DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 03/06/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-25, & 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20140036886) (hereinafter "Wang") in view of Zhang et al (US20220330227A1), in further view of Ying et al (US11457434B2), in further view of Dinan et al (US20220264607) (hereinafter "Dinan").
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, eNodeB-base station), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, enodeB-base station, processors);
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, enodeB-base station, processor, memory);
and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a frequency resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple frequency bands corresponding to a single control message and a time resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple time intervals corresponding to the single control message ([0006], [0033]-[0036], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots; payload size, code rate, and modulation BW selection);
However, Wang fails to teach but Zhang teaches receive, from the network entity, a control message to be communicated between the UE and the network entity, scheduling a plurality of messages, the control message comprising a frequency domain resource allocation field indicating, according to the frequency resource table, a plurality of frequency bands and a time domain resource allocation field indicating a plurality of frequency bands and one or more time intervals according to the time resource allocation table ([0007], [0009], [0029], [0031]-[0035], [0045], disclose presence of a time-domain resource allocation field in the control message (DCI), DCI time-domain resource indication corresponds to selecting one entry (row) in the predefined time-domain resource structure; further confirm that the control message (DCI) contains a frequency-domain resource allocation),
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, and Zhang because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Wang’s resource allocation techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Zhang fails to teach wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table.
However, Ying teaches wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table (Abstract, Fig 17, steps 1702-1704, col 2 lines 21-40, col 3 lines 36-55, col 27 lines 6-26, DCI format comprising first information used for indicating a row index to the first/second allocation table).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, and Ying because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Ying fails to teach communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field.
However, Dinan teaches communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a radio resource control message comprising the frequency resource allocation table, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field comprises an index indicating the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the plurality of messages ([0033]-[0036] resources to be signaled through a RRC message containing the resource allocation tables-physical resources such as frequency).
Regarding claim 3, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the index indicates one or more common parameters associated with communicating the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, one or more message-specific parameters associated with communicating each respective message of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof.
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the index indicates one or more common parameters associated with communicating the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, one or more message-specific parameters associated with communicating each respective message of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof (([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with a first time interval of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals ([0033]-[0036] [0006], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots);
and receive, in the time domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of one or more remaining time intervals of the plurality of time intervals ([0033]-[0036] [0006], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate multiple messages of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during the first time interval ([0033]-[0036], [0052] time interval, prioritized time interval for communication initial transmission or first time interval);
and communicate a remaining one or more messages of the plurality of messages via a single frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands across the one or more remaining time intervals of the plurality of time intervals ([0033]-[0036], [0052] time interval, prioritized time interval for communication initial transmission or first time interval);
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches and receive, in the time domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of time intervals (Fig. 7, [0068] receive resource allocation table, multiple time intervals),
but Wang fails to teach wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with each of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals;
However, Dinan teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with each of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs; mapping of time interval and frequency interval allocation which are time slots associated with frequency slots);
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 7, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: communicate the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during each of the plurality of time intervals.
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: communicate the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during each of the plurality of time intervals ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs; mapping of time interval and frequency interval allocation which are time slots associated with frequency slots).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive control signaling indicating a threshold quantity of messages associated with the control message, wherein communicating the plurality of messages is based at least in part on determining that a quantity of the plurality of messages satisfies the threshold quantity of messages (Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], claim 3 –resource allocation tables have district levels or thresholds and resource allocations tables that contain physical resources tables are received.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
drop one or more messages of a total quantity of messages scheduled by the control message according to the threshold quantity of messages scheduled according to a prioritization of the total quantity of messages that is based on the one or more time intervals, the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority.)
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein a first message occurring a first time offset after the control message has a higher priority level than a second message occurring a second time offset that is larger than the first time offset after the control message ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority.)
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein a first message occurring a first time offset after the control message has a higher priority level than a second message occurring a second time offset that is larger than the first time offset after the control message ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority).
Regarding claim 12, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a plurality of uplink transmissions on an uplink shared channel.
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a plurality of uplink transmissions on an uplink shared channel ([0096], [0098], [0125] supporting simultaneous PUSCH transmission capability, multiple carriers).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, eNodeB-base station), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, enodeB-base station, processors);
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (Fig. 8 815 810, [0028], [0068] UE, enodeB-base station, processor, memory); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a frequency resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple frequency bands corresponding to a single control message and a time resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple time intervals corresponding to the single control message ([0006], [0033]-[0036], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots);
However, Wang fails to teach but Zhang teaches transmit, to the UE, a control message scheduling a plurality of messages to be communicated between the UE and the network entity, the control message comprising a frequency domain resource allocation field indicating, according to the frequency resource allocation table, a plurality of frequency bands for communicating the plurality of messages and a time domain resource allocation field indicating one or more time intervals according to the time resource allocation table ([0007], [0009], [0029], [0031]-[0035], [0045], disclose presence of a time-domain resource allocation field in the control message (DCI), DCI time-domain resource indication corresponds to selecting one entry (row) in the predefined time-domain resource structure; further confirm that the control message (DCI) contains a frequency-domain resource allocation).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, and Zhang because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Wang’s resource allocation techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Zhang fails to teach wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table.
However, Ying teaches wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table (Abstract, Fig 17, steps 1702-1704, col 2 lines 21-40, col 3 lines 36-55, col 27 lines 6-26, DCI format comprising first information used for indicating a row index to the first/second allocation table).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, and Ying because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Ying fails to teach communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the UE according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field.
However, Dinan teaches communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the UE according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
However, Dinan teaches communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a radio resource control message comprising the frequency resource allocation table, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field comprises an index indicating the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the plurality of messages. ([0033]-[0036] resources to be signaled through a RRC message containing the resource allocation tables-physical resources such as frequency).
Regarding claim 16, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the index indicates one or more common parameters associated with communicating the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, one or more message-specific parameters associated with communicating each respective message of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the index indicates one or more common parameters associated with communicating the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, one or more message-specific parameters associated with communicating each respective message of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof. (([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with a first time interval of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals ([0033]-[0036] [0006], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots); and
transmit, in the time domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of one or more remaining time intervals of the plurality of time intervals ([0033]-[0036] [0006], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate multiple messages of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during the first time interval ([0033]-[0036], [0052] time interval, prioritized time interval for communication initial transmission or first time interval); and
communicate a remaining one or more messages of the plurality of messages via a single frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands across the one or more remaining time intervals of the plurality of time intervals ([0033]-[0036], [0052] time interval, prioritized time interval for communication initial transmission or first time interval).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches and transmit, in the time domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of time intervals (Fig. 7, [0068] receive resource allocation table, multiple time intervals),
but Wang fails to teach wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with each of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals;
However, Dinan teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit , in the frequency domain resource allocation field of the control message, an indication of the plurality of frequency bands that are associated with each of a plurality of time intervals comprising the one or more time intervals ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs; mapping of time interval and frequency interval allocation which are time slots associated with frequency slots);
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 20, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during each of the plurality of time intervals.
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands during each of the plurality of time intervals ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs; mapping of time interval and frequency interval allocation which are time slots associated with frequency slots).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit control signaling indicating a threshold quantity of messages associated with the control message, wherein communicating the plurality of messages is based at least in part on determining that a quantity of the plurality of messages satisfies the threshold quantity of messages (Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], claim 3 –resource allocation tables have district levels or thresholds and resource allocations tables that contain physical resources tables are received.
Regarding claim 22, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
drop one or more messages of a total quantity of messages scheduled by the control message according to the threshold quantity of messages scheduled according to a prioritization of the total quantity of messages that is based on the one or more time intervals, the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority.)
Regarding claim 23, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein a first message occurring a first time offset after the control message has a higher priority level than a second message occurring a second time offset that is larger than the first time offset after the control message ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority.)
Regarding claim 24, Wang teaches the apparatus wherein a first message occurring a first time offset after the control message has a higher priority level than a second message occurring a second time offset that is larger than the first time offset after the control message ((Fig. 6 611, [0052]-[0053], [0033]-[0036], priority-dynamically allocation resources for a group of UEs depending on the needs of the specific UE, if extra resources allocation in the resource table—preferably used for specific services as the highest priority).
Regarding claim 25, Wang fails to teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a plurality of uplink transmissions on an uplink shared channel.
However, Dinan teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a plurality of uplink transmissions on an uplink shared channel ([0096], [0098], [0125] supporting simultaneous PUSCH transmission capability, multiple carriers).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 27, Wang discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a frequency resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple frequency bands corresponding to a single control message and a time resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple time intervals corresponding to the single control message ([0006], [0033]-[0036], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots);
However, Wang fails to teach but Zhang teaches receiving, from the network entity, a control message scheduling a plurality of messages to be communicated between the UE and the network entity, the control message comprising a frequency domain resource allocation field indicating, according to the frequency resource allocation table, a plurality of frequency bands for communicating the plurality of messages and a time domain resource allocation field indicating one or more time intervals according to the time resource allocation table ([0007], [0009], [0029], [0031]-[0035], [0045], disclose presence of a time-domain resource allocation field in the control message (DCI), DCI time-domain resource indication corresponds to selecting one entry (row) in the predefined time-domain resource structure; further confirm that the control message (DCI) contains a frequency-domain resource allocation),
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, and Zhang because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Wang’s resource allocation techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Zhang fails to teach wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table.
However, Ying teaches wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table (Abstract, Fig 17, steps 1702-1704, col 2 lines 21-40, col 3 lines 36-55, col 27 lines 6-26, DCI format comprising first information used for indicating a row index to the first/second allocation table).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, and Ying because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Ying fails to teach and communicating, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field.
However, Dinan teaches and communicating, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field. ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 28, Wang teaches the method wherein receiving the control signaling comprises:
receiving a radio resource control message comprising the frequency resource allocation table, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field comprises an index indicating the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the plurality of messages ([0033]-[0036] resources to be signaled through a RRC message containing the resource allocation tables-physical resources such as frequency).
Regarding claim 29, Dinan teaches the method wherein the row in the frequency resource allocation table associated with the index indicates one or more common parameters associated with communicating the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, one or more message-specific parameters associated with communicating each respective message of the plurality of messages via the plurality of frequency bands, or a combination thereof (([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 30, Wang discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, from a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a frequency resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple frequency bands corresponding to a single control message and a time resource allocation table supporting multiple transmissions across multiple time intervals corresponding to the single control message ([0006], [0033]-[0036], Fig 7, Fig 1 receive physical resource blocks containing resource allocation-frequency & time domains; resource index, resource allocation table-physical resources, including time and frequency-group scheduling spanning multiple frequencies and time slots);
But Wang fails to teach transmitting, to the UE, a control message scheduling a plurality of messages, the control message comprising a frequency domain resource allocation field and a time domain resource allocation field indicating one or more time intervals according to the time resource allocation table.
However, Wang fails to teach but Zhang teaches transmitting, to the UE, a control message scheduling a plurality of messages to be communicated between the UE and the network entity, the control message comprising a frequency domain resource allocation field indicating, according to the frequency resource allocation table, a plurality of frequency bands for communicating the plurality of messages and a time domain resource allocation field indicating one or more time intervals according to the time resource allocation table ([0007], [0009], [0029], [0031]-[0035], [0045], disclose presence of a time-domain resource allocation field in the control message (DCI), DCI time-domain resource indication corresponds to selecting one entry (row) in the predefined time-domain resource structure; further confirm that the control message (DCI) contains a frequency-domain resource allocation).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, and Zhang because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Wang’s resource allocation techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Zhang fails to teach wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table.
However, Ying teaches wherein the frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the frequency resource allocation table and the time domain resource allocation field indicates a row of the time resource allocation table (Abstract, Fig 17, steps 1702-1704, col 2 lines 21-40, col 3 lines 36-55, col 27 lines 6-26, DCI format comprising first information used for indicating a row index to the first/second allocation table).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, and Ying because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
But Ying fails to teach communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the UE according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field.
However, Dinan teaches communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the UE according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
However, Dinan teaches communicate, via the plurality of frequency bands and the one or more time intervals, the plurality of messages with the network entity according to the frequency domain resource allocation field and the time domain resource allocation field ([0096], [0108] -Figure 3 communicate with a plurality of carriers, plurality of UEs).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Claims 13 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhang, in further view of Ying, in further view of Dinan as applied to claims 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Bhattacharya et al (US 10,064,199) (hereinafter "Bhattacharya").
Regarding claim 13, Wang fails to teach wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of downlink transmissions on a downlink shared channel.
However, Bhattacharya teaches wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of downlink transmissions on a downlink shared channel (Col 3 lines 1-27 one or more SIBs (resource allocation) conducting PDSCH transmission - UE receives).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. Lastly, Bhattacharya provides for SIBs (resource allocation) conducting PDSCH transmission where UEs receive this allocation. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Regarding claim 26, Wang fails to teach wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of downlink transmissions on a downlink shared channel.
However, Bhattacharya teaches wherein the instructions to communicate the plurality of messages with the network entity are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of downlink transmissions on a downlink shared channel (Col 3 lines 1-27 one or more SIBs (resource allocation) conducting PDSCH transmission - UE receives).
A POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wang, Zhang, Ying, Li, and Dinan because each reference addresses complementary aspects of downlink control information (DCI) design for NR systems and collectively offer improvements in control signaling efficiency and allocation flexibility. Wang teaches resource allocation and signalings for group scheduling in wireless communication. Zhang teaches a DCI structure carrying both time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for scheduling data channels, but it does not specify table-indexed structures for these fields. Ying expressly teaches the use of row-indexed allocation tables in the DCI for time-domain resource allocation of PUSCH, providing an established and standards-aligned mechanism for compact, configurable indication of time-domain patterns. Furthermore, Dinan provides an apparatus for communicating with a plurality of carriers between a network entity and UEs. Lastly, Bhattacharya provides for SIBs (resource allocation) conducting PDSCH transmission where UEs receive this allocation. A POSITA would have found it obvious to integrate Ying’s table-indexed time-domain techniques and Li’s table-indexed frequency domain techniques into the DCI framework of Zhang because they solve the same problem—minimizing DCI overhead while increasing flexibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with Applicant’s Specification. Applicant’s Specification broadly describes that a single DCI/control message may schedule multiple transmissions across both time and frequency. For example, the Specification explains that the UE may may receive a DCI including a TDRA field and an FDRA field, where the TDRA field may indicate multiple slots or multiple time intervals and the FDRA may indicate multiple subbands or frequency bands for communication for multiple messages ([0042]-[0046]). The Specification further states that the FDRA row may indicate “one or multiple transmissions” and may include common parameters or transmission-specific parameters for multiple transmissions, rather than being limited to a single narrow embodiment ([0047]-[0050]). Thus, under BRI, the claims are not limited to Applicant’s preferred implementation requiring a distinct FDRA table in the exact form argued by Applicant, but reasonably encompass known DCI-based scheduling of multiple communications using indexed resource-allocation information.
Regarding Zhang, Applicant’s argument that Zhang’s first and second data channels may correspond to different terminal devices does not overcome the rejection. Zhang teaches that the network device sends DCI including “time domain resource information” and “frequency domain resource information,” where the frequency domain resource information determines frequency-domain resource corresponding to both a first data channel and a second data channel, and the terminal device receives the signal based on the determined time-domain and frequency-domain resources (Zhang [0036]-[0042], [0051]-[0055]). Zhang further explains that the communication may be uplink and/or downlink and that the DCI is used to schedule these data channels through the shared time/frequency resource indication (Zhang [0060]-[0064]). Under BRI, this teaches or at least strongly suggests a single control message indicating multiple frequency-domain resources and time-domain resources for a plurality of messages communicated between the UE and the network entity. The claims does not require Zhang alone to disclose the identical FDRA table terminology used by Applicant.
Regarding Ying, Ying teaches that “the time domain resource assignment field value m may provide (e.g. be used for indicating) a row index m+1 to an allocation table,” and that “the indexed row may define a value(s) of the slot offset(s)…start and length indicator (SLIV)…and mapping type.” Ying further explains that “the allocation table may be configured by using information included in the RRC message,” and that “the UE may determine the number of bits of the Time domain resource assignment field based on the number of entries in the allocation table.” Ying also teaches that when more than 16 entries are needed, “the number of bits of the time-domain RA field may be increased from 4 bits to 5, 6, or more bits,” and that existing DCI fields may be reused or reinterpreted so that “the number of bits of the time-domain RA field can be increased.” Thus, Ying is properly relied upon for the known mechanism of using a DCI field to indicate a row of configured resource-allocation table, which supports the Examiner’s position that applying the same indexed-table approach to FDRA would have been obvious.
When Zhang’s teaching of a single DCI conveying time-domain and frequency-domain resource information for multiple scheduled communications is combined with Ying’s teaching of using DCI assignment fields to indicate row indexes of configured allocation tables, the claimed subject matter is reasonably suggested. Applicant’s own Specification confirms that FDRA and TDRA row indexing is a predictable implementation of DCI-based scheduling because the FDRA field may include an index indicating a row in a frequency resource allocation table and may schedule multiple transmissions across multiple frequency bands and time intervals ([0042]-[0050]). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments improperly attack the references individually rather than addressing what the combined teachings would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, amended independent claims 1, 14, 27, and 30 remain unpatentable because Zhang teaches the use of a single DCI/control message to provide shared time-domain and frequency-domain resource scheduling for multiple communications, and Ying teaches the known row-indexed allocation-table mechanism using DCI resource-assignment fields. In view of Applicant’s own specification and under the BRI of the claims, the recited FDRA/TDRA table-row implementation represents no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions—namely, using DCI fields to indicate indexed resource-allocation entries for scheduling communications across time and frequency domains. Applying Ying’s known row-index allocation mechanism to Zhang’s DCI-based frequency and time resource scheduling would have been a routine and obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, yielding no unexpected result and therefore not constituting a patentable distinction under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419