DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 17-20 have been amended and claim 16 has been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-15 and 17-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachmaier et al. (US – 2013/0327605 A1) and further in view of Kapanowski et al. (US – 2018/0257630A1).
As per claim 1, Bachmaier discloses Brake And Braking Actuation Unit comprising:
one brake apply module per wheel of a vehicle (62, 64, 66, 68, Fig: 1), each of the brake apply modules associated with a respective one wheel of the vehicle (Fig: 1), each of the brake apply modules including:
a brake fluid reservoir (86, Fig: 1);
a caliper (The disk brakes 12 to 18 may be, for example, floating caliper brakes or even fixed caliper brakes, [0200], Fig: 1); and
a pump (84, Fig: 1) configured to pump brake fluid from the brake fluid reservoir to the caliper (Fig: 1).
Bachmaier discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose a bleed screw; and
a brake bleed module configured to, in response to user input indicative of a request to bleed air from the brake apply modules, operate the pump of each brake apply module and bleed air from the brake apply modules.
Kapanowaski discloses Method And Apparatus To Facilitate Brake Bleeding comprising:
a bleed screw (The first, second, third and fourth bleed screw 154, 156, 158, 160, [0020], Fig: 1); and
a brake bleed module (112, Fig: 1) configured to, in response to user input indicative of a request to bleed air from the brake apply modules, operate the pump of each brake apply module and bleed air from the brake apply modules ([0031] – [0032], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Brake And Braking Actuation Unit of the Bachmaier to include the bleed screw; and a brake bleed module configured to, in response to user input indicative of a request to bleed air from the brake apply modules, operate the pump of each brake apply module and bleed air from the brake apply modules as taught by Kapanowaski in order to reliably produce adequate braking pressure, the hydraulic brake fluid is moved through the braking system during maintenance of the automobile to remove air bubbles.
As per claim 2, Bachmaier discloses wherein each of the brake apply modules further includes:
a first conduit (96, Fig: 1) fluidly connected between the brake fluid reservoir and the pump (Fig: 1); and
a second conduit (104, Fig: 1) fluidly connected between the pump and the caliper (Fig: 1).
As per claim 3, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to, before operating the pump, output an indicator to open the bleed screw ([0032], Fig: 1).
As per claim 4, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module is configured to output the indicator visually on a display (The alert may be implemented via the vehicle undergoing hydraulic braking system 110 maintenance as a horn chirp, flashing lights, a dashboard display, an audio message, etc., [0027]).
As per claim 5, Kapanowaski further discloses the brake bleed module (112); and
the display (The alert may be implemented via the vehicle undergoing hydraulic braking system 110 maintenance as a horn chirp, flashing lights, a dashboard display, an audio message, etc., [0027]).
As per claim 6, Kapanowaski further discloses an input/output port, wherein the brake bleed device is connected to the input/output port by wire (dotted line in Fig: 1, pump 118, bleed controller 112 and bleed screw 154, 156, 158, and 160).
As per claim 7, Kapanowaski further discloses an infotainment module of the vehicle including:
the brake bleed module (112, Fig: 1); and
the display ([0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 8, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to output the indicator audibly via a speaker (The alert may be implemented via the vehicle undergoing hydraulic braking system 110 maintenance as a horn chirp, flashing lights, a dashboard display, and audio massage, etc., [0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 9, Kapanowaski further discloses a brake bleed device including:
the brake bleed module (112); and
the speaker ([0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 10, Kapanowaski further discloses an infotainment module of the vehicle including the brake bleed module, wherein the infotainment module is configured to output the indicator via the speaker of the vehicle ([0104], Fig: 1).
As per claim 11, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to operate the pump (118) at a predetermined speed (In operation, the bleed controller 112 monitors the internal pressure of the hydraulic braking system 110 via the first sensor 120 while operating the pump 118 to pressurize brake fluid in the pedal feel simulator 115, [0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 12, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to operate the pump at the predetermined speed for a predetermined period ([0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to, after operating the pump (118), output an indicator to close the bleed screw ([0029], Fig: 1).
As per claim 14, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to output the indicator visibly via a display ([0027], Fig: 1).
As per claim 15, Kapanowaski further discloses wherein the brake bleed module (112) is configured to output the indicator audibly via a speaker ([0027], Fig: 1).
Claim 20 recites all the limitations recited in independent claim 1 and is therefore rejects under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachmaier et al. (US – 2013/0327605 A1) as modified by Kapanowski et al. (US – 2018/0257630A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ganzel (US – 2021/0155215 A1).
As per claim 17, Bachmaier as modified by Kapanowski discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the brake bleed module is configured to operate a second pump of a second one of the brake apply modules and bleed air from the second one of the brake apply modules after operating a first pump of a first one of the brake apply modules and bleeding air from the first one of the brake apply modules.
Ganzel discloses Vehicle Brake System With Secondary Brake Modul comprising:
wherein the brake bleed module is configured to operate a second pump of a second one of the brake apply modules and bleed air from the second one of the brake apply modules after operating a first pump of a first one of the brake apply modules and bleeding air from the first one of the brake apply modules (The second flow intensifier 1122 may have a similar bleed screw set up. The bleed screws 1160 may also help during any replacement of the brake fluid from the brake system(s), [0157], Fig: 17-18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Brake And Braking Actuation Unit of the Bachmaier as modified by Kapanowski to make the brake bleed module is configured to operate a second pump of a second one of the brake apply modules and bleed air from the second one of the brake apply modules after operating a first pump of a first one of the brake apply modules and bleeding air from the first one of the brake apply modules as taught by Ganzel in order to provide a brake system having a wheel brake and is operable under a non-failure normal braking mode and a manual push-through mode.
As per claim 18, Ganzel further discloses wherein the brake bleed module is configured to operate a second pump of a second one of the brake apply modules and bleed air from the second one of the brake apply modules concurrently with operating a first pump of a first one of the brake apply modules and bleeding air from the first one of the brake apply modules ([0157] – [0158], Fig: 17-18).
As per claim 19, Ganzel further discloses wherein the brake apply modules is-are filled with brake fluid before the brake apply modules are added to the vehicle (As best shown in FIG. 18, the flow intensifier 1120 may further include an optional bleed screw 1160mounted within a conduit in the initial filling of fluid within the flow intensifier 1120 after manufacture and installation into the vehicle, [0157], Fig: 17-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 05/29/025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bachmaier et al. (US – 2013/0327605 A1) and further in view of Kapanowski et al. (US – 2018/0257630A1) and Ganzel (US – 2021/0155215 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616