Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-8,11,17,19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2020/0161282 A1), Jeon et al (PG Pub 2020/0365664 A1), and Yasuda et al (PG Pub 2009/0159902 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a display panel, comprising: a substrate (below 130 and 140, figs. 1-7); light-emitting devices (130 and 140); a plurality of pad groups on a side of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pad groups includes a first pad (portions of 182 where they contact 181, fig. 2, for example) and a second pad (portions of 182 where they contact 181, and at least one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponds to one light-emitting device; a driving circuit layer (163P, fig. 7O, which is part of thin film transistor 160, which is part of a driving unit, paragraphs [0080][0007]) disposed between the substrate and the plurality of pad groups; and one or more first metal elements (portions of 181 where they contact 182, paragraph [0131]) and one or more second metal elements (portions of 181 where they contact 182) disposed in the driving circuit layer at a side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate, a plurality of light-emitting regions (subpixels SPX2 and SPX3); and at least one insulating layer (114), wherein: in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponding to one same light-emitting device, along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the first pad at least partially overlaps the one or more first metal elements, the second pad at least partially overlaps the one or more second metal elements, an overlapping area of the first pad and the one or more first metal elements is Si, and an overlapping area of the second pad and the one or more second metal elements is S2; each light-emitting region of the plurality of light-emitting regions includes at least one light-emitting device (130 and 140); an orthographical projection of one pad group of the plurality of pad groups on the substrate is located in a corresponding one of the plurality of light-emitting regions; the at least one insulating layer is disposed on the side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate (fig. 2, for example).
Kang does not teach “wherein |S1-S2|/S1≤5%”.
In the same field of endeavor, Yasuda teaches making both pads (111 and 112, fig. 12B; 7 and 8, fig. 3B) of a light emitting device the same size for the benefit of preventing misaligning the light emitting device with bonding electrodes (paragraph [0017]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before effective filing date of the invention to make the first and second pads the same size for the benefit of preventing misaligning the light emitting device with bonding electrodes (or the metal elements).
Kang in view of Yasuda teaches |S1-S2|/S1<5% because wherein |S1-S2|/S1 is zero.
Kang does not teach a plurality of light-transmitting regions; the at least one insulating layer includes through holes in the plurality of light-transmitting regions.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches a plurality of light-transmitting regions (TA, figs. 1-5); the at least one insulating layer (OL/IL, fig. 11) includes through holes in the plurality of light-transmitting regions (TA), for the benefit of allowing light to transmit through to capture images (paragraph [0114]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a plurality of light-transmitting regions; and to make the at least one insulating layer to include through holes in the plurality of light-transmitting regions for the benefit of allowing light to transmit through to capture images.
Kang in view of Jeon teaches in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, along a direction parallel to the plane of the substrate, a minimum distance (from a Pa to TA, fig. 5 of Jeon) from the first pad to one corresponding through hole is W1, and a minimum distance (from the same Pa to the same TA) from the second pad to one corresponding through hole is W2, wherein |W1-W2|< 1.1µm because |W 1-W2| is zero as shown in fig. 5 of Jeon.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first metal elements and the one or more second metal elements are disposed in a same layer (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 2, wherein: the display panel includes a first metal layer (117: where metal layers 180 are formed, fig. 2) on the side of the plurality of pad groups close the substrate; the one or more first metal elements and the one or more second metal elements are disposed in the first metal layer; and there are no other metal layers between the first metal layer and the plurality of pad groups.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further including a thin film transistor array layer on the side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate, wherein: the thin film transistor array layer includes a plurality of thin film transistors (150 and 160, fig. 7O, paragraph [0080]); the thin film transistor array layer includes a second conductive layer (173/161P, fig. 7O, paragraph [0092]); sources and/or drains (162P/163P, paragraphs [0097][0200]) of the plurality of thin film transistors are located in the second conductive layer; and the second conductive layer is located on a side of the first metal elements and/or the second metal elements facing the substrate (110a), or the first conductive elements and/or the second conductive elements are located in the second metal layer.
Kang does not teach the second conductive layer is metal.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the second conductive layer a metal layer, for the known benefit of reducing electrical resistance.
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 6, wherein: in one pad group corresponding to one same light-emitting device, along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, a number of the first metal elements at least partially overlapping the first pad is M (one, fig. 2), and a number of the second metal elements at least partially overlapping the second pad is N (one, 2), wherein M=N, and M and N are integers larger than or equal to 0.
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein: in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, along the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, a minimum distance from the first pad to the substrate is equal to a minimum distance from the second pad to the substrate (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Jeon and Yasuda teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein: in one pad group (in one of Pa, fig. 5 of Jeon) of the plurality of pad groups, along the direction parallel to the plane of the substrate, a minimum distance from the one or more first metal elements (in the one of Pa) to one corresponding through hole (a TA) is W3, and a minimum distance from the one or more second metal elements (in the one of Pa) to one corresponding through hole (the same TA) is W4, wherein |W3-W4 |≤ 1.1µm because |W 3-W4| is zero as shown in fig. 5 of Jeon.
Regarding claim 17, Kang in view of Jeon and Yasuda teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein: one first metal element and one second metal element (in a Pa, fig. 5 of Jeon) are disposed between two adjacent light-transmitting regions of the plurality of the light-transmitting regions (TA); in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, an orthographical projection of one first metal (182, fig. 2 of Kang) on the substrate part at least partially overlaps an orthographical projection of the first pad on the substrate, and an orthographical projection of one second metal element (181, fig. 2) on the substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographical projection of the second pad (182) on the substrate; and in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, the first pad and the second pad have a symmetrical structure with respect to a first symmetric axis, and the one or more first metal elements and the one or more second metal elements have a symmetrical structure with respect to the first symmetric axis (fig. 2 of Kang).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein: one pad group of the plurality of pad groups includes an electrode layer (182, fig. 2) and a eutectic layer (bonding 181 and 182, paragraph [0129]) on a side of the electrode layer away from the substrate; and an overlapping region of the eutectic layer and the electrode layer is the first pad or the second pad (fig. 2 and paragraph [0129]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang in view of Jeon and Yasuda teaches (see claim 1) a display device, comprising a display panel, wherein: the display panel includes: a substrate; light-emitting devices; a plurality of pad groups on a side of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pad groups includes a first pad and a second pad, and at least one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponds to one light-emitting device; a driving circuit layer (163P, fig. 7O, which is part of thin film transistor 160, which is part of a driving unit, paragraphs [0080][0007]) disposed between the substrate and the plurality of pad groups; and one or more first metal elements and one or more second metal elements disposed in the driving circuit layer at a side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate, a plurality of light-emitting regions; a plurality of light-transmitting regions; and at least one insulating layer, wherein: in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponding to one same light-emitting device, along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the first pad at least partially overlaps the one or more first metal elements, the second pad at least partially overlaps the one or more second metal elements, an overlapping area of the first pad and the one or more first metal elements is Si, and an overlapping area of the second pad and the one or more second metal elements is S2, wherein |S1-S2|/S1<5%; each light-emitting region of the plurality of light-emitting regions includes at least one light-emitting device: an orthographical projection of one pad group of the plurality of pad groups on the substrate is located in a corresponding one of the plurality of light-emitting regions: the at least one insulating layer is disposed on the side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate, and includes through holes in the plurality of light-transmitting regions and in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, along a direction parallel to the plane of the substrate, a minimum distance from the first pad to one corresponding through hole is WI, and a minimum distance from the second pad to one corresponding through hole is W2, wherein |W 1-W2|<1.1µm.
Regarding claim 21, Kang in view of Jeon and Yasuda teaches (see claim 1) a display panel, comprising: a substrate; light-emitting devices; a plurality of pad groups on a side of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pad groups includes a first pad and a second pad, and at least one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponds to one light-emitting device; a driving circuit layer (163P, fig. 7O, which is part of thin film transistor 160, which is part of a driving unit, paragraphs [0080][0007]) disposed between the substrate and the plurality of pad groups; and one or more first metal elements and one or more second metal elements disposed in the driving circuit layer at a side of the plurality of pad groups close to the substrate, wherein: in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponding to one same light-emitting device, the light-emitting device includes a first pin (131P, fig. 7O of Kang) and a second pin (133P), the first pin being bonded and electrically connected to the first pad, and the second pin being bonded and electrically connected to the second pad; and in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups corresponding to one same light- emitting device, along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the first pad at least partially overlaps the one or more first metal elements, the second pad at least partially overlaps the one or more second metal elements, an overlapping area of the first pad and the one or more first metal elements is S1, and an overlapping area of the second pad and the one or more second metal elements is S2, wherein |S1-S2|/S1<5%.
Regarding claim 22, Kang teaches a display device comprising the display panel of claim 21 (figs. 1-8).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2020/0161282 A1), Jeon et al (PG Pub 2020/0365664 A1), and Yasuda et al (PG Pub 2009/0159902 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al (US Patent 10,193,042 B1).
Regarding claim 12, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 1.
Kang further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one insulating layer (114, fig. 7O) is a protection layer the side of the one or more first metal elements and/or the one or more second metal elements close to the plurality of pad groups; the protection layers is in direct contact with the one or more first metal elements and/or the one or more second metal elements.
Kang does not teach the one insulating layer is an organic layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches a protection layer to be an organic layer for the benefit of creating barrier against moisture, for example (column 6, lines 64 to 67, and column 7 lines 3,4,8-10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the at least one insulating layer an organic layer for the benefit of creating barrier against moisture.
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) The display panel according to claim [[9]]1, wherein: the at least one insulating layer is an organic layer on the side of the one or more first metal elements and/or the one or more second metal elements close to the plurality of pad groups; the organic layer is in direct contact with the one or more first metal elements and/or the one or more second metal elements.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2020/0161282 A1), Jeon et al (PG Pub 2020/0365664 A1), and Yasuda et al (PG Pub 2009/0159902 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chung et al (PG Pub 2021/0066648 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 1.
Jeon further teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein: the plurality of the light-transmitting regions is arranged along a first direction (X, fig. 5); one pad group of the plurality of pad groups is disposed between two adjacent light-transmitting regions of the plurality of the light-transmitting regions along the first direction (in Pa).
Kang does not explicitly teach in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, the first pad and the second pad are arranged along the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Chung teaches light-transmitting regions surround a group of pixel regions PA2 (figs. 11 and 12) for the benefit of allowing a camera to capture images (paragraph [0003]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include light-transmitting regions that surround the light-emitting subpixels in Kang for the benefit of allowing a camera to capture images.
Kang in view of Chung teaches “in one pad group of the plurality of pad groups, the first pad and the second pad are arranged along the first direction,” the same direction the plurality of the light-transmitting regions are placed along because Kang in view of Chung teaches the first pad and the second pad are along either first- or second-direction, and Kang in view of Chung teaches two adjacent light-transmitting regions of the plurality of the light-transmitting regions are placed along both the first direction and the second direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: “a number of the one or more first metal elements at least partially overlapping the first pad is P; in one of the plurality of pad groups corresponding to the second color light-emitting device, a number of the one or more first metal elements at least partially overlapping the first pad is Q; and Q>P>O, and P and Q are integers” (claim 18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claims have been considered but are not persuasive because previously cited Kang reference teaches the added features. See rejection above.
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899