DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 28, 29, and 31-33 are pending.
Claims 28 and 32 are amended.
This action is made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the combination of Pilgram and Jenkins does not teach or render obvious “the anticipated flow rate is determined responsive to at least one of a predicted weather event and a predicted sewerage event”. This argument is not persuasive because Jenkins teaches operating a sequencing batch reactor responsive to at least a predicted sewerage event (“weather conditions”, “weather conditions such as rain may dilute influent wastewater”) (see Jenkins para. 0052, 0059). As the rain changes the quality and quantity of the incoming wastewater (sewage) weather conditions correspond to a predicted sewerage event. The claims do not limit what a “predicted sewerage event” is limited to, or how it is calculated/determined/quantified. The claims additionally do not limit how the influent flow rate is determined responsive to the predicted sewerage event.
Double Patenting
Claims 28, 29 and 32-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11472726. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 28:
The claims of the patent disclose method of retrofitting (all the components are used with a sequencing batch reactor therefore retrofitting is inherent) (see claim 13) a sequencing batch reactor system having a plurality of reactors arranged in parallel and configured to operate in a batch flow mode, comprising: providing a controller configured to transmit an output signal to operate one or more reactor in a continuous flow mode responsive to an anticipated flowrate of the wastewater being greater than a design hydraulic loading rate of the plurality of the reactors and the one or more reactor being in a state capable of receiving the wastewater in the continuous flow mode; operably connecting the controller to a loading subsystem of the sequencing batch reactor system configured to control a hydraulic loading rate of wastewater independently into each of the reactors; and operably connecting the controller to an anticipated flow rate analyzer (controller can “determine an anticipated flow rate”, therefore there is an analyzer) configured to transmit a second input signal to the controller to determine the anticipated flow rate (see claim 13) wherein the anticipated flow rate is determined responsive to at least one of a predicted weather event, a predicted sewerage event (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 29:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 28, further comprising operably connecting the controller to a measuring subsystem of the sequencing batch reactor system configured to measure a parameter of each of the reactors and transmit a first input signal to the controller to determine the state of each of the reactors (see claim 14).
Regarding Claim 32:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of facilitating treatment (treating) of wastewater with a sequencing batch reactor system having a plurality of reactors arranged in parallel and configured to operate in a batch flow mode, comprising: providing the sequencing batch reactor system; providing a controller configured to: operate the plurality of the reactors in a batch flow mode; determine an anticipated flow rate of the wastewater at an inlet of the reactors for a first period of time to be greater than a flow rate tolerated by a design hydraulic loading rate of the reactors wherein the anticipated flow rate is responsive to at least one of a predicted weather event, a predicted sewerage even, time of day, time of year, and geographic location (see claim 1); select one or more reactor as being in a state capable of receiving the wastewater in a continuous flow mode; and operate the one or more selected reactor in the continuous flow mode (see claim 1), such that after a second period of time the plurality of the reactors are all operating in the continuous flow mode; operably connecting the controller to the sequencing batch reactor system to determine the state of each of the reactors and control a hydraulic loading rate of wastewater independently into each of the reactors; fluidly connecting an inlet of the sequencing batch reactor system to a source of the wastewater (see claim 1); and instructing a user to operate the sequencing batch reactor system to treat the wastewater (claim is directed to a method of treating water, therefore a user of some kind is inherent).
Regarding Claim 33:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 32, further comprising providing an anticipated flow rate analyzer configured to determine the anticipated flow rate and operably connecting the controller to the anticipated flow rate analyzer (flow rate is determined, therefore an analyzer is inherent) (see claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 29, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgram et al (USPN 6,383,389) in view of Jenkins et al (US 2012/0085704).
Regarding Claim 28:
Pilgram teaches the method of retrofitting (see col. 4 lines 24-27) a sequencing batch reactor system having a plurality of reactors arranged in parallel and configured to operate in a batch flow mode (four SBRs series or parallel) (see col. 11 lines 46-50 col. 8 lines 5-6), comprising: providing a controller (controller 82) configured to transmit an output signal (see col. 6 lines 23-25) to operate one or more reactor in a continuous flow mode responsive to an anticipated flowrate of the wastewater being greater than a design hydraulic loading rate(flow-transition set point) of the plurality of the reactors and the one or more reactor being in a state capable of receiving the wastewater in the continuous flow mode (reactors receive a continuous flow, therefore they are in a condition to receive it) (see col. 8 lines 17-24); operably connecting the controller to a loading subsystem (connection to valves) of the sequencing batch reactor system configured to control a hydraulic loading rate of wastewater independently into each of the reactors (throttle or close valves) (see col. 10 lines 59-62); and operably connecting the controller to an anticipated flow rate analyzer (part of system that calculates the influent flow rate, flow meter) configured to transmit a second input signal to the controller to determine the anticipated flow rate (see col. 6 lines 10-12, col. 6 lines 55-57).
Pilgram does not explicitly teach wherein the anticipated flow rate is responsive to at least one of a predicted weather event and a predicted sewerage event.
Jenkins teaches a method for operating a sequencing batch reactor (see para. 0062), wherein operation of the controlled is responsive to at least a predicted sewerage event (“weather conditions”, “weather conditions such as rain may dilute influent wastewater”) (see Jenkins para. 0052, 0059).
Pilgram and Jenkins are analogous inventions in the art of sequencing batch reactors. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the predictive control based on time of day disclosed by Jenkins to the anticipated flow rate determination of Pilgram because it allows control cycles to be scheduled (See Jenkins para. 0060). Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International
Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP §
2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 29:
Pilgram teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising operably connecting the controller to a measuring subsystem (composition analyzer) of the sequencing batch reactor system configured to measure a parameter of each of the reactors and transmit a first input signal to the controller to determine the state of each of the reactors (see col. 6 lines 65-66).
Regarding Claim 31:
Pilgram teaches the method of claim 29, wherein operably connecting the controller to the loading subsystem comprises operably connecting the controller to an input valve and an output valve of the reactor (valves 32 and 78) (see col. 6 lines 23-28), the controller being configured to independently control a loading rate of wastewater into the reactor and a decanting rate of water out of the reactor responsive to the first input signal wherein the parameter is process water composition (inputs are dependent on composition) (see col. 6 lines 64-66).
Pilgram does not explicitly teach that each reactor of the plurality of reactors has an input valves and output valve. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include the controlled input valve and output valve, resulting in independent control of each reactor, because it is the simple duplication of parts (valves connected to the controlled), without any unexpected results. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 32:
Pilgram teaches the method of facilitating treatment of wastewater with a sequencing batch reactor system having a plurality of reactors arranged in parallel and configured to operate in a batch flow mode (four SBRs series or parallel) (see col. 11 lines 46-50 col. 8 lines 5-6), comprising: providing the sequencing batch reactor system (see col. 11 lines 46-50); providing a controller configured to: operate the plurality of the reactors in a batch flow mode (see col. 8 lines 22-26); determine an anticipated flow rate of the wastewater at an inlet of the reactors for a first period of time to be greater than a flow rate tolerated by a design hydraulic loading rate of the reactors (above transition set-point) (see col. 8 lines 18-20); select one or more reactor as being in a state capable of receiving the wastewater in a continuous flow mode (see col. 8 lines 18-22); and operate the one or more selected reactor in the continuous flow mode, such that after a second period of time the plurality of the reactors are all operating in the continuous flow mode (all reactors are transitioned past the nominal flow rate) (see col. 11 lines 55-60); operably connecting the controller to the sequencing batch reactor system to determine the state of each of the reactors and control a hydraulic loading rate of wastewater independently into each of the reactors (throttle of valves) (see col. 10 lines 55-65); fluidly connecting an inlet of the sequencing batch reactor system to a source of the wastewater (wastewater to be treated) (see fig. 1); and instructing a user to operate the sequencing batch reactor system to treat the wastewater (system has a keypad and is operated, therefore a user is inherently instructed to operate the SBR) (see col. 6 lines 65-67).
Pilgram does not explicitly teach wherein the anticipated flow rate is responsive to at least one of a predicted weather event and a predicted sewerage event.
Jenkins teaches a method for operating a sequencing batch reactor (see para. 0062), wherein operation of the controlled is responsive to at least a predicted sewerage event (“weather conditions”, “weather conditions such as rain may dilute influent wastewater”) (see Jenkins para. 0052, 0059).
Pilgram and Jenkins are analogous inventions in the art of sequencing batch reactors. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the predictive control based on time of day disclosed by Jenkins to the anticipated flow rate determination of Pilgram because it allows control cycles to be scheduled (See Jenkins para. 0060). Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International
Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP §
2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 33:
Pilgram teaches the method of claim 32, further comprising providing an anticipated flow rate analyzer (flow meter) configured to determine the anticipated flow rate and operably connecting the controller to the anticipated flow rate analyzer (provides an input to the controller) (see col. 6 lines 55-57).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tajika et al (US 2016/0184742), which teaches control of a water treatment system based on predicted rain (weather) (see para. 0069, 0070). Schutzbach (US 2002/0170350) which teaches that a measured increase in rain is indicative of an anticipated flow (see para. 0007).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 3/23/2026