nerve supplies a lymphatic system of the pancreas, and a signal generator for generating a signal to be applied to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve via the at least one electrode such that the signal reversibly modulates the neural activity of the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve to produce a change in a physiological parameter in the subject, the method comprising the steps of: implanting the electrode within the subject at a location on or around the pancreas related sympathetic nerve of the subject at a location adjacent to a gastroduodenal artery or branch thereof, sending control instructions to the device or system, and applying the signal to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve in response to the control instructions, wherein the change in the physiological parameter is an increase in catecholamine levels in the pancreas, an increase in GABA levels in the pancreas, and an increase in the number of pancreatic beta cells in the pancreas (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, Shafer discloses a method of controlling a device or system comprising at least one electrode, suitable for placement on or around a pancreas-related sympathetic nerve of a subject, wherein the pancreas related sympathetic nerve supplies a lymphatic system of the pancreas, and a signal generator for generating a signal to be applied to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve via the at least one electrode such that the signal reversibly modulates the neural activity of the pancreas- related sympathetic nerve to produce a change in a physiological parameter in the subject, the method comprising the steps of: implanting the electrode within the subject at a location on or around the pancreas related sympathetic nerve of the subject at a location adjacent to a gastroduodenal artery or branch thereof, sending control instructions to the device or system, and applying the signal to the pancreas-related sympathetic nerve in response to the control instructions, wherein the change in the physiological parameter is at least two of the group consisting of: an increase in catecholamine levels in the pancreas, an increase in GABA levels in the pancreas, and an increase in the number of pancreatic beta cells in the pancreas (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Ben-Ezra et al. (US 2014/0046407) (hereinafter Ben-Ezra).
Regarding claim 10, Shafer does not disclose the electrical signal is a charge-balanced DC signal comprising a cathodic pulse and an anodic pulse.
Ben-Ezra, however, teaches nerve stimulation techniques (Abstract) wherein in some embodiments of the present invention, the efferent and afferent anode sets each comprise exactly one electrode, which are directly electrically coupled to each other. The cathodic current is applied with an amplitude sufficient to induce action potentials in large- and medium-diameter fibers (e.g., A- and B-fibers), but insufficient to induce action potentials in small-diameter fibers (e.g., C-fibers). Simultaneously, an anodal current is applied in order to inhibit action potentials induced by the cathodic current in the large-diameter fibers (e.g., A-fibers), but not in the small- and medium-diameter fibers (e.g., B- and C-fibers). This combination of cathodic and anodal current generally results in the stimulation of medium-diameter fibers (e.g., B-fibers) only (para. 490).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Shafer such that the electrical signal is a charge-balanced DC signal comprising a cathodic pulse and an anodic pulse. Making this modification would be useful for stimulation of medium-diameter fibers (e.g., B-fibers) only, as taught by Ben-Ezra.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Yun et al. (US 2018/0125419) (hereinafter Yun).
Regarding claim 16, Shafer does not disclose the GABA-enhancing agent is selected from the group consisting of benzodiazepines; barbituates; baclofen; acamprosate; pregabalin; gabapentin; tiagabine; lamotrigine; topiramate; neuroactive steroids; nabiximols; and combinations thereof.
Yun, however, teaches administering a GABA-enhancing agent to the subject (para. 30-31 discloses use of phenobarbital, a known barbiturate) as a known enhancement pharmaceutical to a subject treatment (para. 27-28), for the purpose of enhancing or diminishing symptoms of a disease condition (para. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Shafer such that the GABA-enhancing agent is a barbiturate such as phenobarbital. Making this modification would be useful for diminishing symptoms of a disease condition, as taught by Yun.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796