DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/04/2025 with respect to claims 12 - 14 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues that Miller in view of Davis fail to disclose “two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit, and wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits”
Examiner notes that Miller clearly teaches two or more flexible circuits (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits), wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit (figures 21 – 25; wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit, where the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit. Note: the flexible circuit board(s) are each around corner(s) of the interposer as shown in at least figures 21 – 25. Note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner).
Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections provided in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 11, and 13 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US PgPub No. 2018/0171991) in view of Davis (US PgPub No. 20120222889).
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches a moving sensor circuit assembly (figure 1) comprising: an interposer circuit configured to receive a sensor and to move in one or more directions (figures 21 and 23 - 24 also paragraph 0086 - 0087 image sensor on top of interposer; also figure 2 – 3 item image sensor 208 on top of item 222), the interposer circuit comprising a substantially rectangular shape with four corners (figures 21 – 25; the interposer has at least 4 corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner); and two or more flexible circuits (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits), wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit (figures 21 – 25; wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit, where the two or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit. Note: the flexible circuit board(s) are each around corner(s) of the interposer as shown in at least figures 21 – 25. Note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner), and wherein each of the two or more flexible circuits include: a first portion configured to connect to the interposer circuit (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit) and including an angle of around 90 degrees to bend around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit (figures 21 – 25 and most specifically figures 23 – 24; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit and including an angle of around 90 degrees to bend around each of the four corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner); a second portion configured to connect to a circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to circuit board i.e. as also seen in figures 21 and 23 – 24 pads connected to static circuit below); and one or more traces configured to electrically couple the interposer circuit to the circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; the circuit traces on the flexible circuits are connected to pads).
However, Miller fails to teach that the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB). Davis, on the other hand teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB).
More specifically, Davis teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Davis with the teachings of Miller because at least in paragraph 0002 Davis teaches that the system offer electronic equipment manufacturers the advantage of flexibility and compact high density wiring with high reliability, weight reduction and an overall cost saving, thereby improving the system of Miller.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor, and wherein the interposer circuit is configured to move in an x-direction and a y-direction as part of an optical image stabilization (OIS) apparatus (figures 7, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, and 30 teaches X and Y motion).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches at least two flexible circuits disposed around the interposer circuit, wherein the at least two circuits are separated from one another (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; multiple separate flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the one or more flexible circuits are affixed to the interposer circuit via any of a weld, a solder, or an adhesive (paragraph 0081 adhesive, solder, or welding also paragraph 0086 pads).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of each flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of each flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of each flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of each flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction).
Regarding claim 9, Miller teaches a flexible circuit (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits) comprising: a first portion configured to connect to an interposer circuit that is part of a moving sensor circuit assembly (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit also figure 1), the interposer circuit comprising a substantially rectangular shape with four corners (figures 21 – 25; the interposer has at least 4 corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner), and wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit includes an angle of around 90 degrees (figures 21 – 25 and most specifically figures 23 – 24; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit and including an angle of around 90 degrees to bend around each of the four corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner), wherein the first portion is configured to bend around a first corner of the four corners of the interposer circuit (figures 21 – 25; wherein each of the one or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit, where the one or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit. Note: the flexible circuit board(s) are each around corner(s) of the interposer as shown in at least figures 21 – 25. Note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner); a second portion configured to connect to a circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to circuit board i.e. as also seen in figures 21 and 23 – 24 pads connected to static circuit below); and one or more traces disposed along the first portion and the second portion and configured to electrically couple the interposer circuit to the circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; the circuit traces on the flexible circuits are connected to pads).
However, Miller fails to teach that the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB). Davis, on the other hand teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB).
More specifically, Davis teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Davis with the teachings of Miller because at least in paragraph 0002 Davis teaches that the system offer electronic equipment manufacturers the advantage of flexibility and compact high density wiring with high reliability, weight reduction and an overall cost saving, thereby improving the system of Miller.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction).
Regarding claim 13, Miller teaches a system (figure 1) comprising: an interposer circuit configured to move along an x-axis and/or a y-axis (figures 21 and 23 - 24 also paragraph 0086 - 0087 image sensor on top of interposer; figures 7, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, and 30 teaches X and Y motion), the interposer circuit comprising a substantially rectangular shape with four corners (figures 21 – 25; the interposer has at least 4 corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner); an image sensor configured to be connected to the interposer circuit (figures 21 and 23 - 24 also paragraph 0086 - 0087 image sensor on top of interposer; also figure 2 – 3 item image sensor 208 on top of item 222); a circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to circuit board i.e. as also seen in figures 21 and 23 – 24 pads connected to static circuit below); and a flexible circuit (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit) comprising: a first portion configured to connect to the interposer circuit (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit) and wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit includes an angle of around 90 degrees (figures 21 – 25 and most specifically figures 23 – 24; flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit and including an angle of around 90 degrees to bend around each of the four corners; note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner), wherein the first portion is configured to bend around a first corner of the four corners the interposer circuit (figures 21 – 25; wherein each of the one or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit, where the one or more flexible circuits are bent around one of the four corners of the interposer circuit. Note: the flexible circuit board(s) are each around corner(s) of the interposer as shown in at least figures 21 – 25. Note: applicant does not clearly define overall structure of the device in terms of corner i.e. any point where two lines/sides/edges/surfaces/etc. meet can be considered a corner); a second portion configured to connect to the circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; flexible circuits connected to circuit board i.e. as also seen in figures 21 and 23 – 24 pads connected to static circuit below); and one or more traces disposed along the first portion and the second portion and configured to electrically couple the interposer circuit to the circuit board (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; the circuit traces on the flexible circuits are connected to pads).
However, Miller fails to teach that the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB). Davis, on the other hand teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB).
More specifically, Davis teaches the circuit board is a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Davis with the teachings of Miller because at least in paragraph 0002 Davis teaches that the system offer electronic equipment manufacturers the advantage of flexibility and compact high density wiring with high reliability, weight reduction and an overall cost saving, thereby improving the system of Miller.
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor, and wherein the interposer circuit is part of an optical image stabilization (OIS) apparatus (figures 21 and 23 - 24 also paragraph 0086 - 0087 image sensor on top of interposer; also figure 2 – 3 item image sensor 208 on top of item 222; figures 7, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, and 30 teaches X and Y motion).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches at least two flexible circuits disposed around the interposer circuit, wherein the at least two circuits are separated from one another (paragraphs 0086 - 0087; multiple separate flexible circuits connected to the interposer circuit).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein flexible circuit is affixed to the interposer circuit via any of a weld, a solder, or an adhesive (paragraph 0081 adhesive, solder, or welding also paragraph 0086 pads).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit is substantially perpendicular to the second portion).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; wherein the first portion of the flexible circuit comprises a lower stiffness than the second portion to allow for movement of the interposer circuit in the at least one direction).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Miller in view of Davis teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Miller teaches four flexible circuits disposed about the interposer circuit (figures 17, 19, 21, 23 – 24; four flexible circuits disposed about the interposer circuit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GAO (US PgPub No. 20210208483) teaches a camera system with flexible circuits.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
01/27/2026