Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar et al. (2021/0227547), hereinafter Chitrakar in view of and Huang et al (2023/0007571).
Re. Claim 1, Chitrakar teaches an access point for an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers ("IEEE") 802.11 wireless local area network (¶0044 - Consider an example embodiment in which the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) operating per IEEE 802.11 that improves in peak throughput and multi-band transmission), comprising: an interface circuit configured to communicate with an client device (¶0004 - the techniques disclosed here feature a multi-band communication apparatus that includes a transmitter and a receiver) , and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for use in conjunction with an access point (Fig. 22, ¶0005 - It should be noted that general or specific embodiments may be implemented as a system, a method, an integrated circuit, a computer program, a storage medium, or any selective combination thereof), which performs a method comprising receiving, by the interface circuit from the client device, a packet or a frame associated with the client device (¶0004 - The receiver, which in operation, receives, in the wireless network, from the multi-band communication devices, frames on the frequency band that include actions related to the frequency band and to the at least one other frequency band in which the multi-band communication apparatus receives); and determining whether the client device has multi-band capability based at least in part on information included in the packet or the frame (Fig. 6, ¶0013 - FIG. 6 is a frame for authenticating and/or associating multi-band STAs across multiple different frequency bands), and information is stored in memory in the access point (Fig. 11, ¶0018 - FIG. 11 shows an element used to authenticate and/or associate a multi-band STA with an multi-band AP) wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is based at least in part on an operating class of the client device that is reported by the client device in the packet or the frame (Fig. 11 & ¶0059 - The STA 502 then transmits an Association Request frame 530 to the AP 504 on the 5 GHz band requesting the AP 504 to associate the STA on the 5 GHz band as well as the 2.4 GHz and the 6 GHz bands. Based on this transmission (which occurred in this example on 5 GHz), the AP associates the STA on all three bands (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz), and responds back with Association Response frame 540 to acknowledge a successful Association. & ¶0079 - FIG. 11 shows an element 1100 used to authenticate and/or associate a multi-band STA with a multi-band AP. By way of example, the element 110 may be the Multi-band element 300 and includes Element ID, Length, Multi-band Control, Band ID, Operating Class, [etc.]), wherein determining whether the client device has multi-band capability comprises determining that the client device can operate in multiple of a 2.4 GHz frequency band, a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band of the IEEE WLAN (¶0041 - the multi-band communication device 110 is shown as an AP, and the multi-band communication devices 120A and 120B are shown as non-AP stations (STAs) STA1 and STA2. The multiple different frequency bands include, but are not limited to, 6 GHz, 5 GHz, and 2.4 GHz).
Yet, Chitrakar does not expressly teach wherein the information stored in memory comprising one or more predefined channels in one or more predefined bands of frequencies specified by the operating class.
However, Huang explicitly teaches wherein the information stored in memory comprising one or more predefined channels in one or more predefined bands of frequencies specified by the operating class (¶0289 - the reserved field in the Control field may include indication information, for example, operating class present (OCP), used to indicate whether the EHT operation element carries an Operating Class field, or understandably, used to indicate whether the two channels are located in different frequency bands. For example, when OCP=1, it indicates that the EHT operation element carries the Operating Class field, that is, the two channels are located in different frequency bands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Huang to the teaching of Chitrakar. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Huang teaches where there are one or more channels within a band specified by the operating class (Huang, ¶0289). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 3 and 21, Chitrakar, and Huang teach Claims 1 and 18.
Additionally, Chitrakar teaches wherein the determining that the electronic device has the multi-band capability is based at least in part on bands of frequencies associated with the operating class (¶0055 - The Operating Class field and Channel Number field together implicitly identify the frequency band).
Re. Claim 4, Chitrakar, and Huang teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Chitrakar teaches wherein the packet or the frame comprises an association request frame, and the association request frame comprises an operating classes information element that specifies the operating class (Fig. 11 & ¶0079 - An element 1100 used to authenticate and/or associate a multi-band STA with a multi-band AP. By way of example, the element 110 may be the Multi-band element 300 and includes… Operating Class).
Re. Claims 22, Chitrakar and Huang teach Claims 1 and 27.
Additionally, Chitrakar further teaches wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is not based on a media access control (MAC) address of the client device that is included in the packet or the frame (Fig. 3, ¶0052 - FIG. 3 is an element 300 that advertises multi-band capability. By way of example, the element 300 may be a multi-band element and includes one or more of Element ID, Length, Multi-band Control, Band ID, Operating Class, Channel Number, Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID), Beacon Interval, TSF Offset, Multi-band Connection Capability, Fast Session Transfer (FST) Session Timeout, STA MAC Address, Pairwise Cipher Suite Count, Pairwise Cipher Suite List, and Option Sub-elements. Examiner interprets the claim language presented to be exemplary of a scenario in which the MAC is not used and here, Chitrakar provides several alternatives and states that one or more may be selected. As such, Chitrakar in fact discloses an alternative in which multi-band capability is ascertained without using the MAC).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar in view of Huang, and Sun et al. (WO 2020224441 A1), hereinafter Sun.
Re. Claim 6, Chitrakar, and Huang teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Chitrakar teaches determining that the electronic device has the multi-band capability (Fig. 3 & ¶0052 - An element 300 that advertises multi-band capability. By way of example, the element 300 may be a multi-band element and includes… [an] Operating Class, ¶0056 - The Operating Class field and Channel Number field together implicitly identify the frequency band, & ¶0058 - The AP 504 broadcasts a Beacon frame 508 on the 5 GHz band, through which STA 502, currently operating on the 5 GHz band, discovers the multi-band capability of the AP, for example by checking the included multi-band elements 300, and decides to get authenticated on all the frequency bands (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz) on which the AP 504 operates and also decides the frequencies to be associated on).
Yet, the combination of Chitrakar, and Huang does not expressly teach wherein the determination is based at least in part on a predefined or predetermined band capability of the model.
However, Sun explicitly teaches wherein the determination is based at least in part on a predefined or predetermined band capability of the model (Pg. 11, Paragraph 8 - the core network will subsequently use a certain UE capability ID (PLMN specific or equipment vendor definition) as an index for a set of UE capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sun to the teaching of Chitrakar and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Sun provides that the capabilities of the device can be determined by the predetermined model of the device (Sun, Pg. 11, Paragraph 8). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 7, Chitrakar, Huang and Kannan teach Claim 5.
Yet, the combination of Chitrakar, and Huang does not expressly teach wherein the packet or the frame comprises an association request frame and the association request frame comprises second information specifying the model.
However, Kannan explicitly teaches wherein the packet or the frame comprises an association request frame, and the association request frame comprises second information specifying the model (Pg. 11, Paragraph 7 - During the initial access process, the UE informs the core network of its own UE capability ID through a NAS message. If there is a PLMN-specific UE capability ID, the PLMN-specific UE capability ID is preferentially used. If the UE does not have a PLMN-specific UE capability ID, use the UE capability ID defined by the equipment vendor, and the core network should also be able to identify the ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sun to the teaching of Chitrakar and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Sun provides that provides that the capacity of the device can be determined by a request frame which contains the model of the device (Sun, Pg. 11, Paragraph 7). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar in view of Huang and Calcev, George (2016/0073316), hereinafter Calcev.
Re. Claim 9, Chitrakar, and Huang teaches Claim 1.
Additionally, Chitrakar teaches determining that the electronic device has the multi-band capability (Fig. 3 & ¶0052 - An element 300 that advertises multi-band capability. By way of example, the element 300 may be a multi-band element and includes… [an] Operating Class, ¶0056 - The Operating Class field and Channel Number field together implicitly identify the frequency band, & ¶0058 - The AP 504 broadcasts a Beacon frame 508 on the 5 GHz band, through which STA 502, currently operating on the 5 GHz band, discovers the multi-band capability of the AP, for example by checking the included multi-band elements 300, and decides to get authenticated on all the frequency bands (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz) on which the AP 504 operates and also decides the frequencies to be associated on).
Yet, the combination of Chitrakar and Huang does not expressly teach wherein the capacity is based at least in part on a vendor of the electronic device.
However, Calcev explicitly teaches wherein the capacity is based at least in part on a vendor of the electronic device (¶0034 - The vendor specific element may include an element ID, a length, an organization identifier, and a vendor-specific content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Calcev to the teaching of Chitrakar, and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Calcev teaches that vendor specific information may include a vendor identifier (Calcev ¶0034). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re Claim 12, Chitrakar, Huang, and Calcev teach Claim 9
Additionally, Chitrakar further teaches a packet or the frame comprises an association request frame (¶0059 - The STA 502 then transmits an Association Request frame 530 to the AP 504 on the 5 GHz band requesting the AP 504 to associate the STA on the 5 GHz band as well as the 2.4 GHz and the 6 GHz bands).
Yet, the combination of Chitrakar, and Huang does not expressly teach wherein the association request frame comprises an organizationally unique identifier information element specifying the vendor.
However, Calcev explicitly teaches wherein the association request frame comprises an organizationally unique identifier information element specifying the vendor (¶0034 - The vendor specific element may include an element ID, a length, an organization identifier, and a vendor-specific content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Calcev to the teaching of Chitrakar, and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Calcev teaches that vendor specific information may include a vendor identifier (Calcev ¶0034). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re Claims 14, Chitrakar, and Huang teach Claims 1, 15, and 18.
Yet, the combination of Chitrakar, and Huang does not teach expressly teach wherein the operations comprise selectively providing a transition recommendation addressed to the electronic device based at least in part on the determined multi-band capability.
However, Calcev explicitly teaches wherein the operations comprise selectively providing a transition recommendation addressed to the electronic device based at least in part on the determined multi-band capability (¶0039 - The AP may request that a STA transition to a different BSS… The BSS transition management request frame includes… an MBO cellular data link request… and an MBO reason code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Calcev to the teaching of Chitrakar, and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability and subsequent as Calcev teaches where a transition recommendation is sent to the device based on the capability determined (Calcev ¶0039). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar in view of Sun.
Re. Claim 23, the independent claims contain largely the same limitations as disclosed in Claim 1. As such, Claim 23 is rejected under much of the same reasoning.
However, Chitrakar does not expressly teach selectively providing, by the access point, a transition recommendation addressed to the client device based at least in part on the determined multi-band capability, wherein the transition recommendation includes instructions for the client device to switch from one frequency band to another frequency band.
Yet, Sun explicitly teaches selectively providing, by the access point, a transition recommendation addressed to the client device based at least in part on the determined multi-band capability, wherein the transition recommendation includes instructions for the client device to switch from one frequency band to another frequency band (Pg. 11, Paragraph 8 - the core network will subsequently use a certain UE capability ID (PLMN specific or equipment vendor definition) as an index for a set of UE capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Sun to the teaching of Chitrakar and Huang. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client has multi-band capability via predefined data as Sun provides that the capabilities of the device can be determined by the predetermined model of the device (Sun, Pg. 11, Paragraph 8). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 24, Chitrakar and Sun teach Claim 23.
Chitrakar further teaches wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is based at least in part on prior determinations made by the access point with respect to whether the client device had the multi-band capability (¶0037 - This communication includes one or more of authenticating, associating, de-authenticating, and de-associating the multi-band electronic devices with one or more multi-band communication apparatus, such as an AP. Examiner interprets that the AP, when associating the device with the apparatus stores the association for later use).
Re. Claim 26, Chitrakar and Kannan teach Claim 23.
Additionally, Chitrakar further teaches wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is based at least in part on an operating class of the client device (Fig. 3 & ¶0052 - An element 300 that advertises multi-band capability. By way of example, the element 300 may be a multi-band element and includes… [an] Operating Class, ¶0056 - The Operating Class field and Channel Number field together implicitly identify the frequency band, & ¶0058 - The AP 504 broadcasts a Beacon frame 508 on the 5 GHz band, through which STA 502, currently operating on the 5 GHz band, discovers the multi-band capability of the AP, for example by checking the included multi-band elements 300, and decides to get authenticated on all the frequency bands (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz) on which the AP 504 operates and also decides the frequencies to be associated on).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar in view of Sun and Calcev.
Re. Claim 25, Chitrakar and Sun teach Claim 23.
However, the combination of Chitrakar and Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the transition recommendation may also include instructions for the client device to switch from one channel within a frequency band to another channel within the same frequency band.
Yet, Calcev expressly teaches wherein the transition recommendation may also include instructions for the client device to switch from one channel within a frequency band to another channel within the same frequency band (¶0039 - The AP may request that a STA transition to a different BSS or within the same BSS in a different channel via the BSS transition request frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Calcev to the teaching of Chitrakar. The motivation for such would be in order to improve determining whether the client should swap channels within a frequency band as Calcev provides a means for switching between frequency bands via a transition recommendation (Calcev ¶0039). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar in view of Huang and Sun.
Re. Claim 27, Claim 27 contains a combination of limitations found within Claims 1 and 26 and as such are rejected under the same logic under Chitrakar, Huang and Sun.
Re. Claim 28, Chitrakar, Huang, and Sun teach Claim 27.
Additionally, Chitrakar further teaches wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is based at least in part on prior determinations made by the access point with respect to whether the client device had the multi-band capability (¶0037 - This communication includes one or more of authenticating, associating, de-authenticating, and de-associating the multi-band electronic devices with one or more multi-band communication apparatus, such as an AP. Examiner interprets that the AP, when associating the device with the apparatus stores the association for later use).
Re. Claim 29, Chitrakar, Huang, and Sun teach Claim 27.
Additionally, Chitrakar further teaches wherein the determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is not based on a media access control (MAC) address of the client device that is included in the packet or the frame (Fig. 3, ¶0052 - FIG. 3 is an element 300 that advertises multi-band capability. By way of example, the element 300 may be a multi-band element and includes one or more of Element ID, Length, Multi-band Control, Band ID, Operating Class, Channel Number, Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID), Beacon Interval, TSF Offset, Multi-band Connection Capability, Fast Session Transfer (FST) Session Timeout, STA MAC Address, Pairwise Cipher Suite Count, Pairwise Cipher Suite List, and Option Sub-elements. Examiner interprets the claim language presented to be exemplary of a scenario in which the MAC is not used and here, Chitrakar provides several alternatives and states that one or more may be selected. As such, Chitrakar in fact discloses an alternative in which multi-band capability is ascertained without using the MAC).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 27 have been considered but are not considered persuasive. Applicant’s arguments submitted on 07/14/2026 focus on the disclosures of Chitrakar and Huang and their interpretation. Argument A (Pg. 7) focuses on Chitrakar’s disclosure and finds that the process therein is the reverse of what is claimed by the immediate application. To this, Examiner has provided ¶0059 (The STA 502 then transmits an Association Request frame 530 to the AP 504 on the 5 GHz band requesting the AP 504 to associate the STA on the 5 GHz band as well as the 2.4 GHz and the 6 GHz bands. Based on this transmission (which occurred in this example on 5 GHz), the AP associates the STA on all three bands (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz), and responds back with Association Response frame 540 to acknowledge a successful Association) which shows a STA (station) sending a frame to the AP to attempt to associate on various bands. This process is performed over all three bands in order to determine where to associate the STA and AP. Examiner finds that this is sufficient to show “determining that the client device has the multi-band capability is based on an operating class of the client device that is reported.”
Argument B (Pg. 8) has been made against Huang, stating that a single flag within memory does not accurately represent “a stored data structure that specifies, for a given operating class, which channels in which bands that operating class corresponds to.” Examiner finds this interpretation of the claim to be inherently narrower than what is being claimed. The claim language states, “the information stored in memory comprising one or more predefined channels in one or more predefined bands of frequencies specified by the operating class”. All claim language is given its “broadest reasonable interpretation” being that of the interpretation of one having ordinary skill in the art. The claim language does not designate any specific data structure or signifier for how this information is stored, let alone the structure that Applicant argues in their remarks. While one having skill in the art may appreciate that memory storage typically utilizes structures to sort its data, a person having ordinary skill would not require such a step when presented with “information stored in memory”. As such, Examiner finds that it would be reasonable to interpret that the Operating Class of Huang which indicates “two frequency channels in different bands” (Huang ¶0289) is sufficient to disclose the claimed language herein and maintains the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Finally, Examiner has considered the argument against Kannan and agrees. This second Non-Final rejection is provided to replace Kannan with new reference Sun for Claims 6-7, and 23-29.
Under the above stated grounds of argument, Examiner maintains his rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for independent claims 1, 23, and 27, as well as all claims depending therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kulkarni et al. (2022/0400389) - ¶0050-0053; and
Leung et al. (2017/0235357) - ¶0044.
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475