Claims 1-22 are canceled.
Claims 23-43 are added.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an orientation feature configured to interface with at least one rib of a patient user when the pump body is implanted between adjacent ribs of the patient user and configured to orient the pump body at a desired angle relative the at least one rib” in claim 11. The recitation of “feature” is a generic placeholder coupled with the function of “orientation…configured to interface with at least one rib of a patient user when the pump body is implanted between adjacent ribs of the patient user and configured to orient the pump body at a desired angle relative the at least one rib.”
7. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: stability and orientation feature 200 of Figs. 14A-14B as described on instant pg. 14, lines 15-18, pg. 46, line 13 until pg. 47, line 5; the particular shape of the pump providing arbitrary angle of the pump relative to the chest wall of Figs. 15-19 and 22 including an L-shape of Fig. 15 or a lozenge shape as in Figs. 16-18 and 22 or a flanged-mushroom shape of Fig. 19 as described on instant pg. 15, line 18 until pg. 16, line 6 and lines 17-21 and pg. 47, line 6 until pg. 50, line 5 for Figs. 15-19 and pg. 54, lines 11-15 for Fig. 22.
Double Patenting
Claim 23-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 12-14, 16, and 25-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,571,555. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claim 4 and 16 of the patent would result in a claim including each and every limitation of claim 23 of the instant application. Furthermore, dependent claims 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 12, 13, 14 of the patent include each and every limitation of claims 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Browd (US Pub. No. 2013/0197422 A1) or Browd (US Pub. No. 2013/0197422 A1) in view of Mayse (US Pub. No. 9,393,387 B1).
Claim 37. Browd discloses an electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system comprising:
an electro-mechanical pump (204) ([0057]) in fluid communication with an inlet (230) and an outlet (240) (Fig. 2B); and
a first tube (108a) configured to extend from the inlet and allow fluid movement from a first area of a patient's body to the inlet (Fig. 1A; i.e., brain); and
a second tube (108b) configured to extend from the outlet and allow fluid movement from the outlet to a second area of a patient's body (Fig. 1A; i.e., peritoneal cavity) ([0025]-[0026]);
wherein the electro-mechanical pump comprises:
a pump body (i.e., housing of valve device 204 similar to housing 128 for valve device 104) having an interior chamber (i.e., interior chamber of catheter 102 in housing 128 throughwhich fluid flows through) in fluid communication with the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2B);
an inlet valve (230a) in general proximity to the inlet configured to allow fluid movement from the inlet to the interior chamber and at least substantially preclude movement from the interior chamber to the inlet ([0057]; i.e., as actuated by controller 110, see [0070]-[0072], Figs. 5A-5D for additional details of how actuator 230a can be controlled by controller 110);
an outlet valve (230b) in general proximity to the outlet configured to allow fluid movement from the interior chamber to the outlet and at least substantially preclude movement from the outlet to the interior chamber ([0057]; i.e., as actuated by controller 110, see [0070]-[0072], Figs. 5A-5D for additional details of how actuator 230b can be controlled by controller 110);
an actuator (230c) operably connected with the interior chamber and which is capable of moving fluid from the inlet to the outlet ([0057]);
a controller (110) operably connected to the actuator and capable of controlling the actuator ([0057]); and
a battery (122) operably connected to the controller to provide energy to the controller and the actuator ([0037]).
Browd does not explicitly disclose that the inlet and outlet valves (230a, 230b) being one-way valves. However, Browd discloses that valve device 104 can include one-way valve as a purely mechanical form of preventing undesired retrograde flow ([0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Browd with the inlet and outlet valves of valve device 204 as one-way valves disclosed for valve device 104 of Browd so as to prevent unwanted retrograde flow ([0050]) and since valve device 204 including features generally similar to the valve device 104 ([0057]).
Moreover, it is noted that Mayse also discloses an implantable pump with a pump comprising a one-way valve positioned proximity to the inlet and the outlet so as to preclude antegrade flow of flow from into through the outlet into the pump chamber and out of the pump chamber through the inlet (Fig. 3A; col. 7, lines 15-39). Thus, since both Browd and Mayse are drawn to implantable pumps for controlling fluid flow, it also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inlet and outlet valves of Browd as being one-way valves as disclosed by Mayse so as to ensure one-way fluid flow (col. 7, lines 15-39).
Claim 38. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, wherein Browd does not explicitly disclose that the battery is configured to comprise sufficient energy to enable the electro-mechanical pump to move at least 27 liters of fluid from the inlet to the outlet.
However, since Browd discloses a battery for providing power to the system ([0037]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery with an amount of energy sufficient to enable the electro-mechanical pump to move at least 27 liters of fluid from the inlet to the outlet depending on the amount of energy required for the treatment requirement so as to allowing for optimum fluid flow through the device to mimic optimal body function and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 for additional details.
Claim 39. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, wherein the controller is programmed to operate the actuator at each of a plurality of times over a first period of time and, for each of the plurality of times, continue to operate the actuator for a specified period of time less than the first period of time ([0041); since controller 110 carry out an algorithm to operate valve device 104 a predetermined amount each time a measurement outside of a desired limit is detected during a treatment time period).
Claim 40. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, wherein Browd further discloses that controller 110 carry out an algorithm that moves the valve device 104 a predetermined amount each time a measurement outside of a desired limit (e.g., desired CSF range) is detected ([0033] and [0038]), but does not explicitly the controller is programmed to operate the actuator for an amount of time to pump a desired volume of fluid on a first day post implantation of the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system in the patient and then decrease the amount of time the pump operates the actuator for at least one subsequent day post implantation.
However, depending on the particular treatment requirement and the patient’s condition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller is programmed to operate the actuator for an amount of time to pump a desired volume of fluid on a first day post implantation of the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system in the patient and then decrease the amount of time the pump operates the actuator for at least one subsequent day post implantation so as to allowing for optimum fluid flow through the device to mimic optimal body function.
Claim 41. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, further comprising a sensor (236a,236b) that senses fluid flow through the electro-mechanical pump ([0051]) and wherein the controller is programmed to operate the actuator at each of a plurality of times over a period of time and, for each of the plurality of times, continue to operate the actuator until a sensed fluid flow drops below a designated value ([0033]; i.e., each time the measurement is outside of a desired limit includes below and above a designated value).
Claim 42. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, further comprising a sensor (236a,236b) that senses pressure inside the electro-mechanical pump ([0051]) and wherein the controller is programmed to operate the actuator at each of a plurality of times over a period of time and, for each of the plurality of times, continue to operate the actuator until a sensed pressure drops below a designated value ([0033]; i.e., when pressure is lower than a desired pressure).
Claim 43. Browd discloses the electro-mechanical pump-based fluid management system of claim 37, wherein the electro-mechanical pump comprises a liquid impermeable membrane (i.e., liquid-tight seal) separating the interior chamber from a housing compartment comprising the actuator, the controller, and the battery ([0025]); wherein the actuator is operably connected with the liquid impermeable membrane and capable of deforming the liquid impermeable membrane (Fig. 2B; via operation of actuator 230c).
Conclusion
/CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783