DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 8/2/2025, the following objections and rejections have been withdrawn from the previous office action:
Objection to the specification
Objections to the claims
35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-12 and 14-18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220384895A1, hereafter Utsumi, in view of Published Application US20130288094A1, hereafter Noh, and further in view of Published Application US20230395919A1, hereafter Jeong.
Regarding claim 1, Utsumi discloses a battery housing (10) (Fig 2, [0041] cell case 10), comprising:
a plastic housing body (cell case 10 with resin portion 14), wherein the plastic housing body (10, 14) comprises:
an upper plate ([0041] upper cover);
a bottom plate (10a) ([0044] bottom face 10a);
a plurality of side walls ([0044-0045] side walls 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e), connected between the upper plate and the bottom plate (10a) individually (Fig 2, [0041]); wherein the upper plate, the bottom plate (10a) and the plurality of side walls (10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) together define a holding cavity (Fig 2-3) configured to hold a battery ([0039]); the plurality of side walls comprise a first side wall (10d) and a second side wall (10e) disposed opposite to each other (Fig 3) and connected between the upper plate and the bottom plate (Fig 2, [0041]); the first side wall (10d) is provided with a plurality of first mounting holes (32); and the second side wall (10e) is provided with a plurality of second mounting holes (42);
a plurality of metal plates (22, 23, 30, 40), embedded in the plurality of side walls (10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) respectively (Fig 3, metal plates 22, 23, 40, 30; Fig 2, embedded in resin portion 14); wherein the plurality of metal plates comprise a first metal plate (30) and a second metal plate (40), the first metal plate (30) is embedded in the first side wall (10d), the second metal plate (40) is embedded in the second side wall (10e) (Figs 2-4, plates 10d and 10e embedded in resin portion 14); the plurality of first mounting holes (32) extend from an outside of the first side wall (10d) into the first metal plate (30) (Fig 2); and the plurality of second mounting holes (42) extend from an outside of the second side wall (10e) into the second metal plate (40) (Fig 2);
a first fixing component ([0050] brackets), wherein the first fixing component (bracket) is abutted against the first side wall (10d) ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10d, see Fig 4), and the first fixing component (bracket) is provided with a plurality of first mounting through-holes ([0050] brackets securing cell case 10 to vehicle body fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to the side wall resin portion 143 – there necessarily must be through holes in the brackets for nuts to fasten the cell case to the vehicle body);
a plurality of first mounting components ([0050] nuts), wherein each of the plurality of first mounting components (nuts) is successively penetrated into a corresponding one ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10d, see Fig 4) of the plurality of first mounting through-holes (holes in brackets) to connect the first fixing component (bracket) to the first side wall (10d);
a second fixing component ([0050] brackets), wherein the second fixing component (bracket) is abutted against the second side wall (10e) ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10e, see Fig 4), and the second fixing component (bracket) is provided with a plurality of second mounting through-holes ([0050] brackets securing cell case 10 to vehicle body fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to the side wall resin portion 143 – there necessarily must be through holes in the brackets for nuts to fasten the cell case to the vehicle body);
a plurality of second mounting components ([0050] nuts), wherein each of the plurality of second mounting components (nuts) is successively penetrated into a corresponding one ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10e, see Fig 4) of the plurality of second mounting through-holes (holes in brackets) to connect the second fixing component (bracket) to the second side wall (10e).
Utsumi further discloses projections 24 formed on the opposite wall portions 25 and 26 of the side wall portions 22, 23 of the metal plate 20 (Figs 3, 6A, [0054]).
Utsumi is silent on the first and second mounting components being also penetrated into the first and second mounting holes, respectively.
It would however have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Utsumi to integrate the nuts press-formed into the resin side walls 143 with the projections 24 in order to provide improved strength and vehicle mounting reliability by attaching the bracket directly to the metal plates that provide most of the mechanical strength to the cell case 10, and further to achieve the predictable result of another way to attach the joined components by a combination of the known mounting components and holes (MPEP 2143 (I) (A)).
Utsumi is silent on wherein the upper plate is provided with a first through-hole and a second through-hole; and a first electrode connection terminal and a second electrode connection terminal, configured to connect to electrodes of the battery, and wherein the first electrode connection terminal is disposed in the first through-hole and the second electrode connection terminal is disposed in the second through-hole.
In the analogous art of battery pack module housings, Noh discloses wherein the upper plate (top plate 120 with cover member 180) is provided with a first through-hole and a second through-hole (Fig 8 top plate 120 includes holes through when electrode terminals 10a of battery cells 10 extend); and a first electrode connection terminal (10a) and a second electrode connection terminal (10a) (Fig 8, neighboring electrode terminals 10a, two for each cell), configured to connect to electrodes of the battery ([0042] electrode terminal 10a electrically connected to electrode assembly), and wherein the first electrode connection terminal (10a) is disposed in the first through-hole (Fig 8) and the second electrode connection terminal (10a) is disposed in the second through-hole (Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Utsumi to include first and second through holes and respective positive and negative terminals in the upper plate, as disclosed by Noh, in order achieve the predictable result of facilitating the electrical connection between the contained battery cells and the load being powered by the battery pack by granting access to the electrode terminals from the outside of the case, through the cover, as suggested by Noh ([0089] cover member 180 exposes some electrode terminals 10a to connect the battery pack to the outside) (MPEP 2143 (I) (A)).
Utsumi further discloses wherein the first fixing component (bracket) and the second fixing component (bracket) have the same structure ([0050] brackets).
Utsumi is silent on the bracket structure comprising a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate connected to the first fixing plate, the first fixing plate is perpendicular to the second fixing plate; and
wherein the second fixing plate of the first fixing component is provided with the plurality of first mounting through-holes, and the second fixing plate of the second fixing component is provided with the plurality of second mounting through-holes.
In the analogous art of secondary battery housings, Jeong discloses the bracket structure (400) comprising a first fixing plate ([0071] one side of the fixing bracket 400) and a second fixing plate ([0071] other side of the fixing bracket 400) connected to the first fixing plate (Fig 7), the first fixing plate is perpendicular to the second fixing plate (Fig 7); and
wherein the second fixing plate of the first fixing component is provided with the plurality of first mounting through-holes (Fig 7, [0071] holes in fixing bracket 400 through which first fixing means 410 are inserted), and the second fixing plate of the second fixing component is provided with the plurality of second mounting through-holes (Fig 7, [0071] holes in fixing bracket 400 through which first fixing means 410 are inserted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to select brackets such as those disclosed by Jeong to mount the battery housing to the device requiring the battery’s power depending on the battery’s mounted orientation, as suggested by Jeong ([0069-0071]) and further to achieve the predictable result of another way to attach the joined components by a combination of the known mounting components and holes (MPEP 2143 (I) (A)).
Regarding claim 3, Utsumi further discloses wherein the plurality of first mounting holes (32) are disposed on edges of the first side wall (10d) (Fig 2), and the plurality of second mounting holes (42) are disposed on edges of the second side wall (10e) (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Utsumi further discloses wherein the plurality of side walls further comprise a third side wall (10b) and a fourth side wall (10c), wherein the third side wall (10b) and the fourth side wall (10c) are disposed opposite to each other (Fig 2), connected between the upper plate and the bottom plate (10a) (Fig 2, [0041]), and connected between the first side wall (10d) and the second side wall (10e) (Fig 2);
wherein a first extension part (31b) and a second extension part (31c) are disposed on opposite ends of the first metal plate (30) respectively (Fig 2; [0059]); the first extension part (31b) extends from an end of the first metal plate (30) adjacent to the third side wall (10b) to an end (22b) of the third side wall (10b) adjacent to the first side wall (10d) (Fig 2); the second extension part (31c) extends from another end of the first metal plate (30) adjacent to the fourth side wall (10c) to an end (23b) of the fourth side wall (10c) adjacent to the first side wall (10d) (Fig 2);
wherein the third side wall (10b) is provided with a plurality of third mounting holes (34) (Fig 2), the plurality of third mounting holes (34) extend from an outside of the third side wall (10b) into the first extension part (31b) (Fig 6B, [0062]);
wherein the fourth side wall (10c) is provided with a plurality of fourth mounting holes (34) (Fig 2), the plurality of fourth mounting holes (34) extend from an outside of the fourth side wall (10c) into the second extension part (31c) (Fig 6B, [0062-0063] similar structure applied to between metal plate 20 and metal plate 40).
Regarding claim 5, Utsumi further discloses wherein the plurality of metal plates further comprise a third metal plate (22) and a fourth metal plate (23); the third metal plate (22) is embedded in another end of the third side wall (10b) adjacent to the bottom plate (10a) (Fig 5, [0044]); the fourth metal plate (23) is embedded in another end of the fourth side wall (10c) adjacent to the bottom plate (10a) (Fig 5, [0044] structure described here and shown in Fig 5 applies to both side wall portions 22 and 23);
wherein the third side wall (10b) is provided with a plurality of fifth mounting holes (27), the plurality of fifth mounting holes (27) extend from the outside of the third side wall (10b) into the third metal plate (22) (Fig 2, Fig 6B, [0055] projections 27, 33, 43 have arch shape opened at both ends of their arch portions); and
wherein the fourth side wall (10c) is provided with a plurality of sixth mounting holes (27), the plurality of sixth mounting holes (27) extend from the outside of the fourth side wall (10c) into the fourth metal plate (23) (Fig 2, Fig 6B, [0055] projections 27, 33, 43 have arch shape opened at both ends of their arch portions).
Regarding claim 8, Utsumi further discloses wherein the battery housing (10) further comprises a third fixing component ([0050] brackets), a plurality of third mounting components ([0050] nuts), a fourth fixing component ([0050] brackets) and a plurality of fourth mounting components ([0050] nuts);
wherein the third fixing component (bracket) is provided with a plurality of third mounting through-holes ([0050] brackets securing cell case 10 to vehicle body fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to the side wall resin portion 143 – there necessarily must be through holes in the brackets for nuts to fasten the cell case to the vehicle body); the fourth fixing component is provided with a plurality of fourth mounting through-holes ([0050] brackets securing cell case 10 to vehicle body fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to the side wall resin portion 143 – there necessarily must be through holes in the brackets for nuts to fasten the cell case to the vehicle body);
wherein the third fixing component (bracket) is abutted against the third side wall (10b) ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10b, see Fig 5), each of the plurality of third mounting components (nuts) is successively penetrated into a corresponding one ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10b, see Fig 5) of the plurality of third mounting through-holes (holes in brackets) to connect the third fixing component (bracket) to the third side wall (10b);
the fourth fixing component (bracket) is abutted against the fourth side wall (10c), each of the plurality of fourth mounting components (nuts) is successively penetrated into a corresponding one ([0050] bracket fastened to nuts fitted by pressing to side wall resin portion 143, which is a part of side wall 10c, see Fig 5) of the plurality of fourth mounting through-holes (holes in brackets) to connect the fourth fixing component (bracket) to the fourth side wall (10c).
Utsumi further discloses hooks 28 formed on the overlapped portions 22b and 23b of the side wall portions 22, 23 of the metal plate 20 (Figs 3, 6A, [0054]).
Modified Utsumi is silent on the third and fourth mounting components being also penetrated into the third and fourth mounting holes, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi to integrate the nuts press-formed into the resin side walls 143 with the hooks 28 in order to provide improved strength and vehicle mounting reliability by attaching the bracket directly to the metal plates that provide most of the mechanical strength to the cell case 10, and further to achieve the predictable result of another way to attach the joined components by a combination of the known mounting components and holes (MPEP 2143 (I) (A)).
Regarding claim 12, Utsumi further discloses wherein the plurality of side walls further comprise a third side wall (10b) and a fourth side wall (10c), wherein the third side wall (10b) and the fourth side wall (10c) are disposed opposite to each other (Fig 2), connected between the upper plate and the bottom plate (10a) (Fig 2, [0041]), and connected between the first side wall (10d) and the second side wall (10e) (Fig 2);
wherein a first extension part (31b) and a second extension part (31c) are disposed on opposite ends of the first metal plate (30) respectively (Fig 2; [0059]), and a third extension part (41b) and a fourth extension part (41c) are disposed on opposite ends of the second metal plate (40) respectively (Fig 2; [0059]);
wherein the first extension part (31b) extends from one of the opposite ends of the first metal plate (30) into to the third side wall (10b) (Fig 2); the second extension part (31c) extends from the other of the opposite ends of the first metal plate (30) into the fourth side wall (10c) (Fig 2); and
wherein the third extension part (41b) extends from one of the opposite ends of the second metal plate (40) into the third side wall (10b) (Fig 2); the fourth extension part (41c) extends from the other of the opposite ends of the second metal plate (40) into the fourth side wall (10c).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong discloses wherein the third fixing component (400) and the fourth fixing component (400) are L-shaped metal plates (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 14, modified Utsumi discloses a power source (1), comprising: the battery housing according to claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1); and
the battery (2), comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode (implicit, necessary structure for all battery cells 2);
wherein the battery (2) is disposed in the holding cavity of the battery housing (10) (Fig 1), the positive electrode is connected to the first electrode connection terminal of the battery housing (10), and the negative electrode is connected to the second electrode connection terminal of the battery housing (10) (implicit, since each electrode necessarily must connect to a respective terminal to enable the battery cell’s function).
Claim(s) 6, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220384895A1, hereafter Utsumi, in view of Published Application US20130288094A1, hereafter Noh, in view of Published Application US20230395919A1, hereafter Jeong, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Published Application US20190393570A1, hereafter Melack.
Regarding claim 6, modified Utsumi is silent on wherein the upper plate is provided with a protruding part and a protruded height of the protruding part is higher than that of the first electrode connection terminal and the second electrode connection terminal.
In the analogous art of secondary battery housings, Melack discloses wherein the upper plate (702) is provided with a protruding part (700) and a protruded height of the protruding part (700) is higher than that of the first electrode connection terminal (706) and the second electrode connection terminal (706) (Fig 7, [0064]). Melack further discloses the height of the cover 700 allows for eliminating the need to trim tabs exiting from the battery cells due to providing more space for the tabs therein ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi to include a protruded part on the cover as disclosed by Melack in order to allow for taller tabs/terminals that extend through the upper plate, as suggested by Melack ([0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Melack further discloses wherein the protruding part (700) and the upper plate (702) together define a cavity configured to hold a battery management chip (712) (Fig 7, [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Utsumi is silent on wherein the upper plate of the battery housing is provided with a protruding part, the protruding part and the upper plate together define a cavity; and wherein the power source further comprises a battery management chip, disposed in the cavity and connected to the battery.
In the analogous art of secondary battery housings, Melack discloses wherein the upper plate (702) of the battery housing is provided with a protruding part (700), the protruding part (700) and the upper plate (702) together define a cavity; and wherein the power source further comprises a battery management chip (712), disposed in the cavity and connected to the battery (Fig 7, [0067]). Melack further discloses the height of the cover 700 allows for eliminating the need to trim tabs exiting from the battery cells due to providing more space for the tabs therein ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi to include a protruded part on the cover with a battery management chip contained in the defined cavity as disclosed by Melack in order to allow for taller tabs/terminals that extend through the upper plate, as suggested by Melack ([0068]), and to enable control over the battery’s performance with the inclusion battery management chip.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220384895A1, hereafter Utsumi, in view of Published Application US20130288094A1, hereafter Noh, in view of Published Application US20230395919A1, hereafter Jeong, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Published Application US20200176747A1, hereafter Ogino.
Regarding claim 9, modified Utsumi is silent on wherein a middle position of the outside of the first side wall is provided with a concave part; the concave part is provided with a plurality of seventh mounting holes, and the plurality of seventh mounting holes extend from the outside of the first side wall into the first metal plate;
wherein the battery housing further comprises a pairing plate and a plurality of fifth mounting components, and the pairing plate is provided with a plurality of fifth mounting through-holes corresponding to the plurality of seventh mounting holes; and
wherein each of the plurality of fifth mounting components is successively penetrated into a corresponding one of the plurality of fifth mounting through-holes and a corresponding one of the plurality of seventh mounting holes to connect the pairing plate to the concave part of the first side wall.
In the analogous art of secondary battery housings, Ogino discloses wherein a middle position (Fig 3) of the outside of the first side wall (95) is provided with a concave part (Fig 3, [0030] concave part formed between projections 95a); the concave part is provided with a plurality of seventh mounting holes ([0040), Fig 3, bolts 85 placed through plate 83 and projection 95a – there must necessarily be holes in both pieces in order to join them with bolts), and the plurality of seventh mounting holes extend from the outside of the first side wall into the first metal plate (implicit since end plate 95 with projections 95a is both the side wall and the metal plate);
wherein the battery housing further comprises a pairing plate (83) and a plurality of fifth mounting components (85), and the pairing plate (83) is provided with a plurality of fifth mounting through-holes corresponding to the plurality of seventh mounting holes ([0040), Fig 3, bolts 85 placed through plate 83 and projection 95a – there must necessarily be holes in both pieces in order to join them with bolts); and
wherein each of the plurality of fifth mounting components (85) is successively penetrated into a corresponding one of the plurality of fifth mounting through-holes and a corresponding one of the plurality of seventh mounting holes to connect the pairing plate to the concave part of the first side wall (95) ([0040), Fig 3, bolts 85 placed through plate 83 and projection 95a).
Ogino further discloses the plates 83 reinforce the link structure between adjoining battery packs and strength and rigidity of the joint structure is further increased ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi with the concave wall structure and pairing plate disclosed by Ogino as detailed above in order to reinforce the link structure between adjoining battery packs and increase the strength and rigidity of the joint structure, as suggested by Ogino ([0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Utsumi further discloses wherein the plurality of metal plates comprise: a first metal plate (30) and a second metal plate (40), the plurality of side walls comprise: a first side wall (10d) and a second side wall (10e) (Fig 3); the first side wall (10d) and the second side wall (10e) are disposed opposite to each other (Fig 3) and connected between the upper plate and the bottom plate (10a) (Fig 2, [0041]); the first metal plate (30) is embedded in the first side wall (10d), and the second metal plate (40) is embedded in the second side wall (10e) (Figs 2-4, plates 10d and 10e embedded in resin portion 14);
wherein the first side wall (10d) is provided with first mounting holes (32), the first mounting holes (32) extend from an outside of the first side wall (10d) into the first metal plate (30) (Fig 2); and the second side wall (10e) is provided with second mounting holes (42), the second mounting holes (42) extend from an outside of the second side wall (10e) into the second metal plate (40) (Fig 2);
Modified Utsumi is silent on wherein the power source further comprises a pairing plate and fifth mounting components, the pairing plate is provided with fifth mounting through-holes, and a number of the battery housing is two;
wherein the fifth mounting components each are successively penetrated into the fifth mounting through-holes and the first mounting holes of the first side walls of the two battery housings to connect the pairing plate with the two battery housings, thereby connecting the two battery housings together.
In the analogous art of secondary battery housings, Ogino discloses wherein the power source further comprises a pairing plate (83) and fifth mounting components (84,85), the pairing plate (83) is provided with fifth mounting through-holes ([0040), Fig 3, bolts 85 placed through plate 83 and projection 95a – there must necessarily be holes in both pieces in order to join them with bolts), and a number of the battery housing is two (Fig 2, battery pack 1 of first battery module 70 and second battery module 80);
wherein the fifth mounting components (84,85) each are successively penetrated into the fifth mounting through-holes and the first mounting holes of the first side walls (95, 25) of the two battery housings (70,80) to connect the pairing plate (83) with the two battery housings (70,80) ([0040), Fig 3, bolts 85 placed through plate 83 and projection 95a), thereby connecting the two battery housings together.
Ogino further discloses the plates 83 reinforce the link structure between adjoining battery packs and strength and rigidity of the joint structure is further increased ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi with the concave wall structure and pairing plate disclosed by Ogino as detailed above in order to reinforce the link structure between adjoining battery packs and increase the strength and rigidity of the joint structure, as suggested by Ogino ([0040]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220384895A1, hereafter Utsumi, in view of Published Application US20130288094A1, hereafter Noh, in view of Published Application US20230395919A1, hereafter Jeong, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Published Application US20160105054A1, hereafter Horito.
Regarding claim 16, modified Utsumi is silent on wherein the power source further comprises: a communication port and a switch button arranged on the protruding part; the communication port is connected to the battery management chip, and the switch button is connected to the battery.
In the analogous art of battery management systems, Horito discloses wherein the power source further comprises: a communication port ([0118] USB port) and a switch button (228); the communication port (USB port) is connected to the battery management chip (700) ([0118] USB port enables communication with BMS 700), and the switch button (228) is connected to the battery ([0125] reset button 228 for manual isolation of the battery 705).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Utsumi to include the battery management system having a switch and communications port as disclosed by Horito in order to achieve the predictable result of enabled advanced user initiated control ([0124-0125] and communications and control ([0117-0118]) as suggested by Horito (MPEP 2143 (I) (A)).
Modified Utsumi is silent on the communication port and switch button being arranged on the protruded part.
However, one skilled in the art would have understood the locations of the communication port and switches to be changeable, since they are merely local connection points for the wiring inside the battery housing, and wiring can be easily rearranged according to the empty space in which the wiring is located. One skilled in the art would also recognize that the locations of the communication port and switches are only consequential insofar as they are accessible for use. It has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice, absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results, to rearrange components of a device in the prior art (MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C)). Further, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious, given the location of the battery management system inside the lid structure of modified Utsumi, to arrange the manually activated function access points, such as the switch button and the communications port, on the top of the lid of the battery housing, in order to easily access them without the need to remove the lid therefrom.
Regarding claim 17, Horito further discloses wherein the battery management chip (700) is configured to detect and control a voltage, a current, and a temperature of the battery ([0074] voltage, temperature, current detection and control), and provide protections with overvoltage ([0074] protection in overvoltage situation), overcurrent ([0074] protection in overcurrent situations), short circuit ([0077] activating isolation circuit after determining short circuit), and over temperature ([0096] preventing damage using switcher driver circuit 204) for the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 14 of applicant’s remarks that the brackets in Jeong remain independent of the battery structure’s core mechanical framework, the examiner disagrees. The fixing brackets 400 are secured directly to the case frame 120 through the fixing means insertion port 121 by the first fixing means 410 ([0071], [0073], Figs 6-7).
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 15 of applicant’s remarks that the combination of Utsumi and Jeong would merely produce a system with separate “L-shaped bracket” and “wall mounting holes” but would not suggest the integrated through-type anchor connection structure, the examiner disagrees, and notes this modification was made in the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 7, now in the rejection of amended claim 1. As stated in the rejection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Utsumi to have the mounting components also penetrating into the mounting holes resulting in not just a system with separate L-shaped brackets and wall mounting holes, but also improved strength and vehicle mounting reliability by attaching the bracket directly to the metal plates that provide most of the mechanical strength to the cell case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754 /SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754