DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/18/2026 has been entered. Claim 2 is canceled, Claims 1 is amended and Claims 1, 3, 6-12 and 19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020171483 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter “Lee” in view of Chang et al. (KR 20180015843 A – Machine Translation), hereinafter “Chang” and Kim et al. (US 20210336294 A1), hereinafter “Kim”. Lee, Chang and Kim et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely solid electrolyte materials.
In regard to Claims 1, 3 and 6, Lee et al. discloses a solid electrolyte sheet comprising: a porous polymer film comprising a plurality of pores wherein the porous polymer film comprises a nonwoven fabric (Lee, Paragraph [0206-0207]) and a hybrid solid electrolyte layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer film (Lee, Paragraphs [0209, 0213]). Lee et al. also discloses wherein the hybrid solid electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0209]) wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraphs [0117-0118]) and a gel polymer electrolyte is applied to the solid electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0197, 0213]).
Lee et al. further discloses wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer comprising an acrylate repeating unit (Lee, Paragraph [0159-0163]) and an ionic sorbate liquid, i.e. a solvent + dissociable liquid (Lee, Paragraph [0156]). Lee et al. also discloses wherein the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte is present in an amount of about 1-50%, more preferably 2-40% by weight, based on the total weight of the gel polymer electrolyte (Lee, Paragraph [0159]), which overlaps the claimed range. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example in Lee wherein the polymer is provided at 5 wt% (Lee,Example 1), which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 3.5% and provides a reasonable expectation of success for nearby values.
Further, while Lee et al. discloses the wt % of the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the gel polymer electrolyte, it fails to explicitly disclose the wt% of the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte + the gel polymer electrolyte. However, based on the components, thickness and weight percentages disclosed in the specific examples in Lee, a calculation of the wt% of the polymer based on the total weight of the solid electrolyte + gel polymer electrolyte can be estimated to range from about 1.26% - 6.86% by weight (Lee, Examples 1-3), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
While Lee discloses the polymer in the gel polymer electrolyte in a preferred range which overlaps the claimed range and a specific example which has a polymer loading close to the same range it is silent on an example with a polymer loading explicitly in the same range.
Chang et al. discloses a solid electrolyte sheet comprising a porous polymer film comprising a plurality of pores; and a hybrid solid electrolyte layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer film, wherein the hybrid solid electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte and a gel polymer electrolyte, wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer comprising an acrylate repeating unit (Chang, Abstract) with a specific example wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises the polymer in an amount of 2% (Chang, Example 1), which anticipates the claimed range.
Further, the low loading polymer gel electrolyte of Chang is taught as having a high ionic conductivity and an excellent dislocation stability as evidenced by Table 2 of Chang. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the polymer in the gel polymer of Lee in an amount taught in Chang as doing so would fall within the preferred ranges already disclosed in Lee, would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Chang and would amount to nothing more than an obvious variation of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Lastly, while the skilled artisan of both Lee and Chang provide porous nonwoven fabric, they are silent as to the pore size of the fabric. Kim et al. discloses a solid electrolyte sheet comprising a beneficial porous polymer film comprising a plurality of pores; and a hybrid solid electrolyte layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer film, wherein the hybrid solid electrolyte layer comprises a sulfide solid electrolyte and/or a gel polymer electrolyte wherein the porous polymer film comprises a nonwoven fabric and the pore size of the non-woven fabric are 10 µm or less, which overlaps the claimed range with a specific example of a non-woven fabric with 10 µm pores which anticipates the claimed range (Kim, Abstract, [0046, 0079, 0081, 0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the porous non-woven fabrics of Lee and Chang with pore sizes in the range taught in Kim et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of success and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known component to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way
In regard to Claim 7, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the acrylate repeating unit comprises ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate (ETPTA) (Lee, Example 1).
In regard to Claim 8, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses wherein the ionic sorbate liquid comprises a lithium salt (Lee, Paragraph [0165-0166]) and a glyme (Lee, Paragraph [0168, 0172-0173]).
In regard to Claim 9, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 8. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF6 (Lee, Example 1).
In regard to Claim 10, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 8. Lee et al. also discloses diglyme and tetraglyme as preferred glyme solvents (Lee, Paragraphs [0075-0076]).
In regard to Claim 11, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the solid electrolyte + gel polymer electrolyte layer coated on the nonwoven fabric has a thickness of 101 µm (Lee, Example 1), which anticipates the claimed range.
In regard to Claim 12, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses the solid electrolyte + gel electrolyte layer has ionic conductivity ranging from 10-7 to 10-2 S/cm at room temperature (Lee, Paragraphs [0007-0008]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 19, Lee in view of Chang and Kim et al. discloses the solid electrolyte sheet according to claim 1. Lee et al. also discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a solid electrolyte sheet of claim 1 (Lee, Paragraphs [0331-0332]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not moot as the new ground of rejection also relies on references not previously presented in the rejection of record.
The amended claim 1 limitation of the amount of polymer comprising an acrylate repeating unit in the gel polymer electrolyte based on the total weight of the GPE is disclosed in Lee et al. wherein the general range 1-50%, includes 1-3.5%, which overlaps the claimed range and is further demonstrated in Chang et al. as discussed in the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection above. The skilled artisan of Lee already provides the non-woven fabric, the sulfide SSE, the lithium salt, the glyme and the gel polymer electrolyte with acrylate repeating units in their hybrid solid electrolyte sheet and already contemplates a variation in the polymer loading of the gel polymer electrolyte within a preferred range and thus would reasonably look to Chang as an example of a lower loading (2wt%) of polymer in a beneficial gel polymer electrolyte with high ionic conductivity which would be obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725