DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/947,305, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior filed application does not disclose a core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satchell (US 3,736,932) in view of Schraga (US 2012/0123334 A1) and Monson et al. (US 2009/0312715 A1).
With regard to claim 1-9 and 12, Satchell teaches a hypodermic interface assembly comprising: a hub having a distal-most end surface (Fig. 4 member 52); a core member defined by a body having a proximal end having a proximal end surface and a distal end having a distal end surface (not numbered structure inserted into the distal end of 54 surrounding the cannula); a cannula, wherein a portion of the cannula extends in a distal direction from the distal-most end surface of the hub to and in a proximal direction from the proximal end surface of the proximal end of the body of the core member, and wherein the distal-most end surface of the hub is spaced proximal to the proximal end surface of the proximal end of the body of the core member (Fig. 4 cannula 59 disposed through the hub, core, and carrier); and a cannula carrier having a head portion (Fig. 4 member 53 connected to the core via engagement), wherein the core member is connected to the cannula, wherein the cannula carrier is connected to the core member, and wherein the cannula carrier is controllably separable from the hub (Figs. 1 and 2 the needle, cannula, and carrier move together and are separable from the hub). Satchell does not teach the carrier to have a plurality of leg portions. However, Schraga teaches a threaded cannula carrier which has a plurality of legs which flex outwardly to allow the carrier to be threaded onto the injector as well as inserted and removed in additional fashions which do not include rotation and may enhance safety (Figs. 11- 14 slots 16’’’ form legs which are connected via frangible portions which break when subjected to force to separate the legs from the hub, this would be capable of occurring depending on the force and movement from the subject [0005], [0079], [0081], [0082], [0085], [0086]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of legs which can deflect radially outward in response to a radial force in Satchell as Schraga teaches this is beneficial for connecting the cannula carrier in a plurality of manners to enhance safety. Satchell teaches the core, cannula, and carrier move together but do not explicitly recite how the core, cannula, and hub are attached. However, Monson et al. teach various connections include adhesives or press-fit ([0020], [0027]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-removably connect the core, carrier, and cannula of Satchell with press fit or adhesive as Monson et al. teach this to be effective equivalents for a secure connection and would yield the same predictable result.
With regard to claim 10, the proximal end of 54 is adjacent the shoulder in the area where 52 connects to 51 (Fig. 4), as combined this is where the proximal end of the leg surface would be located.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satchell (US 3,736,932), Schraga (US 2012/0123334 A1), and Monson et al. (US 2009/0312715 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Bennwik et al. (US 5,709,659).
With regard to claim 13, Satchell teaches a device substantially as claimed. Satchell does not disclose the cannula is configured to bend or break. However, Bennwik et al. teach permanently detaching the carrier from the hub of a syringe to break the needle to prevent reuse (abstract, Figs. 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cannula of Satchell to break as in Bennwik et al. as this is beneficial for preventing re-use.
Claim(s) 14-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knutson (US 2008/0171982 A1) in view of Zhao (US 2012/0150128 A1).
With regard to claims 14, 16, 17, 20, and 21, Knutson teaches a subassembly of a hypodermic interface assembly, the subassembly comprising: a hub having a distal-most end surface (Fig. 5 member 14); a core member having a body defined by a proximal end having a proximal end surface and a distal end having a distal end surface (Fig. 5 member 10); and a cannula that is non-removably connected to the core member and the hub such that the cannula is not permitted to axially shift relative to the core member or the hub, wherein a portion of the cannula extends in a distal direction from the distal-most end surface of the hub to and in a proximal direction from the proximal end surface of the proximal end of the body of the core member, and wherein the distal-most end surface of the hub is spaced proximal to the proximal end surface of the proximal end of the body of the core member (Fig. 1 member 12, member 10 may be glued or soldered, [0033]). Knutson does not explicitly recite how the hub and cannula are connected. However, Zhao teaches adhesive may be used to secure a cannula within a core and hub and to secure a core to a hub (Fig. 4, adhesive secures core 44 to a hub, [0024]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-removably connect the hub and cannula of Knutson as Zhao teach such to be an art effective connection means for fixation and would yield the same predictable result.
With regard to claim 15, the passage diameter is necessarily slightly greater to accommodate the cannula.
With regard to claim 19, the outer surface of 10 is taken as deformed at least in the area of connection to 24, further the transition from the faces to the side is taken as a deformation.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knutson (US 2008/0171982 A1) and Zhao (US 2012/0150128 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2018/0021526 A1).
With regard to claim 18, Knutson do not disclose the cannula receiving passage of the core is non-constant along the length. Zhao as combined to teach the adhesive in the passage appears to show the passage as non-constant, see the end where the needle extends through distally, but it is not explicitly discussed. However, Sullivan et al. teach the distal end opening diameter is larger to form a well for the adhesive (Fig. 8, [0059], [0063]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-constant passage diameter in Knutson as Sullivan et al. teach this is beneficial for filling the passage with adhesive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The newly amended limitations are addressed as above.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783