DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 10/23/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-22 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 6, 12, 14, 17, and 20-22 are amended. No claims are cancelled or added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Ownership
Examiner notes a change in Assignee per Statement Under 37 CFR 3.73(c) filed 01/28/206. Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd. has assigned the application 17/967,637 to Nokia Technologies Oy.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: The amended limitation “switches the states” appears to be a typo of “switches the state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Asterjadhi et al. (US 20210007168 A1, herein after “Asterjadhi”), in view of Kim et al. (US 20230146451 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
RE Claim 1, Asterjadhi discloses:
A receive chain enabled state switching method, comprising:
receiving, by a first multi-link device by using a first link, a first frame sent by a second multi-link device to the first multi-link device (Multi-link devices, AP, first MLD, and non-AP MLDs, second MLD, establish multi-link association by a first link by sending or receiving signaling, second MLD, via the first link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; ¶0122, Fig. 2A), the first frame being a trigger frame (Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The first frame is a format selected from a group consisting of a management frame, control frame, and a data frame. ¶0011; A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would understand a Trigger Frame is a Control Frame.); and
wherein the second link is a link between the first multi-link device and the second multi-link device different from the first link, (Multi-link devices, AP, first MLD, and non-AP MLDs, second MLD, establish multi-link association, multi-receive-chain enabled state, by a first link by sending or receiving signaling via the first link. The signaling via the first link to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; The multi-link association may be established the MLDs using different STA interfaces, channels, frequency bands or spatial streams for first and second link. ¶0101; ¶0122, Fig. 2A)
wherein the first multi-link device has a plurality of stations (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple STA interfaces in the same device, a first multi-link device. ¶0101),
wherein the second multi-link device includes a plurality of access points (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple BSSs, multiple APs to manage multiple links, interfaces in the same device, a second multi-link device. ¶0101), and
wherein the second link is a link corresponding to a station in the first multi-link device in an awake state when the first frame is received by the first multi-link device by using the first link (Non-AP MLD has first and second STA interfaces, links. AP-MLD has first and second BSS, AP interfaces for the links. ¶0039; The signaling includes an indication to activate or deactivate the second link, the indication included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; The multi-link control information includes A-Control field described in this disclosure may be included in any type of frame, including a management frame, a data frame or a control frame. ¶0110; Method includes receiving a signal via the first link to activate a second link. The method includes activating the second link by causing the second STA interface to enter an awake state. ¶0040, ¶0106, ¶¶0109-0112).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
switching, by the first multi-link device in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive chain enabled state to a multi-receive chain enabled state,
However, Kim discloses:
switching, by the first multi-link device in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive chain enabled state to a multi-receive chain enabled state (Downlink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the downlink. ¶0095; DL frame transmitted based on PPDU including a trigger frame. ¶0260. AP MLD, second multi-link device, and non-AP MLD, first multi-link device, supporting simultaneous transmit/receive. ¶0499, Fig. 54; STA2, a second receive chain for a second link, enters doze state by power savings mechanism. AP MLD1 transmits an indication for waking STA 2 in a DL frame transmitted to STA 1, a first frame on a first link. Upon STA1 receiving the indication, a DL frame, from AP1, and wakes up, switches to active state, STA2 through information sharing in non-AP MLD1. AP MLD1 may awake STA 2 that has already entered doze state. ¶¶0510-512, Fig. 57; Therefore, both STA1 and STA2 are now active to enable multi-chain receive over two links.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, enabling or disabling one or more links of an non-AP MLD based on the indications in the frame from the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links in multi-link associated MLDs to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 2, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein after the receiving, by the first multi-link device by using the first link, the first frame sent by the second multi-link device, the method further comprises:
implementing, by the first multi-link device, the multi- receive-chain enabled state at the first link. (Indication to activate or deactivate, receive-chain enable state, the second link is included in a first frame sent, by second MLD, or received, by first MLD. via first link. Non-AP MLD, second MLD, establishes a first link via first STA interface and a second link via second STA. ¶0101; ¶0122, Fig. 2A; Non-AP MLD, second MLD, sends a request or indication of data requirements, a frame, to the AP MLD, first MLD, determining the anchor link, first link, is insufficient and to activate the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0125; Thus, both first and second link are activated, i.e. multi-receive-chain enabled state.)
RE Claim 3, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein after the implementing, by the first multi-link device, the multi- receive-chain enabled state at the second link, the method further comprises:
performing, by the first multi-link device, frame interaction with the second multi-link device by using the second link (Data frame with preamble, frame interaction, may be transmitted via the anchor link, first link, and auxiliary link, second link. ¶0140; Fig 4E), and switching, by the first multi-link device, the multi-receive- chain enabled state at the second link to a single-receive-chain enabled state based on a frame interaction sequence on the second link ending (Data frame with preamble may be transmitted via the anchor link, first link, and auxiliary link, second link. AP MLD includes preamble, frame interaction sequence, when sending last packet of buffered data, end of link transmission, that includes a deactivation indicator for the second link. ¶0140; Fig. 4E, 14; By deactivating the second link only the first link is active thereby enabling the single-receive-chain state.); or
switching, by the first multi-link device, the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the second link to a single-receive-chain enabled state the first multi-link device not receiving (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD deactivates the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0142; Fig. 5A; a threshold amount to be set, e.g. zero transmissions. ¶0039 ¶0185-1088 Fig. 14), by using the second link within a predetermined time (Determine a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP), a predetermined time, for the second link and activating the second link during the TWT SP. The second link is not active, single-receive-chain enabled state, outside of the TWT SP times. ¶0025; ¶0138, Fig. 4C;), any frame sent by the second multi-link device to the first multi-link device (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates, by sending a frame, via the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0142; Fig. 5A); or
switching, by the first multi-link device, the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the second link to a single-receive-chain enabled state based on the first multi-link device receiving (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates, by sending a frame, via the auxiliary link, second link, single-receive-chain enabled state, to first MLD. ¶0142; Fig. 5A), by using the second link, a second frame sent by the second multi-link device, wherein the second frame is used for indicating a switch to the single-receive-chain enabled state for the second link. (Non-AP MLD, second MLD, or the AP MLD, first MLD, may dynamically activate, first frame, or deactivate, the second frame, the auxiliary link, second link, based on throughput, speed or QOS. ¶0106; Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates, by sending a second frame, via the auxiliary link, second link, single-receive-chain enabled state. ¶0142; Fig. 5A)
RE Claim 5, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method , wherein the first frame carries a traffic identifier (TID), and the second link is a link mapped to the TID. (A traffic identifier (TID) may be mapped to one or more links established by the multi-link association, first and second link. ¶0105)
RE Claim 6, Asterjadhi discloses:
the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first multi-link device by using the first link, a third frame sent by the second multi-link device to the first multi-link device, wherein the third frame comprises a traffic identifier (TID) (AP MLD, first MLD, signals the availability of traffic to send. The non-AP MLD, second device, indicates, by sending a frame, via the first link, which link or links (among those mapped to a TID for that traffic) to activate for transmission of the traffic via auxiliary link, enable the state of the second link. ¶0108); and
switching, by the first multi-link device, the multi-receive-chain enabled state of the second link and/or a target link to the single-receive-chain enabled state, wherein the second link and/or the target link are/is not mapped to the TID (Auxiliary link, second link, may be disabled and deactivated, a single-receive chain enabled state, when there is not TID mapped to that link. ¶0106).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein after the switching, by the first multi-link device, the state of the second link from the single-receive chain enabled state to the multi-receive chain enabled state,
However, Kim discloses:
The method, wherein after the switching, by the first multi-link device, the state of the second link from the single-receive chain enabled state to the multi-receive chain enabled state (Downlink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the downlink. ¶0095; DL frame transmitted based on PPDU including a trigger frame. ¶0260. AP MLD, second multi-link device, and non-AP MLD, first multi-link device, supporting simultaneous transmit/receive. ¶0499, Fig. 54; STA2, a second receive chain for a second link, enters doze state by power savings mechanism. AP MLD1 transmits an indication for waking STA 2 in a DL frame transmitted to STA 1, a first frame on a first link. Upon STA1 receiving the indication, a DL frame, from AP1, and wakes up, switches to active state, STA2 through information sharing in non-AP MLD1. AP MLD1 may awake STA 2 that has already entered doze state. ¶¶0510-512, Fig. 57; Therefore, both STA1 and STA2 are now active to enable multi-chain receive over two links.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, enabling or disabling one or more links of an non-AP MLD based on the indications in the frame from the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links in multi-link associated MLDs to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 7, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein the first frame carries indication information ( Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0008; A-control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Specified format of A-control field is consistent for each of a plurality of frames. ¶0010; ¶¶0016, 0020, 0021; Fig. 8, Fig. 9A-9E) used for indicating the second link, and before the implementing making, by the first multi-link device, the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the second link (Signaling, a first frame, to activate the second link from the AP MLD, first MLD, indicating buffered downlink traffic for the second link sent to non-AP MLD, second MLD. AP MLD has second link active thus a multi-receive-chain enabled state. ¶0041), the method further comprises:
determining, by the first multi-link device, the second link based on the indication information. (The signaling to activate the second link by the AP MLD, first MLD, includes a traffic indication of buffered downlink traffic to be transmitted to the non-AP MLD, second MLD. ¶0041; ( Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0008; A-control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Specified format of A-control field is consistent for each of a plurality of frames. ¶0010; ¶¶0016, 0020, 0021; Fig. 8, Fig. 9A-9E)
RE Claim 8, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein the first frame is a data frame (¶0008; A-control field may be included in any type of frame including data or control frame. ¶0110), the first frame comprises a high throughput (HT) control field of a high efficiency (HE) type (¶0152, Fig. 8), the HT control field comprises an A-control subfield (¶0153, Fig. 8), the A-control subfield comprises a control subfield (A-control field may include multiple control parameters each referred to as a control field or control subfield. ¶0109), the control subfield comprises a control information subfield and a control identifier subfield (A-control control subfields may include a control identifier and a control value. A-control subfield may be structured to include multi-link control information. ¶0109), the control information subfield carries the indication information (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a), the control identifier subfield carries a control identifier (A-control control subfields may include a control identifier and a control value. ¶0109), and the control identifier is used for indicating that the control information subfield carries the indication information. (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a)
RE Claim 9, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein the first frame is a control frame (¶0008; A-control field may be included in any type of frame including data or control frame. ¶0110; MAC control frame, ¶0152, Fig. 8), and the indication information is carried in the one or more subfields in a frame control field of the first frame (A control frame with A-control fields includes control parameters including explicit link ID, indication information for second link. Fig. 6A, 6B. First set of control parameters related to first link and second set of control parameters related to second link, indication information is for second link. ¶0165; Fig. 8, 9A, 9B, 9C, 9D, 9E): a to distributed system (to DS) subfield (receiver address field, to DS. ¶0162; Fig. 8, 870), a from distributed system (from DS) subfield (transmitter address field, from DS. ¶0162; Fig. 8, 875), a more fragment (more frag) subfield (element is optional with inclusion of prior fields listed), a retry subfield (element is optional with inclusion of prior fields listed), a protected frame subfield (element is optional with inclusion of prior fields listed), or a +high throughput control/order (+HTC/order) subfield (element is optional with inclusion of prior fields listed).
RE Claim 10, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, wherein the first frame is a control frame (¶0008; A-control field may be included in any type of frame including data or control frame. ¶0110), a frame control field of the first frame comprises a subtype subfield (A-control field may include multiple control parameters each referred to as a control field or control subfield. ¶0109), the subtype subfield is used for indicating that the first frame carries an indication information field (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a), and the indication information field ( Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0008; A-control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Specified format of A-control field is consistent for each of a plurality of frames. ¶0010; ¶¶0016, 0020, 0021; Fig. 8, Fig. 9A-9E) carries the indication information (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a); or
a frame control field of the first frame comprises a subtype subfield, the subtype subfield is used for indicating that the first frame carries includes a field for the indication an extended control field (A-Control field has a specified format that to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Legacy system A-control field was limited to 30 bits. ¶0159; A-control field, according to this disclosure, may have longer length and may be variable in size to accommodate more control parameters, an extended control field. ¶0160; Fig. 8; ¶0161-0163 9A, 9B, 9C), the extended control field is used for indicating that the first frame carries an indication information field ( Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0008; A-control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Specified format of A-control field is consistent for each of a plurality of frames. ¶0010; ¶¶0016, 0020, 0021; Fig. 8, Fig. 9A-9E), and the indication information field carries the indication information. (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a)
RE Claim 12, Asterjadhi discloses:
A first multi-link device, comprising:
a receiver (¶0175, Fig. 11), configured to receive, by using a first link, a first frame sent by a second multi-link device to the first multi-link device (Multi-link devices, AP, first MLD, and non-AP MLDs, second MLD, establish multi-link association by a first link by sending or receiving signaling, second MLD, via the first link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; ¶0122, Fig. 2A), the first frame being a trigger frame (Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The first frame is a format selected from a group consisting of a management frame, control frame, and a data frame. ¶0011; A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would understand a Trigger Frame is a Control Frame.); and
wherein the second link is a link between the first multi-link device and the second multi-link device different from the first link, (Multi-link devices, AP, first MLD, and non-AP MLDs, second MLD, establish multi-link association, multi-receive-chain enabled state, by a first link by sending or receiving signaling via the first link. The signaling via the first link to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; The multi-link association may be established using different STA interfaces, channels, frequency bands or spatial streams for first and second link. ¶0101; ¶0122, Fig. 2A)
wherein the first multi-link device has a plurality of stations (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple STA interfaces in the same device, a first multi-link device. ¶0101),
wherein the second multi-link device includes a plurality of access points (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple BSSs, multiple APs to manage multiple links, interfaces in the same device, a second multi-link device. ¶0101), and
wherein the second link is a link corresponding to a station in the first multi-link device in an awake state when the first frame is received by the first multi-link device by using the first link (Non-AP MLD has first and second STA interfaces, links. AP-MLD has first and second BSS, AP interfaces for the links. ¶0039; The signaling includes an indication to activate or deactivate the second link, the indication included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; The multi-link control information includes A-Control field described in this disclosure may be included in any type of frame, including a management frame, a data frame or a control frame. ¶0110; Method includes receiving a signal via the first link to activate a second link. The method includes activating the second link by causing the second STA interface to enter an awake state. ¶0040, ¶0106, ¶¶0109-0112).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
processing circuitry, configured to switch, in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive-chain enabled state to a multi-receive-chain enabled state,
However, Kim discloses:
processing circuitry (¶¶0261-0263, Fig. 19), configured to switch, in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive-chain enabled state to a multi-receive-chain enabled state, (Downlink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the downlink. ¶0095; DL frame transmitted based on PPDU including a trigger frame. ¶0260. AP MLD, second multi-link device, and non-AP MLD, first multi-link device, supporting simultaneous transmit/receive. ¶0499, Fig. 54; STA2, a second receive chain for a second link, enters doze state by power savings mechanism. AP MLD1 transmits an indication for waking STA 2 in a DL frame transmitted to STA 1, a first frame on a first link. Upon STA1 receiving the indication, a DL frame, from AP1, and wakes up, switches to active state, STA2 through information sharing in non-AP MLD1. AP MLD1 may awake STA 2 that has already entered doze state. ¶¶0510-512, Fig. 57; Therefore, both STA1 and STA2 are now active to enable multi-chain receive over two links.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, enabling or disabling one or more links of an non-AP MLD based on the indications in the frame from the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links in multi-link associated MLDs to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 13, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein
the processing circuitry is further configured to implement the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the first link after the receiver receives, by using the first link, the first frame sent by the second multi-link device. (Indication to activate or deactivate, receive-chain enable state, the second link is included in a first frame sent, by second MLD, or received, by first MLD. via first link. Non-AP MLD, second device, establishes a first link via first STA interface and a second link via second STA. ¶0101; ¶0122, Fig. 2A; Non-AP MLD, second MLD, sends a request or indication of data requirements, a frame, to the AP MLD determining the anchor link, first link, is insufficient and to activate the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0125; Thus, both first and second link are activated, i.e. multi-receive-chain enabled state.)
RE Claim 14, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein the receiver is further configured to perform frame interaction with the second multi-link device by using the second link after the processing circuitry switches the states of the second link of the multi-receive-chain enabled state (In some implementations, each PPDU may include signaling to instruct the non-AP MLD 120 to activate or deactivate the auxiliary link 0134. In some implementations, the signaling may be a traffic indicator and the non-AP MLD 120 may infer that the auxiliary link 134 should be activated to receive the traffic. Data frame with preamble, frame interaction, may be transmitted on both the anchor link, first link, and auxiliary link, second link. ¶0141-0142; Fig. 5A); and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to switch the multi-receive-chain enabled state of the second link to a single-receive-chain enabled state when a frame interaction sequence on the second link ends (Data frame with preamble may be transmitted via the anchor link, first link, and auxiliary link, second link. AP MLD includes preamble, frame interaction sequence, when sending last packet of buffered data, end of link transmission, that includes a deactivation indicator for the second link. ¶0140; Fig. 4E, 14; By deactivating the second link only the first link is active thereby enabling the single-receive-chain state.); or
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to switch the multi-receive-chain enabled state of the second link to a single-receive-chain enabled state when the receiver does not receive (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0142; Fig. 5A), by using the second link within a predetermined time (Determine a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP), a predetermined time, for the second link and activating the second link during the TWT SP. The second link is not active, single-receive-chain enabled state, outside of the TWT SP times. ¶0025; ¶0138, Fig. 4C;), any frame sent by the second multi-link device to the first multi-link device after the processing circuitry implements the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the second link (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates, by sending a frame, via the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0142; Fig. 5A); or
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive, by using the second link, a second frame sent by the second multi-link device (Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, the second MLD, deactivates, by sending a frame, via the auxiliary link, second link. ¶0142; Fig. 5A), wherein the second frame is used for indicating a switch to a single-receive-chain enabled state (Data frame with preamble, frame interaction, may be transmitted via the anchor link, first link, and auxiliary link, second link. ¶0140; Fig 4E); and the processing circuitry is further configured to switch the state of the second link to the single-receive-chain enabled state. (Non-AP MLD, second MLD, or the AP MLD, first MLD, may dynamically activate, first frame, or deactivate, the second frame, the auxiliary link, second link, based on throughput, speed or QOS. ¶0106; Following a time period after the completion of the last data transmission, the non-AP MLD, second device, deactivates, by sending a second frame, via the auxiliary link, second link, single-receive-chain enabled state. ¶0142; Fig. 5A)
RE Claim 16, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein the first frame carries a traffic identifier (TID), and the second link is a link mapped to the TID. (A traffic identifier (TID) may be mapped to one or more links established by the multi-link association, first and second link. ¶0105)
RE Claim 17, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein:
wherein the third frame comprises a traffic identifier (TID) (AP MLD, first MLD, signals the availability of traffic to send. The non-AP MLD, second device, indicates, by sending a frame, via the first link, which link or links (among those mapped to a TID for that traffic) to activate for transmission of the traffic via auxiliary link, enable the state of the second link. ¶0108);
and the processing circuitry is further configured to switch a state of the second link and/or a target link to the single-receive-chain enabled state, wherein the second link and/or the target link are/is not mapped to the TID. (Auxiliary link, second link, may be disabled and deactivated, a single-receive chain enabled state, when there is not TID mapped to that link. ¶0106)
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
the receiver is further configured to receive, by using the first link, a third frame sent by the second multi-link device to the first multi-link device after the processing circuitry switches the state of the second link from the single-receive-chain enabled state to the multi- receive-chain enabled state
However, Kim discloses:
the receiver is further configured to receive, by using the first link, a third frame sent by the second multi-link device to the first multi-link device after the processing circuitry switches the state of the second link from the single-receive-chain enabled state to the multi- receive-chain enabled state (AP MLD, second multi-link device, and non-AP MLD, first multi-link device, supporting simultaneous transmit/receive. ¶0499, Fig. 54; STA2, a second receive chain for a second link, enters doze state by power savings mechanism. AP MLD1 transmits an indication for waking STA 2 in a DL frame transmitted to STA 1, a first frame on a first link. Upon STA1 receiving the indication, a DL frame, from AP1, and wakes up, switches to active state, STA2 through information sharing in non-AP MLD1. AP MLD1 may awake STA 2 that has already entered doze state. Non-AP MLD, first MLD, receives a DL frame from AP MLD with TI and/or awake timing information for STA2 in doze state. ¶¶0510-512, Fig. 57; Therefore, both STA1 and STA2 are now active to enable multi-chain receive over two links.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, enabling or disabling one or more links of an non-AP MLD based on the indications in the frame from the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links in multi-link associated MLDs with schedule updates of timing for operation of a second link to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, 00510-0512, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 18, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein the first frame carries indication information ( Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0008; A-control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; Specified format of A-control field is consistent for each of a plurality of frames. ¶0010; ¶¶0016, 0020, 0021; Fig. 8, Fig. 9A-9E) used for indicating the second link, and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the second link based on the indication information before implementing the multi-receive-chain enabled state at the second link. (Signaling, a first frame, to activate the second link from the AP MLD, first MLD, indicating buffered downlink traffic for the second link sent to non-AP MLD, second MLD. AP MLD has second link active thus a multi-receive-chain enabled state. ¶0041)
RE Claim 19, Asterjadhi discloses:
The device, wherein the first frame is a data frame (¶0008; A-control field may be included in any type of frame including data or control frame. ¶0110), the first frame comprises a high throughput (HT) control field of a high efficiency (HE) type (¶0152, Fig. 8), the high throughput control field comprises an A-control subfield (¶0153, Fig. 8), the A-control subfield comprises a control subfield (A-control field may include multiple control parameters each referred to as a control field or control subfield. ¶0109), the control subfield comprises a control information subfield and a control identifier subfield (A-control control subfields may include a control identifier and a control value. A-control subfield may be structured to include multi-link control information. ¶0109), the control information subfield carries the indication information (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a), the control identifier subfield carries a control identifier(A-control control subfields may include a control identifier and a control value. ¶0109), and the control identifier is used for indicating that the control information subfield carries the indication information. (first frame may include A-control field or other indicator to inform the non-AP, second MLD, to activate the second link. ¶0135; Fig. 4a)
RE Claim 20, Asterjadhi discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon processor executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (¶0048), cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
receiving, by using a first link, a first frame from a second multi-link device to a first multi-link device (Multi-link devices, AP and non-AP MLD, second device, s, establish multi-link association by a first link by sending or receiving signaling, second MLD, via the first link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; ¶0122, Fig. 2A), the first frame being a trigger frame (Signaling includes indication to activate or deactivate the second link of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The first frame is a format selected from a group consisting of a management frame, control frame, and a data frame. ¶0011; A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would understand a Trigger Frame is a Control Frame.); and
wherein the second link is a link between a first multi-link device and the second multi-link device different from the first link, (Multi-link devices, AP and non-AP MLD, second device, s, establish multi-link association, multi-receive-chain enabled state, by a first link by sending or receiving signaling via the first link. The signaling via the first link to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0006; Signaling indication to activate or deactivate second link is included in a first frame sent or received by first link. ¶0008; The multi-link association may be established using different STA interfaces, channels, frequency bands or spatial streams for first and second link. ¶0101; ¶0122, Fig. 2A)
wherein the first multi-link device has a plurality of stations (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple STA interfaces in the same device, a first multi-link device. ¶0101),
wherein the second multi-link device includes a plurality of access points (Multi-link device, MLD, includes multiple interfaces, links, establishing a multi-link associate with another MLD. ¶0066; An MLD may operate multiple BSSs, multiple APs to manage multiple links, interfaces in the same device, a second multi-link device. ¶0101), and
wherein the second link is a link corresponding to a station in the first multi-link device in an awake state when the first frame is received by the first multi-link device by using the first link (Non-AP MLD has first and second STA interfaces, links. AP-MLD has first and second BSS, AP interfaces for the links. ¶0039; The signaling includes an indication to activate or deactivate the second link, the indication included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; The multi-link control information includes A-Control field described in this disclosure may be included in any type of frame, including a management frame, a data frame or a control frame. ¶0110; Method includes receiving a signal via the first link to activate a second link. The method includes activating the second link by causing the second STA interface to enter an awake state. ¶0040, ¶0106, ¶¶0109-0112).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
switching, by the first multi-link device in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive chain enabled state to a multi-receive chain enabled state,
However, Kim discloses:
switching, by the first multi-link device in response to receiving the first frame, a state of a second link from a single-receive chain enabled state to a multi-receive chain enabled state (Downlink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the downlink. ¶0095; DL frame transmitted based on PPDU including a trigger frame. ¶0260. AP MLD, second multi-link device, and non-AP MLD, first multi-link device, supporting simultaneous transmit/receive. ¶0499, Fig. 54; STA2, a second receive chain for a second link, enters doze state by power savings mechanism. AP MLD1 transmits an indication for waking STA 2 in a DL frame transmitted to STA 1, a first frame on a first link. Upon STA1 receiving the indication, a DL frame, from AP1, and wakes up, switches to active state, STA2 through information sharing in non-AP MLD1. AP MLD1 may awake STA 2 that has already entered doze state. ¶¶0510-512, Fig. 57; Therefore, both STA1 and STA2 are now active to enable multi-chain receive over two links.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, enabling or disabling one or more links of an non-AP MLD based on the indications in the frame from the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links in multi-link associated MLDs to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 21, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method,
receiving, by the first multi-link device, communications from the second multi-link device via a plurality of spatial flows on the second link (First link includes a first set of spatial streams and the second link includes a second set of spatial streams. ¶0033; ¶0141, Fig. 5A).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising transmitting, by the first multi-link device via the first link, a response frame indicating that the state of the second link has been switched to the multi-receive-chain enabled state);
However, Kim discloses:
further comprising transmitting, by the first multi-link device via the first link, a response frame indicating that the state of the second link has been switched to the multi-receive-chain enabled state (The multi-link device can change the second STA from the doze state (or sleep state) to the awake state in response to the first PPDU. ¶0540; According to an embodiment, after the state of the second STA is changed to the awake state, the multi-link device may transmit a second PPDU including information about the state of the second STA. ¶0543; According to an embodiment, the second PPDU may be transmitted within the TXOP for the first STA. ¶0544; For example, the second PPDU can be transmitted together in the transmission section of the ACK frame for the first PPDU, a response. ¶0545);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asterjadhi, a non-AP MLD receives a frame from an AP MLD indicating multi-link operation, with the teachings of Kim, communicating the state one or more links of an non-AP MLD to update current configuration with the associated AP MLD.
The motivation in doing so would be to support dynamically activating or deactivating secondary links based on current state in multi-link associated MLDs to provide flexibility for power savings and data throughput. (Asterjadhi: Abstract, ¶¶0102-0103, 0107, 0109-0112, Fig. 2A, 10; Kim: Abstract, ¶¶0004-0006, 0008, 0010, Fig. 54, 57)
RE Claim 22, Asterjadhi discloses:
The method, further comprising determining, by the first multi-link device, that a frame interaction sequence carried out via the plurality of spatial flows has ended (Auxiliary link may be enabled or disabled based on a traffic identifier, TID, mapping to a given link. STA interface for that auxiliary link may also be in an awake or doze state based on whether the link is enabled. ¶¶0105-0106); and
switching, by the first multi-link device and in response to determining that the frame interaction sequence has ended, the state of the second link from the multi-receive chain enabled state to the single-receive chain state (Anchor link and auxiliary links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD. For power savings, non-AP MLD may reduce the quantity of RF chains that would otherwise be activated or idle. ¶0107; Therefore, MLDs may reduce all links, multi-receive chain, down to a single anchor link, single-receive chain, to maintain signaling.).
RE Claim 11, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the first frame is a trigger frame, a user information (user info) field of the first frame comprises an association identifier AID subfield; and an indication information subfield, wherein the AID subfield is set to a specific value for indicating that the user information field carries the AID subfield and the indication information subfield, the AID subfield carries an identifier of a receiver, and the indication information subfield carries the indication information.
However, Kim discloses:
The method, wherein the first frame is a trigger frame ( A (TX/RX/UL/DL) signal may be used to transmit/receive frames of various types. A control frame may include a trigger frame. ¶0260; Fig. 11, 12;), a user information (user info) field of the first frame comprises an association identifier (AID) subfield (Each of the per user information fields include a plurality of subfields. ¶0168; User identifier field includes identifier of a STA which may be an AID value of the receiving STA. ¶0177; Fig. 13, 1310) and an indication information subfield (Through ML setup, the MLDs use links according to ML communication setup. After setup, the MLD could update the ML setup with information about the link, a second link indication information. ¶0284, 0285; User Info field in the trigger frame may contain operating link list, indication of second link. ¶0290; (¶0009), wherein the AID subfield is set to a specific value (Each of the per user information fields include a plurality of subfields. ¶0168; User identifier field includes identifier of a STA which may be an AID value of the receiving STA. ¶0177; Fig. 13, 1310) for indicating that the user information field carries the AID subfield and the indication information subfield (user info contains user-specific fields, of which there are a plurality, first and second link. ¶0143, Fig. 8), the AID subfield carries an identifier of a receiver (Each of the per user information fields include a plurality of subfields. ¶0168; User identifier field includes identifier of a STA which may be an AID value of the receiving STA. ¶0177; Fig. 13, 1310), and the indication information subfield carries the indication information. (Through ML setup, the MLDs use links according to ML communication setup. After setup, the MLD could update the ML setup with information about the link, a second link indication information. ¶0284, 0285; User Info field in the trigger frame may contain operating link list, indication of second link. ¶0290; (¶0009)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Asterjadhi, indication and information about state of a second link for a multi-link configuration, with the teachings of Kim, use of a trigger frame with association identifiers for a second link in a multi-link communication setup.
The motivation in doing so would be to support additional frames to communicate the state of the second link and manage usage of the second link in multi-link communications setups.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the last limitation of claim 1, 12, and 20 to “wherein the second link is a link corresponding to a station in the first multi-link device in an awake state when the first frame is received by the first multi-link device by using the first link”, amendment emphasized.
Asterjadhi discloses the subject matter. Non-AP MLD has first and second STA interfaces, links. AP-MLD has first and second BSS, AP interfaces for the links. ¶0039; The signaling includes an indication to activate or deactivate the second link, the indication included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link. ¶0008; The A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link. ¶0009; The multi-link control information includes A-Control field described in this disclosure may be included in any type of frame, including a management frame, a data frame or a control frame. ¶0110; Method includes receiving a signal via the first link to activate a second link. The method includes activating the second link by causing the second STA interface to enter an awake state. ¶0040, ¶0106, ¶¶0109-0112.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130336306 A1 Sohn et al.
US 20180206190 A1 Cherian et al.
US-20230007717-A1 Gan et al.
US 20220394556 A1 Li et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of MLD and MLO for link management.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419