DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Lee discloses in [0070] wherein each of the inclination angles θ1 may be different from each other.
Lee [0070] (reproduced in its entirety):
The insulating layer 110 according to the current exemplary embodiment has a partially depressed portion. The partially depressed portion may, as shown in FIG. 2, expose some of a top surface of the passivation layer 105. A side surface connecting the partially depressed portion of the insulating layer 110 to the other portion of the insulating layer 110 that is not depressed may form the first inclined portion 120. In the current exemplary embodiment, the first inclined portion 120 has a first inclination angle θ1, and the first inclination angle θ1 may be an acute angle, i.e., greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees. The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other. (emphasis added).
Lee further discloses in [0075] wherein the inclination angles of the pixel defining layer may be “different from” the first inclination angle θ1, or may be “substantially the same or similar” to that of the first inclination angle θ1, wherein “substantially the same or similar” is defined as a difference greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees.
Lee [0075] (reproduced in its entirety):
An opening 132 exposing some of the first electrode 125 is formed in the pixel defining layer 130. A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. (emphasis added)
If each of the inclination angles θ1 depicted in FIG. 1 are different from each other as disclosed in [0070] of Lee, and if each of the inclination angles of the inclined structures of the side surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130 in each of the pixel areas depicted in FIG. 1 are different from each of the inclination angles θ1 as disclosed in [0075] of Lee, then the “distances” and “widths” as defined by claims 1, 11, 16, and 19, even measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode as required by those claims, would be different between each individual pixel area, and thus render each of claims 1, 11, 16, and 19 unpatentable over Lee. For ease of understanding, the Examiner has provided an annotated version of Lee FIG. 1, below:
Annotated Lee FIG. 1
Analogous rejections of claims 2-23 use the same interpretation regarding θ2 and θ1 to render each of Applicant’s claims unpatentable over Lee.
Applicant states:
There is no indication whatsoever in Lee that that the side surface of pixel defining layer 130 may have a slope different from the slope of the insulating layer in different subpixels belonging to a single pixel. To the contrary, Fig. 1 of Lee clearly shows that the side surface of pixel defining layer 130 all have the same slope as the slope of the insulating layer in the different subpixels belonging to a single pixel. In addition, even assuming arguendo that this statement in paragraph [0075] of Lee somehow suggests that the side surface of pixel defining layer 130 may have a slope different from the slope of the insulating layer in the different subpixels belonging to a single pixel, which Applicant clearly disagrees with, that still does not necessarily mean that the distance between a side surface of the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank, or a width of the bank, is different in each of the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel as variously recited in claims 1, 11, 16, and 19.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 10 March 2026) at 9. The Examiner respectfully notes that Lee expressly states that the inclination angles θ1 in each of the pixel areas may be different from each other, and that the inclination angles of the side surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130 may be different from the inclination angles θ1 in [0070] and [0075], explained above. In order to promote clarity of the record and prevent any misinterpretation of what Lee actually discloses, [0070] and [0075] of Lee each appear in their entirety, above, for Applicant’s ease of reference.
Applicant further states that “[t]he statement in paragraph [0075] of Lee merely indicates that that the side surface of pixel defining layer 130 may have a slope different from the slope of the insulating layer in a single sub-pixel.” Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 10 March 2026) at 9. The Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s assertion is entirely unsupported, and various portions of Lee, including FIG. 1 and [0075] contradict Applicant’s assertion. FIG. 1 of Lee clearly depicts wherein the pixel defining layer 130 is disposed in each of the pixel areas. Further, shown in FIG. 1, while the reference arrow for the opening 132 only appears in the rightmost sub-pixel, there are clearly a plurality of openings 132 to which [0075] is also referring to as the opening 132, in which the pixel defining layer 130 may also have inclination angles that are different from the first inclination angle θ1. This is further supported by the fact that in [0076], Lee states “[a]n area where the opening 132 of the pixel defining layer 130 is disposed corresponds to the emission area DA . . . .” Shown in FIG. 1, there are three emission areas DA shown for each of a red, blue, and green sub-pixel of the pixel, and thus there must be at least three openings 132 defining said emission areas DA, to which [0075] may also refer. See Final Rejection (mailed 19 December 2025) at 5.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments filed 13 October 2025 are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 5: claim 1 recites “wherein a distance, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, between a side surface of the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank, is different between each individual sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel.” “A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.” MPEP § 608.01(n)(III). Thus, claim 5, which depends from claim 1 and recites “wherein the second distance is equal to the third distance” is not a proper dependent claim, even though it places further limitations on the remaining elements or adds further elements.
Regarding claim 14: claim 11 recites “wherein a width of the bank, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, corresponding to a side surface of the protruding portion is different between each individual sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel.” “A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.” MPEP § 608.01(n)(III). Thus, claim 14, which depends from claim 11 and recites “wherein the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion in the green sub-pixel is equal to the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion in the blue sub-pixel” is not a proper dependent claim, even though it places further limitations on the remaining elements or adds further elements.
Regarding claim 21: claim 19 recites “the first part of the organic layer having a smaller width than the first portion of the first electrode by a distance, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, that is different among each individual light emitting element of the plurality of light emitting elements corresponding to the subpixels of the pixel . . . .” “A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.” MPEP § 608.01(n)(III). Thus, claim 21, which depends from claim 19 and recites “wherein the distance in the second light emitting element is equal to . . . the distance in the third light emitting element” is not a proper dependent claim, even though it places further limitations on the remaining elements or adds further elements.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0125740 (filed Oct. 26, 2016) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee discloses: A display device (FIG. 1, OLED display 10, [0056]) comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 1, first substrate 50, [0057]) including a plurality of sub-pixels (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first substrate 50 includes red, blue, and green pixel areas, [0094]) of a pixel (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the red, blue, and green pixel areas form a pixel);
an overcoating layer (FIG. 1, depicting an overcoating layer comprising a passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110 on the substrate 50, [0068]) on the substrate and including a base portion (FIG. 1, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the passivation layer 105 is a base portion) and a protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the in insulating layer 110 is a protruding portion);
a first electrode (FIG. 1, first electrode 125, [0069]) covering the base portion and the protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 covers the passivation layer 105 and the insulating layer 110);
a bank (FIG. 1, pixel defining layer 130, [0073]) on a part of the first electrode (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 130 is on a part of the first electrode 125);
an organic layer (FIG. 1, organic element layer 135, [0076]) on the first electrode and the bank (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 is on the first electrode 125 and the pixel defining layer 130); and
a second electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 145, [0078]) on the organic layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 is disposed on the organic element layer 135),
wherein a distance, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, between a side surface of the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank, is different between each individual sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the electrode 125, a distance between a side surface e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130 would be different for each of the plurality of pixel areas in a direction running parallel to the first substrate 50).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first substrate 50 includes red, blue, and green pixel areas) include a first sub-pixel (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., one of the three pixel areas), a second sub-pixel (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., another one of the three pixel areas), and a third sub-pixel (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., yet another one of the three pixel areas),
wherein the side surface of the protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the insulating layer 110 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110) and the side surface of the bank (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the pixel defining layer 130 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130) of the first sub-pixel are spaced apart from each other at a first distance (FIG. 1, depicting wherein in the one pixel area, the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110 is spaced apart from the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130 a first distance equal to a thickness of the first electrode 125 and a thickness of the pixel defining layer 130 at that particular point),
the side surface of the protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the insulating layer 110 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110) and the side surface of the bank (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the pixel defining layer 130 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130) of the second sub-pixel are spaced apart from each other at a second distance (FIG. 1, depicting wherein in the another pixel area, the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110 is spaced apart from the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130 a second distance equal to a thickness of the first electrode 125 and a thickness of the pixel defining layer 130 at that particular point), and
the side surface of the protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the insulating layer 110 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110) and the side surface of the bank (FIG. 1, depicting wherein for each of the pixel areas, the pixel defining layer 130 includes a portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130) of the third sub-pixel are spaced apart from each other at a third distance (FIG. 1, depicting wherein in the yet another pixel area, the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the insulating layer 110 is spaced apart from the portion of a side surface corresponding to the angled surfaces of the pixel defining layer 130 a third distance equal to a thickness of the first electrode 125 and a thickness of the pixel defining layer 130 at that particular point).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance and the third distance (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, one of the pixel areas depicted in FIG. 1 would have a distance, which may be considered a first distance, that is greater than either of the distances of the other pixel areas).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses wherein the second distance is greater than the third distance (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, one of the pixel areas depicted in FIG. 1 would have a distance, which may be considered a second distance, that is greater than one distance, which may be a third distance, and less than another distance, which may be a first distance).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses wherein the second distance is equal to the third distance (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.” Accordingly, if one of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas is different from the others, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, one of the pixel areas depicted in FIG. 1 would have a distance, which may be considered a second distance, that is equal to another distance, which may be a third distance, corresponding to the pixel areas in which the first inclination angles θ1 are the same).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses wherein the first sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit red light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), the second sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit green light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and the third sub-pixel is a blue sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit blue light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses wherein the distance (FIG. 1, i.e., a distance between a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130) is a distance in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate (FIG. 1; for instance, in a case where the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 is greater than the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110 for each of the pixel areas, a distance between a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130 would vary for each of the plurality of pixel areas, including in a direction running parallel to the first substrate 50).
Regarding independent claim 11, Lee discloses: A display device (FIG. 1, OLED display 10, [0056]) comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 1, first substrate 50, [0057]) including a plurality of sub-pixels (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first substrate 50 includes red, blue, and green pixel areas, [0094]) of a pixel (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the red, blue, and green pixel areas form a pixel);
an overcoating layer (FIG. 1, depicting an overcoating layer comprising a passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110 on the substrate 50, [0068]) on the substrate and including a base portion (FIG. 1, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the passivation layer 105 is a base portion) and a protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the in insulating layer 110 is a protruding portion);
a first electrode (FIG. 1, first electrode 125, [0069]) covering the base portion and the protruding portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 covers the passivation layer 105 and the insulating layer 110);
a bank (FIG. 1, pixel defining layer 130, [0073]) on a part of the first electrode (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 130 is on a part of the first electrode 125);
an organic layer (FIG. 1, organic element layer 135, [0076]) on the first electrode and the bank (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 is on the first electrode 125 and the pixel defining layer 130); and
a second electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 145, [0078]) on the organic layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 is disposed on the organic element layer 135),
wherein a width of the bank, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, corresponding to a side surface of the protruding portion is different between each of the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the electrode 125, a width of the pixel defining layer 130 would be different for each of the plurality of pixel areas in a direction running parallel to the first substrate 50).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels include a red sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit red light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), a green sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit green light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and a blue sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit blue light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and wherein the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion is the greatest in the red sub-pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the electrode 125, a width of the pixel defining layer 130 would be different for each of the plurality of pixel areas, including the pixel area emitting red light).
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels include a red sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit red light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), a green sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit green light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and a blue sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit blue light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and wherein the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion is the smallest in the blue sub-pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the electrode 125, a width of the pixel defining layer 130 would be different for each of the plurality of pixel areas, including the pixel area emitting blue light).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels include a red sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit red light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), a green sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit green light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and a blue sub-pixel (FIGS. 1/4, depicting wherein each of the pixel areas includes a light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145, wherein the light emitting element may emit blue light; [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and wherein the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion in the green sub-pixel is equal to the width of the bank corresponding to the side surface of the protruding portion in the blue sub-pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if one of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas is different from the others, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, measured from a same height from a bottom-most surface of the electrode 125, a width of the pixel defining layer 130 would be equal to another distance, corresponding to the pixel areas in which the first inclination angles are the same, including the pixel areas emitting blue light and green light).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses wherein the width of the bank is a distance in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate (FIG. 1; [0072]: “[T]he inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 is different from the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110, a width of the pixel defining layer 130 corresponding to a side surface of (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 would vary for each of the plurality of pixel areas, including in a direction running parallel to the first substrate 50).
Regarding independent claim 16, Lee discloses: A display device (FIG. 1, OLED display 10, [0056]) comprising:
a substrate (FIGS. 1-3, first substrate 50, [0057]) including a plurality of sub-pixels (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the first substrate 50 includes red, blue, and green pixel areas, [0094]) of a pixel (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the red, blue, and green pixel areas form a pixel);
an overcoating layer (FIGS. 1-3, depicting an overcoating layer comprising a passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110 on the substrate 50, [0068]) on the substrate and having a concave portion (FIGS. 1-3, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the passivation layer 105 and the insulating layer 110 form a concave shape);
a first electrode (FIGS. 1-3, first electrode 125, [0069]) covering the concave portion (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 covers the passivation layer 105 and the insulating layer 110);
a bank (FIGS. 1-3, pixel defining layer 130, [0073]) configured to expose a part of the first electrode through an opening (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 130 includes an opening 132 exposing a portion of the first electrode 125 on the passivation layer 105);
an organic layer (FIGS. 1-3, organic element layer 135, [0076]) on the first electrode (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 is on the first electrode 125 and the pixel defining layer 130); and
a second electrode (FIGS. 1-3, second electrode 145, [0078]) on the organic layer (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 is disposed on the organic element layer 135),
wherein in each of at least two sub-pixels of the pixel, among the plurality of sub-pixels of the pixel, a value obtained by subtracting a width of the opening from a width of the concave portion is different from each other between each individual sub-pixel of the at least two sub-pixels of the pixel, both the width of the opening and the width of the concave portion measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode (FIGS. 1-3; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 is different from the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110, and the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110 is varied among the pixel areas, the difference between the width of the opening 132 in the pixel defining layer 130 and the width of the concave portion of the insulating layer 110, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode 125, would vary for each of the plurality of pixel areas).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses wherein the concave portion (FIGS. 1-3, depicting the overcoating layer comprising passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, wherein the passivation layer 105 and the insulating layer 110 form a concave shape) includes an inclined surface (FIGS. 1-3, depicting wherein the insulating layer 110 includes an inclined surface), and wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (depicting wherein the first substrate 50 includes red, blue, and green pixel areas) includes: a first light-emitting area corresponding to the opening (FIGS. 1-3, depicting a first light emitting area corresponding to the opening 132 in the pixel defining layer 130); and a second light-emitting area corresponding to the inclined surface (FIGS. 1-3, depicting a second light emitting area corresponding to the inclined surface of the insulating layer 110).
Regarding claim 18, Lee further discloses wherein at least two sub-pixels, among the plurality of sub-pixels, have different distances between the first light-emitting area and the second light-emitting area (FIGS. 1-3; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 is different from the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110, and the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110 is varied among the pixel areas, the difference between the width of the opening 132 in the pixel defining layer 130 and the width of the concave portion would vary for each of the plurality of pixel areas).
Regarding independent claim 19, Lee discloses: A display device (FIG. 1, OLED display 10, [0056]) comprising:
an overcoating layer (FIG. 1, depicting an overcoating layer comprising a passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110 on the substrate 50, [0068]) on a substrate (FIG. 1, first substrate 50, [0057]); and
a plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 1, depicting a plurality of light emitting elements disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, each including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145) corresponding to subpixels of a pixel (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the red, blue, and green pixel areas including the light emitting elements form a pixel) disposed on the overcoating layer, each of the light emitting elements including a first electrode (FIG. 1, first electrode 125, [0069]), an organic layer (FIG. 1, organic element layer 135, [0076]) on the first electrode (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 is on the first electrode 125 and the pixel defining layer 130), and a second electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 145, [0078]) on the organic layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 is disposed on the organic element layer 135),
wherein the first electrode (FIG. 1, first electrode 125) includes a first portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 includes a first central portion), a second portion that is on a first side of the first portion and inclined with respect to the first portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 includes second and third portions on either side of the first central portion that are inclined with respect to the first central portion), and a third portion that is on a second side of the first portion and inclined with respect to the first portion (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 includes second and third portions on either side of the first central portion that are inclined with respect to the first central portion);
wherein the organic layer (FIG. 1, organic element layer 135) includes a first part (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 includes a first central part), a second part that is on a first side of the first part and inclined with respect to the first part (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 includes second and third parts on either side of the first central part that are inclined with respect to the first central part), and a third part that is on a second side of the first part and inclined with respect to the first part (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 includes second and third parts on either side of the first central part that are inclined with respect to the first central part),
the first part of the organic layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the organic element layer 135 includes a first central part having a first width) having a smaller width than the first portion of the first electrode (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first electrode 125 includes a first central portion having a second width that is greater than the first width) by a distance, measured at a same height from a bottom-most surface of the first electrode, that is different among each individual light emitting element of the plurality of light emitting elements corresponding to the subpixels of the pixel (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if the first inclination angles θ1 of the insulating layer 110 are each different from each other in each of the pixel areas, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, keeping the height of the insulating layer 110 constant, the width of the first central portion of the first electrode 125 would vary such that the difference between the width of the first central part of the organic element layer 135 and the first central portion of the first electrode 125 would vary among each individual light emitting element the pixel areas);
and wherein the second electrode (FIG. 1, second electrode 145) includes a first section (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 includes a first central section), a second section that is on a first side of the first section and inclined with respect to the first section (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 includes second and third sections on either side of the first central section that are inclined with respect to the first central section), and a third section that is on a second side of the first section and inclined with respect to the first section (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the second electrode 145 includes second and third sections on either side of the first central section that are inclined with respect to the first central section).
Regarding claim 20, Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of light emitting elements include a first light emitting element (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., one of the three light emitting elements), a second light emitting element (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., another one of the three light emitting elements), and a third light emitting element (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., yet another one of the three light emitting elements), and wherein the distance in the first light emitting element is greater than the distance in the second light emitting element and the third light emitting element (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, one of the light emitting elements depicted in FIG. 1 would have a distance, which may be considered a first distance, that is greater than either of the distances of the other pixel areas).
Regarding claim 21, Lee further discloses wherein the distance in the second light emitting element is equal to or greater than the distance in the third light emitting element (FIG. 1; [0070]: “The first inclination angles θ1 of the three respective emission areas DA illustrated in FIG. 1 are illustrated to be the same as each other, but in order to improve color shift associated with a viewing angle, the inclination angles of the respective emission areas may be designed to be different from each other.”; [0075]: “A side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 may have an inclined structure, and an inclination angle of the inclined structure may be substantially the same or similar to the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110. A range being substantially the same or similar may correspond to a difference being greater than 0 degrees and smaller than about 5 degrees. Unlike the exemplary embodiment described above, the inclination angle of the pixel defining layer 130 having the inclined structure may be different from the first inclination angle θ1 regardless of the first inclination angle θ1 of the insulating layer 110.”; Accordingly, if each of the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas are different from each other, and the side surface of the pixel defining layer 130 formed by the opening 132 has an inclined structure having an inclination angle different from the first inclination angles θ1 of the respective emission areas, one of the light emitting elements depicted in FIG. 1 would have a distance, which may be considered a second distance, that is greater than one distance, which may be a third distance, and less than another distance, which may be a first distance).
Regarding claim 22, Lee further discloses wherein the first light emitting element (FIGS. 1/4, depicting a leftmost light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145) emits red light (FIGS. 1/4, [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), the second light emitting element (FIGS. 1/4, depicting a center light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145) emits green light (FIGS. 1/4, [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”), and the third light emitting element (FIGS. 1/4, depicting a rightmost light emitting element disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145) emits blue light (FIGS. 1/4, [0087]: “While not being limited thereto, the organic emission layer 1354 may include three layers that respectively emit different colors, and in this case, the three layers may respectively emit red, green, and blue or blue, yellow, and blue.”).
Regarding claim 23, Lee further discloses wherein each of the organic elements (FIG. 1, depicting a plurality of organic elements disposed on the passivation layer 105 and insulating layer 110, each including a first electrode 125, an organic element layer 135, and a second electrode 145) further includes banks (FIG. 1, pixel defining layer 130, [0073]) disposed between the second portion of the first electrode and the second and third parts of the organic layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 130 is disposed between the second and third portions of the first electrode 125 on either side of the first central portion of the first electrode 125 that are inclined with respect to the first central portion and the second and third parts of the organic element layer 135 on either side of the first central part of the organic element layer 135 that are inclined with respect to the first central part), at least parts of the banks inclined with respect to the first portion of the first electrode (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the parts of the pixel defining layer 130 disposed between the second and third portions of the first electrode 125 on either side of the first central portion of the first electrode 125 that are inclined with respect to the first central portion and the second and third parts of the organic element layer 135 on either side of the first central part of the organic element layer 135 that are inclined with respect to the first central part are inclined with respect to the first central portion of the first electrode 125).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Korean Patent Publication No. KR102087102B1 (published April 20, 2020) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the first distance is 2.5 μm or more.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a display device including a bank, and further wherein: “In addition, since the first subpixel SP1 and the second subpixel SP2 emit light of different colors, the first inclined plane included in the first subpixel SP1 in consideration of the characteristics of the light of the different colors. An angle θ and an angle θ of the first inclined surface included in the second subpixel SP2 may be differently adjusted. In addition, the distance d between the second inclined plane and the third inclined plane may also be adjusted to be different from the value measured in the first subpixel SP1 and the value measured in the second subpixel SP2. The height h of the first inclined surface may also be adjusted to be different from that included in the first subpixel SP1 and that included in the second subpixel SP2. As described above, when θ, d, and h are adjusted differently according to the properties of light emitted from each subpixel, light extraction efficiency may be further maximized.” (KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). Thus, noted in Kim, the distance d (i.e., the thickness of the bank BNK, and thus the distance between the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank) is a result-effective variable for optimizing the light extraction efficiency of a subpixel/pixel area.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the distance between a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130 in the red pixel area, identified by Kim as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a distance of 2.5 μm or more in order to achieve a maximum light extraction efficiency of the pixel area, as disclosed in Kim (See KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the second distance is 1.5 μm to 2.5 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a display device including a bank, and further wherein: “In addition, since the first subpixel SP1 and the second subpixel SP2 emit light of different colors, the first inclined plane included in the first subpixel SP1 in consideration of the characteristics of the light of the different colors. An angle θ and an angle θ of the first inclined surface included in the second subpixel SP2 may be differently adjusted. In addition, the distance d between the second inclined plane and the third inclined plane may also be adjusted to be different from the value measured in the first subpixel SP1 and the value measured in the second subpixel SP2. The height h of the first inclined surface may also be adjusted to be different from that included in the first subpixel SP1 and that included in the second subpixel SP2. As described above, when θ, d, and h are adjusted differently according to the properties of light emitted from each subpixel, light extraction efficiency may be further maximized.” (KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). Thus, noted in Kim, the distance d (i.e., the thickness of the bank BNK, and thus the distance between the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank) is a result-effective variable for optimizing the light extraction efficiency of a subpixel/pixel area.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the distance between a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130 in the green pixel area, identified by Kim as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a distance of 1.5 μm to 2.5 μm in order to achieve a maximum light extraction efficiency of the pixel area, as disclosed in Kim (See KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the third distance is 1 μm to 2 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a display device including a plurality of subpixels configured to emit light of different colors (FIG. 4, first subpixel SP1, second subpixels SP2, and third subpixel SP3), further including bank (FIG. 4/6, depicting a display device including a bank BNK), and further wherein: “In addition, since the first subpixel SP1 and the second subpixel SP2 emit light of different colors, the first inclined plane included in the first subpixel SP1 in consideration of the characteristics of the light of the different colors. An angle θ and an angle θ of the first inclined surface included in the second subpixel SP2 may be differently adjusted. In addition, the distance d between the second inclined plane and the third inclined plane may also be adjusted to be different from the value measured in the first subpixel SP1 and the value measured in the second subpixel SP2. The height h of the first inclined surface may also be adjusted to be different from that included in the first subpixel SP1 and that included in the second subpixel SP2. As described above, when θ, d, and h are adjusted differently according to the properties of light emitted from each subpixel, light extraction efficiency may be further maximized.” (KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). Thus, noted in Kim, the distance d (i.e., the thickness of the bank BNK, and thus the distance between the protruding portion and a side surface of the bank) is a result-effective variable for optimizing the light extraction efficiency of a subpixel/pixel area.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the distance between a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the insulating layer 110 and a side surface (e.g., the sloped portion of the surface of) the pixel defining layer 130 in the blue pixel area, identified by Kim as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a distance of 1 μm to 2 μm in order to achieve a maximum light extraction efficiency of the pixel area, as disclosed in Kim (See KR102087102B1 Translation at 15). See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Conclusion
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813