DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 January 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Amendment on 20 November 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has amended claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-17, and 20.
Applicant argues against the prior art of record, Zhang et al (US 20220311337 A1), for the rejections of claims 1, 4, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Applicant concedes that Zhang discloses the connection relationship regarding “one end” and “remaining end”; however, applicant asserts that Zhang does not teach or suggest a balancing control circuit identifies a balancing state and generates an output signal based on the identified balancing state and a designated mode. Zhang discloses the structure and details of converter controller 200 in FIG 2, further in ¶0022 Zhang states “Converter 100 is controlled by a converter controller 200 (not shown in FIG. 1). Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100 in the exemplary embodiment”. The balancing reference current generator 244 creates the PWM signals whose balancing properties Zhang discusses in ¶0036 “The first and second PWM signals are configured to balance the first voltage with the second voltage”.
Applicant argues that Zhang does not disclose either “directly comparing a reference voltage with the flying capacitor voltage to identify a balancing state” or “generating an output signal based on a balancing state and a designated mode”. Zhang ¶0045 “FIG. 8 shows an exemplary flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, which is a different converter topology than that of converter 100 (shown in FIG. 1)”, depicting capacitors 116 and 117 which are further described in ¶0046 to have the capacitor voltage of V.sub.bus.1 and V.sub.bus.2 respectively. FIG 1 and FIG 8 are two embodiments of the same flyback capacitor multilevel converter, wherein Zhang ¶0021 states “For multilevel converters, the voltages V.sub.bus1 and V.sub.bus2 of segments 126, 127 should be balanced to avoid tripping of the circuit. The voltages V.sub.bus1 and V.sub.bus2 are balanced when the magnitude of the difference between V.sub.bus1 and V.sub.bus2 is less than a predetermined threshold”.
Differences in Circuit Structure
Applicant argues that the present invention depicted in application FIGs 6 and 7, combined into one figure for the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, arguing that “Zhang does not possess a circuit structure corresponding to the Sensing Circuit (610) or Toggle Circuit (620)”. Applicant specification ¶0154 defines “the sensing circuit 610 may perform a comparison operation for the voltage Vc of the flying capacitor CF and a half voltage Vin/2 of an input voltage Vin”, applicant FIGs 6 and 7 depict the sensing circuit 610 to be incorporated into balancing control circuit 600. Zhang FIG 2 depicts Comparator 220, not depicted in FIG 1, described in ¶0027 as “Comparator 220 compares input signals and outputs the difference between those input signals. Specifically, comparator 220 receives reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 (=V.sub.bus1+V.sub.bus2) of converter 100 as inputs, compares them, and produces voltage error 203”. Zhang ¶0025 states “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100” wherein PWM signals 208 and 209 as depicted in FIG 2 have one output at nodes 128 and 129 and a second output at nodes 130 and 131. The output nodes 128 and 129 and the nodes 130 and 131 measure the voltage across the flying capacitors 116 and 117. Thereby Zhang’s converter controller 200 comprising comparator 220 performs the same function as the applicant’s sensing circuit 610.
Applicant further assert, in regards to Zhang, “These are clearly analog circuits. Zhang lacks a circuit structure for generating a digital signal (Clk Signal) to switch a Reversing Circuit (720) as described in the present invention”. Zhang describes converter controller 200 in ¶0024, which states “FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of exemplary converter controller 200… Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based controller, in which the control function of converter controller 200 is mapped onto duty-cycle functions d of pulse-width modulators in converter controller 200… Converter controller 200 may be implemented digitally using, for example, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, or field-programmable gate arrays”. Clock signals are oscillating signals with a constant frequency used to synchronize logic circuits and controlling synchronous part. Zhang produces PWM (pulse-width modulated) signals described in ¶0022 to control switches S1, S1’, S2, and S2’, and converter 100 is described in ¶0023 to be bidirectional indicating that control switches S1, S1’, S2, and S2’ necessarily control the direction of power transfer. Applicant specification ¶0157 states “the toggle circuit 620 may generate an output (S) (e.g., S=high or S=low) of the toggle circuit 620 by using a clock signal of the sensing circuit 610. In an embodiment, the output (S) of the toggle circuit 620 may indicate a control signal (e.g., “H” (High) or “L” (Low)) for selecting a balancing control direction for charging or discharging of the flying capacitor CF”. Applicant toggle circuit 620 is embedded in balancing control circle 600 to produce the clock signal, which functions the same as Zhang’s balancing reference current generator 244 producing a PWM signal. Both signals are oscillating signals of constant frequency to control the direction of power transfer by opening and closing switches on a three-level flyback converter, thereby they perform the same functionality.
Differences in Circuit Operation
The applicant argues that the operation of the claimed invention and that of Zhang are different; however, as presented throughout these response to arguments Zhang possess the same abilities and logic as the claimed invention. The claimed invention follows the order of operations:
Compares V_c is outside the range of V{in}/2 - V_H < V the OR gate outputs '1'.
Zhang FIG 2 depicts Comparator 220, not depicted in FIG 1, described in ¶0027 as “Comparator 220 compares input signals and outputs the difference between those input signals. Specifically, comparator 220 receives reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 (=V.sub.bus1+V.sub.bus2) of converter 100 as inputs, compares them, and produces voltage error 203”.
When a High Clk signal is input to the T-Flip Flop (T F/F), the T F/F outputs Output (S). (Note: The mode is initially determined by the "Initial operation mode configuration" designated by the Processor via SET/RST input).
Zhang produces PWM (pulse-width modulated) signals described in ¶0022 to control switches S1, S1’, S2, and S2’, and converter 100 is described in ¶0023 to be bidirectional indicating that control switches S1, S1’, S2, and S2’ necessarily control the direction of power transfer. A T-Flip Flop, or toggle flip flop, circuit is a circuit that responds to a clock signal, in the claimed invention these T F/F outputs control the direction of power flow. Zhang functions the same way using the PWM signals to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′.
If Output (S) is High, it operates in the First Path (Buck Mode); if Output (S) is Low, it operates in the Second Path (Boost Mode).
This is the definition of a buck-boost converter, or a step-up/step-down converter. Zhang teaches a bi-directional converter which performs the same functions as a buck-boost converter, thereby making it a buck-boost converter.
PWM signals are generated and output from V_{cntrl1 } and V_{cntrl2}, which are the outputs of the Reversing Circuit (720).
Zhang ¶0025 states “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100” wherein PWM signals 208 and 209 as depicted in FIG 2 have one output at nodes 128 and 129 and a second output at nodes 130 and 131. The output nodes 128 and 129 and the nodes 130 and 131 measure the voltage across the flying capacitors 116 and 117.
Distinction from Jung and Li
Applicant argues that Jung “adopts a structure that adds physical power components, specifically a separate balancing capacitor (C_{bal}) and related switches (Q_{cbal\_h}, Q_{cbal\_1}), to the existing circuit.” Jung teaches a three-level buck converter circuit which has two output ports. This functions as the input and outputs of Jung mirror that of both Zhang and the claimed invention having an input voltage to a flyback capacitor three-level converter with two outputs voltages. As cited in the Non-Final Rejection dates 24 September 2025, Jung ¶0035 states “port 205 may be a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port for connecting to a wall adapter, whereas port 207 may be a wireless power port” which appears in dependent claims 2, 10, 15, and 16 of the claimed invention. The medication made in the non-final rejection applied the output ports of Jung to the outport terminals of Zhang.
In the Non-Final Reject Li was used as support for the converter as taught by Zhang to perform the functionality of selecting a power source.
Applicant argues against the prior art of record, Zhang modified by Jung and further in view of Kwak et al (US 20190372376 A1), for the rejections of claims 5-9 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant argues “Kwak’s multiplexer (FIG 7) is configured as a simple input selector to choose a power source”. As cited in the Non-Final Rejection dates 24 September 2025, the converter controller 200 as taught by Zhang has the functionality of the 'reversing circuit' as described above, and controls two distinct sets of switches (S1, S1' and S2, S2'). Kwak teaches a reversing circuit of one set of switches (741-1, 741-2, , 741-N), which as described in Kwak ¶0109 may be replaced with a multiplexer. Kwak further states in 10109 control circuit 743 may control the multiplexer so that one of the power source lines 720-1, 720-2,… 720-N is electrically connected to the charging circuit 750". Applying the concept of a controller in communication with a multiplexor to replace one set of switches, as taught by Kwak, to the converter controller 200 as taught by Zhang there would be two multiplexers which would replace the two sets of switches (S1, S1' and S2, S2'). It is the combination of Zhang modified by Jang and Kwak which performs the functionality of the claimed invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 20 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 12 contains the limitation “configure an initial operation mode to be the designated mode corresponding to the charging function with respect to an output of the balancing control circuit”, wherein the underlined portion does not distinctly claim the “initial operation mode”. Claim 12 is dependent upon claim 1 which has the limitation “based on at least one of the balancing state or a designated mode from among the buck mode and the boost mode”, establishing the designated mode to be either buck mode or boost mode. Claim 1 further establishes that both the buck mode and the boost mode correspond to a charging function with respect to an output of the balancing control circuit, as it is bi-directional, which insufficiently establishes the antecedent basis for “initial operation mode”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 20220311337 A1). Zhang has a priority date of 17 June 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an electronic device comprising: a battery; (FIG 1 battery side 106)
at least one processor; (¶0024 "Converter controller 200 may be implemented digitally using, for example, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, or field-programmable gate arrays, or in an analog form")
and a charging circuit, (¶0016 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary power supply system 101 that includes a multilevel converter 100.”, ¶0045 “FIG. 8 shows an exemplary flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, which is a different converter topology than that of converter 100 (shown in FIG. 1)”)
wherein the charging circuit comprises a three-level converter (¶0017 "multilevel converter 100 is a symmetric three-level boost converter", ¶0045 "FIG. 8 shows an exemplary flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, which is a different converter topology than that of converter 100 (shown in FIG. 1)")
and a balancing circuit, (¶0030 “first comparator 236 receives current output i 202, reference current i* 248, and a balancing reference current ib* 254 as inputs. Balancing reference current ib* 254 may be generated by balancing reference current generator 244.”)
wherein the three-level converter (FIG 1) has one end connected to at least one external device via a first electrical path, (¶0018 “[FIG 1] On battery side 102, converter 100 includes a battery string 106”, battery side 102 connects to battery string 106 which is onboard an electric vehicle which is an external device)
and a remaining end connected to the battery via a second electrical path, (¶0023 “[FIG 1] Bus side 104 of converter 100 may be electrically connected to DC power grid 111, PV system 113, and/or EV charger 133",bus side 104 is on the side of the circuit connected to the grid power source)
is configured to perform buck mode or a boost mode, (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
and comprises: a switching circuit including multiple switching elements (¶0045 "Switches S1, S1', S2, S2' may include, for example, MOSFETs 119, 120, 121, 122. Switches S1, S1', S2, S2' may also further include diode 124 that is a body diode of MOSFET 119, 120, 121, 122")
and a flying capacitor, (¶0045 "FIG. 8 shows an exemplary flying capacitor multilevel converter 800", ¶0044 "The system and methods disclosed herein can also be used on types of multilevel converters other than symmetrical boost converters, such as flying capacitor multilevel Page 4 converters, to balance the voltages between different segments", ¶0045 "FIG. 8 shows an exemplary flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, which is a different converter topology than that of converter 100 (shown in FIG. 1)")
and a filter circuit including an inductor and a capacitor, (¶0045 "Converter 800 may further include a plurality of capacitors 116, 117 and inductor 118")
and wherein the balancing circuit is configured to adjust a voltage of the flying capacitor, (¶0027 “Comparator 220 compares input signals and outputs the difference between those input signals. Specifically, comparator 220 receives reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 (=V.sub.bus1+V.sub.bus2) of converter 100 as inputs, compares them, and produces voltage error 203”, ¶0025 “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100”, ¶0046 "a voltage across first capacitor 116 is V.sub.bus1 and a voltage across second capacitor 117 is V.sub.bus2. Voltage V.sub.bus2 is transmitted to load 108... in flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, voltage V.sub.bus1 should be balanced with half of voltage V.sub.bus2")
and comprises: a balancing control circuit (balancing circuit of FIG 1 ¶0030 " first comparator 236 receives current output i 202, reference current i* 248, and a balancing reference current ib* 254 as inputs. Balancing reference current ib* 254 may be generated by balancing reference current generator 244. Balancing reference current generator 244 may interface with converter controller 200 by electrically connecting converter controller 200 to balancing reference current generator 244")
configured to identify a balancing state by comparing a reference voltage with the voltage of the flying capacitor, (¶0027 “Comparator 220 compares input signals and outputs the difference between those input signals. Specifically, comparator 220 receives reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 (=V.sub.bus1+V.sub.bus2) of converter 100 as inputs, compares them, and produces voltage error 203”, ¶0025 “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100”, ¶0046 "a voltage across first capacitor 116 is V.sub.bus1 and a voltage across second capacitor 117 is V.sub.bus2. Voltage V.sub.bus2 is transmitted to load 108... in flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, voltage V.sub.bus1 should be balanced with half of voltage V.sub.bus2")
based on at least one of the balancing state or a designated mode from among the buck mode and the boost mode, generate an output signal for controlling a switch control circuit, (¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100"),
and the switching control circuit configured to perform switching for the switching elements based on the generated output signal of the balancing control circuit. (¶0021 "segments 126, 127 should be balanced to avoid tripping of the circuit. The voltages V.sub.bus1 and V.sub.bus2 are balanced when the magnitude of the difference between V.sub.bus1 and V.sub.bus2 is less than a predetermined threshold").
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a charging circuit (¶0016 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary power supply system 101”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches an electronic device wherein the switching control circuit comprises a reversing circuit configured to reverse a control direction of the balancing circuit. (¶0024 "Converter controller 200 may be implemented digitally using, for example, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, or field-programmable gate arrays, or in an analog form").
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 4. Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein the reversing circuit comprises two multiplexers configured to control a control direction of the balancing circuit to be reversed. (voltage comparator 220 and current comparator 236, please see below for further explanation)
Multiplexers are logic circuits which act as multi-position switches, selecting 1 output from multiple inputs. Zhang ¶0027 describes “voltage loop 204 takes reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 of converter 100 as inputs, and generates reference current i* 248. Voltage loop 204 includes a comparator 220 and PI controller 222”, wherein voltage comparator 220 has multiple input voltages and produces one output voltage and performing the same functionality as a multiplexer. Further current comparator 236 is described in ¶0030 “first comparator 236 receives current output i 202, reference current i* 248, and a balancing reference current ib* 254 as inputs… first comparator 236 compares current output i 202 with the sum of reference current i* 248 and balancing reference current ib* 254, and outputs current error 205”, wherein the current comparator 236 receives multiple current inputs and has one current output thereby performing the same functionality as a multiplexer. Applicant specification ¶0162 describes the multiplexers as “the reversing circuit 720 may include two multiplexers (e.g., a first multiplexer Mux1 and a second multiplexer Mux2)”. Zhang FIG 2 depicts the converter controller 200, containing voltage comparator 220 and current comparator 236, which controls the direction of power flow for the bi-directional converter.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 5. Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit comprises a toggle circuit configured to control operations of the two multiplexers. (¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100")
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 6. Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to, when a designated condition is not satisfied by a control direction of the balancing circuit, (¶0023 "Converter 100 may be bidirectional such that it can transmit power from battery side 102 to bus side 104, and also from bus side 104 to battery side 102" )
change a control direction of the switching control circuit via the toggle circuit. (¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100")
Zhang ¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100 in the exemplary embodiment", teaches a reference signal controlling the direction of the balancing circuit, which would include controlling the direction if a condition or threshold is not satisfied.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 7. Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein the reversing circuit is further configured to: when an output of the toggle circuit is high (H), control the switching control circuit to select a balancing control direction of the flying capacitor in the buck mode; (¶0023 "Converter 100 may be bidirectional such that it can transmit power from battery side 102 to bus side 104, and also from bus side 104 to battery side 102");
and when an output of the toggle circuit is low (L), control the switching control circuit to select a balancing control direction of the flying capacitor in the boost mode. (¶0017 "the output voltage is higher than the input voltage").
Zhang further states in ¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”, resulting with the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 6. Zhang teaches an electronic device wherein, for the balancing control circuit, configuration of an initial operation mode related to an output of the toggle circuit is determined by the at least one processor, (converter controller 200, ¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100")
and wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to generate a corresponding control signal to forcibly switch the initial operation mode when voltage of the flying capacitor becomes greater or smaller than a half voltage of an input voltage by a reference voltage due to adjustment based on the initial operation mode. (¶0027 "voltage loop 204 takes reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 of converter 100 as inputs, and generates reference current i* 248")
Zhang ¶0025 teaches a reference voltage which is the difference between the output voltage and the desired output voltage, and ¶0027 takes that reference voltage to generate a reference current which functions as a signal for the balancing circuit.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches an electronic device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when the electronic device performs a charging function with at least one external device, (¶0018 “[FIG 1] On battery side 102, converter 100 includes a battery string 106”, battery side 102 connects to battery string 106 which is onboard an electric vehicle which is an external device)
configure an initial operation mode to be the designated mode corresponding to the charging function with respect to an output of the balancing control circuit. (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches an electronic device wherein the switching control circuit is further configured to selectively turn on at least some of the multiple switching elements (¶0030 “first comparator 236 receives current output i 202, reference current i* 248, and a balancing reference current ib* 254 as inputs. Balancing reference current ib* 254 may be generated by balancing reference current generator 244.”)
so as to control charging or discharging of the flying capacitor. (¶0025 “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100” wherein PWM signals 208 and 209 as depicted in FIG 2 have one output at nodes 128 and 129 and a second output at nodes 130 and 131.)
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches a method of operating an electronic device the method comprising: identifying a balancing state by comparing a reference voltage with the voltage of the flying capacitor; (¶0027 “Comparator 220 compares input signals and outputs the difference between those input signals. Specifically, comparator 220 receives reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 and voltage output 201 (=V.sub.bus1+V.sub.bus2) of converter 100 as inputs, compares them, and produces voltage error 203”, ¶0025 “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100”, ¶0046 "a voltage across first capacitor 116 is V.sub.bus1 and a voltage across second capacitor 117 is V.sub.bus2. Voltage V.sub.bus2 is transmitted to load 108... in flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, voltage V.sub.bus1 should be balanced with half of voltage V.sub.bus2")
generating, based on the balancing state and a designated mode from among the buck mode and the boost mode, an output signal for controlling the switch control circuit; (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
and performing switching for the switching elements, based on the generated output signal. (¶0025 “Converter controller 200 uses voltage error 203 and current error 205 to generate PWM signals 208, 209, which are then used to control switches S1, S1′, S2, S2′ of converter 100”)
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the method of claim 16. Zhang further teaches a method wherein the targeted balancing state is identified based on a voltage of the flying capacitor being maintained at a half voltage of an input voltage. (¶0046 "flying capacitor multilevel converter 800, voltage V.sub.bus1 should be balanced with half of voltage V.sub.bus2. To this end, similarly, V.sub.bus1, V.sub.bus2")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang modified by Jung et al (US 20230006555 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to control switching between the buck mode and the boost mode [in a wired and wireless complex operation condition] of the electronic device, (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
wherein the buck mode comprises a mode of decreasing an input voltage and outputting the decreased input voltage, (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
and wherein the boost mode comprises a mode of increasing an input voltage and outputting the increased input voltage. (¶0020 “When converter 100 functions as a step-up converter, it converts DC power at one voltage level from battery string 106, EV charger 134, and/or PV system 114 to a higher voltage level at the bus 110. When converter 100 functions as step-down converter, it converts DC power at bus 110 to a lower voltage level at battery side 102 to charge battery string 106 and/or EV charger 134”; wherein the step-down mode functions as the buck mode and the step-up mode functions as the boost mode)
Applicant specification ¶0084 "an initial operation mode configuration" indicates that the basic configuration is based on operation mode which is determined by which direction of power flow, a concept which is mirrored in Zhang ¶0028 "Polarity of a current as used herein is defined as the direction of current flow in an electrical circuit". In this case positive polarity can be interpreted as "boost mode" and negative polarity can be interpreted as "buck mode", as they both functionally relate to the direction of power flow. Zhang does not teach in a wired and wireless complex operation condition.
Jung teaches in a wired and wireless complex operation condition [of the electronic device]. (¶0035 "port 205 may be a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port for connecting to a wall adapter, whereas port 207 may be a wireless power port")
As described in ¶0013 Jung "FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram of an example power supply circuit with a three-level buck converter", having an output voltage VOUT as depicted therein. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Zhang which has two output channels (128,129 and 130,131 depicted in FIG 2) to output to one wired connected and one wireless connection. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have one wired output and one wireless output to improve user experience to maximize convenience, flexibility, and reliability.
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a charging circuit, Zhang teaches the charging circuit of claim 14.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang as modified by Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 2. Zhang as modified by Jung further teaches an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to: when the balancing state corresponds to a targeted balancing state, (Zhang ¶0025 "Voltage error 203 is the difference between voltage output 201 and a reference voltage V.sub.bus* 246 that is a desired output voltage for converter 100", Zhang ¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100")
generate a control signal for maintaining a first path configured for the designated mode, (Zhang ¶0022 "Converter controller 200 is a PWM-based converter controller that generates PWM signals for controlling switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 100 in the exemplary embodiment", Zhang ¶0046 "Converter controller 200 generates PWM signals based on those inputted signals as described above in conjunction with FIGS. 2 and 3. The PWM signals are then used to control switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 800 to balance voltage")
and when the balancing state does not correspond to the targeted balancing state, (Zhang ¶0030 "Balancing reference current generator 244 is a waveform generator that generates signals having predetermined amplitude, waveforms, and frequencies", Zhang ¶0037 Method 300 may further includes setting an amplitude of the balancing reference current to an amplitude greater than 1% of a rated current of the multilevel converter, adjusting the amplitude of the balancing reference current until the difference between the first and second voltages is within a predetermined threshold")
generate a control signal for switching the first path configured for the designated mode to a second path opposite to the first path, and wherein the control signal for switching to the second path is a reverse signal of the control signal for maintaining the first path. (Zhang ¶0046 "PWM signals are then used to control switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 800 to balance voltage V.sub.bus1 with half of voltage V.sub.bus2.")
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Zhang further teaches an electronic device wherein the charging circuit is further configured to, [in a wired and wireless complex operation condition of the electronic device,] regardless of the designated mode for voltage adjusting of the flying capacitor, automatically select a balancing control direction, based on the balancing state. (¶0046 "Converter controller 200 generates PWM signals based on those inputted signals as described above in conjunction with FIGS. 2 and 3. The PWM signals are then used to control switches S1, S1', S2, S2' of converter 800 to balance voltage V.sub.bus1 with half of voltage V.sub.bus2")
Zhang ¶0036 defines "a sign signal indicating a polarity of the current output of the multilevel converter", effectively indicating direction of power transfer across the multilevel converter. Later in ¶0046 "current output i flowing between battery side 802 and bus side 804, and sign signal Sign(i) 241 of converter 800 are inputted into converter controller 200", which as outlined above is input into the controller to generate the PWM signals. Thereby, through the converter controller 200, the PWM signal automatically adjusts itself as the output voltage changes and automatically selects a state of current balancing. Zhang does not teach in a wired and wireless complex operation condition of the electronic device.
Jung teaches in a wired and wireless complex operation condition of the electronic device. (¶0035 "port 205 may be a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port for connecting to a wall adapter, whereas port 207 may be a wireless power port")
As described in ¶0013 Jung "FIG. 3 is a circuit diagram of an example power supply circuit with a three-level buck converter", having an output voltage VOUT as depicted therein. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Zhang which has two output channels (128,129 and 130,131 depicted in FIG 2) to output to one wired connected and one wireless connection. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have one wired output and one wireless output to improve user experience to maximize convenience, flexibility, and reliability.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as modified by Jung and further in view of Shen et al (US 20170310105A1)
Regarding claim 11, Zhang as modified by Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 10. Zhang as modified by Jung does not teach an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to determine a state of a currently configured balancing control direction of the balancing circuit by using a range of the flying capacitor without sensing of an inductor current of the three-level converter.
Shen teaches an electronic device wherein the balancing control circuit is further configured to determine a state of a currently configured balancing control direction of the balancing circuit by using a range of the flying capacitor without sensing of an inductor current of the three-level converter. (¶0028 "current direction forecasting unit 12 is electrically connected with the voltage/current detecting unit 2 for acquiring the voltage value of any selected flying capacitor").
The electronic device as taught by Shen as described in ¶0062 "[forecasts] the direction of the inductor current I.sub.L is updated after every adjusting period T.sub.d corresponding to the flying capacitor C.sub.1 is ended... the step of forecasting the direction of the inductor current I.sub.L is updated according to the result of the multiplication/division on the voltage difference value V.sub.d in the adjusting period". This adjusting period window is described in ¶0063 "after voltage difference value of the flying capacitor is continuously accumulated, a considerable voltage difference value of the flying capacitor is generated. The considerable voltage difference value of the flying capacitor can increase the accuracy of measuring the positive and negative signs", meaning ¶0063 "as long as the error only appears in the beginning or seldom occurs and the influence of every single adjusting action on the voltage of the flying capacitor is very small, the voltage error of the flying capacitor is still acceptable".
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Zhang in view of Jung, to be configured to determine a state of a currently configured balancing control direction of the balancing circuit by using a range of the flying capacitor without sensing of an inductor current of the three-level converter, as taught by Shen, for the purpose of balancing voltage in order to prolong the life of a battery pack and reduce current ripple in power delivery.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the method of claim 16. Zhang does not teach a method further comprising: identifying the balancing state is performed without sensing an inductor current of the three-level converter.
Shen teaches a method further comprising: identifying the balancing state is performed without sensing an inductor current of the three-level converter. (¶0028 "current direction forecasting unit 12 is electrically connected with the voltage/current detecting unit 2 for acquiring the voltage value of any selected flying capacitor ").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Zhang, to adaptively balance of the flying capacitor without sensing an inductor current of a three-level converter, as taught by Shen, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of detecting the current direction will be enhanced and the possibility of misjudging the current direction due to the measurement error.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang modified by Kwak et al (US 20190372376 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the method of claim 16. Zhang does not teach a method further comprising: detecting the complex operation condition based on detecting a connection to a first external device while performing a wireless charging function with a second external device.
Kwak teaches a method further comprising: detecting the complex operation condition based on detecting a connection to a first external device while performing a wireless charging function with a second external device. (¶0075 "FIG 4 perform stable battery charging without a collision between external electronic devices connected to connectors 410 and 420 by electrically connecting only one of a plurality of connectors to a charging circuit when a plurality of external electronic devices")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Zhang to detect a first device while charging a second device, as taught by Kwak, for the purpose of improved charging efficiency and reducing installation costs by allowing one station to charge multiple vehicles or devices.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the method of claim 16. Zhang further teaches a method further comprising: detecting the complex operation condition based on detecting a connection to and performing a wireless charging function with a second external device during connection to a first external device. (¶0075 "FIG 4 perform stable battery charging without a collision between external electronic devices connected to connectors 410 and 420 by electrically connecting only one of a plurality of connectors to a charging circuit when a plurality of external electronic devices")
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Zhang et al (US 20190379287 A1) teaches a three-level DC-DC converter which balances the voltage across a flying capacitor.
Fu et al (US 20200373839 A1) teaches a multi-level boost converter containing a flying capacitor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859