Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee [KR 102139183] in view of Yoshifumi et al. [JP2017011256] and Fumihito et al. [JP 2007329411A].
Lee discloses a multilayer coil component [figure 1] comprising: an element body [110] including a main surface arranged to constitute a mounting surface [1]; a coil [120] disposed in the element body; and a pair of L-shaped external electrodes [131, 132] each disposed on two opposing two sides the element body and each engaging the bottom and side walls thereof electrically connected to the coil and each including an underlying metal layer [131a, 132a] and a plated layer [131b, 132a] in contact with a surface of the underlying metal layer, wherein each of the pair of external electrodes includes a main surface electrode portion exposed from the main surface [figure 1]. Yoshifumi et al. discloses a body including an external electrode [figures 3-4] mounted on an electrode on a chip inductor [figure 3] having a recess extending through the second lamination layer of the electrode [figure 4] and engaging a portion of the coil [figure 10]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art at the time before the invention was effectively filed to modify the electrode structure of Lee with that of Yoshifumi et al. in order to protect the low resistance layer. Lee, as modified, discloses everything claimed except at least one recess that opens to at least the surface is formed in the underlying metal layer included in each main surface electrode portion. Fumihito et al. discloses a surface mounted electronic component [40, figure 1b] mounted within a body [figure 1a] including external electrodes [figure 1a] connected to the component within the body each including multiple recesses [17, figure 1a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the recess design of Fumihito et al. in Lee for the purpose of accommodating solder for the connection to reduce the space occupied by the device.
The element body of Lee et al., as modified, further includes a pair of side surfaces opposing each other and adjacent to the main surface, wherein each of the pair of external electrodes includes a side surface electrode portion exposed from a corresponding side surface of the pair of side surfaces, and wherein at least one recess that opens to at least the surface is formed in the underlying metal layer included in each side surface electrode portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant essentially argues that the references of record do not teach the “underlying metal layer including a plurality of laminated electrode layers and the at least one recess is formed between two of the plurality of laminated layers.” This feature is taught by Yoshifumi [JP2017011256], noting the figures provided by applicant. The amended claim necessitated a different combination showing the claimed structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINCOLN D DONOVAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2842