DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 03/03/2026.
Claims 1-18 and 22-23 are presented for examination.
The rejections are respectfully maintained and reproduced infra for applicant's convenience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the following limitation(s):
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on page 9-11, “Applicant respectfully submits that Sood has not been shown to teach or suggest "receiving, by a user plane network element of a communication system, a media packet from an application server of the communication system" as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). Leung has not been shown to, and does not, remedy at least this deficiency of Sood”. Although Sood does not clearly teaches the user plane network element of a communication system, However, Leung teaches remedy this deficiency of Sood. Leung teaches user plane 212 corresponding user plane network element that receiving packet from application server 230 (see Leung: Fig.2 element 212; ¶[0047]), it clearly show the U-Plane 212 receiving data communication from the application server 230. Therefore, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 13-18 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sood et al. (US 2010/0235472 A1) in view of Leung (US 2021/0112439 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sood teaches a media packet transmission method, comprising:
Receiving a media packet from an application server of the communication system (receiving, by an adaptive streaming system (corresponding to client computer system see Sood: ¶[0016]), packets from the server see Sood: ¶[0022]);
determining association information corresponding to the media packet, wherein the association information is information associated with a client operation corresponding to the media packet (determining, by client, quality of service metric associate with rate encoding adjustment “Continuing in block 330, the system determines a quality of service metric based on the requested chunk. For example, the chunk may include metadata for as many additional chunks as the server is currently storing, which the client can use to determine how fast the client is requesting chunks relative to how fast the server is producing chunks” see Fig.3 step 330; ¶[0032]).
Sood does not teaches receiving, by a user plane network element of a communication system, wherein the user plane network element includes a protocol data unit session anchor (PSA), a user plane function, or a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) and in response to determining the association information and send the media packet to access network element of the communication system via quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to the association information.
However, Leung teaches the receiving, by a user plane network element of a communication system (user plane 212 corresponding user plane network element that receiving packet from application server 230 see Leung: Fig.2 element 212; ¶[0047]), the wherein the user plane network element includes a protocol data unit session anchor (PSA), a user plane function (user plane 212 communicating with application server 230 or UPF 262 communicating with SLP 272 see Fig.2A and Fig.2B; ¶[0047-0048]), or a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) and in response to determining the association information and send the media packet to access network element of the communication system via quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to the association information (UPF 262 acting as an external protocol data unit (PDU) session point of interconnect to a data network provide routing and forwarding and Quality of Service (QoS) handling for the user plane see Leung: ¶0050]) in order to enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency (see Leung: ¶[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Sood to include (or to use, etc.) the receiving, by a user plane network element of a communication system, wherein the user plane network element includes a protocol data unit session anchor (PSA), a user plane function, or a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) and in response to determining the association information and send the media packet to access network element of the communication system via quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to the association information as taught by Leung in order to enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency (see Leung: ¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the determining, by the user plane network element, association information corresponding to the media packet comprises: identifying, by the user plane network element, the media packet to obtain the association information, wherein the media packet carries the association information; and receiving, by the user plane network element, the association information from the application server; or the determining, by the user plane network element, association information corresponding to the media packet comprises: determining, by the user plane network element based on an obtained media packet request, a client operation corresponding to the media packet request; and determining, by the user plane network element, the association information based on the client operation that corresponds to the media packet request corresponding to the media packet, wherein the media packet request is for requesting the media packet from the application server (determine QoS metric based on the requested chunk , where the chunk include the metadata (corresponding to association information) “Continuing in block 330, the system determines a quality of service metric based on the requested chunk. For example, the chunk may include metadata for as many additional chunks as the server is currently storing, which the client can use to determine how fast the client is requesting chunks relative to how fast the server is producing chunks” see Sood: ¶[0032]; Fig.3 step 330-350).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 2 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the identifying, by the user plane network element, the media packet to obtain the association information comprises: performing, by the user plane network element, application layer identification on the media packet to obtain the association information; performing, by the user plane network element, transport layer identification on the media packet to obtain the association information; or performing, by the user plane network element, network layer identification on the media packet to obtain the association information (determining, by client, quality of service metric associate with rate encoding adjustment “Continuing in block 330, the system determines a quality of service metric based on the requested chunk. For example, the chunk may include metadata for as many additional chunks as the server is currently storing, which the client can use to determine how fast the client is requesting chunks relative to how fast the server is producing chunks” see Fig.3 step 330; ¶[0032]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 2 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the determining, by the user plane network element based on an obtained media packet request, a client operation corresponding to the media packet request comprises: when the media packet request comprises a real time streaming protocol (RTSP) request, determining, by the user plane network element based on the RTSP request, the client operation corresponding to the media packet request; or when the media packet request comprises an index number of the media packet, determining, by the user plane network element based on the index number of the media packet, the client operation corresponding to the media packet request (streaming media like RTSP to remote control a streaming media server see ¶[0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein: the association information comprises first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates the client operation corresponding to the media packet; or the association information comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates a priority that corresponds to the client operation corresponding to the media packet (client operation such as pause and seek with live stream “users can pause a live stream, seek within the live stream, and so forth, without adding work or state tracking for the server. In a live stream, there are several scenarios like a missed scene, a pause to take a break, joining the event late and intend to watch from start, and so forth that are enabled by the system allowing the user to play chunks in various orders and at various times” see Sood: ¶[0037]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 5 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein when the association information comprises the first indication information, the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: determining, by the user plane network element based on the client operation indicated by the first indication information and a first correspondence, a QoS flow corresponding to the client operation, wherein different client operations correspond to different QoS flows, and the first correspondence is a correspondence between a client operation and a QoS flow; and sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to the access network element via the QoS flow corresponding to the client operation (system determine the QoS based on the request chunk and determine whether QoS metric low in step 340 to determine client operation “the system determines a quality of service metric based on the requested chunk. For example, the chunk may include metadata for as many additional chunks as the server is currently storing, which the client can use to determine how fast the client is requesting chunks relative to how fast the server is producing chunks. This process is described in further detail herein. Continuing in decision block 340, if the system determines that the current QoS metric is too low and the client connection to the server cannot handle the current encoding” see Sood: ¶[0032-0033]; Fig.3 steps 320-350).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 6 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the user plane network element, the first correspondence from a session management network element (RTSP use session ID to keep track of sessions “RTSP uses a session ID to keep track of sessions when needed. RTSP messages are sent from client to server, although some exceptions exist where the server will send messages to the client” see Sood: ¶[0002]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the user plane network element, indication information from a session management network element, wherein the indication information indicates the user plane network element to determine, after receiving the media packet, the association information corresponding to the media packet; and determining, by the user plane network element based on the indication information and the received media packet, the association information corresponding to the media packet (determine QoS metric based on the requested chunk , where the chunk include the metadata (corresponding to association information) and loop back handle chunk step 320 “Continuing in block 330, the system determines a quality of service metric based on the requested chunk. For example, the chunk may include metadata for as many additional chunks as the server is currently storing, which the client can use to determine how fast the client is requesting chunks relative to how fast the server is producing chunks” see Sood: ¶[0032]; Fig.3 step 330-350).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the client operation comprises at least one of the following: initial playing, jumping, normal playing, and pause (pause a live stream see Sood: ¶[0037]).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 14 recites a communication apparatus that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 4 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 18 recites a communication apparatus that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Leung further teaches wherein the communication system further includes at least one user equipment, a mobility management network element, a session management network element, a policy control network element, an application function network element, and a data network (DN), and wherein the application server is deployed in the DN (wireless network structure 200 (corresponding to the communication system) includes UE 204, control plane C-Plane 214, user plane function, UE gateway function which include the application function and application server 230 deploy on the location server see Leung: ¶[0047]; Fig.2) in order to enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency (see Leung: ¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Leung further teaches wherein the communication system includes a long term evolution (LTE) communication system, a 4th generation (4G) communication system, a 5th generation (5G) communication system, or a new radio (NR) communication system (5G network see Leung: ¶[0031]) in order to enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency (see Leung: ¶[0004]).
Claims 8-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sood et al. (US 2010/0235472 A1) in view of Leung (US 2021/0112439 A1) and further in view of Youn et al. (US 2020/0275302 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 5 as described hereinabove. The modified Sood does not explicitly teaches wherein when the association information comprises the second indication information, the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: when different priorities correspond to different QoS flows, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the priority, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow; or when different priorities correspond to a same QoS flow, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element based on the priority via the QoS flow, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow.
However, Youn teaches the wherein when the association information comprises the second indication information, the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: when different priorities correspond to different QoS flows, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the priority, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow (each of QoS flows, QoS parameter include the Priority level, where priority level defines the relative importance of a resource request see ¶[0398]; Fig. 16); or when different priorities correspond to a same QoS flow, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element based on the priority via the QoS flow, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow in order to apply/support reflective QoS (quality of service) (see Youn: ¶[0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of the modified Sood to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein when the association information comprises the second indication information, the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: when different priorities correspond to different QoS flows, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the priority, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow; or when different priorities correspond to a same QoS flow, sending, by the user plane network element based on the priority indicated by the second indication information and a second correspondence, the media packet to the access network element based on the priority via the QoS flow, wherein the second correspondence is a correspondence between a priority corresponding to a client operation and a QoS flow as taught by Youn in order to apply/support reflective QoS (quality of service) (see Youn: ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 8 as described hereinabove. Sood further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the user plane network element, the second correspondence from a session management network element (RTSP use session ID to keep track of sessions “RTSP uses a session ID to keep track of sessions when needed. RTSP messages are sent from client to server, although some exceptions exist where the server will send messages to the client” see Sood: ¶[0002]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. The modified Sood does not explicitly teaches wherein the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: sending, by the user plane network element within a validity period of a timer, the media packet to the access network element via the QoS flow corresponding to the association information.
However, Youn teaches the wherein the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: sending, by the user plane network element within a validity period of a timer, the media packet to the access network element via the QoS flow corresponding to the association information (timer value reflective QoS is valid “the CP function may additionally transmit a timer value regarding time when reflective QoS is valid to the UP function. The UP function may use the DL and/or UL QoS rule only until the corresponding timer expires. The UP function may immediately start the timer when the timer is received” see Youn: ¶[0503-0506]) in order to apply/support reflective QoS (quality of service) (see Youn: ¶[0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of the modified Sood to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein the sending, by the user plane network element, the media packet to an access network element via a QoS flow corresponding to the association information comprises: sending, by the user plane network element within a validity period of a timer, the media packet to the access network element via the QoS flow corresponding to the association information as taught by Youn in order to apply/support reflective QoS (quality of service) (see Youn: ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Sood taught the method according to claim 11 as described hereinabove. Youn further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the user plane network element, the timer from a session management network element (timer value reflective QoS is valid “the CP function may additionally transmit a timer value regarding time when reflective QoS is valid to the UP function. The UP function may use the DL and/or UL QoS rule only until the corresponding timer expires. The UP function may immediately start the timer when the timer is received” see Youn: ¶[0503-0506]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
May 30, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478