Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Detailed Action
Claims 1-18 are currently pending. Claims 1-18 remain rejected despite Applicant’s arguments filed 04/27/2026. Amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection presented within this Office action. Response to Applicant arguments can be found at the end of this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaze et al. (US 20200406773 A1) in view of Fauri et al. (DE 102018116163 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Lacaze teaches an urban air mobility (UAM) power supply system (Fig.2) comprising: a UAM power supply mobility device (202; Fig.2) configured to be electrically connected to a first UAM device for recharging or disconnected from the first UAM device (200; Fig.2); and a charging station (204; Fig.2) including a power cable (203; Fig.2) for supplying power to the first UAM device, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device is equipped with the power cable to supply the power from the charging station to the first UAM device through the power cable for the recharging (Fig.2 and Para.[0022]), and wherein the UAM power supply mobility device is configured to fly with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device (Para.[0032]); and the UAM power supply mobility device is further configured to dock with a UAM device at a overhead position and descend to be mounted on the charging station with the UAM device while supplying power to the UAM device through the power cable (Para.[0033]).
Lacaze does not teach the UAM mobility device being configured to fly with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device while the first UAM device landed on the charging station is separated from the charging station and flies to reach a first overhead position in a preset space from the charging station and the UAM power supply mobility device is separated from the first UAM device at the first overhead position or a second UAM device being present.
However, Fauri teaches wherein the UAM power supply mobility device is configured to fly with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device while the first UAM device landed on the charging station is separated from the charging station and flies to reach a first overhead position in a preset space from the charging station (see attached EPO translation; Para.[0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lacaze with the ability to provide power during takeoff as taught by Fauri for efficient takeoff operations and power management with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lacaze in view of Fauri teaches the claimed invention except for the presence of a second UAM device It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the system with more than one UAM device, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 2: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 1, wherein, when a second UAM device is absent, the UAM power supply mobility device is separated from the first UAM device and is configured to descend to be mounted on the charging station when the first UAM device flies out of the preset space (Para.[0021]).
Regarding claim 3: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 2, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device (202; Fig.2) comprises: a body; a supply terminal disposed on an upper surface of the body; a propulsion unit disposed on a circumferential surface of the body and configured to allow the UAM power supply mobility device to fly (apparent from 202; Fig.2); and a processor configured to control the propulsion unit such that the UAM power supply mobility device is mounted on the first UAM device or the charging station or is separated from the first UAM device or the charging station (Para.[0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 13: Lacaze teaches a method for supplying power to an urban air mobility (UAM) device while the UAM device is separated from a charging station (Fig.2) and takes off, the method comprising: electrically connecting a UAM power supply mobility device to a first UAM device while the first UAM device lands on the charging station (Para.[0033]); causing the UAM power supply mobility device to fly with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device (Para.[0023]); supplying the power to the UAM device using a power cable mounted on the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0032]); and docking the UAM power supply mobility device, with a UAM device at an overhead position and descending to be mounted on the charging station with the UAM device while supplying power to the UAM device through the power cable (Para.[0033]).
Lacaze does not teach the UAM mobility device flying with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device while the first UAM device landed on the charging station flies away from the charging station after taking off or the UAM power supply mobility device ascending along with the first UAM device until the first UAM device reaches a first overhead position in a preset space or a second UAM device being present.
However, Fauri teaches the UAM mobility device flying with an electrical connection to the first UAM device maintained along with the first UAM device while the first UAM device landed on the charging station flies away from the charging station or the UAM power supply mobility device ascending along with the first UAM device until the first UAM device reaches a first overhead position in a preset space (Para.[0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lacaze with the ability to provide power during takeoff as taught by Fauri for efficient takeoff operations and power management with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lacaze in view of Fauri teaches the claimed invention except for the presence of a second UAM device It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the system with more than one UAM device, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 14: Lacaze further teaches a method of claim 13, further comprising: when a second UAM device is absent, separating the UAM power supply mobility device from the first UAM device when the first UAM device flies out of the preset space; and controlling the separated UAM power supply mobility device to descend to be mounted on the charging station (Fig.2; Para.[0021], lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 15: Lacaze further teaches a method of claim 14, wherein the controlling of the UAM power supply mobility device to descend comprises: transmitting flight information and position information of the UAM power supply mobility device to the charging station; and receiving position information of the charging station from the charging station (Para.[0036], lines 1-4; Para.[0041]).
Regarding claim 16: Lacaze further teaches a method of claim 14, wherein the controlling of the UAM power supply mobility device to descend comprises: receiving flight information and position information of the first UAM device from the first UAM device when the first UAM device enters the preset space to arrive at the charging station (Para.[0036], lines 1-8); and controlling flight of the UAM power supply mobility device such that the UAM power supply mobility device docks with the first UAM device on the basis of the received flight information and position information (Para.[0035]; Para.[0036], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 17: Lacaze further teaches a method of claim 16, further comprising supplying the power to the first UAM device using the power cable upon docking of the UAM power supply mobility device with the first UAM device (Para.[0022]).
Regarding claim 18: Lacaze further teaches a method of claim 14, wherein the controlling of the UAM power supply mobility device to descend comprises unwinding or winding the power cable by the charging station on the basis of received position information of the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0036], lines 1-8; Para.[0033], lines 5-8).
Claims 4-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaze in view of Fauri and Burgess et al. (US 9580173 B1).
Regarding claim 4: Lacaze teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 3, wherein the UAM device comprises: a connection terminal disposed in a central region of a lower surface of the first UAM device (bottom of 200; Fig.2) and electrically connected to or separated from the supply terminal (Fig.2); and a marker provided (Para.[0035]) in an area. Lacaze does not teach guide pin insertion portions or the specific layout of components disposed on the first UAM device body.
However, Burgess teaches the use of guide pin insertion portions (Col.9, line 64-Col.10, line 2) to align mating surfaces of aerial components for electrical contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lacaze with guide pin insertion portions to ensure appropriate alignment of mating surfaces with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lacaze in view of Fauri and Burgess teaches the claimed invention except for the locations of guide pin insertion portions and markers disposed on the lower surface of the UAM device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the guide pin insertion portions and markers in an area other than the central region, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 5: Lacaze teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 4, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device further comprises: the UAM power supply mobility device mounted on the first UAM device (Para.[0031], lines 1-4); and a camera and configured to capture an image of the marker while the UAM power supply mobility device is mounted on the UAM device under the control of the processor (Para.[0035]). Lacaze does not teach the use of guide pins disposed on the upper surface of the body and the use of guide pin insertion portions or a camera specifically disposed on the upper surface of the body.
However, Burgess teaches the use of guide pin insertion portions and guide pins (Col.9, line 64-Col.10, line 2) to align mating surfaces of aerial components for electrical contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lacaze with guide pin insertion portions and guide pins to ensure appropriate alignment of mating surfaces with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lacaze in view of Fauri and Burgess teaches the claimed invention except for the locations of guide pins and camera disposed on the upper surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the guide pins and camera on the upper surface of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 6: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 5, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device includes a communication module configured to communicate with the first UAM device or the charging station, wherein the communication module transmits flight information and position information of the UAM power supply mobility device to the first UAM device or the charging station and receives flight information and position information of the first UAM device from the first UAM device or receives position information of the charging station from the charging station under the control of the processor (Para.[0036], lines 1-6; Para.[0038]).
Regarding claim 7: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 6, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device further includes a sensing unit disposed in the body to sense a position state of the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0036], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 7, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device is configured to fly down while controlling the propulsion unit such that the power cable does not deviate from the preset space on the basis of the position state of the UAM power supply mobility device provided by the sensing unit (Fig.2; Para.[0021], lines 4-6 and Para.[0041], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 10: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 7, wherein, when the first UAM device is configured to enter the preset space to arrive at the charging station after an operation, the UAM power supply mobility device is configured to receive the flight information and position information of the first UAM device from the first UAM device and fly to dock with the UAM device on the basis of the flight information and position information (Fig.2; Para.[0035]; Para.[0041], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 11: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 10, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device is configured to control supplying the power to the UAM device upon docking with the UAM device (Para.[0010]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaze in view of Fauri and Burgess and Martinez (EP 3418201 A1).
Regarding claim 8: Lacaze teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 7, wherein the UAM power supply mobility device includes supply terminals and the UAM power supply mobility device is separated from the first UAM device (Fig.2). Lacaze does not teach the use of a terminal protector to protect the supply terminal from the outside.
However, Martínez teaches the use of a terminal protector to protect the supply terminal from the outside when separated (6; Fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lacaze with the terminal protector of Martínez to provide terminal protection from elements when disconnected with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12: Lacaze further teaches an UAM power supply system of claim 8, wherein the charging station unwinds or winds the power cable on the basis of the received position information of the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0038] and Para.[0041], lines 5-8).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to teach “wherein after the UAM power supply mobility device is separated from the first UAM device at the first overhead position, the UAM power supply mobility device is further configured to dock with a second UAM device at a second overhead position and descend to be mounted on the charging station with the second UAM device while supplying power to the second UAM device through the power cable." Examiner submits that Lacaze teaches the coupling and landing operations of the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0033]) and Fauri teaches the taking off of a UAM device along with the UAM power supply mobility device (Para.[0014]) and combining the prior art references would result in the capability of the UAM power supply mobility device to both take-off with the UAM device, separate from the UAM device and subsequently dock with another UAM device and descend to be mounted on the charging station since Lacaze teaches holding the UAM power supply mobility device aloft after disconnection (Para.[0021]) and reconnection of the UAM power supply mobility device to a UAM device while in flight (Para.[0023]) making the duplication of a second UAM device being present an obvious modification since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615