DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 1-22 been renumbered 31-52.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 31-42 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claims 31-42 and 52 are directed to a computer system that generates and stores the loss of heterozygosity class for the human leukocyte antigen gene. As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the steps of determining, using a three-class leukocyte antigen loss of heterozygosity model, a loss of heterozygosity class for a human leukocyte antigen gene. However, using a three-class leukocyte antigen loss of heterozygosity model is a mathematical algorithm (For example the model may be a logistic regression model (Specification, page 4, paragraph [16])) Dependent claims 32-42, recite additional mathematical steps or the data to be used in the mathematical algorithm. The courts have found mathematical algorithms to be drawn to the judicial exception of an abstract idea (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite the elements of a computing system, processors, memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium. However, the instant claims do not recite structural limitations of these elements, and they do provide a particular machine. The claims also recite the steps of obtaining data, and generating and storing a report. However, these steps are extra solution data gathering steps and output steps. The instant claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements of computing system, processors, memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium. These elements are well-understood, conventional and routine components of a general computer (Specification, pages 41 and 42). The instant claims also recite the steps of obtaining data, and generating and storing a report. The steps of obtaining data, and generating and storing a report are well understood, conventional and routine data gathering steps and output steps (Specification, pages 41 and 42; page 53, paragraph [219]). Reciting such well-understood, routine, and conventional elements do not transform a judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data, to be used in the judicial exception does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely specifying the types of data for a data gathering step and a computer to implement the judicial exception. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31, 32, 41-43, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanton et al. (WO 2019/012296 A1) in view of Wang et al. (WO 2014/116729 A2).
Regarding claims 31 and 52, Swanton et al. teach a method of detecting loss of heterozygosity (LOH) of a human leukocyte antigen (HLA) gene (page 47, lines 14-15 and page 56, lines 11-17) that includes the steps of obtaining human leukocyte antigen coverage feature metrics of a biological sample (page 48, lines 14-18); determine the LOH class for the HLA gene using a three class HLA LOH model that includes a no LOH class (page 48, line 14 – page 49, line 11); and generating and storing a report of the determined LOH class for the HLA gene (page 54, line 37 – page 55, line 13).
While the method of Swanton et al. is drawn to a computation method of determining LOH in HLA genes, Swanton et al. do not explicitly disclose the use of a computer.
Wang et al. teach a method of determining mapped and unmapped reads and typing HLA (Abstract) which includes performing the method on a computer with memories and processors (page 16, paragraph [0078]-page 17, paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 32, Swanton et al. teach determining, by processing at least one of the HLA coverage feature metrics using the first LOH classifier model stage, a loss of heterozygosity of the biological sample (page 59, lines 1-23) and classifying, by processing at least one of the HLA coverage feature metrics using the second LOH classifier model stage, the LOH of the biological sample as a partial loss or a clonal loss (page 59, lines 1-23).
Regarding claims 41, Swanton et al. teach obtaining HLA coverage feature metrics of a biological sample from a next generation sequencing system (page 16, line 34-page 17, line 2). Wang et al. teach that the sequencing system may be communicatively coupled to the computing system through a communication network (page 13, paragraph [0064]; page 18, paragraph [0084])
Regarding claim 42, Wang et al. teach receiving sequencing data from a biological sample from a next generation sequencing system that is communicatively coupled to the computing system through a communication network (page 13, paragraph [0064]; page 18, paragraph [0084]). Swanton et al. teach determining HLA coverage feature metrics of the biological sample from the next generation sequencing data (page 16, line 34 – page 17, line 2; page 48, lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 43, Wang et al. teach a computer system that receives a next generation sequencing data generated from a biological sample (page 13, paragraph [0064]; page 18, paragraph [0084]); align the sequencing data against a reference genome to determine a mapped reads dataset and unmapped reads dataset (page 22, paragraph [0095]; page 24, paragraph [00103]); provide the unmapped reads dataset to a HLA typing process to identify at least one candidate HLA allele for the HLA gene (page 24, paragraph [00103]); identify the HLA sequence associated with each candidate HLA allele (page 24-25, paragraph [00104]); create a HLA reference genome using each identified HLA sequence (page 11, paragraph [0054]; page 16, paragraph [0075]); align the next generation sequencing data against HLA reference genome and adjust the HLA reference genome to account for a variant identified during the aligning (page 16, paragraphs [0076] and [0077]) ; align the next generation sequencing data against the HLA reference genome (page 5, paragraph [0020]); and determine the HLA coverage feature metrics associated with one or more identified candidate HLA alleles (page 5, paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine the teachings of Swanton et al. and Wang et al. Wang et al teach a method of HLA typing of unmapped reads to take into account novel alleles. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the method of Wang et al. into the method of Swanton et al. to gain the benefit of analyzing novel alleles. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the computational steps are readily combinable.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 31-52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,475,978. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant claims and the claims of the U.S. Patent are drawn to similar steps. The claims at issue differ in that the U.S. Patent is drawn to a computer-implemented method and the instant claims are drawn to a computer system. However, a computer system that implements that recited steps of the instant claims is a computer-implemented method. Thus, the instant claims are not patentably distinct.
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685