DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action in response to the IDS filed 03/16/2026 and the amendment filed 05/19/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-18, and 20-22 are pending;
Claims 1, 3, 12, and 14-18 are currently amended; claims 2, 5, 6, and 19 have been cancelled; claims 4, 7-11, and 13 are original; claims 20-22 are new;
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected; claims 7-9, 12-15, and 18 are objected to; claims 21 and 22 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on page 11 of the remarks filed 05/19/2026,
"The Office characterizes the 'spring (S)' of Ko as the 'first elastic member' of original claim 5 and characterizes the "hanger groove 142a" of Ko as the 'first guide hole' of original claim 6. Office Action, p. 19.
As shown in FIG. 5 of Ko, Ko's spring (S) simply connects two slider blocks 142. However, Ko's spring (S) is not configured to pull a sliding member closer to a cam. Thus, the alleged combination does not disclose or suggest at least 'the bearing is moved closer to the cam by the sliding member as the sliding member is elastically pulled closer to the cam by the first elastic member to press the cam,' as recited in present claim 1."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As clearly shown in Figure 5 of Ko et al. (US 2008/0055829 A1), hereinafter Ko, the first elastic member (S) pulls the sliding member (142) inwardly closer to the cam (141), and thus the bearing (145), which is attached to the sliding member, is also moved inwardly closer to the cam by the sliding member as the sliding member is elastically pulled closer to the cam by the first elastic member to press the cam.
Applicant's arguments on page 11 of the remarks filed 05/19/2026,
"Second, the alleged combination fails to disclose or suggest at least 'a first guide member configured to be inserted into the first guide hole, and configured to guide movement of the sliding member in the leftward/rightward directions,' as recited in present claim 1. Ko's hanger groove 142a simply serves as a groove at which both ends of the spring (S) are engaged to connect the two slider blocks 142. However, Ko's hanger groove 142a is not configured to receive the claimed 'first guide member' that is 'configured to guide movement of the sliding member in the leftward/rightward directions,' as recited in present claim 1."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As clearly shown in Figure 5 of Ko, the first guide member (S) is inserted into the slotted first guide hole (142a) and configured to guide the movement of the sliding member (142) along the leftward/rightward directions along the longitudinal axis of the first guide member by pulling the sliding member inwardly toward the cam (141).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/16/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1, the limitations in line 9 should be indented with respect to the limitations in line 8 to be aligned with the limitations in line 10. See claim 21, lines 8-10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 16 (line 2) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 16 (line 2) and the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 1 (line 17) refers to the same leftward/rightward directions or different leftward/rightward directions. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 17 (line 2) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 17 (line 2) and the limitation "leftward/rightward directions" in claim 1 (line 17) refers to the same leftward/rightward directions or different leftward/rightward directions. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation "the waist mounted part" in claim 20 (line 7) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "the waist mounted part" in claim 20 (line 7) and the limitation "a waist mountable part" in claim 20 (line 4) refers to the same part or different parts. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2008/0055829 A1), hereinafter Ko, in view of Park et al. (US 2005/0202856 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Figure 7) comprising: a body (2, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation, see paragraph 0099, the reference number 2 refers to the supporter 2); a rotary part (3a, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraphs 0100, 0104, and 0125, the rotary frame of the display 3) coupled to the body to be rotatable about an upwardly extending first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); and a display (3b, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraphs 0100, 0104, and 0125, the display part of the display 3) coupled to an upper side of the rotary part (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein the body comprises: a body member (2, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraph 0099, the supporter 2); a cam (141, fig 3) coupled to the body member to be rotatable about the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), and fixedly coupled to the rotary part (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); a bearing (145, fig 3; also see annotation) configured to contact the cam and rotate in conjunction with rotation of the cam (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); a sliding member (142, fig 3; also see annotation), to which the bearing is rotatably coupled (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), configured to move in a second direction, in which the sliding member becomes closer to the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), and a third direction, in which the sliding member becomes farther from the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein a slotted first guide hole (142a, fig 4) extending along leftward/rightward directions is formed in the sliding member (see Figure 4); a first elastic member (S1, fig 2, one of the springs S; also see annotation) connecting the body member and the sliding member (see Figures 2-7); and a first guide member (S2, fig 4, the other one of the springs S; also see annotation) configured to be inserted into the first guide hole, and configured to guide movement of the sliding member in the leftward/rightward directions (see Figures 2-7), wherein the cam has a shape, of which a distance between an outer surface of the cam and the first axis varies along a circumferential direction on a plane that is perpendicular to the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein the bearing is moved closer to the cam by the sliding member as the sliding member is elastically pulled closer to the cam by the first elastic member to press the cam (see Figures 2-7).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3a – Rotary Part)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2 – Supporter
(Body Member))][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1b – Waist Mountable Part)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1a – Leg Mountable Part)][AltContent: textbox (3b – Display)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (142 – Sliding Member)][AltContent: textbox (145 – Bearing)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (142a – Slotted First Guide Hole)][AltContent: textbox (S1 – First Elastic Member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S2 – First Guide Member)]
[AltContent: textbox (Leftward/Rightward Directions)]
Ko does not disclose the apparatus, further comprising: a pressing part coupled to a side surface of the body, and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part in a first direction, wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part.
Park teaches an apparatus (100, fig 4) comprising: a body (101, fig 4); a rotary part (102, fig 4) coupled to the body to be rotatable about an upwardly extending first axis (A, fig 4, see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045); and a pressing part (301, fig 4) coupled to a side surface of the body (see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045), and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part in a first direction (see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045), wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part (see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045).
Ko and Park are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., display devices. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressing part (Park: 301, fig 4) coupled to a side surface of the body (Ko: 2, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation; Park: see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045), and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part (Ko: 3a, fig 7, see annotation) in a first direction (Park: see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045), wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part (Park: see Figures 1-8, see paragraphs 0026-0045), as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to securely keep the display in the unrotated configuration when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ko and Park to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, wherein a state, in which the rotary part is constrained with respect to the body, is defined as a first state (Ko: see Figure 6), and a state, in which the rotary part is rotated from the first state along the first direction, is defined as a second state (Ko: see Figure 4), wherein the cam comprises: a first part (Ko: 141b, fig 3) that contacts the bearing in the first state (Ko: see Figures 3 and 6); and a second part (Ko: 141a, fig 3) that contacts the bearing in the second state (Ko: see Figures 3 and 4), and wherein a spacing distance from the first part to the first axis is larger than a spacing distance from the second part to the first axis (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a state, in which the rotary part is maximally rotated from the first state along the first direction, is defined as a third state (Ko: see Figure 5), the cam further comprising: a third part (Ko: 141c, fig 5, see annotation, the peripheral part adjacent to the first part 141b) that contacts the bearing in the third state (Ko: see Figure 5), wherein a spacing distance from the third part to the first axis is larger than the spacing distance from the second part to the first axis (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (141c – Third Part)]
Regarding claim 10, wherein the cam has a shape, in which a spacing distance from an area, in which the bearing and the cam contact each other, to the first axis decreases as the cam goes from the first state to the second state (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 20, the apparatus further comprises: a leg mountable part (Ko: 1a, fig 7, see annotation, the base part of the main body 1) configured to be mounted on a leg of a user to assist walking of the user (Ko: see Figures 1-7, the leg mountable part 1a has the configuration to perform the above intended use, e.g., via a pants pocket); and a waist mountable part (Ko: 1b, fig 7, see annotation, the hinge part of the main body 1) provided on an upper side of the leg mountable part (Ko: see Figures 1-7) and configured to be mounted on a waist of the user (Ko: see Figures 1-7, the leg mountable part 1a has the configuration to perform the above intended use, e.g., via a jacket pocket), wherein a display assembly (Ko: 2, 3a, 3b, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation) of the apparatus is configured to be coupled to a front side of the waist mounted part (Ko: see Figures 1-7), and wherein the display assembly comprises the display (Ko: see Figures 1-7).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2008/0055829 A1), hereinafter Ko, in view of Lee (KR 20020055240 A)1.
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses an apparatus (see Figure 7) comprising: a body (2, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation, see paragraph 0099, the reference number 2 refers to the supporter 2); a rotary part (3a, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraphs 0100, 0104, and 0125, the rotary frame of the display 3) coupled to the body to be rotatable about an upwardly extending first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); and a display (3b, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraphs 0100, 0104, and 0125, the display part of the display 3) coupled to an upper side of the rotary part (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein the body comprises: a body member (2, fig 7, see annotation, see paragraph 0099, the supporter 2); a cam (141, fig 3) coupled to the body member to be rotatable about the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), and fixedly coupled to the rotary part (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); a bearing (145, fig 3; also see annotation) configured to contact the cam and rotate in conjunction with rotation of the cam (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121); a sliding member (142, fig 3; also see annotation), to which the bearing is rotatably coupled (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), configured to move in a second direction, in which the sliding member becomes closer to the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), and a third direction, in which the sliding member becomes farther from the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein a slotted first guide hole (142a, fig 4) extending along leftward/rightward directions is formed in the sliding member (see Figure 4); a first elastic member (S1, fig 2, one of the springs S; also see annotation) connecting the body member and the sliding member (see Figures 2-7); and a first guide member (S2, fig 4, the other one of the springs S; also see annotation) configured to be inserted into the first guide hole, and configured to guide movement of the sliding member in the leftward/rightward directions (see Figures 2-7), wherein the cam has a shape, of which a distance between an outer surface of the cam and the first axis varies along a circumferential direction on a plane that is perpendicular to the first axis (see Figures 2-7, see paragraphs 0097-0121), wherein the bearing is moved closer to the cam by the sliding member as the sliding member is elastically pulled closer to the cam by the first elastic member to press the cam (see Figures 2-7).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3a – Rotary Part)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2 – Supporter
(Body Member))][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1b – Waist Mountable Part)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1a – Leg Mountable Part)][AltContent: textbox (3b – Display)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (142 – Sliding Member)][AltContent: textbox (145 – Bearing)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (142a – Slotted First Guide Hole)][AltContent: textbox (S1 – First Elastic Member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S2 – First Guide Member)]
[AltContent: textbox (Leftward/Rightward Directions)]
Ko does not disclose the apparatus, further comprising: a pressing part coupled to a side surface of the body, and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part in a first direction, wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part.
Lee teaches an apparatus (see Figure 2) comprising: a body (10, fig 2); a rotary part (20, fig 2) coupled to the body to be rotatable about an upwardly extending first axis (see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4); a display (60, fig 3) coupled to an upper side of the rotary part (see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4); and a pressing part (31, fig 2) coupled to a side surface of the body (see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part in a first direction (see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part (see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4).
Ko and Lee are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., display devices. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressing part (Lee: 31, fig 2) coupled to a side surface of the body (Ko: 2, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation; Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), and configured to, when pressed, allow rotation of the rotary part (Ko: 3a, fig 7, see annotation) in a first direction (Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), wherein the rotary part was constrained prior to pressing of the pressing part (Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to securely keep the display in the unrotated configuration when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ko and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, wherein a state, in which the rotary part is constrained with respect to the body, is defined as a first state (Ko: see Figure 6), and a state, in which the rotary part is rotated from the first state along the first direction, is defined as a second state (Ko: see Figure 4), wherein the cam comprises: a first part (Ko: 141b, fig 3) that contacts the bearing in the first state (Ko: see Figures 3 and 6); and a second part (Ko: 141a, fig 3) that contacts the bearing in the second state (Ko: see Figures 3 and 4), and wherein a spacing distance from the first part to the first axis is larger than a spacing distance from the second part to the first axis (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a state, in which the rotary part is maximally rotated from the first state along the first direction, is defined as a third state (Ko: see Figure 5), the cam further comprising: a third part (Ko: 141c, fig 5, see annotation, the peripheral part adjacent to the first part 141b) that contacts the bearing in the third state (Ko: see Figure 5), wherein a spacing distance from the third part to the first axis is larger than the spacing distance from the second part to the first axis (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (141c – Third Part)]
Regarding claim 10, wherein the cam has a shape, in which a spacing distance from an area, in which the bearing and the cam contact each other, to the first axis decreases as the cam goes from the first state to the second state (Ko: see Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the body comprises: a stopping member (Lee: 31a, fig 3) connected to the pressing part (Lee: see Figures 1-6), and configured to be moved in an opposite direction to a movement direction of the pressing part (Lee: see Figures 1-6, the stopping member 31a is configured to perform the above intended use, e.g., to be moved in a leftward direction in Figure 3 by the restoring spring 33, where the leftward direction in Figure 3 is an opposite direction to a rightward movement direction in Figure 3 of the pressing part 31 when pushed rightward in Figure 3), wherein a state, in which the rotary part is constrained with respect to the body, is defined as a first state (Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4) and a state, in which the rotary part is rotated from the first state along the first direction, is defined as a second state (Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4), wherein a stopping recess (Lee: 22, fig 3), into which the stopping member is inserted in the first state, is formed in the rotary part (Lee: see Figures 1-6, see translation, pages 2-4).
Regarding claim 20, the apparatus further comprises: a leg mountable part (Ko: 1a, fig 7, see annotation, the base part of the main body 1) configured to be mounted on a leg of a user to assist walking of the user (Ko: see Figures 1-7, the leg mountable part 1a has the configuration to perform the above intended use, e.g., via a pants pocket); and a waist mountable part (Ko: 1b, fig 7, see annotation, the hinge part of the main body 1) provided on an upper side of the leg mountable part (Ko: see Figures 1-7) and configured to be mounted on a waist of the user (Ko: see Figures 1-7, the leg mountable part 1a has the configuration to perform the above intended use, e.g., via a jacket pocket), wherein a display assembly (Ko: 2, 3a, 3b, 110, 120, 130, 140, figs 2 & 7, see annotation) of the apparatus is configured to be coupled to a front side of the waist mounted part (Ko: see Figures 1-7), and wherein the display assembly comprises the display (Ko: see Figures 1-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 12-15, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 22 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631
1 A copy of Lee, including a translation, was attached to the Office action mailed 02/19/2026.