DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-14, 17-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 11/10/2025. However, the applicant did not amend the title to overcome specification objection. This objection is repeated.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al., US 20040226934(hereafter Moore), and further in view of Oslin , US 4924072 (hereafter Oslin), and Oslin, US 5368008 (hereafter Oslin 008).
Regarding claim 1,
A steamer system comprising: (Title)
a cooking space; ( Cooking space 10 in Fig. 2)
Fig. 2 in Moore
a water boiling apparatus fluidically connected to said cooking space (Paragraph [24] teaches “The steam generating space 11 delivers between 7 to 10 lbs./hour/pan to the cooking space 10.” Here steam generating space corresponds to water boiling apparatus.
Paragraph [28] teaches “the steam routing from the steam generating space 11 is external of the steamer cavity 40 via the aforementioned plurality of substantially vertical tube steam delivery path 23.” Here path 23 corresponds to fluidically connected. )
and electrically connected to a processor and (Paragraph [33] teaches water level sensors sense the water level inside steam generating space 11 and send signals to control board. Paragraph [36] teaches that the control board controls the heating elements according to sensor signals. Here control board corresponds to the processor.)
a power source; (Paragraph [24] teaches “The means to generate steam in the steam generating space 11 include a plurality of heating elements 9”. Here heating elements correspond to power source.)
said water boiling apparatus defining a water reservoir; (Fig. 8 teaches water in steam generating space 11)
….said water boiling apparatus comprising water heating elements electrically connected to said processor and configured for heating water in said water reservoir to a boil; (Paragraph [24] teaches “The means to generate steam in the steam generating space 11 include a plurality of heating elements 9”.)
said water boiling apparatus comprising a first water detection sensor positioned within said water reservoir (Fig. 2 teaches water level sensors 8)
and electrically connected to said processor (Paragraph [33] teaches “The upper probe provides water level information to the control board so that normal operating water level is maintained. The lower probe serves as a safety device.” It is understood that sensors are connected to the control board.)
and a second water detection sensor positioned higher within said water reservoir than said first water detection sensor(Fig. 2 teaches water level sensors 8 positioned at two different heights)
and electrically connected to said processor; (Paragraph [33] teaches “The upper probe provides water level information to the control board so that normal operating water level is maintained. The lower probe serves as a safety device.” It is understood that sensors are connected to the control board.)
…wherein said water boiling apparatus is configured for providing steam to said cooking space (Paragraph [28] teaches “The substantially vertical tube steam delivery paths 23 must be of the designated size to preferably provide between 7 lbs./hour/pan to 10 lbs./hour to the cooking space 10.”)
when said water reservoir is filled with water (Paragraph [33] teaches “Water level is maintained by the water level sensors 8.”)
and said water heating elements heat water in said water reservoir to a boil; (Paragraph [31] teaches “The plurality of heating elements 9 provides heat to generate steam.”)
… wherein said processor is configured for assigning primary water detection control to said first water detection sensor until said first water detection sensor is fouled; and ( Here “fouled” is interpreted as not working. Moore teaches sensor 8 for water level detection in Fig. 2. Paragraph [33] teaches “Water level is maintained by the water level sensors 8. If the water level sensors 8 fail then maximum water level is controlled by overflow tube 15.” It is implied that sensor 8 is primary water detection control until it fails. )
Moore is silent about a water inlet into said water reservoir fluidically connected to a water source and electrically connected to said processor; a drain system fluidically connected to said water reservoir and electrically connected to said processor; and a display electrically connected to said processor; ..said processor is configured for relinquishing said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigning said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor when said first water detection sensor is fouled until said second water detection sensor is fouled; and wherein said steamer system is configured for increasing water level within said water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of said second water detection sensor when said processor assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor.
Oslin teaches a water inlet into said water reservoir fluidically connected to a water source (Oslin teaches in column 6, lines 20-25 “a solenoid valve 100 includes a hose connection 110 for supplying water from an external source. The solenoid valve 100 supplies water through a line 112 to the boiler 66 of FIG. 2.” )
Fig. 4 in Oslin
and electrically connected to said processor; (Column 6, lines 55-60 teaches “Level control means 282 (discussed hereinafter) is connected to level sensor 74 for controlling the means for supplying water (solenoid valve 100) and the means for draining water (solenoid value 120) to control a level of water in the boiler.”)
a drain system fluidically connected to said water reservoir (Column 6, lines 25-30 teaches “A fitting 116 is attached to the boiler 66 of FIG. 2 to connect it to a drain hose 118. The drain hose 118 is connected to drain line 96 through clamp valve 120.”)
and electrically connected to said processor; (Column 6, lines 55-60 teaches “Level control means 282 (discussed hereinafter) is connected to level sensor 74 for controlling the means for supplying water (solenoid valve 100) and the means for draining water (solenoid value 120) to control a level of water in the boiler.”)
and a display electrically connected to said processor. (Column 4, lines 10-15 teaches “A control panel 28 includes controls and visual displays”.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the inlet , drain system, display, and microprocessor as taught in Oslin to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Level control means 282 connected to level sensor 74 controls the means for supplying water (solenoid valve 100) and the means for draining water (solenoid value 120) to control the level of water in the boiler by blowdown and replacement until the boiler temperature is at the proper value” as taught in column 12, lines 22-28 in Oslin.
Primary combination of references is silent about ..said processor is configured for relinquishing said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigning said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor when said first water detection sensor is fouled until said second water detection sensor is fouled; and wherein said steamer system is configured for increasing water level within said water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of said second water detection sensor when said processor assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor.
Oslin 008 teaches said processor is configured for relinquishing said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigning said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor when said first water detection sensor is fouled until said second water detection sensor is fouled; and (The claim is interpreted as
Oslin 008 teaches sensor probes 80a and 80b wherein 80a is at a higher position than 80b in Fig. 2. While filling up the steamer “If the sensor probe 80b has limed over so as to be nonconducting in the presence of water, and the sensor probe 80a detects the presence of water, the "clean" light 33 b will be energized to indicate that the steam generator 54 should be delimed” as taught in column 9, line 65- column 10, line 2. It is implied that the second sensor is capable of sensing water level until it becomes fouled.)
wherein said steamer system is configured for increasing water level within said water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of said second water detection sensor when said processor assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor. (While filling up the steamer “If the sensor probe 80b has limed over so as to be nonconducting in the presence of water, and the sensor probe 80a detects the presence of water, the "clean" light 33 b will be energized to indicate that the steam generator 54 should be delimed” as taught in column 9, line 65- column 10, line 2. It is implied that the water level is increased to a level at a position of 80a, the higher sensor, even if the lower sensor is fouled. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the sensors and controller to detect cleaning of the reservoir as taught in Oslin 008 to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “provide an indication to the operator when the corresponding steam generators need cleaning or deliming,” as taught in column 3, lines 4-6 in Oslin 008.
Regarding claim 4,
The steamer system of claim 1, wherein: said processor is configured for initiating a time countdown when said processor relinquishes said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor; (The claim is interpreted as processor starts a timer when second sensor activates. Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Part of Fig. 2 in Oslin 008
Oslin 008 teaches “When the steam generator 54 is filling with water, the lower sensor probe 80b will first detect the presence of water, followed by the sensor probe 80a sensing the presence of water and shutting off the water supply. As is known, the logic circuit allows for a predetermined time lag between detection of water by sensor probe 80b and sensor probe 80a. If this time lag is exceeded, the control circuit will shut off the water supply due to either malfunction of the water supply or liming over of the upper sensor probe 80a so that it does not correctly sense the presence of water. This will cause the red "clean" light 33b to be energized. If the sensor probe 80b has limed over so as to be nonconducting in the presence of water, and the sensor probe 80a detects the presence of water, the "clean" light 33 b will be energized to indicate that the steam generator 54 should be delimed” in column 9, line 53 – column 10, line 2. It is implied that a timer counts down the predetermined time lag.)
and said steamer system is configured to drain water from said water reservoir and power off when said time countdown expires. (Column 9, lines 35-40 teaches “If a predetermined logic sequence is not detected, the red "clean" light 33a or 33b corresponding to the steam generator being filled is energized to provide the operator with a visual signal that the steam generator should be delimed.” It is implied that the generator is drained and steamer is shut off until the system is cleaned.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the sensors and controller to detect cleaning of the reservoir as taught in Oslin 008 to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “provide an indication to the operator when the corresponding steam generators need cleaning or deliming,” as taught in column 3, lines 4-6 in Oslin 008.
Regarding claim 5,
The steamer system of claim 4, wherein: said display is configured to visually show a shutdown clock displaying said time countdown when said time countdown is enabled. ( Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Oslin 008 teaches a timer 202e in Fig. 14. Column 5, lines 50-56 teaches “ a red "clean" indicator light, indicated at 33a and 33b, to provide a visual signal to the operator when the corresponding steam generator needs cleaning/deliming”. Oslin further teaches a time lag between checking both sensors while filling up the steamer in column 9, lines 55-60.)
Even though Oslin 008 is silent about displaying the time between checking sensors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the controller to countdown and display the shutdown countdown as taught in Oslin 008 to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to “provide an indication to the operator when the corresponding steam generators need cleaning or deliming,” as taught in column 3, lines 4-6 in Oslin 008.
Regarding claim 10,
The steamer system of claim 1, further comprising a graphical user interface (GUI) accessible via said display. ( Moore is silent about this. Oslin teaches a GUI in Fig. 10. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the display, and microprocessor as taught in Oslin to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The control panel 28 includes a key pad 40, a number of push buttons 42 and a dial 44 that can be used to enter control data. A display 46 shows cooking time, diagnostic information, and other information that can be programmed by the operator. A display 48 shows the temperature selected for cooking” as taught in column 4, lines 23-28 in Oslin.
Regarding claim 12,
The steamer system of claim 1, wherein said display further comprises an integrated speaker configured for sounding audible alerts. (Moore is silent about this. Oslin teaches buzzer in column 15, line 35-40.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the buzzer and microprocessor as taught in Oslin to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Level control means 282 connected to level sensor 74 controls the means for supplying water (solenoid valve 100) and the means for draining water (solenoid value 120) to control the level of water in the boiler by blowdown and replacement until the boiler temperature is at the proper value” as taught in column 12, lines 22-28 in Oslin.
Regarding claim 13,
The steamer system of claim 1, further comprising: a steam lid separating said cooking space from said water reservoir; and (Moore teaches in abstract “the steam generating space is separated from the cooking space by a removable steam lid.”)
said steam lid shaped to direct water toward a condensate drain. (Paragraph [32] in Moore teaches “The function of the condensate cup 7 to receive the condensate and food spills from the removable steam lid 6.”)
Claim(s) 6-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore, Oslin and Oslin 008 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al., US 20180332993 (hereafter Cho).
Regarding claim 6,
The steamer system of claim 1, wherein: said water boiling apparatus further comprises a third water detection sensor positioned higher within said water reservoir than said second water detection sensor and electrically connected to said processor. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Cho teaches three sensors in Fig. 14 at three different heights. )
Fig. 14 in Cho
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add three sensors at three different heights as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “detect the water level by sensing the short such that a plurality of electrodes is installed in the water bath and the electrode is short according to the height of the liquid surface” as taught in paragraph [57] in Cho.
Regarding claim 7,
The steamer system of claim 6, wherein: said third water detection sensor is positioned within said water reservoir in close proximity to an overflow drain. (Cho teaches sensor E1 is positioned close to pipe P3 wherein water flows into and out of sensor 145 through pipe P3 in Fig. 14.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add three sensors at three different heights as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “detect the water level by sensing the short such that a plurality of electrodes is installed in the water bath and the electrode is short according to the height of the liquid surface” as taught in paragraph [57] in Cho.
Regarding claim 8,
The steamer system of claim 7, further comprising: an overflow housing connected to said overflow drain. (Fig. 8 in Cho teaches pipe P3 is connected to storage container 141 through drain pump 143.)
Fig. 8 in Cho teaches water draining from heater
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the overflow housing as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the drain pump 143 configured to discharge water, which is remaining inside the steam generator 144, to the storage container 141 may be disposed in the space between the upper portion of the main body 104 and the cover 106” as taught in paragraph [52] in Cho.
Regarding claim 9,
The steamer system of claim 6, wherein: said steamer system is configured to drain water from said water reservoir and power off when said third water detection sensor detects water. (Moore teaches disabling steamer based on sensor signal in paragraph [33].
Moore is silent about said steamer system is configured to drain water from said water reservoir … when said third water detection sensor detects water.
Cho teaches draining water from steam generator 144 depending on the signals from sensors E1 to E3 in Fig. 8.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the sensors and controller to drain water as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “detect the water level by sensing the short such that a plurality of electrodes is installed in the water bath and the electrode is short according to the height of the liquid surface” as taught in paragraph [57] in Cho.
Regarding claim 11,
The steamer system of claim 1, further comprising a water recirculation system. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Cho teaches water recirculation system in Fig. 7 and Fig. 8.)
Fig. 7 in Cho teaches pumping water into the heater
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the water recirculation system as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “The storage container 141 configured to store water, which is to be supplied to the steam supplier 140, the water supply pump 142 configured to supply water, which is supplied from the storage container 141, to the steam generator 144, and the drain pump 143 configured to discharge water, which is remaining inside the steam generator 144, to the storage container 141” as taught in paragraph [52] in Cho.
Claim(s) 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore and further in view of Oslin, Oslin 008, and Cho.
Regarding claim 14,
A steam generation apparatus for a steamer comprising:
a water reservoir;
a processor connected to a power source;
a water inlet valve into said water reservoir fluidically connected to a water source and electrically connected to said processor;
water heating elements electrically connected to said processor and configured for heating water in said water reservoir to a boil;
a first water detection sensor positioned within said water reservoir and electrically connected to said processor;
a second water detection sensor positioned higher within said water reservoir than said first water detection sensor and electrically connected to said processor;
…a drain system fluidically connected to said water reservoir and electrically connected to said processor;
wherein said steam generation apparatus is configured for producing steam when said water reservoir is filled with water and said water heating elements heat water in said water reservoir to a boil; wherein said processor is configured for assigning primary water detection control to said first water detection sensor until said first water detection sensor is fouled; said processor is configured for relinquishing said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigning said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor when said first water detection sensor is fouled until said second water detection sensor is fouled; and wherein said steamer system is configured for increasing water level within said water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of said second water detection sensor when said processor assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor. (Similar scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
an overflow water detection sensor positioned higher within said water reservoir than said second water detection sensor and electrically connected to said processor; and (Primary combination of references is silent about this limitation.
Cho teaches three sensors at three different heights in Fig. 14. Fig. 6 teaches sensors are connected to controller.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add three sensors at three different heights as taught in Cho to the steamer system in Moore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “detect the water level by sensing the short such that a plurality of electrodes is installed in the water bath and the electrode is short according to the height of the liquid surface” as taught in paragraph [57] in Cho.
Regarding claim 17,
The steam generation apparatus of claim 14, wherein said steamer system is configured to drain water from said water reservoir and power off when said overflow water detection sensor detects water. (Similar scope to claim 9 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/19/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-14, 17 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant amended the claims 1 and 14 to recite that “ wherein said processor is configured for assigning primary water detection control to said first water detection sensor until said first water detection sensor is fouled; wherein said processor is configured for relinquishing said primary water detection control from said first water detection sensor and assigning said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor when said first water detection sensor is fouled until said second water detection sensor is fouled; and wherein said steamer system is configured for increasing water level within said water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of said second water detection sensor when said processor assigns said primary water detection control to said second water detection sensor” and argued that this makes the claimed invention distinguishable from prior art. However, a new ground of rejection is made based on prior art as discussed above.
The applicant argued on page 15 that Oslin 008 does not teach a system configured to assign primary water detection control to a second higher positioned water detection sensor when first water detection sensor is fouled and increase the water level within the water reservoir to a level at or higher than the position of the second water detection sensor when the first water detection sensor is fouled. However, as discussed above, Oslin 008 teaches 2 sensors positioned at different heights and corresponding logic to detect sensor failures during filling as well as draining of the steamer.
Oslin 008 teaches assigning control to second higher sensor when first sensor is fouled (“If the sensor probe 80b has limed over so as to be nonconducting in the presence of water, and the sensor probe 80a detects the presence of water” column 9, lines 65-69). Oslin 008 further teaches increasing water level to second sensor when first sensor is fouled (“If the sensor probe 80b has limed over so as to be nonconducting in the presence of water, and the sensor probe 80a detects the presence of water” in column 9, lines 65-69. It is understood that water level rose to the higher sensor 80a even when lower sensor 80b is fouled).
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761