DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 submitted on 11/25/2025 are pending and have been examined. Claim 11 has been cancelled and claim 21 has been newly added.
Priority
No foreign priority or domestic benefit was claimed by the applicant and the application has been examined with respect to its filing date of 10/17/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “The method of claim 11… indicated by the circular area… within the circular area” on page 4 of the claims submitted on 11/25/2025. Claim 11 was previously cancelled by the applicant therefore Claim 12 depends on a cancelled claim. For purposes of compact prosecution and clarity on the record, Examiner will interpret the limitation as, “The method of claim
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1
Claims 1-10, 12, and 21 are directed to a process, claim 13-19 are directed to a machine and claim 20 is directed to an article of manufacture (see MPEP 2106.03).
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1, taken as representative, recites at least the following limitations that recite an abstract idea:
a method for identifying one or more service providers, comprising:
obtaining, a geographic location associated with a user;
determining, based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance;
determining, based on the radial distance, coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region;
determining, based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points;
determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions; and
causing, display of the one or more service providers.
The above limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), in that it recites a commercial interaction, see ¶0001 of the instant specification. Claims 13 and 20 recite similar limitations as claim 1.
Thus, under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claims 1, 13, and 20 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 1 includes the following additional elements that are bolded:
a method for identifying one or more service providers, comprising:
obtaining, by a user device, a geographic location associated with a user;
determining, by the user device and based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance;
determining, by the user device and based on the radial distance, coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region;
determining, by the user device and based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points;
determining, by the user device and based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions; and
causing, by the user device, display of the one or more service providers.
Claims 13 and 20 include the same additional elements as claim 1. In addition, claim 13 includes additional elements such as a user device comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors. In addition, claim 20 includes additional elements such as a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor- executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions.
The additional elements recited in claims 1, 13, and 20 merely invoke such elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of computer devices (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h). These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration (see Fig. 2 and ¶¶0031-0034, ¶0042).
As such, under Prong 2 of Step 2A, when considered both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and, thus, claims 1, 13, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As noted above, while the recitation of the additional elements in independent claims 1, 13, and 20 are acknowledged, claims 1, 13, and 20 merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 1, 13, and 20 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 13, and 20 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1, 13, and 20 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 5-10, 12, 17-19, and 21 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 5-10, 12, 17-19, and 21 merely further define the abstract limitations of claims 1, 13, and 20 or provide further embellishments of the limitations recited in independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Claims 5-10, 12, 17-19, and 21 do not introduce any further additional elements. Thus, dependent claims 5-10, 12, 17-19, and 21 are ineligible.
Furthermore, it is noted that certain dependent claims recite additional elements supplemental to those recited in independent claims 1, 13, and 20: an enterprise computing system (claims 2 and 14), GPS (claims 3 and 15), and memory of the user device (claims 4 and 16). However, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use and thus do not act to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more because they merely amount to using a computer to apply the abstract idea and amount to no more than a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Thus, dependent claims 2-4 and 14-16 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12, 13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich et al. (US 2011/0320319 A1 [previously cited]) in view of Cooper et al. (US 2002/0059226 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 1, Streich et al., hereinafter, Streich, discloses a method for identifying one or more service providers, comprising (¶0029[method of identifying geospatial compatibility between consumers and providers of goods or services]):
obtaining, by a user device, a geographic location associated with a user (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 18[acquiring location information from new users]; ¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map]);
determining, by the user device and based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points]; ¶¶0197-0202[plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots' method (Examiner interprets connected dots as a circumference) or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques described earlier ... The user must indicate through the user interface that the shape or location is to be made permanent, at which time the information that defines the location of shape is stored in the Location Data base and assigned a new LID (location identifier number) ... the location of a store is relevant if it lies within the defined shopping area that the user has set to indicate where he or she is willing to travel (be that a polygon shape or a radius)]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to radial distance);
determining, by the user device and based on the radial distance, defining a bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region (¶0195[The custom service list is generated using a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a radius implies a circular search area);
determining, by the user device and, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points], Fig. 22[shows how a point on a two-dimensional surface (e.g., a map or address) is assigned X and Y coordinates (e.g., longitude and latitude) and then converting those coordinates into a "quad key"]; ¶¶0263-0274[a location (or point) is assigned an X and Y value. X and Y are whole numbers (i.e., converting a location/address into geographic coordinates) that can be converted to 16 bit binary numbers, the binary of each are interwoven to make a 32 digit binary number, "I'. The 32-bit number is converted into a base 4, 16 digit number, "Q'. Points are represented as a base 4, 16 digit numbers (i.e., encoding geographic coordinates into a string that delineates an area on a map)]; Applicant has noted in their specification that Geohashing may be used to convert addresses into geographic coordinates which are encoded into a string that delineates an area on a map);
determining, by the user device and based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ] and Fig. 22; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as discussed above); and
causing, by the user device, display of the one or more service providers (Fig. 1[The actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ]; ¶0253[The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating' section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ)]).
Although Streich discloses determining a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region based on a radial distance, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area.
However, Cooper et al., hereinafter, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal shape based on a radial distance (Fig. 4; ¶¶0039-0042[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points… defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]; Examiner notes that a square search area is comparable to a polygonal shape).
Although Streich discloses determining a plurality of geohash strings for geohash regions comprising at least one boundary point, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining based on the plurality of boundary points, at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points.
However, Cooper teaches a plurality of boundary points of a search area (Fig. 4; ¶0039[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points P1 (P1LAT, P1LON), P2 (P2LAT, P2LON), P3 (P3LAT, P3LON), and P4 (P4LAT, P4LON) defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]).
The method of Cooper is applicable to the method of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses wherein obtaining the geographic location comprises:
determining, by the user device, latitude and longitude coordinates of the user device using global positioning services (GPS) (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188]; ¶0283[Users of the present invention can log in as a GPS coordinate by clicking on a map] in view of ¶0285[Lat/long. coordinates are used for spatial calculations]); and
determining the geographic location of the user based on the latitude and longitude coordinates (¶0283[Users of the present invention can log in as a GPS coordinate by clicking on a map. They can Supply an address as a tool to position the map faster and even edit the location by dragging a marker on the map] in view of ¶0008).
Regarding Claim 4, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses wherein determining the polygonal bounding area further comprises:
retrieving, by the user device, a predetermined distance from a memory of the user device (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19 and 20; ¶0181[The "User Database" adds a new record which has a unique MID# each time a human user of the process attempts to access information without providing login credentials. A human user is identified as accessing data when an address is provided (and a geocoding process is used to obtain point coordinates) or a location is defined on a digital map (which defines point coordinates). A human user may voluntarily input data into a "Profile Database" such as name, address, phone number, email address and credentials (a user name and password) that can be used to identify the human user to the process at a later time. Profile data entered is referenced with the MID#] and ¶0195[The User's defined shape or radius (examiner interprets "user's defined" as comparable to a user input) is an element defined in the user's profile]; ¶0195 further discloses retrieval of the predetermined distance); and
determining the bounding area indicating the search region based on the predetermined distance (¶0195[a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a geospatial query based on "user's defined shape" is comparable to a determining boundary points based on a distance indicated by user input).
Although Streich discloses determining a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region based on a radial distance, Streich does not explicitly disclose a polygonal bounding area.
However, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal shape based on a radial distance (Fig. 4; ¶¶0039-0042[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points… defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]; Examiner notes that a square search area is comparable to a polygonal shape).
The method of Cooper is applicable to the method of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses wherein determining the one or more service providers comprises:
determining a plurality of service providers associated with the plurality of geohash strings for each geohash region (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ], Fig. 22; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings associated with the search area shape)]; examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above); and
filtering the plurality of service providers to determine the one or more service providers based on the search region (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]).
Regarding Claim 6, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses further comprising:
obtaining, by the user device, a user input indicating the radial distance for the search region (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19 and 20; ¶¶0195-0196[The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile ... The user may select an existing location or shape from the list which will mark the location (indicated by an icon) or plot the shape (indicated by a series of lines that close to make a polygon) on the map]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to the radial distance); and wherein determining the coordinates for the plurality of boundary points comprises:
determining based on the radial distance indicated by the user input (¶0195[The custom service list is generated using a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a radius implies a circular search area),
wherein the plurality of boundary points are four corner points of the bounding area (¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map. Shape plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots" method or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques]; Examiner notes that a square shape bounding area has four corner points).
Although Streich discloses determining a radial distance and a bounding area, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining a size of the polygonal bounding area and the plurality of boundary points.
However, Cooper teaches a size of the polygonal bounding area and the plurality of boundary points (Fig. 4; ¶0034[position field information (database positions) falling within the square search area are determined to be within the circular search area. It is to be understood that other determining criteria could be used to determine whether a database position falls within the circular search area. For example, database positions falling within a predetermined distance (that is, within a predetermined range of latitudes and longitudes) of the square search area could be determined to be within the circular search area.]; Examiner notes that a predetermined range of latitudes and longitudes is comparable to a size of the bounding area).
The method of Cooper is applicable to the method of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include a size of a polygonal bounding area and boundary points as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses wherein causing display of the one or more service providers comprises causing display of a geographic region indicated by a circular area and geographic locations of the one or more service providers within a circular area (Fig. 19; ¶¶0194-0196[The user may select an existing location or shape from the list which will mark the location (indicated by an icon) or plot the shape (indicated by a series of lines that close to make a polygon) on the map ... The "Map and location" interface is modular and can stand alone as a user interface within the Process or act as a sub section of another section of the user interface. A digital map is displayed along with a list of shapes and locations. The list is populated by referencing the Location Database for any LID# (Location Identification number) that is cross referenced with the user's MID# (Identification Number)]).
Regarding Claim 13, Streich discloses a user device comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1; ¶¶0188-0189[at least one central processing unit (that facilitates the movement and manipulation of data to and from the Hard drive and RAM and the network connection). The program containing the instructions and statements executed by the processor to carry out the process of the invention is stored on the memory of the hard drives or other computer readable medium coupled to the processor]); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, facilitate (Fig. 1; ¶¶0188-0189):
obtaining a geographic location associated with a user (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 18[acquiring location information from new users]; ¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map]);
determining, based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points]; ¶¶0197-0202[plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots' method (Examiner interprets connected dots as a circumference) or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques described earlier ... The user must indicate through the user interface that the shape or location is to be made permanent, at which time the information that defines the location of shape is stored in the Location Data base and assigned a new LID (location identifier number) ... the location of a store is relevant if it lies within the defined shopping area that the user has set to indicate where he or she is willing to travel (be that a polygon shape or a radius)]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to radial distance);
determining, by the user device and based on the radial distance, defining a bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region (¶0195[The custom service list is generated using a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a radius implies a circular search area);
determining, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points], Fig. 22[shows how a point on a two-dimensional surface (e.g., a map or address) is assigned X and Y coordinates (e.g., longitude and latitude) and then converting those coordinates into a "quad key"]; ¶¶0263-0274[a location (or point) is assigned an X and Y value. X and Y are whole numbers (i.e., converting a location/address into geographic coordinates) that can be converted to 16 bit binary numbers, the binary of each are interwoven to make a 32 digit binary number, "I'. The 32-bit number is converted into a base 4, 16 digit number, "Q'. Points are represented as a base 4, 16 digit numbers (i.e., encoding geographic coordinates into a string that delineates an area on a map)]; Applicant has noted in their specification that Geohashing may be used to convert addresses into geographic coordinates which are encoded into a string that delineates an area on a map);
determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ] and Fig. 22; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as discussed above); and
causing display of the one or more service providers (Fig. 1[The actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ]; ¶0253[The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating' section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ)]).
Although Streich discloses determining a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region based on a radial distance, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area.
However, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal shape based on a radial distance (Fig. 4; ¶¶0039-0042[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points… defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]; Examiner notes that a square search area is comparable to a polygonal shape).
Although Streich discloses determining a plurality of geohash strings for geohash regions comprising at least one boundary point, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining based on the plurality of boundary points, at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points.
However, Cooper teaches a plurality of boundary points of a search area (Fig. 4; ¶0039[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points P1 (P1LAT, P1LON), P2 (P2LAT, P2LON), P3 (P3LAT, P3LON), and P4 (P4LAT, P4LON) defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]).
The system of Cooper is applicable to the system of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 13, Streich further discloses wherein obtaining the geographic location comprises:
determining latitude and longitude coordinates of the user device using GPS (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188]; ¶0283[Users of the present invention can log in as a GPS coordinate by clicking on a map] in view of ¶0285[Lat/long. coordinates are used for spatial calculations]); and
determining the geographic location of the user based on the latitude and longitude coordinates (¶0283[Users of the present invention can log in as a GPS coordinate by clicking on a map. They can Supply an address as a tool to position the map faster and even edit the location by dragging a marker on the map] in view of ¶0008).
Regarding Claim 16, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 13, Streich further discloses wherein determining the polygonal bounding area comprises:
retrieving a predetermined distance from a memory of the user device (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19 and 20; ¶0181[The "User Database" adds a new record which has a unique MID# each time a human user of the process attempts to access information without providing login credentials. A human user is identified as accessing data when an address is provided (and a geocoding process is used to obtain point coordinates) or a location is defined on a digital map (which defines point coordinates). A human user may voluntarily input data into a "Profile Database" such as name, address, phone number, email address and credentials (a user name and password) that can be used to identify the human user to the process at a later time. Profile data entered is referenced with the MID#] and ¶0195[The User's defined shape or radius (Examiner interprets "user's defined" as comparable to a user input) is an element defined in the user's profile]; ¶0195 further discloses retrieval of the predetermined distance); and
determining the bounding area indicating the search region based on the predetermined distance (¶0195[a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a geospatial query based on "user's defined shape" is comparable to a determining boundary points based on a distance indicated by user input).
Although Streich discloses determining a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region based on a radial distance, Streich does not explicitly disclose a polygonal bounding area.
However, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal shape based on a radial distance (Fig. 4; ¶¶0039-0042[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points… defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]; Examiner notes that a square search area is comparable to a polygonal shape).
The system of Cooper is applicable to the system of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 13, Streich further discloses wherein determining the one or more service providers comprises:
determining a plurality of service providers associated with the plurality of geohash strings for each geohash region (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ], Fig. 22; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings associated with the search area shape)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above); and
filtering the plurality of service providers to determine the one or more service providers based on the search region (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]).
Regarding Claim 18, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 13, Streich further discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further facilitate:
obtaining a user input indicating the radial distance for the search region (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19 and 20; ¶¶0195-0196[The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile ... The user may select an existing location or shape from the list which will mark the location (indicated by an icon) or plot the shape (indicated by a series of lines that close to make a polygon) on the map]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to the radial distance), and wherein determining the coordinates for the plurality of boundary points comprises:
determining based on the radial distance indicated by the user input (¶0195[The custom service list is generated using a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a radius implies a circular search area),
wherein the plurality of boundary points are four corner points of the bounding area (¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map. Shape plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots" method or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques]; Examiner notes that a square shape bounding area has four corner points).
Although Streich discloses determining a radial distance and a bounding area, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining a size of the polygonal bounding area and the plurality of boundary points.
However, Cooper teaches a size of the polygonal bounding area and the plurality of boundary points (Fig. 4; ¶0034[position field information (database positions) falling within the square search area are determined to be within the circular search area. It is to be understood that other determining criteria could be used to determine whether a database position falls within the circular search area. For example, database positions falling within a predetermined distance (that is, within a predetermined range of latitudes and longitudes) of the square search area could be determined to be within the circular search area.]; Examiner notes that a predetermined range of latitudes and longitudes is comparable to a size of the bounding area).
The system of Cooper is applicable to the system of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include a size of a polygonal bounding area and boundary points as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Streich discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor- executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed, facilitate (Fig. 1; ¶¶0188-0189[at least one central processing unit (that facilitates the movement and manipulation of data to and from the Hard drive and RAM and the network connection). The program containing the instructions and statements executed by the processor to carry out the process of the invention is stored on the memory of the hard drives or other computer readable medium coupled to the processor]):
obtaining a geographic location associated with a user (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 18[acquiring location information from new users]; ¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map]);
determining, based on the geographic location a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points]; ¶¶0197-0202[plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots' method (Examiner interprets connected dots as a circumference) or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques described earlier ... The user must indicate through the user interface that the shape or location is to be made permanent, at which time the information that defines the location of shape is stored in the Location Data base and assigned a new LID (location identifier number) ... the location of a store is relevant if it lies within the defined shopping area that the user has set to indicate where he or she is willing to travel (be that a polygon shape or a radius)]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to radial distance);
determining, by the user device and based on the radial distance, defining a bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region (¶0195[The custom service list is generated using a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location). The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; examiner notes that a radius implies a circular search area);
determining, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points], Fig. 22[shows how a point on a two-dimensional surface (e.g., a map or address) is assigned X and Y coordinates (e.g., longitude and latitude) and then converting those coordinates into a "quad key"]; ¶¶0263-0274[a location (or point) is assigned an X and Y value. X and Y are whole numbers (i.e., converting a location/address into geographic coordinates) that can be converted to 16 bit binary numbers, the binary of each are interwoven to make a 32 digit binary number, "I'. The 32-bit number is converted into a base 4, 16 digit number, "Q'. Points are represented as a base 4, 16 digit numbers (i.e., encoding geographic coordinates into a string that delineates an area on a map)]; Applicant has noted in their specification that Geohashing may be used to convert addresses into geographic coordinates which are encoded into a string that delineates an area on a map);
determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ] and Fig. 22; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as discussed above); and
causing display of the one or more service providers (Fig. 1[The actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ]; ¶0253[The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating' section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ)]).
Although Streich discloses determining a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region based on a radial distance, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area.
However, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal shape based on a radial distance (Fig. 4; ¶¶0039-0042[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points… defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]; Examiner notes that a square search area is comparable to a polygonal shape).
Although Streich discloses determining a plurality of geohash strings for geohash regions comprising at least one boundary point, Streich does not explicitly disclose determining based on the plurality of boundary points, at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points.
However, Cooper teaches a plurality of boundary points of a search area (Fig. 4; ¶0039[proximity searcher 108 calculates a set of latitudes and longitudes corresponding to four corner points P1 (P1LAT, P1LON), P2 (P2LAT, P2LON), P3 (P3LAT, P3LON), and P4 (P4LAT, P4LON) defining a smallest square search area 415 into which circular search area 405 can fit. In other words, proximity searcher 108 maps circular search area 405 to square search area 415 defined by corner points P1- P4 in terms of latitude and longitude.]).
The system of Cooper is applicable to the system of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in order to identify candidate geographical positions that are near the position of interest (Abstract).
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich in view of Cooper in view of Kadous et al. (US 2018/0313959 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 2, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 1, Streich further discloses wherein obtaining the geographic location comprises (Fig. 18; ¶0197).
Although Streich discloses obtaining the geographic location of a user, Streich in view of Cooper does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the user device and to an enterprise computing system, a request for an address of the user; and receiving, by the user device and from the enterprise computing system, the address of the user, wherein the address indicates the geographic location of the user.
However, Kadous et al., hereinafter Kadous teaches a user device transmitting a request for an address of the user to a server and the user device receiving from the server the address of the user indicating a geographic location of the user (Figs. 4-5; ¶¶0056-0057[the client device 130 may send the scan information discerned at step 504 to the server 110. The server 110 may first determine the physical address of the client device 130 using the scan information. The server 110 may then determine the map associated with the physical address. Thereafter, at step 512, the client device 130 may receive from the server 110 a map associated with its current physical address] in view of ¶0047[client device ... may need to request the maps from the server]).
The method of Kadous is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Streich in view of Cooper to include a user device that transmits a location request for a user as taught by Kadous. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper so that a client device may retrieve from its memory a map associated with its current physical address (¶0065).
Regarding Claim 14, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 13, Streich further discloses wherein obtaining the geographic location comprises (Fig. 18; ¶0197).
Although Streich discloses obtaining the geographic location of a user, Streich in view of Cooper does not explicitly teach transmitting, to an enterprise computing system, a request for an address of the user; and receiving, from the enterprise computing system, the address of the user, wherein the address indicates the geographic location of the user.
However, Kadous teaches a user device transmitting a request for an address of the user to a server and the user device receiving from the server the address of the user indicating a geographic location of the user (Figs. 4-5; ¶¶0056-0057[the client device 130 may send the scan information discerned at step 504 to the server 110. The server 110 may first determine the physical address of the client device 130 using the scan information. The server 110 may then determine the map associated with the physical address. Thereafter, at step 512, the client device 130 may receive from the server 110 a map associated with its current physical address] in view of ¶0047[client device ... may need to request the maps from the server]).
The system of Kadous is applicable to the system of Streich in view of Cooper as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Streich in view of Cooper to include a user device that transmits a location request for a user as taught by Kadous. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in view of Cooper so that a client device may retrieve from its memory a map associated with its current physical address (¶0065).
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich in view of Cooper in view of Kadous et al. (US 2018/0313959 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 7, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the method of claim 6, Streich further discloses wherein determining the one or more service providers comprises:
determining a plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ], Fig. 22; ¶¶0252- 0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings associated with the search area shape)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above); and
filtering the plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions to determine the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above),
wherein causing, by the user device, display of the one or more service providers further comprises causing, by the user device, display of the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference one or more service providers located within the determined geohash regions of the geographical circumference (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above).
Although Streich discloses displaying service providers within a geographical circumference within the determined geohash regions, Streich in view of Cooper does not explicitly teach displaying providers within the geographical circumference separately from providers located within the determined regions but located outside of the geographical circumference.
However, Pun et al., hereinafter, Pun, teaches displaying separate information related to business outside of a preselected map area (¶0077[As shown in FIG. 8l, if the selected has other branch locations outside the Area Map [90], an icon "ALL" [812] will appear to indicate to the user that there exists other branch locations outside the Area Map [90]. After selecting "ALL", all locations [814] will be displayed in box [804] for selection.] in view of Claim 16; Examiner notes that only showing services within the defined area is comparable to displaying services within the area separately from those outside area).
The method of Pun is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Streich in view of Cooper to include displaying providers outside of the search region as taught by Pun. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper in order to locate a destination on an electronic map and to provide information thereof (¶0011).
Regarding Claim 19, Streich in view of Cooper teaches the user device of claim 18, Streich further discloses wherein determining the one or more service providers comprises:
determining a plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ], Fig. 22; ¶¶0252- 0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings associated with the search area shape)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above); and
filtering the plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions to determine the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]),
wherein causing display of the one or more service providers further comprises causing display of the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference one or more service providers located within the determined geohash regions of the geographical circumference (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above).
Although Streich discloses displaying service providers within a geographical circumference within the determined geohash regions, Streich in view of Cooper does not explicitly teach displaying providers within the geographical circumference separately from providers located within the determined regions but located outside of the geographical circumference.
However, Pun teaches displaying separate information related to business outside of a preselected map area (¶0077[As shown in FIG. 8l, if the selected has other branch locations outside the Area Map [90], an icon "ALL" [812] will appear to indicate to the user that there exists other branch locations outside the Area Map [90]. After selecting "ALL", all locations [814] will be displayed in box [804] for selection.] in view of Claim 16; Examiner notes that only showing services within the defined area is comparable to displaying services within the area separately from those outside area).
The system of Pun is applicable to the system of Streich in view of Cooper as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Streich in view of Cooper to include displaying providers outside of the search region as taught by Pun. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the system of Streich in view of Cooper in order to locate a destination on an electronic map and to provide information thereof (¶0011).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in further view of Agrawal et al. (US 2014/0278228 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 8, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun teaches the method of claim 7, Streich further discloses wherein determining the plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions comprises:
determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings; and determining the plurality of service providers associated with the geohash (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ]; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings)]; examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as discussed above).
Although Streich discloses determining geohash strings and geohash-associated providers, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun does not explicitly teach a common geohash identifier and providers associated with the common geohash identifier.
However, Agrawal et al., hereinafter Agrawal, teaches a common geohash identifier (¶0062[the geohash for these road segments will share a common prefix of length 26 bits]; Examiner notes that a plurality of geohash having a common prefix is comparable to a common geohash identifier]).
The method of Agrawal is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of service providers associated with a geohash as taught by Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun to include a common geohash identifier as taught by Agrawal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in order to give a user-friendly representation of a location on Earth (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 9, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8.
Streich in view of Cooper in further view of Pun does not explicitly teach wherein the common geohash identifier and the plurality of geohash strings are bit strings, and the common geohash identifier has fewer bits than each of the plurality of geohash strings.
However, Agrawal, teaches a common geohash identifier that is made up of bit strings and the common geohash identifier having fewer bits than the geohash strings (¶0062[in one model, Stockholm, Sweden has approximately SM road segments--the geohash for these road segments will share a common prefix of length 26 bits (assuming use of a 64 bit geohash)] and ¶0052[the first 25 bits of the points used in specifying the boundary are same]; Examiner notes that a plurality of geohash having a common prefix is comparable to a common geohash identifier and that the common identifier being only the prefix of the geohash means that it has fewer bits than each geohash string).
The method of Agrawal is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun to include a common geohash identifier made of bit strings and the common geohash identifier having fewer bits than each geohash string as taught by Agrawal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in order to give a user-friendly representation of a location on Earth (¶0006).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in further view of Yao et al. (US 2016/0171594 A1 [previously cited]).
Regarding Claim 10, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun teaches the method of claim 7, Streich further discloses wherein filtering the plurality of service providers further comprises: determining a plurality of service provider (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ]; ¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]), and
the geographic location of the user (Fig. 18[acquiring location information from new users]; ¶0197[A new location or shape can be requested which permits the user to click the map or enter an address to define a location, or plot a shape on the map]); and
determining the one or more service providers based on comparing the plurality of service provider distances with the radial distance indicated by the user input (Figs. 19 and 20; ¶0195[a "Geospatial Query" (GQ) which will filter out data associated with locations that do not fall within a defined shape. The GQ will filter out all services with service areas that do not encompass the location of the user (where the service provider must travel to the user) and will filter out services or goods that are not encompassed by the users defined shape or radius (where the user must travel to that location) ... The User's defined shape or radius is an element defined in the user's profile]; Examiner notes that "user's defined" is comparable to a user input and that filtering out providers that do not fall within the user defined region is comparable to determining providers based on comparing their distances with the distance indicated by the user input).
Although Streich discloses the geographic location of a user and determining a plurality of service providers and filtering them based on their distances with the distance indicated by a user, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun does not explicitly teach service provider distances, wherein each of the plurality of service provider distances indicates a distance between a service provider, from the plurality of service providers, and the geographic location.
However, Yao et al., hereinafter Yao, teaches merchants' distances wherein each of the merchants' distance indicates a distance between the merchant and the geographic location of the user (¶¶0058-0084[after receiving the location information of the user and the value in the specific distance range, will screen the searching results of merchants and calculate the linear distance from the user to the merchants, access again to a distance range screening process after obtaining the distance values from all merchants to the user ... obtain the information of the most premium merchant within the distance range, and then display the result on the user interface of the intelligent terminal]; Examiner notes that merchants and service providers are comparable).
The method of Yao is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using location information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search method for service providers within a distance indicated by a user as taught by Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun to include a distance for each merchant as taught by Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in order to allow for the search of the most premium merchant within the preset distance range (¶0063).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in further view of Shiffert et al. (US 2020/0380563 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun teaches the method of claim 7, Streich further discloses wherein determining the plurality of service providers located within the determined geohash regions comprises:
determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points], Fig. 22[shows how a point on a two-dimensional surface (e.g., a map or address) is assigned X and Y coordinates (e.g., longitude and latitude) and then converting those coordinates into a "quad key"]; ¶¶0263-0274[a location (or point) is assigned an X and Y value. X and Y are whole numbers (i.e., converting a location/address into geographic coordinates) that can be converted to 16 bit binary numbers, the binary of each are interwoven to make a 32 digit binary number, "I'. The 32-bit number is converted into a base 4, 16 digit number, "Q'. Points are represented as a base 4, 16 digit numbers (i.e., encoding geographic coordinates into a string that delineates an area on a map)]; Applicant has noted in their specification that Geohashing may be used to convert addresses into geographic coordinates which are encoded into a string that delineates an area on a map);
determining a plurality of service providers located within the geohash regions (Figs. 19-20[the display of a user interface showing a map area defined by the user and services selected for that location by geospatial query or GQ], Fig. 22; ¶¶0252- 0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ] in view of ¶0274-0276[Shapes and points defined by quad keys can be compared using more rapid arithmetic queries using whole numbers which is faster than geospatial calculations ... The method of the present invention can store a quad key in the database, assign the key to the appropriate LID# and rapidly speed up real time determination of whether points are contained within polygons by: Using whole number mathematic queries to ensure only qualifying polygons and/or points are passed to the Geospatial Query Engine (hence the determinations of service providers is based on the geohash strings associated with the search area shape)]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above)
filtering out the plurality of service providers located within the bounding area (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above),
determining a radial distance from the geographical region for each remaining service provider (Fig. 1[the actions are being done by a client device] in view of paragraph [0188], Fig. 5[shows a query region within a bounding area that has boundary points]; ¶¶0197-0202[plotting is accomplished by either defining multiple locations on the map which will result in a "connect the dots' method (Examiner interprets connected dots as a circumference) or defining a single location will plot a square shape around the location that the user can then manipulate using the editing techniques described earlier ... The user must indicate through the user interface that the shape or location is to be made permanent, at which time the information that defines the location of shape is stored in the Location Data base and assigned a new LID (location identifier number) ... the location of a store is relevant if it lies within the defined shopping area that the user has set to indicate where he or she is willing to travel (be that a polygon shape or a radius)]; Examiner notes that a radius is comparable to radial distance);
filtering out each remaining service provider with a respective radial distance greater than the radial distance from the geographic location for the search region (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]); and
causing display, by the user device, of each remaining service provider with a respective radial distance smaller than the radial distance from the geographic location for the search region (¶¶0252-0254[The "Marketplace' is a special area in the user interface where any user, regardless if they have provided a user name and password, can use the "Map and Location' interface to define an area and have the GQ filter out advertisements that do not fall within the defined area ... Users may also set a default shape or radius in their profile for use in the marketplace ... The service list that is displayed for a user in the "Service Locating" section of the user interface displays all services that have been deemed relevant to the user by the GQ]; Examiner notes that the method disclosed in paragraphs [0274]-[0276] describes a geohashing technique as disclosed above).
Although Streich discloses determining based on geohash strings, Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun does not explicitly teach a common geohash identifier, determining regions of the common geohash identifier, filtering within the common geohash identifier but outside of an area, determining a second radial distance, filtering a respective second radial distance, and a provider with a second radial distance.
However, Shiffert et al., hereinafter, Shiffert teaches a common geohash identifier and a second distance (¶0060[ome embodiments may determine whether a point is inside a polygon by comparing a geohash (or geohashes) of the polygon (e.g., a collection of square, geohashed areas that approximate or match the polygon area) to a prefix of a geohash of the current location, with a prefix matching the polygon geohash (or one of its geohashes) indicating that the location is inside the polygon] in view of Claim 21[a second stream of relative spatial distances between the second user computing device and the first user computing device]).
The method of Shiffert is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using location information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search method for service providers within a distance indicated by a user as taught by Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun to include a common geohash identifier and a second distance as taught by Shiffert. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing would have been motivated to expand the method of Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun in order to convey data to an offer-related mobile client application (¶0028).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-13 of the remarks filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the previous 35
USC § 101 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9 and 10 of the remarks that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to the MPEP 2106.04, the question of whether a claim is “directed to” a judicial exception in Step 2A is now evaluated using a two-prong inquiry. Prong One asks if the claim “recites” an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Under that prong, the mere inclusion of a judicial exception such as a method of organizing human activity in a claim means that the claim “recites” a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.04 [“The mere inclusion of a judicial exception such as a mathematical formula (which is one of the mathematical concepts identified as an abstract idea in MPEP § 2106.04(a)) in a claim means that the claim "recites" a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong One.”]). Additionally, MPEP 2106.04 instructs examiners to refer to the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activities, and mental processes) in order to identify abstract ideas. As noted above and in the previous office action, the claims recite recommending a service provider. This is an abstract idea because it is a concept of business relations which makes it a method of organizing human activity (i.e., one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Applicant further argues on pages 9-11 of the remarks that the claims are directed to a technical process and are not directed to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A method for identifying one or more service providers, comprising: obtaining, a geographic location associated with a user; determining, based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance; determining, based on the radial distance, coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region; determining, based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points; determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions; and causing, display of the one or more service providers as recited in claim 1 are all part of the abstract idea. The mere execution of the abstract idea on generic components which are described at a high level does not overcome the rejection. These components such as a “user device” are described as generic and at a high level in Fig. 2 and ¶¶0031-0034, ¶0042 of the instant specification.
Applicant argues on page 11-12 of the remarks that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and reflect a technical improvement by improving speed and accuracy over previous computing processes. Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to the MPEP 2106.04(d), Step 2A Prong Two determines whether: The claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, in which case the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and is eligible or the claim as a whole does not integrate the exception into a practical application, in which case the claim is directed to the judicial exception and requires further analysis under Step 2B. The instant claims which recite finding and recommending service providers, are not directed to improving “the existing technological process” requiring the generic components to operate in an unconventional manner to achieve an improvement in computer functionality or requiring the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces to improve a technical process. The additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. As currently recited, the instant claims are directed to improving the argued business task of a method for identifying one or more service providers, comprising: obtaining, a geographic location associated with a user; determining, based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, wherein the search region comprises a geographical circumference defined by the radial distance; determining, based on the radial distance, coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area comprising the circumference of the search region; determining, based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region comprising at least one boundary point of the plurality of boundary points; determining, based on the plurality of geohash strings, one or more service providers associated with the geohash regions; and causing, display of the one or more service providers as recited in claim 1 or more simply providing “provider recommendations” (i.e., the abstract idea). Therefore, the Examiner maintains the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception.
Applicant further argues on pages 12-13 of the remarks that the claims are not well-understood, routine, or conventional and recite an inventive concept. Examiner did not previously state that claim 1 was routine, conventional, or well-known. However, the additional elements fail to provide significantly more also because the claim simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. For example, the additional elements of claims 1, 13, and 20 utilize operations the courts have held to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see: MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)), including at least:
receiving or transmitting data over a network,
storing or retrieving information from memory,
presenting offers
Accordingly, Examiner maintains that the invention is directed to a judicial exception without
significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus the 35 USC §101 rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-17 of the remarks filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the previous 35 USC § 103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 14-15 of the remarks that Streich fails to disclose “determining, ... based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region, herein the search region comprises a geographical circumference" and/or "determining, ... based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region" as recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Streich discloses a user who can specify a radius that they are willing to travel to and as a result, a query region within a bounding area with boundary points is determined, see ¶¶0197-0202 of Streich. Examiner notes that the process of determining a search region following a radius set by a user in Streich is comparable to determining, based on the geographic location, a radial distance from the geographic location for a search region comprising a geographical circumference.
Furthermore, Streich discloses assigning geographic coordinates to points on a bounding region of the map and then converting those points which is consistent with the applicant’s description of Geohashing, see ¶¶0263-0274 of Streich and ¶0035 of the instant specification. Therefore, Streich discloses determining, based on the plurality of boundary points, a plurality of geohash strings comprising a geohash string for each geohash region” as recited in claim 1.
As per MPEP 2111, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Applicant’s arguments regarding the determination of a radial distance for a search region and determination of geohash strings for boundary points is a narrow interpretation of the claims. Furthermore, according to the MPEP 2111.01(II), it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification when interpreting the claims under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues on page 15 of the remarks that Streich in view of Cooper does not teach “determining... a plurality of geohash strings” nor "determining . . . coordinates for a plurality of boundary points ... comprising the circumference of the search region.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted previously Streich discloses determining a plurality of geohash strings, see Streich ¶¶0263-0274.
Furthermore, Sterich describes a custom service list that is generated for a user in order to filter out service providers that are not within a user defined shape. The user defines a shape when setting up their profile, see Streich ¶0195. Examiner notes that the aforementioned process is comparable to determine a bounding area comprising the circumference of a search region. Streich does not explicitly disclose determining information based on coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal area, however, Cooper teaches coordinates for a plurality of boundary points that define a polygonal shape, see Fig. 4 and ¶¶0039-0042 of Cooper. The method of Cooper is applicable to the method of Streich as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are both targeted to geospatial shape tagging and searching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bounding area and geohash regions as disclosed by Streich to include coordinates for a plurality of boundary points defining a polygonal bounding area based on a radial distance as taught by Cooper.
Applicant further argues on page 16 of the remarks that Streich in view of Cooper in view of Pun does not teach "causing ... display of the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference separately from one or more service providers located within the determined geohash regions but located outside of the geographical circumference." Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sterich describes a “Marketplace” area in a user interface where a user can use a map and location interface to define an area on the map and filter out services that do not fall within the user-defined area. In addition, the user can define a search area by defining a radius in their profile. The users are provided with an interface which displays a list of the services that are available in the defined region, see Streich ¶¶0252-0254. Examiner notes that the aforementioned process is comparable to “causing…display of the one or more service providers further comprises causing, by the user device, display of the one or more service providers located within the geographical circumference one or more service providers located within the determined geohash regions of the geographical circumference” as recited in claim 7.
Streich in view of Cooper does not explicitly teach displaying providers separately from providers outside of a search region. However, reference Pun teaches displaying separate information related to services that are outside of a preselected area on a map by allowing a user to make selections (such as selecting “ALL” to indicate other branches of a business) that display businesses that are outside of a predefined search region, see Pun ¶0077. The method of Pun is applicable to the method of Streich in view of Cooper as they characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using position information to enhance user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Streich in view of Cooper to include displaying providers outside of the search region as taught by Pun.
Accordingly, references Streich, Cooper, Kadous, Pun, Agrawal, and Yao have been maintained and reference Shiffert has been added in view of the newly added claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHOORA LADONI/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689