DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/11/2016, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-28 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20240389106 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20240389106 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches a communication method, comprising: determining, by the first terminal apparatus, a third time-frequency resource based on the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 140–141, 155–156, These passages teach that the UE determines the applicable time and frequency domain resources based on received configuration/assignment information, combining candidate resources and indicated offsets/assignments to derive the operative transmission resource); and sending, by the first terminal apparatus, first data to the third terminal apparatus on the third time-frequency resource (Paragraph 148, 224, 238, These passages teach that, after determining the assigned time-frequency resources, the transmitting UE sends sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH transmission) to the receiving UE on the scheduled resources).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach detecting, by a first terminal apparatus, sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time- frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus; sending, by the first terminal apparatus, first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; receiving, by the first terminal apparatus, the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus.
However, Kalhan teaches detecting, by a first terminal apparatus, sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time- frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 13, 24, 26, 29, 32, These passages teach that a UE detects SCI (including staged SCI decoding) to sense channel usage and obtain a time-frequency resource, including resources already reserved/used); sending, by the first terminal apparatus, first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information (Paragraph 29, 31, These passages teach transmitting first information (e.g., first-stage SCI/forwarded signal) that indicates/alerts the receiver to obtain additional information (second-stage SCI)); receiving, by the first terminal apparatus, the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 32, 33, 36, These passages teach receiving second information (second-stage SCI) that explicitly indicates time-frequency resource information used to determine resources for data transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide detecting, by a first terminal apparatus, sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time- frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus; sending, by the first terminal apparatus, first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; receiving, by the first terminal apparatus, the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus as taught by Kalhan in the system of Li et al., so that it would improve sidelink resource selection and coordination by enabling a terminal apparatus to avoid conflicted resources, obtain dynamically indicated transmission resource information, and more reliably determine appropriate time-frequency resources for transmitting data to another terminal apparatus in a congested wireless communication environment.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. teaches the sending, by the first terminal apparatus, the first information to the third terminal apparatus comprises: sending, by the first terminal apparatus, first control information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first control information comprises first SCI and second SCI, the first SCI is first-stage SCI, the second SCI is second-stage SCI, and the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 97, 99, 224, 227, 231, 238, 241, these passages teach that the transmitting UE sends control information including two-stage SCI (first-stage and second-stage SCI), where the second-stage SCI is jointly scheduled with PSSCH and conveys the sidelink transmission information to the receiving UE).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teaches the first SCI further comprises a first field, and the first field indicates that the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 81, 96–97, 99, 133, 191, 238, 241, These passages teach that a first-stage SCI/DCI includes an explicit field (e.g., first stage PSCCH time domain resource allocation field or sidelink type indicator field) that indicates the presence and scheduling of a second-stage SCI).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. teaches the first information further comprises information indicating a data packet size of the first data, and the data packet 2 size of the first data is for determining the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 130, 145, 153, 156, 210, 213, 224, 227, 231, 238, 241, These passages teach that control information (DCI/SCI) includes transmission parameters such as MCS level and frequency/time resource width and assignments).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. teaches the third time-frequency resource is the second time-frequency resource, and the sending, by the first terminal apparatus, the first data to the third terminal apparatus comprises: sending, by the first terminal apparatus, the first data to the third terminal apparatus on the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 107, 224, 238, These passages teach that the scheduled time and frequency resource assigned by DCI is the same resource used by the transmitter UE to send sidelink data (PSSCH)).
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. teaches the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource available for sending data to the third terminal apparatus; or the second time-frequency resource comprises the time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 139, 140, 159, These passages teach that a scheduled time-frequency resource may be positively indicated as used for sidelink transmission (available for sending data) and that certain configured candidate resources may be skipped due to conflict and thus not used for transmission (unavailable for sending data)).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. teaches a communication method, comprising: detecting, by the third terminal apparatus, sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one fourth terminal apparatus to determine a second time-frequency resource, wherein the second time-frequency resource is for determining a third time-frequency resource for the first terminal apparatus to send data (Paragraph 221, 224, 238, These passages teach detecting SCI and using it to determine assigned time and frequency resources for sidelink transmission, where the determined resource assignment governs the time-frequency resource on which the first terminal apparatus sends data); and receiving, by the third terminal apparatus, first data from the first terminal apparatus on the third time-frequency resource (Paragraph 148, 152, 224, These passages teach that the receiver UE receives sidelink data from the transmitter UE on the scheduled time-frequency resources indicated by the scheduling information).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, by a third terminal apparatus, first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; sending, by the third terminal apparatus, the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource.
However, Kalhan teaches receiving, by a third terminal apparatus, first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information (Paragraph 25, 26, The receiving UE (forwarding UE) receives a signal from another UE containing resource-related information that initiates subsequent determination and forwarding of resource information); sending, by the third terminal apparatus, the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 5, 29, 32, The UE sends forwarded SCI containing the determined time-frequency resource information to another UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, by a third terminal apparatus, first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; sending, by the third terminal apparatus, the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource as taught by Kalhan in the system of Li et al., so that the sidelink communication system could improve coordination and reliability of resource selection and scheduling by enabling a UE to trigger, determine, and forward SCI-based time-frequency resource information for efficient sidelink data transmission between terminal apparatuses.
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teaches receiving, by the third terminal apparatus, the first information from the first terminal apparatus comprises: receiving, by the third terminal apparatus, first control information from the first terminal apparatus, wherein the first control information comprises first SCI and second SCI, the first SCI is first-stage SCI, the second SCI is second-stage SCI, and the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 99, 221, 238, These passages teach that a receiving UE (third terminal apparatus) receives sidelink control information from a transmitting UE, where the control information includes explicitly disclosed first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI, and the SCI (including the second-stage SCI associated with PSSCH/data scheduling) conveys the information used to determine sidelink transmission of data).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. teaches the first SCI further comprises a first field, and the first field indicates that the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 97, 221, 238, These passages teach that a first-stage SCI includes explicit DCI-indicated fields associated with scheduling and that a second-stage SCI is used in conjunction therewith to convey transmission information, such that the first-stage SCI field(s) indicate the presence and associated transmission of second-stage SCI carrying information for sidelink communication).
Regarding claim 10, Li et al. teaches the first information further comprises information indicating a data packet size of the first data, and the method further comprises: determining, by the third terminal apparatus, the second time-frequency resource based on a detection result of the detecting the SCI from the at least one fourth terminal apparatus, and the data packet size of the first data (Paragraph 130, 140, 145, 156, 224, 227, 231, These passages collectively teach that control information (SCI/DCI) carries transmission parameters including MCS (which defines transport block/data packet size) and explicit time-domain and frequency-domain resource assignments, and that upon detecting and decoding this SCI/DCI, the UE determines the scheduled time-frequency resource for the data based on the detected control information and the indicated transmission size parameters).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. teaches the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource available for sending data to the third terminal apparatus; or the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 40, 42, 44, 70, shows sidelink resources that can be scheduled/selected and used for data (available), or blocked/overlapped with S-SSB or multiplexing (unavailable)).
Regarding claim 12, Li et al. teaches the third time-frequency resource is determined based on a first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource, and the first time-frequency resource is determined by the first terminal apparatus by detecting SCI from at least one second terminal apparatus (Paragraph 70, 95, 99, 102, 108, 117, 121, teaches that a sidelink UE determines a first time-frequency resource by detecting SCI on PSCCH from another UE, and then derives further resources by combining that first resource with a second one (e.g., selecting interlaces, subchannels, or multiplexed slots) to form a third time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. teaches a first terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors for causing the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining a third time-frequency resource based on the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 140–141, 155–156, These passages teach that the UE determines the applicable time and frequency domain resources based on received configuration/assignment information, combining candidate resources and indicated offsets/assignments to derive the operative transmission resource); and sending first data to the third terminal apparatus on the third time-frequency resource (Paragraph 148, 224, 238, These passages teach that, after determining the assigned time-frequency resources, the transmitting UE sends sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH transmission) to the receiving UE on the scheduled resources).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach detecting sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus; sending first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; receiving the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus.
However, Kalhan teaches detecting sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 13, 24, 26, 29, 32, These passages teach that a UE detects SCI (including staged SCI decoding) to sense channel usage and obtain a time-frequency resource, including resources already reserved/used); sending first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information (Paragraph 29, 31, These passages teach transmitting first information (e.g., first-stage SCI/forwarded signal) that indicates/alerts the receiver to obtain additional information (second-stage SCI)); receiving the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 32, 33, 36, These passages teach receiving second information (second-stage SCI) that explicitly indicates time-frequency resource information used to determine resources for data transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide detecting sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one second terminal apparatus to determine a first time-frequency resource, wherein the first time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to a third terminal apparatus; sending first information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; receiving the second information from the third terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates a second time-frequency resource, and the second time-frequency resource is for determining a time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus as taught by Kalhan in the system of Li et al., so that it would improve sidelink resource selection and coordination by enabling a terminal apparatus to avoid conflicted resources, obtain dynamically indicated transmission resource information, and more reliably determine appropriate time-frequency resources for transmitting data to another terminal apparatus in a congested wireless communication environment.
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teaches sending the first information to the third terminal apparatus comprises: sending first control information to the third terminal apparatus, wherein the first control information comprises first SCI and second SCI, the first SCI is first-stage SCI, the second SCI is second-stage SCI, and the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 97, 99, 224, 227, 231, 238, 241, these passages teach that the transmitting UE sends control information including two-stage SCI (first-stage and second-stage SCI), where the second-stage SCI is jointly scheduled with PSSCH and conveys the sidelink transmission information to the receiving UE).
Regarding claim 15, Li et al. teaches the first SCI further comprises a first field, and the first field indicates that the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 81, 96–97, 99, 133, 191, 238, 241, These passages teach that a first-stage SCI/DCI includes an explicit field (e.g., first stage PSCCH time domain resource allocation field or sidelink type indicator field) that indicates the presence and scheduling of a second-stage SCI).
Regarding claim 16, Li et al. teaches the first information further comprises information indicating a data packet size of the first data, and the data packet size of the first data is for determining the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 130, 145, 153, 156, 210, 213, 224, 227, 231, 238, 241, These passages teach that control information (DCI/SCI) includes transmission parameters such as MCS level and frequency/time resource width and assignments).
Regarding claim 17, Li et al. teaches the third time-frequency resource is the second time-frequency resource, and sending the first data to the third terminal apparatus comprises: sending the first data to the third terminal apparatus on the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 107, 224, 238, These passages teach that the scheduled time and frequency resource assigned by DCI is the same resource used by the transmitter UE to send sidelink data (PSSCH)).
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. teaches the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource available for sending data to the third terminal apparatus; or the second time-frequency resource comprises the time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 139, 140, 159, These passages teach that a scheduled time-frequency resource may be positively indicated as used for sidelink transmission (available for sending data) and that certain configured candidate resources may be skipped due to conflict and thus not used for transmission (unavailable for sending data)).
Regarding claim 19, Li et al. teaches a third terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors for causing the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: detecting sidelink control information (SCI) from at least one fourth terminal apparatus to determine a second time-frequency resource, wherein the second time-frequency resource is for determining a third time-frequency resource for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 221, 224, 238, These passages teach detecting SCI and using it to determine assigned time and frequency resources for sidelink transmission, where the determined resource assignment governs the time-frequency resource on which the first terminal apparatus sends data); and receiving first data from the first terminal apparatus on the third time-frequency resource (Paragraph 148, 152, 224, These passages teach that the receiver UE receives sidelink data from the transmitter UE on the scheduled time-frequency resources indicated by the scheduling information).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach receiving first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; sending the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource.
However, Kalhan teaches receiving first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information (Paragraph 25, 26, The receiving UE (forwarding UE) receives a signal from another UE containing resource-related information that initiates subsequent determination and forwarding of resource information); sending the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource (Paragraph 5, 29, 32, The UE sends forwarded SCI containing the determined time-frequency resource information to another UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving first information from a first terminal apparatus, wherein the first information is for triggering determining of second information; sending the second information to the first terminal apparatus, wherein the second information indicates the second time-frequency resource as taught by Kalhan in the system of Li et al., so that the sidelink communication system could improve coordination and reliability of resource selection and scheduling by enabling a UE to trigger, determine, and forward SCI-based time-frequency resource information for efficient sidelink data transmission between terminal apparatuses.
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. teaches receiving the first information from the first terminal apparatus comprises: receiving first control information from the first terminal apparatus, wherein the first control information comprises first SCI and second SCI, the first SCI is first-stage SCI, the second SCI is second-stage SCI, and the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 99, 221, 238, These passages teach that a receiving UE (third terminal apparatus) receives sidelink control information from a transmitting UE, where the control information includes explicitly disclosed first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI, and the SCI (including the second-stage SCI associated with PSSCH/data scheduling) conveys the information used to determine sidelink transmission of data).
Regarding claim 21, Li et al. teaches the first SCI further comprises a first field, and the first field indicates that the second SCI comprises the first information (Paragraph 96, 97, 221, 238, These passages teach that a first-stage SCI includes explicit DCI-indicated fields associated with scheduling and that a second-stage SCI is used in conjunction therewith to convey transmission information, such that the first-stage SCI field(s) indicate the presence and associated transmission of second-stage SCI carrying information for sidelink communication).
Regarding claim 22, Li et al. teaches the first information further comprises information indicating a data packet size of the first data, and the operations further comprise: determining the second time-frequency resource based on a detection result of the SCI detected from the at least one fourth terminal apparatus, and the data packet size of the first data (Paragraph 130, 140, 145, 156, 224, 227, 231, These passages collectively teach that control information (SCI/DCI) carries transmission parameters including MCS (which defines transport block/data packet size) and explicit time-domain and frequency-domain resource assignments, and that upon detecting and decoding this SCI/DCI, the UE determines the scheduled time-frequency resource for the data based on the detected control information and the indicated transmission size parameters).
Regarding claim 23, Li et al. teaches the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource available for sending data to the third terminal apparatus; or the second time-frequency resource comprises a time-frequency resource unavailable for sending data to the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 139–140, 159, 224, These passages teach that time-frequency resources are explicitly configured and dynamically indicated for sidelink data transmission (available resources), and further teach that certain configured time resources may be overridden or skipped due to slot format conflicts).
Regarding claim 24, Li et al. teaches the third time-frequency resource is determined based on a first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource, and the first time-frequency resource is determined by the first terminal apparatus by detecting SCI from at least one second terminal apparatus (Paragraph 114, 139–140, 155–156, 224, 238, These passages teach that a UE determines a scheduled sidelink time-frequency resource (third resource) based on configured candidate resources (first resource) and scheduling information conveyed via DCI/SCI (second resource), where SCI conveys and reflects the resource assignment used for sidelink transmission).
Regarding claim 25, Li et al. teaches at least one second terminal apparatus comprises the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 107, 220, 234, These passages teach that a UE (terminal apparatus) may operate interchangeably as either a transmitter or receiver in sidelink scheduling, such that the set of “second terminal apparatuses” includes a UE that can also function as the “third terminal apparatus”).
Regarding claim 26, Li et al. teaches at least one fourth terminal apparatus comprises the first terminal apparatus (Paragraph 107, 161, 234, 235, These passages teach that the same UE can be scheduled and operate as either a transmitting UE or a receiving UE under the sidelink framework).
Regarding claim 27, Li et al. teaches at least one second terminal apparatus comprises the third terminal apparatus (Paragraph 107, 220, 234, These passages teach that a UE (terminal apparatus) may operate interchangeably as either a transmitter or receiver in sidelink scheduling, such that the set of “second terminal apparatuses” includes a UE that can also function as the “third terminal apparatus”).
Regarding claim 28, Li et al. teaches at least one fourth terminal apparatus comprises the first terminal apparatus (Paragraph 107, 161, 234, 235, These passages teach that the same UE can be scheduled and operate as either a transmitting UE or a receiving UE under the sidelink framework).
Allowable Subject Matter
To more fully reflect the novel improvements described in the specification, the applicant could consider adding concepts such as: specifying that the first information is carried in 2nd-stage SCI rather than 1st-stage SCI to enable unicast delivery to the third terminal apparatus and maintain backward compatibility with earlier-version terminals; reciting that the 1st-stage SCI includes a field indicating that the 2nd-stage SCI contains the first information; defining that the first information further indicates a recommended or non-recommended fourth time-frequency resource for transmission of the second information; requiring that the first SCI explicitly indicates a fifth time-frequency resource on which the second information is to be sent; including retransmission of the first information on an additional time-frequency resource indicated by SCI to improve reliability; stating that the first information includes data packet size information of the first data and that the second time-frequency resource is determined based on both sensing results and the indicated data packet size; clarifying that the second information is transmitted in 2nd-stage SCI with a corresponding field in 1st-stage SCI identifying its presence; specifying priority-based decision logic at the third terminal apparatus when a recommended resource is excluded, including comparison to a priority threshold or to the priority of reserved data; reciting that the first information is transmitted on a time-frequency resource that is earliest in the time domain among available resources to satisfy a packet delay budget; defining that the third time-frequency resource may be identical to the second time-frequency resource when not excluded; and expressly requiring that the third time-frequency resource is selected based on a combination of sensing results from both the first terminal apparatus and the third terminal apparatus to improve receive-side signal quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20240276475 A1)
Loehr et al. (US 20230284184 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464