DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Applicant filed a Request for Continued Examination (RCE), Amendments to the Claims and Remarks on April 22, 2026 in response to the Examiner’s Final Office Action, mailed December 23, 2025.
Amendments to the Claims
At this time, claims 1-5, 7-13, and 16-23 are pending. Claim 13 has been amended. Claims 14 and 15 have been cancelled. The Applicant has added new claims 22 and 23. The Applicant asserts that no new matter is added. (Remarks, pg. 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. The Applicant argues that the prior art references of John, Vierto-Oja, Pappa, Moffitt, De Ridder, and Poore, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest “comparing the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls”, as recited by independent claim 1. (Remarks, pg. 6-10)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In arguing that the prior art references individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest “a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient” (Remarks, pg. 6), the Examiner feels that the Applicant is arguing limitations which are not claimed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. (See MPEP § 2145 (I) and In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).)
The Examiner has interpreted a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient to exist in the prior art, specifically the reference of Vierto-Oja, using the information provided by the instant claims and Specification. The Examiner interprets that a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient is a model, display, graph, or other visual means of depicting multiple patient physiological data parameters, regardless of a number of axes (i.e. x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis). The Examiner is not convinced that the previously argued John/Vierto-Oja combination used to reject independent claim 1 fails to disclose or suggest “comparing the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls”.
Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Nonetheless, the Examiner has modified the previous rejections added to accommodate the amended claim 13, cancelled claims 14 and 15, and new claims 22 and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 16-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2006/0217781) (cited previously) in view of Vierto-Oja et al. (US 2003/0167019, hereinafter referred to as Vierto-Oja).
Regarding amended, independent claim 1, John discloses methods and systems for treatment of brain disorders using neuromodulation that is provided to modulate structures of brain networks. John further discloses a method of providing a neurostimulation therapy to a patient ([0049]: “Neurostimulation may be either excitatory or inhibitory stimulation, and may be at least electrical, magnetic, optical or chemical, or a combination of two or more of these.”), comprising:
applying electrical pulses to a neural target of a patient ([0050]: “As used herein, the term “stimulation subsystem” refers to all components that permit the [brain modulation system] to actively alter (‘modulate’) neural tissue during neuromodulation treatment, and may include at least one pulse generator…”);
obtaining patient data corresponding to a physiological response of the patient to the electrical pulses ([0081]: “…functional imaging data may used to identify and evaluate the brain networks of a patient before and during treatment.”; [0041]: “…functional neuroimaging can include techniques such as electroencephalography (EEG)…”);
comparing the representation of a state of the patient to one or more representations of a state of healthy controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”);
adjusting one or more stimulation parameters based on the comparing (“Evaluate treatment” 108 in Fig. 2A; [0078]: “…the effects of the treatment provided by the modulation of the brain network are evaluated 108…”); and
programming an implantable pulse generator ([0050]: “…may include at least one pulse generator…”) of the patient to operate according to the one or more adjusted stimulation parameters (“Modify treatment” 110 in Fig. 2A; [0078]: “…modulation parameters are adjusted 110…”) and to adjust the plurality of different physiological features of the patient ([0078]: “…the effects of the treatment provided by the modulation of the brain network are evaluated 108, and either modulation is then repeated 106 without adjusting the parameters, or modulation parameters are adjusted 110, and then modulation 106 again occurs. When neuroimaging data is obtained and treatment is evaluated 108 the data can be compared to reference data using treatment criteria.”) relative to the one or more representations of the state of healthy controls ([0089]).
John is silent to forming, from the patient data, a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient by selecting a predetermined number of features corresponding to patient data corresponding to a physiological response of the patient to the electrical pulses, the features including a plurality of different physiological features of the patient;
comparing the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls; and
to adjust the plurality of different physiological features of the patient, as indicated by the multi-dimensional representation, relative to the one or more multi-dimensional representations of the state of healthy controls.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches a method and apparatus for determining the cerebral state of a patient with fast response. Vierto-Oja further teaches forming, from the patient data, a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]) by selecting a predetermined number of features corresponding to patient data corresponding to a physiological response of the patient to the electrical pulses, the features including a plurality of different physiological features of the patient (Features can be electrocardiac activity, electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc. as described in [0119].).
In combination with the comparisons disclosed by John, Vierto-Oja further teaches comparing the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient (Vierto-Oja [0117]; [0107]) to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls (John [0089]); and
to adjust the plurality of different physiological features of the patient (John [0078]), as indicated by the multi-dimensional representation (Vierto-Oja [0117]; [0107]), relative to the one or more multi-dimensional representations of the state of healthy controls (John [0089]).
14. Vierto-Oja teaches a similar pursuit to that of the instant application and John in teaching detecting the frequency distribution of signals, e.g. detecting delta, theta, alpha, beta, or gamma waves, as well as observing a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the comparing comprises:
calculating a distance metric that measures a distance between the representation of the state of the patient to a representation that is reflective of an average state from a population of health controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”; [0091]).
John is silent to the multi- dimensional representation of the state of the patient.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
In combination with the comparisons disclosed by John, Vierto-Oja teaches comparing the multi-dimensional representation (Vierto-Oja [0117]; [0107]) of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls (John [0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses a value of the calculated distance metric ([0089]; [0091]).
John is silent to providing output to a clinician reflecting a value of the calculated distance metric.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches providing output to a clinician ([0119]: “…produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include displaying calculated values to a clinician, as taught by Vierto-Oja, in order to alert the clinician to the state of the patient.
Regarding claim 4, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the distance metric ([0089]; [0091]) is a norm vector calculation ([0089]: “The [Brain State Vector] can be a vector computed as the difference between normative vector and an abnormal vector, or alternatively the BSV can be computed from z-scores and thus can be both statistically-based and normalized.”).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that automatically calculating one or more values for one or more stimulation parameters ([0091]: “The detection of network events can occur due to the evaluation of sensed data using treatment criteria and can occur automatically in the processor of the control subsystem of the [brain neuromodulation device].”) based on the distance metric ([0089]; [0091]).
Regarding amended claim 7, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses conducting an analysis to determine a patient systemic response to neurostimulation ([0070]: “The computer subsystem also contains circuitry to perform signal processing and statistics on the sensed data in order to guide therapy. Its components operate to provide sensing from implanted sensors and processing of the sensed data to deliver either electrical or pharmaceutical treatment.”; [0075]) that depends upon the distance metric ([0089]; [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the comparing comprises:
defining a boundary between representations of patients with a same or similar neurological condition as the patient and representations of health controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”).
John is silent to multi-dimensional representations of patients.
In combination with the comparisons disclosed by John, Vierto-Oja teaches defining a boundary between multi-dimensional representations of patients ([0117]; [0107]) with a same or similar neurological condition as the patient and multi-dimensional representations of health controls.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Regarding claim 10, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses representing the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient relative to one or more multi-dimensional representations of states of health controls (see claim 9).
John does not disclose providing a user interface display to a clinician.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches providing a user interface display to a clinician (display 318 in Fig. 11; [0119]: “…an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controls of John to include a graphical user interface or display screen in order to aid the clinician in neurostimulation parameter adjustment.
Regarding claim 11, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses a path graphical element representing changes to the state of the patient relative that were measured in response to multiple changes in stimulation parameters relative to one or more representations of states of health controls ([0089]).
John is silent to providing a user interface display to a clinician of a path graphical element representing changes to the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient relative that were measured in response to multiple changes in stimulation parameters relative to one or more multi- dimensional representations of states of health controls.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches providing a user interface display to a clinician (display 318 in Fig. 11; [0119]; [0107]) of a path graphical element representing changes to the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controls of John to include a graphical user interface or display screen in order to aid the clinician in neurostimulation parameter adjustment. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Regarding claim 16, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John is silent to that the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient comprises respective features corresponding to cortical activity at respective locations with low theta, high theta, alpha, beta, and gamma frequency bands.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches that the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]) comprises respective features corresponding to cortical activity at respective locations ([0009]: “The biopotential electrical signals are usually obtained by a pair, or plurality of pairs, of electrodes placed on the patient's scalp at locations designated by a recognized protocol and a set, or a plurality of sets or channels, of electrical signals are obtained from the electrodes. These signals are amplified and filtered. The recorded signals comprise an electroencephalogram or EEG.”) with low theta, high theta, alpha, beta, and gamma frequency bands (Fig. 1; [0077]-[0079]; multiple frequency bands are mentioned, such as in [0095]).
Vierto-Oja teaches a similar pursuit to that of the instant application and John in teaching detecting the frequency distribution of signals, e.g. detecting delta, theta, alpha, beta, or gamma waves, as well as observing a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses establishing a communication connection between a patient device and a clinician device for a remote programming session ([0074]: “It should be noted that in conceivable circumstances, such as a multi-bed intensive care unit or coma ward, there might be a central station that remotely communicates with the processors of multiple BNDs which are treating multiple patients.”) to provide the neurostimulation therapy to the patient ([0142]: “The linked rules and the protocols can be contained within a database of the BND, can be adjusted by the medical personnel or patient using the external patient programmer.”).
Regarding claim 18, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses establishing a communication connection between a patient device and a clinician device for an in-person programming session to provide the neurostimulation therapy to the patient ([0074]: “It should be noted that in conceivable circumstances, such as a multi-bed intensive care unit or coma ward, there might be a central station that remotely communicates with the processors of multiple BNDs which are treating multiple patients.”; [0142]: “The linked rules and the protocols can be contained within a database of the BND, can be adjusted by the medical personnel or patient using the external patient programmer.”).
Regarding claim 19, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses conducting an automatic adjustment of stimulation parameters (step 110 “modify treatment in Fig. 2A) across respective parameter ranges for neurostimulation of the patient while repetitively performing the forming the representation of a state of the patient and comparing the of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”).
John is silent to the multi- dimensional representation of the state of the patient.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
In combination with the comparisons disclosed by John, Vierto-Oja teaches comparing the multi-dimensional representation (Vierto-Oja [0117]; [0107]) of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls (John [0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Regarding claim 20, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the automatic adjustment of stimulation parameters comprising adjusting pulse amplitude, pulse width, pulse frequency parameters, and electrode polarity parameters ([0134]: “It is obvious that the linked rules can be applied to any characteristic of the stimulation protocol, including pulse width, pulse frequency, pulse shape, stimulation time, frequency, voltage, current, and any other stimulation characteristic that determines the treatment stimulation.”). While pulse amplitude and electrode polarity parameters are not directly described by John, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that these parameters would be included in the phrase “…any other stimulation characteristic that determines the treatment stimulation.” ([0134]).
Regarding new claim 22, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses after programming the implantable pulse generator ([0050]: “…may include at least one pulse generator…”) of the patient to operate according to the one or more adjusted parameters (“Modify treatment” 110 in Fig. 2A; [0078]: “…modulation parameters are adjusted 110…”), determining a change ([0089]; [0091]) in the multi-dimensional representation; and
…the change in the representation relative to the one or more representations of the state of healthy controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”; [0091]).
However, Vierto-Oja teaches determining a change in the multi-dimensional representation ([0119]; [0107]); and
providing a graphical display (display 318 in Fig. 11; [0119]; [0107]) of the change in the multi-dimensional representation relative to the one or more multi-dimensional representations of the state of healthy controls ([0119]; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controls of John to include initiating a graphical display of the change in the multi-dimensional representation relative to the one or more multi-dimensional representations of the state of healthy controls. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively display a change in a multi-dimensional representation.
Regarding new claim 23, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the representation of the state of the patient includes a first point representing, within a multi-dimensional space, the plurality of different physiological features of the patient, wherein the one or more representations of the state of the healthy controls include a second point representing, within the multi-dimensional space, the state of the healthy controls, and wherein a distance between the first point and the second point represents the state of the patient relative to the state of the healthy controls ([0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”; [0091]).
John is silent to the multi- dimensional representation of the state of the patient.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
In combination with the comparisons disclosed by John, Vierto-Oja teaches comparing the multi-dimensional representation (Vierto-Oja [0117]; [0107]) of a state of the patient to one or more multi-dimensional representations of a state of healthy controls (John [0089]: “With respect to evaluating treatment of the brain networks 108, evaluation can occur by comparing sensed data to reference data, which can be normative data, with respect to treatment criteria.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the historical comparisons of John with the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient taught by John in order to effectively adjust the stimulation parameters applied to a patient.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the John/Vierto-Oja combination further in view of Pappa (NASA Technical Memorandum 109066).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses that the analysis to determine a patient systemic response and characterizing an expected patient response to stimulation ([0091]: “The treatment criteria used to evaluate sensed data with respect to network events can utilize simple thresholds, statistical criteria, population or self-norm data, and may rely upon the output of modeling algorithms which compare the results of the modeling of current data to target values for the model, to see if the treatment criteria have been met.”).
The John/Vierto-Oja combination does not disclose an eigenvalue realization algorithm (ERA).
However, Pappa teaches a methodology of using ERA for structural modal identification and minimum-order system realization. Pappa teaches an eigenvalue realization algorithm (pg. 1, Section 1.1: “The Eigensystem Realization Algorithm (ERA) is a multiple-input, multiple-output, time domain technique for structural modal identification and minimum-order system realization. The name Eigensystem Realization Algorithm reflects the combination of modal testing technology involving the identification of structural eigenvalues and eigenvectors (natural frequencies, damping, mode shapes, and modal masses) and system realization theory involving the construction of state-space models [A,B,C,D] for modern control design. ERA was introduced in 1984 by the author and Dr. Jer-Nan Juang as a tool for system identification of future large space structures.”).
The instant application’s Specification states that “the eigenvalue system characterization approach …be employed to select stimulation parameters and/or stimulation pattern”, as well calculating “the A, B, C, D matrix of the state space equation through system identification operations”, so it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the John/Vierto-Oja combination’s analysis to determine a patient systemic response with the eigenvalue realization algorithm of Pappa to characterize an expected patient response to stimulation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the John/Vierto-Oja combination further in view of Moffitt (US 2011/0093045) (cited previously).
Regarding claim 12, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, the John/Vierto-Oja combination does not disclose that the neurostimulation therapy is selected from the listing consisting of: spinal cord stimulation, dorsal root ganglion stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, cortical stimulation, and deep brain stimulation.
However, Moffitt teaches that the neurostimulation therapy could be selected from the listing consisting of: spinal cord stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, and cortical stimulation ([0040]: “…the present invention may be used as part of a spinal cord stimulator, …a stimulator configured to produce coordinated limb movement, a cortical stimulator, peripheral nerve stimulator, …or in any other neural stimulator configured to treat urinary incontinence, sleep apnea, shoulder subluxation, headache, etc.”). Moffitt additionally teaches deep brain stimulation ([0019]: “FIG. 1 is a plan view of an embodiment of a deep brain stimulation (DBS) system.”).
While Moffitt does not explicitly teach dorsal root ganglion stimulation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that this is implied along with Moffitt teaching spinal cord stimulation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the John/Vierto-Oja combination’s modulation of brain networks to further include the neurostimulation therapies taught by Moffitt.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the John/Vierto-Oja combination further in view of De Ridder (US 8682441) (cited previously).
Regarding amended claim 13, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John discloses wherein the patient is a chronic pain patient ([0060]: “In the treatment of some types of pain, treatment can be provided to block ascending signals so that these do not reach the areas of the brain which are responsible for the subjective sensation of pain...”) and the multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient comprises a first patient feature ([0124]: “The stimulation can be applied, for example, to a network including one or more of the hippocampus, insula, right middle temporal gyrus, occipital cortex, temporal cortex, hypothalamus, anterior pituitary, posterior pituitary, and right posterior temporal lobe.”; Note that insula is a synonym for the insular cortex.), a second patient, and a third patient feature ([0081]: “…functional imaging data may used to identify and evaluate the brain networks of a patient before and during treatment.”; [0041]: “…functional neuroimaging can include techniques such as electroencephalography (EEG)…”).
John is silent to the multi-dimensional representation of the state of the patient.
However, Vierto-Oja teaches a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation.
The John/Vierto-Oja combination does not disclose a correspondence to a dorsolateral prefrontal cortex (DLPFC) location or a correspondence to a medial prefrontal cortex location..
However, De Ridder teaches a correspondence to a dorsolateral prefrontal cortex (DLPFC) location ([col. 6, li. 10-15]: “…brain tissue also includes cortical targets, for example, auditory cortex, prefrontal cortex, the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex, the ventromedial prefrontal cortex, the cingulate cortex, subcallosal area, anterior cingulate cortex, the subgenual anterior cingulate cortex, the motor cortex and the somatosensory cortex.”) and a correspondence to a medial prefrontal cortex location ([col. 6, li. 10-15]: “…brain tissue also includes cortical targets, for example, auditory cortex, prefrontal cortex, the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex, the ventromedial prefrontal cortex, the cingulate cortex, subcallosal area, anterior cingulate cortex, the subgenual anterior cingulate cortex, the motor cortex and the somatosensory cortex.”). De Ridder further discusses a pain treatment context ([col. 16, li. 42-44]: “…the neuromodulation method described herein is utilized to treat a subject suffering from or suspected of suffering from pain.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the John/Vierto-Oja combination to include De Ridder’s utilizing of patient features corresponding to a DLPFC location and a medial prefrontal cortex location in order to properly support patient pain management.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the John/Vierto-Oja combination further in view of Poore (US 5697959).
Regarding amended claim 21, in view of the John/Vierto-Oja combination, John is silent to that the multi-dimensional representation includes a plurality of axes, and further comprising receiving clinician input indicating assignment of at least one physiological feature of the plurality of different physiological features of the patient to a respective axis of the plurality of axes.
Vierto-Oja teaches a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient ([0119]: “Artifact detector 314 detects artifacts arising from electrocardiac activity, and other sources. The output of artifact detector 314 is connected to computational unit 316 which carries out the steps of the methods described above and shown in FIGS. 6 and 8 and produces an output of the type shown in FIGS. 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 in display 318. Or, the information may be presented in display 318 in numerical form. Display 318 may also display other physiological data, such as electrocardiographic data, breath rate, pulse, blood pressure, etc., obtained from other monitors.”; [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of John to include a multi-dimensional representation of a state of the patient in order to monitor a patient’s physiological responses to electrical stimulation.
However, the John/Vierto-Oja combination is silent to that the multi-dimensional representation includes a plurality of axes, and further comprising receiving clinician input indicating assignment of at least one physiological feature of the plurality of different physiological features of the patient to a respective axis of the plurality of axes.
Poore teaches a method and system for analyzing and displaying complex pacing event records. Poore further teaches a plurality of axes, and further comprising receiving clinician input indicating assignment of at least one physiological feature of the plurality of different physiological features of the patient to a respective axis of the plurality of axes ([col. 19, li. 4-14]: “The user also selects the parameter or parameters to be displayed along the vertical axis by selecting the desired parameters from the parameter selection table 324 with a pointing cursor 346. As seen in FIGS. 7 and 8, the choice of parameters to be displayed is made from a relatively large selection, but advantageously, the presentation of the graphical data is done in a consistent, and easily comprehensible format for all the available parameters. Additional or different parameters are indicated by simply selecting and/or deselecting the various parameters using the pointing cursor.”).
Poore teaches a similar pursuit to that of the John/Vierto-Oja combination and the instant application in displaying physiologic features of a patient to a clinician. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the John/Vierto-Oja combination to include an adaptive display for the clinician to choose at least one physiological feature of a patient to guide the clinician’s judgement on patient treatment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Dullen (US 10, 376, 203).
/M.G.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796