DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on March 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (US 2018/0273707).
Regarding claim 1, Price discloses a polymer powder composition comprising polysilazane, which corresponds to a preceramic resin, and a flow promoter such as fumed aluminum oxide [0001, 0030 and 0052].
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses the fumed aluminum oxide as hydrophobic [0052].
Regarding claim 3, the reference discloses the composition may include one or more fillers [0050].
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses the filler as carbon [0050].
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses the polymer powder composition comprises polysilazane [0030].
Regarding claims 7-9, the reference does not specifically disclose the volume percent of polysilazane or of fumed aluminum oxide. The reference does, however, disclose control the amount of filler and additives in a sufficient amount to perform its intended function without adversely affecting the powder composition or the article prepared therefore and in order to provide the thermoplastic particles with sufficient flowability [0050-0051]. Note that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amounts of polysilazane and fumed aluminum oxide in order to provide sufficient flowability.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (US 2018/0273707) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Querol Esparch et al. (US 2021/0277222).
Price discloses the claimed composition comprising a preceramic resin and fumed aluminum oxide, see above discussion. The reference further discloses that the composition contains one or more optional components in an amount sufficient to perform its intended function without adversely affecting the powder composition or an article prepared therefrom [0050]. The reference further discloses the one or more optional components can be a particulate inorganic filler (such as ceramic) or an inorganic fiber [0050].
Regarding claim 5, the reference fails to disclose the filler as zirconium diboride particles or silicon carbide whiskers.
Querol Esparch discloses a three-dimensional printed part made from a thermoplastic polymer powder and fillers such as zirconium boride, which corresponds to ZrB2, and silicon carbide fibers, see abstract and [0078-0080]. Additionally, the reference discloses the fillers can have a Knoop hardness of at least 1200 or a reinforcing material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include zirconium boride and/or silicon carbide fibers in order to improve the hardness of the composition as well as reinforce it.
Regarding claim 12, while the references do not specifically disclose the claimed volume amounts, Price discloses controlling the amount of filler and additives in a sufficient amount to perform its intended function without adversely affecting the powder composition or the article prepared therefore and in order to provide the thermoplastic particles with sufficient flowability [0050-0051]. Note that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amounts of polysilazane, fumed aluminum oxide and fillers in order to provide sufficient flowability, hardness and reinforcement without adversely affecting the powder.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (US 2018/0273707) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Querol Esparch et al. (US 2021/0277222) and Lin et al. (US 2018/0333913).
Price discloses the claimed composition comprising a preceramic resin and fumed aluminum oxide, see above discussion. The reference further discloses that the composition contains one or more optional components in an amount sufficient to perform its intended function without adversely affecting the powder composition or an article prepared therefrom [0050]. The reference further discloses the one or more optional components can be a particulate inorganic filler (such as ceramic) or an inorganic fiber [0050].
The reference fails to disclose the filler as zirconium diboride particles or silicon carbide whiskers.
Querol Esparch discloses a three-dimensional printed part made from a thermoplastic polymer powder and fillers such as zirconium boride, which corresponds to ZrB2, and silicon carbide fibers, see abstract and [0078-0080]. Additionally, the reference discloses the fillers can have a Knoop hardness of at least 1200 or a reinforcing material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include zirconium boride and/or silicon carbide fibers in order to improve the hardness of the composition as well as reinforce it.
Neither reference discloses the preceramic resin as polycarbosilane.
Lin discloses a pre-ceramic material that includes a polymer that can be heated to form a ceramic material [0123]. The pre-ceramic material may include polysilazanes and polycarbosilanes [0123].
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use polycarbosilane as a known alternative to polysilazane for forming ceramic materials.
While the references do not specifically disclose the claimed volume amounts, Price discloses controlling the amount of filler and additives in a sufficient amount to perform its intended function without adversely affecting the powder composition or the article prepared therefore and in order to provide the thermoplastic particles with sufficient flowability [0050-0051]. Note that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amounts of polycarbosilane, fumed aluminum oxide and fillers in order to provide sufficient flowability, hardness and reinforcement without adversely affecting the powder.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783