DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 10/18/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandepudi et al. (US 2020/0334679 A1, hereinafter “Sandepudi”) in view of Cooley et al. (US 2022/0147008 A1, hereinafter “Cooley”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 9 and 17), Sandepudi discloses:
A method comprising:
establishing, by one or more servers, one or more rules for security of a network environment, each of the one or more rules identifying an entity, an attribute of the entity and a value of the attribute (establishing security rules including evaluation criterion and threshold values, Sandepudi: [0021], [0037], [0045]);
detecting, by the one or more servers detecting updated threshold values, Sandepudi: [0021], [0025], [0030], [0045]);
generating, by the one or more servers responsive to the detection, an updated one or more rules for security of the network environment based at least on the change (generating updated version of security rule based on updated threshold value, Sandepudi: [0030]);
applying, by the one or more servers, the updated one or more rules to previous network traffic to which the one or more rules were applied (comparing performance of updated version of security rule and existing security rule, Sandepudi: [0031]);
determining, by the one or more servers, that an effectiveness of the updated one or more rules is greater than effectiveness of the one or more rules (determining that performance of updated version of security rule exceeds performance of existing security rule, Sandepudi: [0031], [0032]);
providing, by the one or more servers responsive to the determination, a recommendation to use the updated one or more rules (sending suggested update to security rule based on performance of updated version of security rule, Sandepudi: [0032]).
Sandepudi does not explicitly disclose:
detecting, by the one or more servers responsive to monitoring the network environment, a change in one of the entity, the attribute or the value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cooley teaches:
detecting, by the one or more servers responsive to monitoring the network environment, a change in one of the entity, the attribute or the value (detecting state changes based on monitored network events, Cooley: [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sandepudi in view of Cooley in order to further modify the method of recommending updated security rule generated based on updated threshold values from the teachings of Sandepudi with the method of detecting value changes based on monitored network events from the teachings of Cooley.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have optimized operations (Cooley: [0108]).
Regarding claim 2, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising detecting, by the one or more servers, the change in one of the entity, the attribute or the value based on a comparison of an updated state of one of the entity, the attribute or the value and a prior state of the one of the entity, the attribute or the value (detecting updated threshold values in comparison to existing threshold values, Sandepudi: [0021], [0025], [0030], [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
monitoring, by one or more servers, a value graph corresponding to the network environment, the value graph comprising a representation of the network environment using the entity, the attribute and the value (monitoring network events via graph database, Cooley: [0054]); and
detecting the change in one of the entity, the attribute or the value in the value graph (detecting state changes based on monitored network events via graph database, Cooley: [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising generating, by the one or more servers, the updated one or more rules using at least one of the entity or the attribute of the one or more rules (generating updated version of security rule based on updated threshold value, Sandepudi: [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising generating, by the one or more servers, the updated one or more rules responsive to detecting that the change in one of the entity, the attribute or the value is greater than a threshold (generating updated version of security rule based on detecting updated threshold values, Sandepudi: [0021], [0025], [0030], [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising applying, by the one or more servers, the updated one or more rules to current network traffic (applying updated version of security rule for testing, Sandepudi: [0031], [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising determining, by the one or more servers, that a difference between the effectiveness of the updated one or more rules and the effectiveness of the one or more rules is greater than a threshold (determining that performance of updated version of security rule exceeds performance of existing security rule, Sandepudi: [0031], [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Sandepudi-Cooley teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sandepudi-Cooley further discloses:
further comprising providing, by the one or more servers, for display a comparison of the effectiveness of the updated one or more rules and the effectiveness of the one or more rules (displaying performance indication based on comparison of performance of updated version of security rule and existing security rule, Sandepudi: [0031], [0032]).
Regarding claims 10-16 and 18-20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-8. Therefore, claims 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Talati et al. (US 2022/0311804 A1: System and Method for Providing and Managing Security Rules and Policies), Pieczul et al. (US 2022/0278900 A1: Techniques for Verifying Network Policies in Container Frameworks), Yancey (US 2021/0211473 A1: Dynamic Security Policy Management), Williams et al. (US 2005/0257267 A1: Network Audit and Policy Assurance System), and Kinder et al. (US 2017/0201548 A1: Systems and Methods for Security Configuration).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446