DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s)1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sampson et al. (US 4,840,451), herein after Sampson.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 13 and 19, the housing 100h (fig. 1) of the Davis does not disclose the cavity to accommodate the battery.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Davis discloses the power supply system 100 can include an internal battery or battery bank 119 coupled to the inverter of the internal power circuitry 101, paragraph [0105]; 100h is the housing of the power supply unit 100 and 100h define a cavity to accommodate all the circuitry (fig. 1).
The applicant arguments of claim 1 are persuasive, thus, due to new ground of rejection, THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Davis (US 2021/0098946).
Regarding claim 13, Davis discloses
portable power supply (fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (100h, fig. 1 and 3) including a cavity defined therein (the housing 100h can include at least one inwardly extending compartment defined by side and inner walls, where the internal battery can be placed, figs. 1, 7) and a junction box including a plurality of walls defining a recess, the walls at least partially separating the recess from the cavity and a hole defined in at least one of the walls, the hole fluidly communicating the recess with the cavity (see the annotated fig II);
Annotated fig. II
and a receptacle disposed in the housing and electrically coupled to the battery cells, the receptacle receiving a mains electric power (in FIG. 7A, a utility power source 103 and an optional back-up power source 100p is connected to a common input port 100i of the power supply system 100 (paragraph [0100], where the utility power source is the main power source),
a plurality of battery cells disposed in the cavity and an inverter electrically coupled to the battery cells, the inverter disposed in the cavity(the power supply system 100 can include an internal battery or battery bank 119 coupled to the inverter of the internal power circuitry 101, paragraph [0105]; 100h is the housing of the power supply unit 100 and 100h define a cavity to accommodate all the circuitry);
a sensor (interrupter 30, fig. 3 the interrupter in the reference is a circuit breaker, paragraph [0089] which inherently detects or respond to an electrical condition) electrically coupled to the battery cells (each circuit breaker 30 is electrically coupled between the connector 15, paragraph [0099], 15 is further connected to the battery 119, fig. 7A ), the sensor disposed adjacent at least one of the walls of the junction box and within the cavity(the interrupter 30 is adjacent to one of the wall of junction box and within the cavity, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Davis further discloses wherein the sensor includes a mechanical switch (interrupter 30, fig. 3, the term "interrupter" refers to a device for interrupting an electric current, typically automatically. These are a type of mechanical switch designed to quickly and safely open or close electrical circuits).
Regarding claim 15, Davis further discloses wherein the junction box is configured to receive a plurality of fasteners (125. Fig. 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2021/0098946) and Sampson (US 4,840,451).
Regarding claim 1, Davis discloses a portable power supply (fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (100h, fig. 1 and 3) including an opening defined in the housing and a cavity defined in the housing (the housing 100h can include at least one inwardly extending compartment defined by side and inner walls, where the internal battery can be placed, figs. 1, 7), and an aperture defined in the housing (17, fig. 6);
a plurality of battery cells disposed in the cavity (The power supply system 100 includes a primary housing 100h, which encloses operational components like battery (ies), paragraph [0071]);
an inverter electrically coupled to the battery cells, the inverter disposed in the cavity (the power supply system 100 can include an internal battery or battery bank 119 coupled to the inverter of the internal power circuitry 101, paragraph [0105]; 100h is the housing of the power supply unit 100 and 100h define a cavity to accommodate all the circuitry); and
a modular outlet panel (35, fig. 3) removably coupled to the housing, the modular outlet panel disposed over a majority of the opening (the receptacle panel 10 (with a modular outlet panel 35) can be removably attached to the housing 100h via fasteners 125, shown as six spaced apart fasteners 125, which are received by apertures 14a in an outer perimeter flange 14 of power receptacle panel 10 and corresponding apertures 100a in the rear wall 100r surrounding a respective compartment 100c, paragraph [0092]), the modular outlet panel including a screw terminal for connecting a plurality of wires (the receptacle panel 10 can include a connector 15, paragraph [0095])). Although Davis discloses a portable power supply with the battery pack and inverter electrically coupled to the battery cell with removeable outlet panel.
However, Davis is silent about a sensor electrically coupled to the battery cells and positioned in the cavity, the sensor including a switch arm; the modular outlet panel further including a boss extending from the modular outlet panel, wherein the boss is received in the aperture and engages the switch arm when the modular outlet panel is coupled to the housing.
Sampson discloses the connector assembly to connect the plug in the housing (abstract). Sampson further discloses an electrical switch assembly 96 for detecting or identifying the mated assembly of a particular type of plug connector 14 (Col. 7, lines 10-12), where the sensor is inside the housing (switch 96, fig. 2), the sensor including a switch arm (Switch assembly 96 includes an elongate switch arm or blade 176 having a mounting end 178 with a mounting aperture 180, Col. 8, lines 37-38); the plug housing further including a boss extending from the plug housing (switch boss 62, Col. 9, lines 46-47), wherein the boss is received in the aperture and engages the switch arm when the plug connector is coupled to the housing (Col. 9, lines 45-58).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Davis’s portable power supply system to electrically connect the Sampson’s sensor to the battery pack residing in the housing cavity, in order to mechanically actuate the switch upon coupling of the panel and thereby provide an indication of the coupled condition.
Regarding claim 3, Davis further discloses wherein the modular outlet panel includes a NEMA 5- 15R outlet (35 in fig. 3 is the standard NEMA 5 outlet).
Regarding claim 4, Davis further discloses wherein the modular outlet panel includes a CEE 7/3 socket (The receptacle panel 10 includes outlets, receptacles, or sockets 35 (hereinafter referred to as “power receptacles 35”) for providing power to plug-in cords/cables that can be attached to the power receptacles 35, paragraph [0073] where CEE7/3 is the standard socket).
Regarding claim 6, Davis further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a junction box in which the aperture is defined (aperture 17, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Davis further discloses the portable power supply further comprising a plurality of fasteners (125, fig. 3b), the fasteners coupling the modular outlet panel to the housing (paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 9, Davis further discloses wherein the fasteners include screws (125 are screws, fig. 3B).
Claim(s) 7, 10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2021/0098946) and Sampson (US 4,840,451), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2019/0103805), herein after Zhu.
Regarding claim 7, Davis in view of Sampson discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1, however, they do not explicitly disclose the portable power supply system further comprising a frame at least partially enclosing the housing.
Zhu discloses the power supply system comprising a frame at least partially enclosing the housing (the adaptor 10 includes a protecting frame 33 which is provided at the outside of two opposite sides of the second housing 11, paragraph [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system in view of Sampson to include a protecting frame around the housing as taught by Zhu, in order to support and protect the outer side of the housing.
Regarding claim 10, Davis in view of Sampson discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1, however, they are silent about the portable power supply system has the battery cells include lithium ion battery cells.
Zhu discloses the portable power supply system has the battery cells include lithium ion battery cells (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system in view of Sampson to have lithium ion battery as taught by Zhu, in order to have a battery with high energy density for more power in a smaller, lighter package.
Regarding claim 11, Davis in view of Sampson discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1, however, they do not explicitly disclose the portable power supply system further comprising a USB outlet disposed in the housing, the USB outlet being electrically coupled to the battery cells.
Zhu discloses the portable power supply system comprising a USB outlet (15, fig. 1) disposed in the housing, the USB outlet being electrically coupled to the battery cells (The DC output port unit includes one or more DC output ports, by which the adaptor 10 may output the direct current. Specifically, the DC output port may be configured as a 5V USB port 15, or as a 12V vehicle power source port 16 as shown in FIG. 1, paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system in view of Sampson to have a DC output port at the housing as taught by Zhu, in order to provide power or charge a variety of electronic devices with a single power supply system.
Regarding claim 12, Davis in view of Sampson and Zhu discloses the portable power supply system of claim 11. Davis further discloses wherein the modular outlet panel receives AC power from the inverter (each of which includes power circuitry that typically includes at least an inverter to convert DC power from an internal or external battery) to AC power, paragraph [0104]).
However, Davis and Sampson are silent about the USB outlet at the housing receives direct current power from the battery cells.
Zhu discloses the USB outlet at the housing receives direct current power from the battery cells (paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system in view of Sampson to have a DC output port at the housing as taught by Zhu, in order to provide power or charge a variety of electronic devices with a single power supply system.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2021/0098946) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Zhu ( US 2019/0103805).
Regarding claim 17, Davis discloses the portable power supply system of claim 13, where Davis does not explicitly disclose the portable power supply system further comprising a frame at least partially enclosing the housing.
Zhu discloses the power supply system comprising a frame at least partially enclosing the housing (the adaptor 10 includes a protecting frame 33 which is provided at the outside of two opposite sides of the second housing 11, paragraph [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system to include a protecting frame around the housing as taught by Zhu, in order to support and protect the outer side of the housing.
Regarding claim 18, Davis discloses the portable power supply system of claim 13, where Davis is silent about the portable power supply system has the battery cells include lithium ion battery cells.
Zhu discloses the portable power supply system has the battery cells include lithium ion battery cells (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system to have lithium ion battery as taught by Zhu, in order to have a battery with high energy density for more power in a smaller, lighter package.
Regarding claim 19, Davis discloses a portable power supply (fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (100h, fig. 1 and 3) including a cavity defined therein(the housing 100h can include at least one inwardly extending compartment 100c defined by side and inner walls, where the internal battery can be placed, figs. 1, 7) and a junction box including a plurality of walls defining a recess, at least one of the walls having a hole defined therein, the hole fluidly communicating the recess with the cavity (see annotated fig I);
a plurality of battery cells disposed in the cavity; an inverter disposed in the cavity and electrically coupled to the battery cells(the power supply system 100 can include an internal battery or battery bank 119 coupled to the inverter of the internal power circuitry 101, paragraph [0105]; 100h is the housing of the power supply unit 100 and 100h define a cavity to accommodate all the circuitry); and a modular outlet panel electrically coupled to the inverter and removably coupled to the junction box (10 is electrically couple to the 101, fig. 7A; power supply system 100 is configured to receive power from a primary power source (e.g., utility power) or a back-up power source (e.g., solar or wind), b) convert, regulate, and/or condition the power via the power circuitry, and c) output the converted, regulated, and/or conditioned power to one or more loads via receptacles coupled to a removable power receptacle panel 10, paragraph [0072]), the modular outlet panel including an outlet that is removably couplable to the modular outlet panel (modular panel 10 has the removable outlet 35, fig. 6).
However, Davis does not explicitly disclose a frame disposed around the housing and a display coupled to the housing.
Zhu discloses a frame disposed around the housing (the adaptor 10 includes a protecting frame 33 which is provided at the outside of two opposite sides of the second housing 11, paragraph [0114]) and a display coupled to the housing pf the portable power supply system (he adaptor 900 may be provided with a display device electrically coupled to the control or control circuit unit 95. Paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davis’s portable power supply system to have a frame and a display on the housing as taught by Zhu, in order to support and protect the power supply, and to have a display to get the information associated with the portable power station (paragraph [0108]).
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/SADIA KOUSAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2859