DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 4-5 are canceled, Claims 1, 6-8 and 12 are amended and Claims 1-3,6-12 and 19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 112(b) rejection for Claim 5 is withdrawn as Claim 5 is canceled.
The 112 (d) rejection for Claim 6 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020171483 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter “Lee”. Lee et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because it pertains to the same field of endeavor, namely solid electrolyte materials.
In regard to Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a solid electrolyte sheet comprising: a porous polymer film comprising a plurality of pores (Lee, Paragraphs [0206-0207]) and a hybrid solid electrolyte layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer film (Lee, Paragraphs [0209, 0213]). Lee et al. also discloses wherein the hybrid solid electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0209]) and a gel polymer electrolyte is applied to the solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0197, 0213]). Lee et al. further discloses wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer comprising an acrylate repeating unit (Lee, Paragraph [0159-0163]) and an ionic sorbate liquid, i.e. a solvent + dissociable liquid (Lee, Paragraph [0156]). Lee et al. also discloses wherein the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte is present in an amount of about 1-50%, more preferably 2-40% by weight, based on the total weight of the gel polymer electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0159]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 2, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses wherein the porous polymer film comprises a nonwoven fabric (Lee, Paragraph [0206-0207]).
In regard to Claim 3, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraphs [0117-0118]).
In regard to Claim 6, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. While Lee et al. discloses the wt % of the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the gel polymer electrolyte, it fails to explicitly disclose the wt% of the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte + the gel polymer electrolyte. However, based on the components, thickness and weight percentages disclosed in the specific examples in Lee, a calculation of the wt% of the polymer based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte + gel polymer electrolyte can be estimated to range from about 1.26% - 6.86% by weight (Lee, Examples 1-3), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 7, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the acrylate repeating unit comprises ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate (ETPTA) (Lee, Example 1).
In regard to Claim 8, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses wherein the ionic sorbate liquid comprises a lithium salt (Lee, Paragraph [0165-0166]) and a glyme (Lee, Paragraph [0168, 0172-0173]).
In regard to Claim 9, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 8. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF6 (Lee, Example 1).
In regard to Claim 10, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 8. Lee et al. also discloses diglyme and tetraglyme as preferred glyme solvents (Lee, Paragraphs [0075-0076]).
In regard to Claim 11, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the solid electrolyte + gel polymer electrolyte layer coated on the nonwoven fabric has a thickness of 101 µm (Lee, Example 1), which anticipates the claimed range.
In regard to Claim 12, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses the solid electrolyte + gel electrolyte layer has ionic conductivity ranging from 10-7 to 10-2 S/cm at room temperature (Lee, Paragraphs [0007-0008]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 19, Lee et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a solid electrolyte sheet of claim 1 (Lee, Paragraphs [0331-0332]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claim 1 limitation of the amount of polymer comprising an acrylate repeating unit in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the GPE is disclosed in Lee et al. wherein the general range 1-50% includes 1-3.5%, which overlaps the claimed range. Further, the polymer content in the GPE is a result effective variable which would reasonably be optimized by the skilled artisan, as it predictably affects viscosity, processability, mechanical strength, ionic conductivity, and interfacial resistance at a minimum and thus, it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, see MPEP§2144.05. Lastly, there is a specific example in Lee wherein the polymer is provided at 5 wt% (Lee,Example 1), which is reasonably close to the claimed range of “about 3.5%” and demonstrates operability near the claimed ranges, which provides a reasonable expectation of success for nearby values.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725