Claims 1-38 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,10, 12-18, 24, 26-30, 31-33 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Park et al, US 20210212099 A1, in view of Loehr et al, US 20190349983 A1, and in further view of Cirik et al, US 20200314889 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0048] The term wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), and/or wireless communication device.), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to ([0212] The reception processing system 1512, and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums):
Park does not disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions; receive a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both;
However, Loehr does disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions ([0035] [0039] In BWP operation, a UE may be configured with one or multiple DL BWPs used for DL reception, and one or multiple UL BWPs used for UL transmission. Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
receive a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0039] Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions; receive a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Loehr. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce UE energy consumption by means of bandwidth adaptation; frequency division multiplexing ("FDM") of different numerologies; and noncontiguous spectrum. (Loehr, [0034]).
Park and Loehr does disclose receive, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and transmit, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier.
However, Cirik does disclose receive, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier([0571] The wireless device may receive a DCI indicating activation/release of a first configured grant configuration in the plurality of configured grant configurations. In an example, the DCI may indicate activation/release of the first configured grant configuration in the first bandwidth part of the cell.),
and transmit, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier([0244] [0247] When present, a frequency domain density may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. In an example, a gNB and a wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. In an example, different component carriers may have different bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing, if CA is supported. In an example, a gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Different type of services may have different service requirement (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carrier having different subcarrier spacing and/or bandwidth. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Loehr with a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions; receive a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device. . (Cirik, [0315]).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises an uplink configured grant configuration, a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, or both ([0263] Configured grant resources (and/or the semi-persistent scheduling resources) are configured to use the second TCI state.).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the control message further comprises an index that identifies each bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts or each component carrier of the multiple component carriers to which the at least one transmission configuration applies ([0127] [0244] The one or more first fields may comprise at least one of: a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the second cell; a second BWP index indicating a second BWP of the second cell. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs.).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to ([0127] A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim.):
transmit the one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, based at least in part on the activation ([0116] [0127] Scheduling in NR may be decoupled from the slot duration and start at any OFDM symbol and last for as many symbols as needed for a transmission. These partial slot transmissions may be referred to as mini-slot or subslot transmissions. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, using a first configuration of the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, for a defined time period after receipt of the switch command, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to ([0120] [0219] [0279] The wireless device may switch from the first cell to the non-serving cell (e.g., activate the second TCI state associated with the second cell; and/or deactivate the first TCI state associated with the first cell. The duration of a timer may not be updated until the timer is stopped or expires (e.g., due to BWP switching). A timer may be used to measure a time period/window for a process. These one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. When a serving cell is configured with a secondary uplink carrier, the serving cell may have one or more first active BWPs in the uplink carrier and one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier.):
communicate, via the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, a scheduled transmission of the one or more scheduled transmissions using a second configuration of the at least one transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, after the defined time period ([0120] [0225] In an implementation of existing Page 6 technologies, based on expiration of a time duration (e.g., T310) after out-of-syncs from the serving cell, the wireless device may determine a radio link failure from the serving cell while communicating via the non-serving cell that is associated with the serving cell. These one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. When a serving cell is configured with a secondary uplink carrier with one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration is indicative of a linkage between the multiple bandwidth parts, the multiple component carriers, or both ([0123] For an uplink BWP in a set of configured uplink BWPs, a BS may configure a UE with one or more resource sets for one or more PUCCH transmissions. Component carriers are optional as stated in the claim).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises one or more time domain allocation parameters, one or more frequency domain allocation parameters, one or more modulation and coding scheme parameters, one or more periodicity parameters, or any combination thereof ([0297] The first configuration parameters and/or the second configuration parameters) may comprise periodic resource configuration parameters indicating that configured grant resources (and/or the semi-persistent scheduling resources) are configured to use a second TCI state.).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the apparatus further comprises one or more antennas, wherein the one or more antennas and the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to ([0059] The gNBs 160 and ng-eNBs 162 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the UEs 156 over an air interface.):
receive the control message, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message ([0102] The RRCs 216 and 226 may provide control plane functionality between the UE 210 and the gNB 220 via signaling messages, referred to as RRC messages.).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity ([0048] The term wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), and/or wireless communication device.), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity to ([0212] The reception processing system 1512, and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums):
Park does not disclose output, a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE); output a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both;
However, Loehr does disclose output, a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE) ([0035] [0039] In BWP operation, a UE may be configured with one or multiple DL BWPs used for DL reception, and one or multiple UL BWPs used for UL transmission. Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
output a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0039] Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with output, a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE); output a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Loehr. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce UE energy consumption by means of bandwidth adaptation; frequency division multiplexing ("FDM") of different numerologies; and noncontiguous spectrum. (Loehr, [0034]).
Park and Loehr do not disclose via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier,
and obtain, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier.
However, Cirik does disclose via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier ([0571] The wireless device may receive a DCI indicating activation/release of a first configured grant configuration in the plurality of configured grant configurations. In an example, the DCI may indicate activation/release of the first configured grant configuration in the first bandwidth part of the cell.),
and obtain, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier ([0244] [0247] When present, a frequency domain density may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. In an example, a gNB and a wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. In an example, different component carriers may have different bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing, if CA is supported. In an example, a gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Different type of services may have different service requirement (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carrier having different subcarrier spacing and/or bandwidth. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Loehr with via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and obtain, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device. . (Cirik, [0315]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises an uplink configured grant configuration, a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, or both([0263] Configured grant resources (and/or the semi-persistent scheduling resources) are configured to use the second TCI state.).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the control message further comprises an index that identifies each bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts or each component carrier of the multiple component carriers to which the at least one transmission configuration applies(([0127] [0244] The one or more first fields may comprise at least one of: a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the second cell; a second BWP index indicating a second BWP of the second cell. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. The second configuration parameters of the second cell may comprise one or more first fields indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the second cell.).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to([0127] A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim.):
obtain the one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, based at least in part on the activation([0116] [0127] Scheduling in NR may be decoupled from the slot duration and start at any OFDM symbol and last for as many symbols as needed for a transmission. These partial slot transmissions may be referred to as mini-slot or subslot transmissions. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim).
Regarding claim 24, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, using a first configuration of the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, for a defined time period after output of the switch command, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to([0120] [0279] The wireless device may switch from the first cell to the non-serving cell (e.g., activate the second TCI state associated with the second cell; and/or deactivate the first TCI state associated with the first cell. These one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. When a serving cell is configured with a secondary uplink carrier, the serving cell may have one or more first active BWPs in the uplink carrier and one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier.):
communicate, via the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, a scheduled transmission of the one or more scheduled transmissions using a second configuration of the at least one transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, after the defined time period([0120] [0225] In an implementation of existing technologies, based on expiration of a time duration (e.g., T310) after out-ofsyncs from the serving cell, the wireless device may determine a radio link failure from the serving cell while communicating via the non-serving cell that is associated with the serving cell. These one or more BWPs may be referred to as active BWPs of the serving cell. When a serving cell is configured with a secondary uplink carrier with one or more second active BWPs in the secondary uplink carrier.).
Regarding claim 26, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration is indicative of a linkage between the multiple bandwidth parts, the multiple component carriers, or both([0123] For an uplink BWP in a set of configured uplink BWPs, a BS may configure a UE with one or more resource sets for one or more PUCCH transmissions. Component carriers are optional as stated in the claim).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises one or more time domain allocation parameters, one or more frequency domain allocation parameters, one or more modulation and coding scheme parameters, one or more periodicity parameters, or any combination thereof ([0297] The first configuration parameters and/or the second configuration parameters) may comprise periodic resource configuration parameters indicating that configured grant resources (and/or the semi-persistent scheduling resources) are configured to use a second TCI state.).
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses the apparatus further comprising:one or more antennas, wherein the one or more antennas and the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to ([0059] The gNBs 160 and ng-eNBs 162 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the UEs 156 over an air interface.):
output the control message, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message ([0102] The RRCs 216 and 226 may provide control plane functionality between the UE 210 and the gNB 220 via signaling messages, referred to as RRC messages.).
Regarding claim 29, Park discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0048] The term wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), and/or wireless communication device.), comprising:
Park does not disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions; receiving a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both;
However, Loehr does disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions ([0035] [0039] In BWP operation, a UE may be configured with one or multiple DL BWPs used for DL reception, and one or multiple UL BWPs used for UL transmission. Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
receiving a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0039] Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration to apply to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or to apply to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions; receiving a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Loehr. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce UE energy consumption by means of bandwidth adaptation; frequency division multiplexing ("FDM") of different numerologies; and noncontiguous spectrum. (Loehr, [0034])
Park and Loehr do not disclose receiving, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and transmitting, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier.
However, Cirik does disclose receiving, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier ([0571] The wireless device may receive a DCI indicating activation/release of a first configured grant configuration in the plurality of configured grant configurations. In an example, the DCI may indicate activation/release of the first configured grant configuration in the first bandwidth part of the cell.),
and transmitting, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier ([0244] [0247] When present, a frequency domain density may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. In an example, a gNB and a wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. In an example, different component carriers may have different bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing, if CA is supported. In an example, a gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Different type of services may have different service requirement (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carrier having different subcarrier spacing and/or bandwidth. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Loehr with receiving, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and transmitting, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device. . (Cirik, [0315]).
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity ([0048] The term wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), and/or wireless communication device.), comprising:
Park does not disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE); outputting a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both;
However, Loehr does disclose a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE) ([0035] [0039] In BWP operation, a UE may be configured with one or multiple DL BWPs used for DL reception, and one or multiple UL BWPs used for UL transmission. Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
outputting a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both([0039] Switching between configured BWPs happens by means of a DCI, i.e. PDCCH indicating to switch to another Bandwidth part, or inactivity timer. Component carrier switching is optional as recited in the claim.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with a control message that indicates an activation of at least one transmission configuration applicable to multiple bandwidth parts for bandwidth part switching between the multiple bandwidth parts, or applicable to multiple component carriers for component carrier switching between the multiple component carriers, or both, the at least one transmission configuration associated with a plurality of scheduled transmissions at a user equipment (UE); outputting a switch command to switch from the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts to a second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, or from the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers to a second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Loehr. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce UE energy consumption by means of bandwidth adaptation; frequency division multiplexing ("FDM") of different numerologies; and non-contiguous spectrum. (Loehr, [0034]).
Park and Loehr do not disclose outputting, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and obtaining, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier.
However, Cirik does disclose outputting, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier ([0571] The wireless device may receive a DCI indicating activation/release of a first configured grant configuration in the plurality of configured grant configurations. In an example, the DCI may indicate activation/release of the first configured grant configuration in the first bandwidth part of the cell.),
and obtaining, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier ([0244] [0247] When present, a frequency domain density may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. In an example, a gNB and a wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. In an example, different component carriers may have different bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing, if CA is supported. In an example, a gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Different type of services may have different service requirement (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability), which may be suitable for transmission via different component carrier having different subcarrier spacing and/or bandwidth. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Loehr with outputting, via one of a first bandwidth part or a first component carrier, and obtaining, via one of the second bandwidth part or the second component carrier, one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in accordance with the activation of the at least one transmission configuration in one of the first bandwidth part or the first component carrier as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device. . (Cirik, [0315]).
Regarding claim 31 and 35, Park discloses the method wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises an uplink configured grant configuration, a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, or both([0263] configured grant resources (and/or the semi-persistent scheduling resources) are configured to use the second TCI state.).
Regarding claim 32 and 36, Park discloses the method wherein the control message further comprises an index that identifies each bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts or each component carrier of the multiple component carriers to which the at least one transmission configuration applies([0127] [0244] The one or more first fields may comprise at least one of: a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the second cell; a second BWP index indicating a second BWP of the second cell. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs.).
Regarding claim 33 and 37, Park discloses the method wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, and wherein the method further comprises([0127] A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim.):
transmitting the one or more scheduled transmissions of the plurality of scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, in the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, based at least in part on the activation([0116] [0127] Scheduling in NR may be decoupled from the slot duration and start at any OFDM symbol and last for as many symbols as needed for a transmission. These partial slot transmissions may be referred to as mini-slot or subslot transmissions. A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with one or more BWPs. A UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI. Second component carrier is optional as recited in the claim).
Claims 5-9,19-23, 34, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Park et al, US 20210212099 A1, in view of Loehr et al, US 20190349983 A1, in view of Cirik et al, US 20200314889 A1, and in further view of Guan et al, US 20220173848 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003])
Regarding claim 6, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.), a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts ([0124] One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high frequency communications system (Guan, [0003])
Regarding claim 7, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.),
a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0443] The terminal device updates a mapping relationship, of the one or more second CCs, between a TCI-state identifier TCI-state ID and a TCI field value that is in DCI and a mapping relationship.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidthpart of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidthpart of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidthpart of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed highfrequency communications system (Guan, [0003])..
Regarding claim 9, Park does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, until reception of a deactivation command or a release command, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0279] The wireless device may switch from the first cell to the non-serving cell (e.g., activate the second TCI state associated with the second cell; and/or deactivate the first TCI state associated with the first cell.):
Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose receive the release command, the deactivation command, or both, that indicates a release or deactivation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both; and deactivate at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in accordance with the release command, the deactivation command, or both.
However, Guan does disclose receive the release command, the deactivation command, or both, that indicates a release or deactivation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0092] That the first signaling can be used to activate the N TCI states of the first CC and the second CC may also be understood as that original TCI states of the second CC and the first CC are deactivated based on the first signaling.);
and deactivate at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in accordance with the release command, the deactivation command, or both ([0079] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs of a plurality of CCs may be activated or deactivated by using one piece of MAC-CE signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with receive the release command, the deactivation command, or both, that indicates a release or deactivation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both; and deactivate at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in accordance with the release command, the deactivation command, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiplebandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiplebandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0079] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs of a plurality of CCs may be activated or deactivated by using one piece of MAC-CE signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a single transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003])..
Regarding claim 20, Park does disclose and further indicates a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts ([0124] One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions.).
Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts,
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration to apply for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 21, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0079] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs of a plurality of CCs may be activated or deactivated by using one piece of MAC-CE signaling.),
and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0443] The terminal device updates a mapping relationship, of the one or more second CCs, between a TCI-state identifier TCI-state ID and a TCI field value that is in DCI and a mapping relationship.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0079] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs of a plurality of CCs may be activated or deactivated by using one piece of MACCE signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a first transmission configuration for the first bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts and a second transmission configuration for the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, a first transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Park does disclose output the release command, the deactivation command, or both ([0261] A deactivation indication of the first TCI state, the first SRI, a deactivation indication indicating stopping using the first SRS resource indicated by the first SRI for pre-coder or spatial filter to communicate with the base station.),
Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, until reception of a deactivation command or a release command, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to: that indicates a release or deactivation of at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the secondbandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both.
However, Guan does disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, until reception of a deactivation command or a release command, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to ([0092] That the first signaling can be used to activate the N TCI states of the first CC and the second CC may also be understood as that original TCI states of the second CC and the first CC are deactivated based on the first signaling.):
that indicates a release or deactivation of at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the secondbandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both ([0092] That the first signaling can be used to activate the N TCI states of the first CC and the second CC may also be understood as that original TCI states of the second CC and the first CC are deactivated based on the first signaling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the at least one transmission configuration indicates an activation of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both, until reception of a deactivation command or a release command, and wherein the apparatus is one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to: that indicates a release or deactivation of at least one of the one or more scheduled transmissions in the second bandwidth part of the multiple bandwidth parts, the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, or both as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high-frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 34 and 38, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the method wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers.
However, Guan does disclose the method wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0079] [0245] It may be understood that TCI states of a plurality of CCs or BWPs. In TCI-states configured for different cells (cell) and different BWPs.),
and a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers ([0124] One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the method wherein the at least one transmission configuration comprises a common transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers and the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers, a first dedicated transmission configuration for the first component carrier of the multiple component carriers, and a second dedicated transmission configuration for the second component carrier of the multiple component carriers as taught by Guan. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce beam management overheads, in an actually deployed high frequency communications system (Guan, [0003]).
Claim 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Park et al, US 20210212099 A1, in view of Loehr et al, US 20190349983 A1, in view of Cirik et al, US 20200314889 A1, and in further view of Takeda et al, US 20230180220 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers being one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain.
However, Takeda does disclose the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers being one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain ([0228] In some cases, the second CC is configured as a frequency division duplexing carrier. First CC of the set of CCs at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink channel on the second CC of the set of CCs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers being one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain as taught by Takeda. The motivation for doing so would be to support retransmissions at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency. (Takeda, [0115]).
Regarding claim 25, Park, Loehr, and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers comprise one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain.
However, Takeda does disclose the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers comprise one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain ([0228] In some cases, the second CC is configured as a frequency division duplexing carrier. First CC of the set of CCs at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink channel on the second CC of the set of CCs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, Loehr, and Cirik with the apparatus wherein the multiple component carriers comprise one or more component carriers that at least partially overlap in a frequency domain or are non-overlapping in the frequency domain as taught by Takeda. The motivation for doing so would be to support retransmissions at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency. (Takeda, [0115]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419