DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Amendments filed 2/6/2026 have been entered, wherein claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 9-13 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species. Accordingly, claims 1-8 and 14 have been examined herein.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13, “and the portion facing the front direction is exposed” should read “and the portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed” to provide increased clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US Patent 2411488) in view of Eriksson (US PGPUB 20090229075), and further in view of Grey et al. (US PGPUB 20190029482), hereinafter Grey, and further in view of Carter et al. (US PGPUB 20170127896), hereinafter Carter.
Regarding claim 1, White teaches a vacuum cleaner (fig. 1) comprising:
a cleaner main body (fig. 1, motor casing 6 and fan chamber 3 are being interpreted as the cleaner main body) configured to generate suction force (col. 2, lines 16-20); and
a suctioner (fig. 1, the suction head is interpreted as the suctioner) having a suction inlet to suck dust by the suction force (see White’s annotated fig. 1 below), a brush drum provided at the suction inlet to sweep dust on a floor (see White’s annotated fig. 1 below. The brush drum is capable of sweeping dust on a floor) and a housing (fig. 1, structure indicated by element 1) to surround a side of the brush drum opposite to the floor (fig. 1, the indicate structure surrounds a top side of the brush drum which is opposite to the floor),
wherein the housing is configured to include a front end formed to extend from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum (see annotated fig. 1 below. The front end extends from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum)
so that the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum (see annotated fig. 1 above, wherein the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum) and a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed (see annotated fig. 1 above. The claim language does not specify what the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed to or with respect to. Therefore, the portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed to the chamber space as shown in fig. 1),
wherein the front end of the housing is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor (fig. 1, the front end of the housing is capable of being in contact with a wall surface forming a corner with the floor),
wherein the brush drum comprises:
a drum main body (fig. 2, body 16) rotatable along an axial direction of the brush drum (col. 2, lines 33-35),
a plurality of convex portions (surfaces 28 of each of the brush elements 25) formed to project from an outer circumferential surface of the drum main body along a radius direction of the brush drum (fig. 2 and 5, the surfaces 28 project from an outer circumferential surface of the body 16 along a radius direction of the brush drum) and spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum (fig. 2), and
a cleaning member (fig. 2, both sets of bristles 26 are together interpreted as the cleaning member),
and a plurality of beater elements 20.
White does not explicitly teach
wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface and the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface, and
the cleaning member surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions along a rotation direction of the drum main body.
However, Eriksson teaches an agitator with cleaning features, wherein the agitator includes a drum main body 104 (fig. 1), wherein the drum main body includes two spirally extending beater elements (fig. 1, elements 112) and two spirally extending bristle elements 106, wherein the two spirally extending beater elements and the two spirally extending bristle elements extend along the entire axial length of the drum main body (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified White to incorporate the teachings of Eriksson to provide wherein the drum main body of White includes two spirally extending bristle elements and two spirally extending beater elements, wherein the two spirally extending beater elements and the two spirally extending bristle elements extend along the entire axial length of the drum main body. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the configuration of White’s bristle elements and beater elements to include wherein two of White’s bristle elements extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White and wherein two of White’s beater elements extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body (as taught by Eriksson’s fig. 1). Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known bristle and beater configuration (of Eriksson) for another known bristle and beater configuration (of White) to obtain the predictable results of providing agitators on the rotating drum main body. Additionally, providing an increased number and increased length of bristles and beaters would promote increased agitation of the working surface, thereby promoting increased cleanliness.
In summary, White, as modified, teaches
a plurality of convex portions (surfaces 28 of each of the brush elements 25 of White, which now includes two brush elements 25 which extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White. See above combination) formed to project from an outer circumferential surface of the drum main body along a radius direction of the brush drum (fig. 2 of White, as modified) and spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum (White, as modified, teaches the two brush elements spirally extend along the entire length of the brush drum of White), and
a cleaning member (White, as modified, teaches two brush elements 25 which extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White. See above combination. Both sets of bristles 26 of each of the two spirally extending brush elements are together interpreted as the cleaning member) surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions along a rotation direction of the drum main body (White was modified to include the configuration of bristles as taught by Eriksson’s fig. 1. With this configuration, the bristles of White surround an outer circumferential surface 28 of the plurality of convex portions of White along a rotation direction of the drum main body).
White, as modified, does not explicitly teach
wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface and the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface.
However, Grey teaches a suction head for a vacuum cleaner (fig. 1), wherein when the front end 16 of the suction head 10 is moved into engagement with a wall, skirting board or stair riser for example, the surface 20 will lie parallel to the wall across its full area. The whole length of the resilient member 44, including importantly the parts 46, will also engage the wall, and can form an effective seal with the wall. The entire airflow into the recess 22 (which comprises a large proportion of the airflow into the opening 24) must therefore pass around the bottom ends of the parts 46, very close to the bottom of the wall. It will be recognized that most suction heads cannot be manipulated so that the rotatable brush engages the bottom edge of the wall, and as such dirt and debris collect at the bottom edge of the wall. Encouraging a rapid flow of air adjacent to the bottom edge of the wall acts to dislodge much or all of the dirt and debris located there, and once dislodged that dirt and debris is much more likely to pass through the recess 22 and be collected by the suction head 10 [0057]. Overall, Grey teaches the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor (paragraph 0057, Grey teaches the front end 16 of the suction head is moved into engagement with a wall, skirting board or stair riser for example, the surface 20 will lie parallel to the wall across its full area) so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface (Grey teaches the whole length of the resilient member 44 will engage the wall to form an effective seal with the wall. The entire airflow into the recess 22 must therefore pass around the bottom ends of the parts 46, very close to the bottom of the wall [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified White, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Grey to provide the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify White, as modified, to include the resilient member 44 of Grey onto the front end of the cleaner of White, wherein the resilient member is configured to form a seal with an engaging wall (as taught by Grey). Doing so would encourage a rapid flow of air adjacent to the bottom edge of the wall which acts to dislodge much or all of the dirt and debris located there, and once dislodged that dirt and debris is much more likely to be collected by the suction head [0057 of Grey], which promotes increased cleanliness.
White, as modified, does not explicitly teach
the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface.
However, Carter teaches a surface cleaning head, wherein the housing is open at the front side such that a front portion of the roller is exposed to facilitate edge cleaning (fig. 3, [0036]). Overall, Carter teaches the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface (fig. 3, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified White, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Carter to provide the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the housing of White, as modified, such that the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface. Doing so would facilitate edge cleaning [0036 of Carter] and promote increased cleanliness.
Regarding claim 3, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein a first point of a lowest side of an outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member moves in a spirally extension direction of the plurality of convex portions while the drum main body rotates, the first point contacting the floor (White, as modified, teaches two brush elements which extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White. See above rejection of claim 1. White, as modified, teaches a first point on a lowest side of an outer circumferential surface of the bristles moves in a spirally extension direction of the plurality of convex portions while the drum main body rotates, the first point contacting the floor. In other words, White, as modified, teaches a first point of the bristles, which contacts the floor, moves in a spirally extending direction as a result of the rotation of the drum main body).
Regarding claim 4, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 3. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein a second point of the lowest side of the outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member is spaced apart from the floor so that air is continuously introduced through a space between the second point and the floor while the drum main body rotates (White, as modified, teaches two brush elements which extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White. See above rejection of claim 1. White, as modified, teaches a second point of the lowest side of the outer circumferential surface of the bristles is spaced apart from the floor so that air is continuously introduced through a space between the second point and the floor while the drum main body rotates. In other words, White, as modified, teaches wherein a second point of the bristles is spaced from the floor while the drum main body rotates, due to the spirally extending configuration of the bristles).
Regarding claim 5, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein the front end of the housing (fig. 1 of White) is configured to extend along the front direction of the suctioner (fig. 1 of White) to block air from being introduced along an upper side of the wall surface forming the corner with the floor (fig. 1 of White, as modified in claim 1, the front end of the housing extends along the front direction of the suctioner and is capable of blocking air from being introduced along an upper side of the wall surface forming the corner with the floor).
Regarding claim 6, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 4. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein a third point of the lowest side of the outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member is spaced apart from the floor so that air is continuously introduced through the space between the second point and the floor while the drum main body rotates (White, as modified, teaches two brush elements which extend spirally along the entire length of the drum main body of White. See above rejection of claim 1. White, as modified, teaches wherein a third point of the lowest side of the outer circumferential surface of the bristles is spaced apart from the floor so that air is continuously introduced through a space between the second point and the floor while the drum main body rotates. In other words, the bristles have a third point at the lowest side of the outer circumferential surface of the bristles which is spaced apart from the floor due to the spirally extending configuration so that air is continuously introduced through a space between the second point and the floor while the drum main body rotates).
Regarding claim 7, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein the housing is formed to be spaced apart from an outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member by a predetermined distance (fig. 1 of White).
Regarding claim 14, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7. Additionally, White, as modified, teaches wherein while the drum main body is being rotated, a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member corresponding to locations of the plurality of convex portions contact the floor (a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the bristles 26 of White, as modified, corresponding to locations of the plurality of convex portions contact the floor in order to agitate) while another portion of the outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member is spaced from the floor (due to the spirally extending configuration of the brushes, another portion of the outer circumferential surface of the cleaning member is spaced from the floor).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US Patent 2411488) in view of Eriksson (US PGPUB 20090229075), and further in view of Grey et al. (US PGPUB 20190029482), hereinafter Grey, and further in view of Carter et al. (US PGPUB 20170127896), hereinafter Carter, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US PGPUB 20060156510), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 2, White, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. White, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the cleaning member comprises cotton flannel.
However, Park teaches a vacuum cleaner, wherein the vacuum cleaner includes bristles 170 of cotton flannel [0067].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified White, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide wherein the cleaning member comprises cotton flannel. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate wherein the bristles of White comprise cotton flannel. Doing so would provide a known material for the bristles. Additionally, doing so would prevent damage to the surface being cleaned [0067 of Park].
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, White (US Patent 2411488) in view of Eriksson (US PGPUB 20090229075), and further in view of Grey et al. (US PGPUB 20190029482), hereinafter Grey, is the closest prior art reference to the claimed invention but fails to teach or make obvious in combination with the additionally cited prior art the structural features and spatial relationships of the plurality of inclined surfaces, plurality of convex portions, plurality of arches and the cleaning member as particularly claimed in combination with all other elements of claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11517160 in view of Grey et al. (US PGPUB 20190029482), hereinafter Grey, and further in view of Carter et al. (US PGPUB 20170127896), hereinafter Carter.
Instant Application 17/968,284
US Patent 11517160
A vacuum cleaner comprising:
1. A vacuum cleaner comprising:
a cleaner main body configured to generate suction force; and
a cleaner main body configured to generate suction force;
a suctioner having a suction inlet to suck dust by the suction force, a brush drum provided at the suction inlet to sweep dust on a floor and
a suctioner having a suction inlet to suck dust by the suction force and a brush drum provided at the suction inlet to sweep dust on a floor,
a housing to surround a side of the brush drum opposite to the floor,
wherein the housing is configured to include a front end formed to extend from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum so that the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum and a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed and wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface and the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface,
8. The vacuum cleaner according to claim 1, wherein the suctioner comprises a housing partially surrounding the brush drum.
9. The vacuum cleaner according to claim 8, wherein the housing is configured to surround the brush drum at a side of the brush drum opposite the floor and comprises a front end formed to extend along a front direction of the suctioner, and wherein the front end of the housing is configured to project as long as, or longer than, the brush drum in the front direction.
wherein the brush drum comprises:
(of claim 1) wherein the brush drum comprises:
a drum main body rotatable along an axial direction of the brush drum,
a drum main body rotatably provided in an axial direction of the brush drum
a plurality of convex portions formed to project from an outer circumferential surface of the drum main body along a radius direction of the brush drum and spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum, and
a plurality of convex portions formed to project from an outer circumferential surface of the drum main body in a radius direction of the brush drum and spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum,
a cleaning member surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions along a rotation direction of the drum main body.
a cleaning member surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions, the plurality of arches and the plurality of inclined surfaces along a rotation direction of the drum main body
8. The vacuum cleaner according to claim 1, wherein the brush drum comprises:
a plurality of arches formed on the outer circumferential surface of the drum main body with a lower height than the plurality of convex portions, respectively between the plurality of convex portions, and to spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum, and
a plurality of arches formed on the outer circumferential surface of the drum main body with a lower height than the plurality of convex portions, respectively between the plurality of convex portions, and to spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum,
a plurality of inclined surfaces each formed to be gradually inclined from each of the plurality of convex portions to each of the plurality of arches, a respective convex portion and a respective arch being adjacent each other, and
a plurality of inclined surfaces formed to be gradually inclined from each of the plurality of convex portions to each of the plurality of arches, the convex portion and the arch being adjacent each other, and
wherein the cleaning member surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of arches and the plurality of inclined surfaces along the rotation direction of the drum main body.
a cleaning member surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions, the plurality of arches and the plurality of inclined surfaces along a rotation direction of the drum main body
Claims 1, 8 and 9 of US Patent 11517160 do not explicitly teach
wherein the housing is configured to include a front end formed to extend from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum so that the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum and a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed, wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface and the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface.
However, Grey teaches a suction head for a vacuum cleaner. Specifically, Grey teaches
wherein the housing is configured to include a front end (fig. 1, front end indicated by element 20) formed to extend from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum (as seen in fig. 3) so that the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum (as seen in figs. 1 and 3) and a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed (as seen in fig. 3, wherein a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed to air in the chamber), wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface [0057].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claims 1, 8 and 9 of US Patent 11517160 to incorporate the teachings of Grey to provide wherein the housing is configured to include a front end formed to extend from the side of the brush drum further along a front direction of the suctioner than an outer circumferential surface of the brush drum so that the housing partially surrounds the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum and a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the brush drum facing the front direction is exposed, wherein the front end is configured to contact a wall surface forming a corner with the floor so that the housing blocks air from being introduced into the corner along the wall surface.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the configuration of Grey’s suction head including the partially surround housing and the resilient member 44. Doing so would encourage a rapid flow of air adjacent to the bottom edge of the wall which acts to dislodge much or all of the dirt and debris located there, and once dislodged that dirt and debris is much more likely to be collected by the suction head [0057 of Grey], which promotes increased cleanliness.
Claims 1, 8 and 9 of US Patent 11517160, as modified, do not explicitly teach
the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface.
However, Carter teaches a surface cleaning head, wherein the housing is open at the front side such that a front portion of the roller is exposed to facilitate edge cleaning (fig. 3, [0036]). Overall, Carter teaches the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface (fig. 3, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified claims 1, 8 and 9 of US Patent 11517160, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Grey to provide the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Carter such that the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface. Doing so would facilitate edge cleaning [0036 of Carter] and promote increased cleanliness.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant requests that the Applicant be allowed to address any double-patenting issues remaining once the rejection of the claims is resolved (page 7 of Applicant’s remarks). The double patenting rejection has been updated and maintained. See above for more details.
Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach the amended language of claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues White, Eriksson and Grey fail to teach the portion facing the front direction is exposed to the wall surface (page 9 of Applicant’s remarks).
However, White, Eriksson and Grey were not relied upon to teach the amended language. Rather, Carter was relied upon to teach the amended language. See above rejection for more details.
Applicant also argues that the cited references do not disclose “a cleaning member surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of convex portions along a rotation direction of the drum main body”. Specifically, Applicant argues the bristles 26 of White do not surround an outer circumferential surface of elements 20 and that the additional art does not remedy these deficiencies (page 10 of Applicant’s remarks).
However, elements 20 of White were not interpreted as the “plurality of convex portions”. Rather, White was relied upon to teach a plurality of convex portions (surfaces 28 of each of the brush elements 25) formed to project from an outer circumferential surface of the drum main body along a radius direction of the brush drum (fig. 2 and 5, the surfaces 28 project from an outer circumferential surface of the body 16 along a radius direction of the brush drum) and spirally extend along the axial direction of the brush drum (fig. 2).
See above rejection for more details.
Applicant argues claim 1 and the respective dependent claims are allowable (page 10 of Applicant’s remarks). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 has been rejected above over White, as modified. The dependent claims have been rejected accordingly. See above rejection for more details.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Isley et al. (US PGPUB 20170127895) teaches a cleaner head with the portion facing the front direction being exposed to the wall surface
Horne et al. (US PGPUB 20220233039) teaches a cleaner head with the portion facing the front direction being exposed to the wall surface
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Examiner, Art Unit 3723