DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 13, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 21, 24, 26, 29, 31, 34, 36, and 39 have been amended.
Claims 21, 24, 26, 29-31, 34, 36, 39-40 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed on May 13, 2026 regarding claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 have been fully considered but the arguments are essentially directed towards the newly introduced limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 24, 26, 29-31, 34, 36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In particular, claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 are amended to recite, “the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2, or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group” (annotation added).
Applicant is reminded that when amending claims or adding new claims, applicant must show support in the originally filed disclosure. See MPEP 2163(II)(A).
Review of the specification show that SIB3 includes a neighboring cell information/parameter (para. [0125] of the Application Publication) and SIB5 includes information/parameter such as frequency, reselection priority configuration (see para. [0127] of the Application Publication). Therefore, there is no support for the above noted amendment.
Claims 24, 29-30, 34, and 39-40 are rejected for the dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 26, 29-31, 34, 36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0349143) and further in view of Shih et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0037553).
Regarding Claim 21, Lin et al. teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Lin et al. teaches a method for slice-based cell reselection, a user equipment, an electronic device, and a computer-readable storage medium (para. [0002]; FIG. 3)), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038][0060]; FIG. 3)), determining a reselection priority for the frequency (Lin et al. teaches that the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3)), wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Lin et al. teaches that the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); determining a slice priority weighted value that supports the network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access according to a network slice priority of each network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access, obtaining a slice priority accumulated weighted value according to the slice priority weighted value, and selecting a frequency with a highest slice priority accumulated weighted value as the first candidate frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0045])); identifying whether a cell in the frequency fulfils a cell reselection criterion based on the determined reselection priority for the frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for camping on the first priority frequency for slice-based reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); a suitable cell on the high priority frequency is identified according to a cell reselection criterion (para. [0097])); in case that the cell in the frequency fulfils the cell reselection criterion, identifying whether the cell supports the network slice group based on the slice information (Lin et al. teaches reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])[Examiner’s Note: determining a cell to be suitable cell indicates that the cell supports the network slice group]); and in case that the cell supports the network slice group, performing a cell reselection to the identified cell (Lin et al. teaches reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])), and wherein in case that the cell list corresponding to the network slice is not configured in the slice information, the cell is identified to support the network slice group (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038]); UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for amping on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); UE selects a suitable cell for camping on the high priority frequency according to a cell reselection rule, e.g., selects a cell where the signal quality satisfies a requirement for camping (para. [0097][0098]; FIG. 4)).
Although teaching that the UE determines a frequency priority as noted above, Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency, wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group; wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group. Shih et al. teaches such limitations.
Shih et al. is directed to user equipment and method for cell reselection. More specifically, Shih et al. teaches receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0128]); the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency or inter-frequency cell reselection supports the same set of slices (para. [0056]), indicating that the slice is related to frequency), wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0107][0128])); wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])), wherein, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076]); UE receives a list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells to perform the intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) measurement from the serving/camped cell via slice-related system information block (para. [0107][0115]); the system information includes a white list that includes a list of cell IDs supporting all the S-NSSAI in the receiving UE’s intended NSSAI (para. [0115]); system information includes a list of prohibited intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells for the UE to not perform the measurement (para. [0115]); the prohibited list includes a list of cell IDs, and the cells identified do not support the UEs intended slices (para. [0106])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin et al. so that the in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 24, the combined teachings of Lin et al. and Shih et al. teach The method of claim 21, and further, the references teach wherein: the SIB includes cell reselection priority information for the network slice group (Lin et al. teaches that network slice information includes an identifier of a network slice (group) that the UE is allowed to access and a corresponding network slice priority for cell reselection (para. [0039])); wherein the network slice group is associated with at least one single - network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)(Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076])), and wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on the priority information of the network slice group received from the NAS layer and the cell reselection priority information for the network slice group (Lin et al. teaches that the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); slice-based cell reselection information includes an identifier of a network slice or a slice group supported on different frequencies and a corresponding slice-based cell reselection frequency priority (para. [0174]); Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin et al. so that the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on the priority information of the network slice group received from the NAS layer and the cell reselection priority information for the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 26, Lin et al. teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (Lin et al. teaches a method for slice-based cell reselection, a user equipment, an electronic device, and a computer-readable storage medium (para. [0002]; FIG. 3)), the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038][0060]; FIG. 3)), wherein in case that a cell in the frequency fulfils a cell reselection criterion based on a reselection priority for the frequency and supports the network slice group based on the slice information, the cell is reselected (Lin et al. teaches that UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for camping on the first priority frequency for slice-based reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); a suitable cell on the high priority frequency is identified according to a cell reselection criterion (para. [0097]); reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])[Examiner’s Note: determining a cell to be suitable cell indicates that the cell supports the network slice group]), wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Lin et al. teaches the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); determining a slice priority weighted value that supports the network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access according to a network slice priority of each network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access, obtaining a slice priority accumulated weighted value according to the slice priority weighted value, and selecting a frequency with a highest slice priority accumulated weighted value as the first candidate frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0045])), and wherein cell is identified to support the network slice group, in case that the cell list corresponding to the network slice group is not configured in the slice information (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038]); UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for amping on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); UE selects a suitable cell for camping on the high priority frequency according to a cell reselection rule, e.g., selects a cell where the signal quality satisfies a requirement for camping (para. [0097][0098]; FIG. 4)).
Although teaching that the UE determines a frequency priority as noted above, Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency, wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group; wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein the cell is identified to support the network slice group, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group. Shih et al. teaches such limitations.
Shih et al. is directed to user equipment and method for cell reselection. More specifically, Shih et al. teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0128]); the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency or inter-frequency cell reselection supports the same set of slices (para. [0056]), indicating that the slice is related to frequency), wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0107][0128])); wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])), wherein the cell is identified to support the network slice group, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076]); UE receives a list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells to perform the intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) measurement from the serving/camped cell via slice-related system information block (para. [0107][0115]); the system information includes a white list that includes a list of cell IDs supporting all the S-NSSAI in the receiving UE’s intended NSSAI (para. [0115]); system information includes a list of prohibited intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells for the UE to not perform the measurement (para. [0115]); the prohibited list includes a list of cell IDs, and the cells identified do not support the UEs intended slices (para. [0106])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin et al. so that the in a case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 29, the combined teachings of Lin et al. and Shih et al. teach The method of claim 26, and further, the references teach wherein the SIB includes cell reselection priority information for the network slice group (Lin et al. teaches that network slice information includes an identifier of a network slice (group) that the UE is allowed to access and a corresponding network slice priority for cell reselection (para. [0039])), and wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on the priority information of the network slice group received from the NAS layer and cell reselection priority information for the slice group (Lin et al. teaches that the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); slice-based cell reselection information includes an identifier of a network slice or a slice group supported on different frequencies and a corresponding slice-based cell reselection frequency priority (para. [0174]); Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin et al. so that the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on the priority information of the network slice group received from the NAS layer and the cell reselection priority information for the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 30, the combined teachings of Lin et al. and Shih et al. teach The method of claim 26, and further, the references teach wherein the network slice group is associated with at least one single - network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)(Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin et al. so that the network slice group is associated with at least one single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 31, Lin et al. teaches A user equipment (UE) (electronic device (FIG. 6)) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (communication interface (FIG. 6)); and a controller (processor (FIG. 6)) coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038][0060]; FIG. 3)), identify whether a cell in the frequency fulfils a cell reselection criterion based on a reselection priority for the frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for camping on the first priority frequency for slice-based reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); a suitable cell on the high priority frequency is identified according to a cell reselection criterion (para. [0097])), wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Lin et al. teaches the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); determining a slice priority weighted value that supports the network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access according to a network slice priority of each network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access, obtaining a slice priority accumulated weighted value according to the slice priority weighted value, and selecting a frequency with a highest slice priority accumulated weighted value as the first candidate frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0045])); in case that the cell in the frequency fulfils the cell reselection criterion, identify whether the cell supports the network slice group based on the slice information (Lin et al. teaches reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])[Examiner’s Note: determining a cell to be suitable cell indicates that the cell supports the network slice group]); and in case that the cell supports the network slice group, perform a cell reselection to the identified cell (Lin et al. teaches reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])), and wherein in case that the cell list corresponding to the network slice group is not configured in the slice information, the cell is identified to support the network slice group (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038]); UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for amping on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); UE selects a suitable cell for camping on the high priority frequency according to a cell reselection rule, e.g., selects a cell where the signal quality satisfies a requirement for camping (para. [0097][0098]; FIG. 4)).
Although teaching that the UE determines a frequency priority as noted above, Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency, wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group; wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell identified to support the network slice group. Shih et al. teaches such limitations.
Shih et al. is directed to user equipment and method for cell reselection. More specifically, Shih et al. teaches receive, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0128]); the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency or inter-frequency cell reselection supports the same set of slices (para. [0056]), indicating that the slice is related to frequency), wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0107][0128])); wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])), wherein, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell identified to support the network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076]); UE receives a list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells to perform the intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) measurement from the serving/camped cell via slice-related system information block (para. [0107][0115]); the system information includes a white list that includes a list of cell IDs supporting all the S-NSSAI in the receiving UE’s intended NSSAI (para. [0115]); system information includes a list of prohibited intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells for the UE to not perform the measurement (para. [0115]); the prohibited list includes a list of cell IDs, and the cells identified do not support the UEs intended slices (para. [0106])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UE of Lin et al. so that the in a case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claim 34, Claim 34 is directed to an apparatus claims and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 24. Therefore, claim 34 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 24.
Regarding Claim 36, Lin et al. teaches A base station in a wireless communication system (Lin et al. teaches a base station (para. [0191]; FIG. 6))), the base station comprising: a transceiver (communication interface (FIG. 6)); and a controller (processor (FIG. 6)) coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Lin et al. teaches that UE obtains network slice information and slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0038][0060]; FIG. 3)), wherein in case that a cell in the frequency fulfils a cell reselection criterion based on a reselection priority for the frequency and supports the network slice group based on the slice information, the cell is reselected (Lin et al. teaches that UE performs cell reselection on the first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection, and identifies a suitable cell for camping on the first priority frequency for slice-based reselection (para. [0050]; FIG. 3); a suitable cell on the high priority frequency is identified according to a cell reselection criterion (para. [0097]); reselecting a suitable cell on a high priority frequency that supports the currently triggered service slice (para. [0102])[Examiner’s Note: determining a cell to be suitable cell indicates that the cell supports the network slice group]), wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Lin et al. teaches the UE derives a first priority frequency for slice-based cell reselection according to the network slice information and the slice-based cell reselection information (para. [0042]; FIG. 3); determining a slice priority weighted value that supports the network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access according to a network slice priority of each network slice (group) that UE is allowed to access, obtaining a slice priority accumulated weighted value according to the slice priority weighted value, and selecting a frequency with a highest slice priority accumulated weighted value as the first candidate frequency for slice-based cell reselection (para. [0045])).
Although teaching that the UE determines a frequency priority as noted above, Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency, wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group; wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein the cell is identified to support the network slice group, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group. Shih et al. teaches such limitations.
Shih et al. is directed to user equipment and method for cell reselection. More specifically, Shih et al. teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) including slice information for a frequency (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0128]); the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency or inter-frequency cell reselection supports the same set of slices (para. [0056]), indicating that the slice is related to frequency), wherein the SIB is different from an SIB1, an SIB2 or an SIB4 and the slice information includes information indicating network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that a cell broadcasts information of its supported slice(s) in system information such as slice-specific SIB (para. [0107][0128])); wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is determined based on priority information of the network slice group received from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Shih et al. teaches that UE’s intended slices are prioritized and that the priority of the UE’s intended slices are determined by the network via NAS signaling (para. [0082])), wherein the cell is identified to support the network slice group, in case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group (Shih et al. teaches that NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAI (para. [0076]); UE receives a list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells to perform the intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) measurement from the serving/camped cell via slice-related system information block (para. [0107][0115]); the system information includes a white list that includes a list of cell IDs supporting all the S-NSSAI in the receiving UE’s intended NSSAI (para. [0115]); system information includes a list of prohibited intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells for the UE to not perform the measurement (para. [0115]); the prohibited list includes a list of cell IDs, and the cells identified do not support the UEs intended slices (para. [0106])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station of Lin et al. so that the in a case that a cell list corresponding to the network slice group is provided in the slice information and the cell is listed in a first cell list supporting the network slice group or is not listed in a second cell list that does not support the network slice group, the cell is identified to support the network slice group, as taught by Shih et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to determine a suitable cell within the cell set provided by the NW in an energy efficient and low-latency manner (see Shih et al., para. [0025][0116]).
Regarding Claims 39-40, Claims 39-40 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 29-30. Therefore, claims 39-40 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 29-30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishii (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0389011), which is directed to grouping of network slices for system information; and teaches that network slice group indices are carrier in dedicated signaling, e.g., in system information, and each of the one or more group indices are associated with a carrier frequency list, e.g., a prioritized carrier frequency list, to be used for a cell reselection procedure (para. [0567]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417